Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

Coquitlam Restaurant Reviews
Matoi Sushi3025 Lougheed Hwy, Coquitlam
the Real Deal!
By food4u2 of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, March 6, 2011 - 4:33pm [Dine in]

I've frequented Matoi Sushi back in the days when it was just a small stand in the food court of the Downtown Korean market. Each visit was the same experience: great quality food, reasonable price and friendly service. Now they have a beautiful restaurant to further complement their delicious, fine quality food!

Food is still authentic, fresh and delicious. Our party of 4 had dinner and ordered a well rounded selection of items from the menu, some were our usual faves and others we tried for the first time. So we ordered:

-chicken karaage (hands down, the BEST because they are bonless, juicy, meaty pieces of crispy goodness)
-gyoza (pork and veggie filling cooked to perfection!)
-yaki tori (skewered grilled chicken with special sauce - not sure what the sauce is but so good)
-beef teriyaki ( the teriyaki sauce here is the best because it's not thick and syrupy and overly salty or sweet like most I've had before, you can actually taste and enjoy the tender beef slices)
-chicken udon (the soup broth was savory)
-dynamite roll (complete with 2 huge prawn tempuras)
-spicy tuna roll (another group favourite, perfectly spicy)
-sushi combo A (california roll, tuna, ebi, salmon and tamago nigiri - all fresh and good size pieces)

The restaurant is stylish with nice, simple decor and warm ambience. Great looking sushi bar that draws in attention right when you enter the room. Servers were attentive and very friendly. Excellent quality for the price you pay.

Overall, we had a great experience and absolutely love the new restaurant. I highly recommend Matoi Sushi and will be back soon.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Foggy Dew Irish Pub405 North Road, Coquitlam
Great bar staff
By FoodMan99 of Surrey , B.C. (66 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 6, 2011 - 3:59pm [Dine in]

I'm just going to review the bar section, since I just went on a weekend after it changes over to a club.

For the bar, the staff is both talented and friendly. The bouncers are typical stonefaced, passive-aggressive dudes with huge arms and scowls on their faces, but the bar staff make up for it. They're never to busy to grab you an ice water if you need it, and will entertain making complicated drinks. I'm not too sure what was going on at one point, but they lit a drink on FIRE! Wow!

The value is a mixed bag; drinks are on par with most pubs and clubs, with domestics at about 5-6 and shots going upwards.

The place itself is rustic, but it's always crowded with funloving people that make it a blast to go to. Think 19-25 year-olds, all dressed casual.

If you DO go for the food, they do continue to serve fairly late, and expect food like burgers and fries. In the burger you'll get something resembling White Spot or Fatburger fare, and the fries are decent.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Lucky Gate1139 Austin Ave, #2, Coquitlam
A Note
By xFoodForThought of Vancouver (9 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 6, 2011 - 1:58pm [Dine in]

Solid food, there is no disagreement to that.

Service was average, you'd most likely have to call them over to place your orders. If not, you'll be sitting there and watching them walk by you over and over without saying a word.

Dislike: They charged us a gratuity fee of 10%-15% onto our bill without saying anything. By the way, this was lunch for a table for Four.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Keg Steakhouse & Bar, The2991 Lougheed Highway, Unit 130, Coquitlam
Not as good as the Kegs downtown
By Foodcriticbc of vancouver (42 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 5, 2011 - 9:04am [Dine in]

I go to the Keg all the time. This is the first time in Coquitlam. I ordered the Salmon and let the waitress know twice that I want it rare in the middle. Sure enough it showed up very dry and cooked all the way through. She did I good job in her service but me and my friend were not impressed with the food. He orded a steak well done and it was so overcooked it was hard and dry.
We didnt bother complaining because it was already 9 and didnt want to wait for another one. I guess this is what you get when you charge high end prices and have kids that are cooking.
I let it be know in the tip I was not impressed on a bill of $57 I left $60. I ll go back but not to the one in Coquitlam evne though it nice I feel it lack the same quality and consistancy of the Vancouver locations. I must say its a nice location too bad the food is less than average.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Kulinarya Filipino Eatery2922 Glen Dr, Unit 114, Coquitlam
Great Food
By cocoeater of vancouver (323 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, March 3, 2011 - 9:23am [Dine in]

Went to this small restaurant located in a strip mall adjacent to Coquitlam Centre on a weeknight. Fairly busy with lots of take out with seating for approx. 20. Tried the chicken and pork BBQ - great sweat savory flavour, Kare-Kare - beef cooked in some peanut sauce, great over rice and the cripsy pata - deep fried pork leg - very good. Ended with the Halo Halo which was the best. Prices are very good, between $8-$12 for the dishes. Family run business and service was very good. Ambiance is very modern cafe type. Would return.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Vina Vietnamese Gourmet2929 Barnett Highway, #2644, Coquitlam
Really bad even for food court standards - Looks good but needs BIG improvements!
By ireallylovegoodfood of Vancouver, B. C. (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, March 2, 2011 - 3:52pm [Dine in]

Just had the lunch special which included noodles, crepes, salad and a deep fried spring roll. Everything was DISGUSTING including the tasteless fish sauce. The spring roll had meat that tasted sour and spoiled :( . . .The crepes had dried meat with an unusual outer texture - definitely not fresh. Ended up throwing away everything pretty much untouched. Come on Vina at Coquitlam Centre, you can do better!
Better food = More sales.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Hon's Wun Tun House3025 Lougheed Hwy, #310, Coquitlam
day old chicken
By pete66 of coquitlam (56 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 27, 2011 - 6:57pm [Dine in]

We have been to Hon's for many years but have lately come less often due to the decline in the quality of the food. We ordered some black bean sauce chicken chow mein. I bit into a piece of chicken and noticed immediately it was not freshly cooked, but tasted stale, or sitting around for some time or leftover chicken from the day before. You can tell the chicken is freshly fried if its juicy but this looked totally white, was dry and had a bad taste to it. We immediately advised the server and told her the chicken tasted awful and we wanted beef chow mein instead. She said it would only be a few minutes so we waited and then they brought in another batch of chow mein with the beef. It was a definite improvement but the noodles were dry and the beef wasn't flavored that well but it was okay.. We will probably not be returning for a long time..

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I Love Sushi228 Schoolhouse St, #3, Coquitlam
Regular here
By braema of Maple Ridge (9 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 26, 2011 - 9:15pm [Dine in]

I work in the area and regularly get take out. I pretty much always get the Spicy Moms Roll...which is delicious!!! Sunumono salad is a nice portion and good vinegary taste. Fish is fresh and tasty and most often (when they are not super super busy) they will give you a free yam cone to eat on the way out.

Ive also dined in. And again, the food is great. Often have been given some edemame which is nice and warm and crisp and tasty as well...a very nice touch to get something for free.

While Ive never been disappointed in the food...its always been very good...the service is hit or miss. Somtimes its great, sometimes its not...but usually the crappy service is always from the same person who I believe is the owners daughter (she always wears Uggs). She never smiles and shuffles her feet around which is the last thing I want to hear while Im trying to enjoy my meal. If shes not serving you though, you can be pretty sure that the service is going to be good and with a smile. They will even bring your food to you in the bowling ally (again, if they are not too busy)
Overall...love this place.Get take out often with my co workers (order by phone and pick it all up) and Ive never been disappointed! Try it...you'll like it!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Chada Thai Fine Cuisine2991 Lougheed Hwy, #107, Coquitlam
Cramped is right!
By Food-Goddess of Coquitlam (96 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, February 23, 2011 - 11:36pm [Dine in]

I bought the Groupon a little while ago, so we finally decided to go and try this place. The decor was quite unique, with golden statues and all. It was a tiny little place with lots of tables, especially the area just across the kitchen, you could barely squeeze yourself in between the tables to get to the seat if you're sitting against the wall.
There were only two servers there. One was very attentive and would come by and check once in a while, to see if the food was ok, or if our water needed to be refilled. The other one, on the other hand, was standing around most of the night, and we had to prompt her a few times to refill out water.
We ordered the chicken satay appy, pad thai and the seafood plate. The satay came almost right away. The chicken was deepfried, which was a first for us for satays. It was alright, a little bit dry though, but the peanut sauce was good.
The we ordered medium spiciness for both the pad thai and the seafood plate.The pad thai was alright, nothing to boast about. I've definitely had better pad thai's elsewhere. The seafood plate was not spicy at all, more on the sweet side. Most of the seafood was overcooked, especially the squid pieces, they were all quite tough and chewy. The jumbo prawns were good though. Would like it more if there was more sauce on the plate.
The prices were reasonable even without the coupon, but the food really wasn't all that. I might come back to try their curries and their desserts, we were just too full this time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Go Go Pizza and Pasta House501 North Rd, #E, Coquitlam
Best pizza in the world
By Drewlou of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 11:46pm [Take-out]

I have never been disappointed by this place. They are always so friendly and have our pizza ready for us. It is truly the most amazing pizza I've ever had. I would take a plane to have it. A must try for everyone.I live downtown Vancouver and drive all the way to coquitlam to get it. Keep up the amazing work and service!!! I only gave them 3 stars for service because I've only ever had take out so it is difficult to gauge service without the whole dining experience.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Chada Thai Fine Cuisine2991 Lougheed Hwy, #107, Coquitlam
Charming, but cramped
By kewpiebaby of Vancouver (200 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 11:48pm [Dine in]

I’ve been eying Chada Thai ever since the chef was featured on Anna & Kristina’s Grocery Bag. My husband and I love Thai food so we were really excited to use a Groupon Deal here. I made a reservation a few days in advance for a Sunday seating at 5:30pm and the restaurant manager, Janewit was very friendly, reminding me to bring the voucher when I arrived. Located in Pinetree Village across from Coquitlam Centre, it’s very easy to get to, has tons of parking, but it’s a very tiny restaurant.

Great decor, cozy, warm and a cute little Thai place. Because of the Groupon (I think) the restaurant was packed (on a Sunday!) when we arrived with 2 or 3 tables empty. Being able to hear and almost touch the surrounding tables at times felt a bit too cozy and cramped, but nothing new to us, having eaten at tighter quarters in restaurants in New York. The place could probably seat around 25 people or so, but anymore than that would feel like a fire hazard. The kitchen is basically in the centre corner of the room (covered by walls,phew!), but it’s lovely to be able to smell all the Thai aromas as soon as you enter the restaurant.

We ordered a few dishes to share: the Pad Thai - Pan-fried rice noodles in tamarind sauce, with chicken and prawns, egg, tofu, green onions, and bean sprouts, topped with ground peanuts, the Beef Mus-sa-Mun Curry - Pan-seared with potatoes, onions, carrots and peanuts, served with sautéed vegetables, and the Pork Garlic Pepper Sauce - sautéed with cauliflower, carrots, onions, and steamed broccoli with black sweet sauce. Everything was brought out quite fast, so that was a bit of a surprise, but thankfully it was “smoking” hot. I think we would be safe to order medium spice next time because the mild was too mild for our tastes and the dishes we tried needed more of a spice kick.

The Pad Thai was really good, very saucy and had large prawns, which I really enjoyed. The Pork Garlic Pepper Sauce was quite yummy and smelled really good. Great flavours. The only downside was the pork was slightly overcooked and dry. The Beef Curry was quite delicious and was an okay sized portion. My hubby also tried their Chada Thai Tea - A special blend of flavourful cinnamon, clove, star anise, fresh lemon, with a touch of honey. It was a tad bit bitter for my tastes, but he enjoyed it.

Overall a yummy Thai place, BUT I think a bit too pricey for Coquitlam. I understand the exotic flavours and quality of really good Thai food, but I can’t really justify $22 for a beef curry entree. And the tables for 2 are pretty small, so the waitress really should have better technique of “plopping” down the plates before walking away. One of our long rectangular dishes barely fit on the table; when she first set it down, it nearly fell off the edge. My husband and I had to rearrange the other dishes on the table so everything would fit. Crazy. But I really liked it that rice wasn’t an extra charge and came standard with their curry dishes.
Service was pretty nonexistent on this particular Sunday night, but Janewit was quick to apologize and was only able to refill our water glasses at the end of the meal. =(

I think we’d come back to try the lunch special, but a regular dinner might be a bit too much for our wallets. =(

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My Greek Taverna946 Brunette Avenue, Coquitlam
Very enjoyable
By COMPANI of V5A1S6 (21 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 18, 2011 - 12:12pm [Dine in]

We brought my mother-in-law to this restaurant because we wanted to show off this place...after searching for soooo long to find a good greek restaurant we finally found one. Every time we have been to this place the service has been awesome. They're quick, very friendly and our food has never taken very long. Even though every single time we've gone there it's been super packed and busy. In relation to other Greek restaurants we've been to, this place is priced well and the portion sizes are huge. I can never finish my plate.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Nando's Chicken3000 Lougheed Hwy, #204, Coquitlam
Best Chicken in the Tri-Cities!!!
By canucks2011 of Tri-Cities, British Columbia (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 3:00pm [Dine in]

Went to Nando's Coquitlam with the family on the weekend, got to say it comes as advertised. They got by far the best chicken around and a good amount of options for sides. The food was outstanding, along with the service and the atmosphere. We could not finish our entire meal and I had to get the rest packed to go. The chicken was cooked to perfection, the salad was nice and green and the rice was fantastic. When they talk about their food being spicy, they sure do mean it! I ordered hot and was it ever spicy, definitely recommend Lemon & Herb or Medium for your first time.

The service was unbelievable, you would think it would be like fast food but it’s not. You order at the counter with their very friendly staff. I was very surprised at how great their servers were. After placing our order we were asked to take a seat and they would bring the food out to us. We had a server come up and check up on us. Not something I would expect from a restaurant that is suppose to be casual dine.

The ambiance & atmosphere was great. Its decor is very nice and it has a sitting area for people waiting for take out or waiting for friends to arrive. They also have a patio outside which wasn't set up because of the poor weather conditions. They got two TV’s and play some decent background music.
I would recommend this place to anyone who loves chicken. As they say it is very addictive and we will for sure go back there. The service, food, price and atmosphere were great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Zhou's Chinese Restaurant1930 Como Lake Ave, Coquitlam
Great westernized Chinese food with lots of variety
By noidy of Coquitlam (13 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 14, 2011 - 10:20pm [Delivery]

We've tried several local (Westernized) Chinese restaurants and find ourselves going back and ordering from this one repeatedly. We've probably done so over a dozen times and have found the food and service to be very good and consistent. There's always lots of left-overs which we can then have for lunch.

Portion sizes are very good, vegetables are tender-crisp, fried items are fresh tasting, orders are correct (no surprises or substitutions) and delivery is very fast and free over $20. If you have the brochure, you'll see that there are free items for purchases over $20, $30, $40 and $50 ranging from wonton soup/egg rolls, chicken chow mein, vegetable festival and ginger beef. You don't have to cut out the "Red Hot Coupon", but just tell them you have one when you order. The people on the phone and the delivery drivers are pleasant. There's also a discount for pick-up orders which we haven't experienced yet.

Some favorites: honey garlic boneless pork -- it's not on the menu, but you can ask for it. Singapore style fried vermicelli, breaded lemon chicken (very good lemon sauce), ma po minced beef and bean curd, minced pork and and egg plant hot pot and any meat with gai lan (Chinese broccoli). Dishes that are marked as "hot" have some kick, but I wouldn't say that they are chili hot (more like mild or when you add chili flakes to dishes).

It's the best Chinese take-out in the Tri-city area given the variety of dishes, food quality, value and service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Crepe Delicious2929 Barnet Highway, #1205, Coquitlam
Best Gealto and Crepes Ever!
By wutfood of Coquitlam, B.C. (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, February 14, 2011 - 7:16pm [Take-out]

The first time I went was on the grand opening, and even with an enormous lineup, the quality of service and food were amazing. I've been to many crepe places and many gelato places, but this one tops them all! The crepes were very skillfully made. They were nice and fluffy and hot, but I didn't burn my mouth on it. Combining the crepe with gelato made it even better. I had the raspberry gealto, and wasn't expecting much, but was very surprised. Some people might think the gelato is a bit pricey for the amount you get, but its so worth it!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Matoi Sushi3025 Lougheed Hwy, Coquitlam
Best sushi restaurant in Coquitlam, HANDS DOWN!
By ChivalryX of Burnaby (60 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 1:17pm [Dine in]

Being the big Sushi lover, I decided to give Matoi Sushi a try, given the rave reviews on Dinehere.ca.

When we arrived, we were amused that it was located in the exact same place as 2 other Japanese places had been. i.e. yet another restaurant take over.

The place was pretty quiet at 6pm on a weekday evening, with just one other couple there. We were cheerily greeted in the traditional Japanese manner by all the staff when we walked in the door, and given a nice table by the windows. It was quite obvious from the moment we walked in that it was an authentic Japanese run restaurant! (which is rare in Coquitlam)

The place has been reno'd since it's previous incarnation, and has a larger kitchen/sushi bar for the cooks, but less seating. Small tables are all out front, and there are a couple larger party rooms hidden in the back. Everything was very neat and tidy and spotlessly clean.

We were pleasantly surprised that they had a daily special menu with fresh items imported directly from Japan. Another rarity to see in any Vancouver Japanese places.

We ordered a couple Saba Nigiri, a Chirashi Don, a California Combo, and gave one of their specials a try, the Mirugai Ponzu for an appetizer. The Mirugai (geoduck) was AMAZING! Mixed with some seaweed, cucumbers and a salty/sour sauce it was absolutely delicious and the mirugai was the freshest I've ever had. The Chirashi Don had a wide selection of sashimi, with some less often seen items like salmon belly, and stewed gourd. Everything was delicious and very very fresh. Portion sizes were good, and the sushi was an appropriate size (i.e. fits in your mouth in one bite).

The service was impeccable, our tea was refilled constantly and the waitresses were very attentive and polite.

At the end of the meal we were given a packet of chocolate Pocky sticks, imported from Japan. This was a bit of a treat, as I hadn't eaten Pocky since I was quite little.

Price wise, the prices are in the mid range. Neither high nor low, but for the quality and freshness of the food, it's an outstanding value. Between the 2 of us, we spent around $35.

Overall, an absolutely wonderful experience and we'll definitely be returning again. Highly recommended!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Togo Sushi2929 Barnet Highway, #1208, Coquitlam
Great little Sushi place
By vanangel of poco (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, February 9, 2011 - 5:37pm [Take-out]

Me and my husband always go to Togo Sushi. We tend to sick with the same order, I usually get the avocado roll and mango roll and DH usually gets the California Combo. We are always happy with our order. The Miso Soup is great, they don't put seaweed bits in it (which we like). Also they're always quick, never usually have to wait more than 5 minutes for our order.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Papa John's Pizza555 North Rd, #2A, Coquitlam
Delicious!
By brittanytodorov of Vancouver, BC. (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 8, 2011 - 12:33pm [Take-out]

This pizza was absolutely delicious. The crust tastes buttery and is nice and crisp. The sauce and the toppings were fresh and cooked to perfection. They have some really good specials on now too, so I got a medium pepperoni pizza for $8.

Plus, I find that this pizza is easier to digest than Domino's.

Will definitely order again! Yum!!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Nando's Chicken3000 Lougheed Hwy, #204, Coquitlam
Expected much better value and service.
By Stylish of burnaby and vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, February 7, 2011 - 11:32am [Take-out]

It seemed like there was no effort to have better service provided from the time we called to place an order. When we arrived to pick up our order, there was no acknowledgement of our arrival. The person who was attending, a middle aged lady in the front did not seem too concerned that we were waiting to be attended. It seemed there was also other staff available behind the counter at the kitchen area who didn't bother to acknowledge either. Were were in a hurry and Instead we ended up waiting a good 5 mins to pay and pick up the order.

Once we brought the food home, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, not to mention the serving. It was definitely no what we expected.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
I Love Sushi228 Schoolhouse St, #3, Coquitlam
Pretty Good
By kewpiebaby of Vancouver (200 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 3, 2011 - 5:24pm [Dine in]

A nice change from all the surrounding sushi places in the area. We enjoyed a few of their chef's special rolls such as the Energy Roll that has salmon, tuna, crab, cream cheese, avocado, & masago, the RJ Roll that has prawn tempura, yam topped w/chopped scallop, masago, the Spicy Mom Roll has prawn tempura, yam topped w/ Spicy Salmon & Tuna, and finally the Honey Roll-california roll w/ baked chopped scallop on top. All tasted great and great portions. Each roll was around $7-$8 but we were pretty happy with the choices & the prices. I wouldn't say they were the best sushi place out there, but the rolls are unique, and nicely made. The service is very friendly & efficient. This would be a great place to come before or after the movies next door at Silvercity.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance