Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3
  • Food3
  • Service3.5
  • Value2.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews13

Five Guys Burgers & Fries

2002 Park Royal, #501
West Vancouver, BC V7T2W4
Tel: (604) 925-3483
Neighbourhood: Park Royal
  • Cuisine: Burgers, Fast food
  • Price: $ ($15 or less)
  • Service: Takeout
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Hours: Mon - Sun: 11AM - 10PM
  • A long standing American fast food burger chain that specializes in non-frozen beef patties. This location is situated in Park Royal South.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 13 of 13 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Expectations for a "fast food" burger
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 11, 2011 - 2:59pm [Dine in]

Looking at all the reviews I can see why there is a huge divide for Five Guys. I heard the hype, waited for it to die down and decided to try for myself.

Draped in the colours of swirl candy, you knew it looked like a place where the food wasn't good for you at all. I'm not too sure about the open kitchen as it tries to look honest, but the huge metal rack with dozens of pre-packaged buns, the sacks of potatoes by the door and the open boxes complimentary peanuts doesn't seem to work for me too much. There are review clippings proudly mounted on the walls and the staff does its best to keep the place clean but I'm amazed at how lazy the dining patrons are at cleaning themselves up, given the amount of peanut shells on the ground.

My gf and I ordered a single and a double with various toppings including cheese, bacon and mushrooms, a small french fries and a fountain soda. I do agree that the prices are hard to swallow given the type of restaurant but on taste alone, it is definitely one of the tastier burgers for a fast food outfit. If you're expecting a pretentious burger with toppings like aged cheddar, stilton, glazed onions, pancetta, homemade mustard and mayo on a brioche bun, give your head a check before coming in. At Five Guys, you'll get a made to order burger with orange processed cheese, a nice beefy yet juicy patty that has that grease that makes that packaged bun taste that much better and nothing more. The mushrooms were generous and the bacon stayed crisp and I liked the fact that I could pick the fixin's as I like my burgers plain. The skin on french fries are plentiful but rather boring and the pop machine didn't seem to want to mix properly that day but the burger was just right.

The service is that of a fast food joint but the staff are a little more pleasant and a little more helpful at recommendations. For that, it deserves a litte more kudos.

It's not an amazing burger but I don't think it's suppose to be. It is however a great, greasy burger when you want one instead of the usual McDonalds or Burger King.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
It's okay. Know what you're getting into.
By EatsFats of Vancouver (312 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 6, 2011 - 10:28pm [Dine in]

Probably this place is a bit of a victim of over-hype. Certainly by the "reviews" plastered around the place, you'd think it was the ultimate, premium burger joint. (I guess maybe in some parts of the US, this _does_ pass as fine dining, as some of the articles would seem to indicate).

The reality is that it is simply a fast-ish food burger joint. Think of it that way and you will feel better. That's the way the restaurant is dressed up anyways. Quite clean though, no complaints about that.

The burgers are really quite decent. Not super juicy and I'm not a big fan of the "doughy" style bun though. It was fresh tasting and not too salty and gooped up with mystery sauce. The "small" burger is your typical burger size, if I recall, that runs around $4 or so. (They are much larger than In 'n Out). The "regular" is actually a huge double patty stacker.
By the way, you get 4 choices, regular, cheese, bacon or bacon with cheese (if I recall). Keepin' it simple. (Okay, if you really insist, they do have hot dogs & grilled cheese sandwich too). You get any/all toppings at no extra charge, so we opted for the usual "all" on one. This made the burger an incredibly thick mess to handle. (This is not necessarily a bad thing :-)
The fries are extra, but even the regular size is a very generous portion (I guess it should be for the price) and you can taste it is just from natural potatoes cut up. But good thing the drinks are free refills.
Oh, and in case you're still hungry, free peanuts, self-serve. I guess all you could eat. Don't knock it, I find these quite good, these are the large, roasted in the shell type.

Reasonably happy with what we got. if I were in the area, yeah, I'd stop by. It's a bit pricier than the competition, I think, but maybe worth it. I don't think it's worth a trip though, they're not _that_ good. I think Vera's is at least as good if not better. If I truly wanted a premium burger, I might head over to Romer's if I were feeling rich.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Got excited for nothing
By Kujibo of West Vancouver (127 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, June 27, 2010 - 10:27pm [Dine in]

I was very surprised to suddenly see this place open at Park Royal. I love a good burger so am always excited to see a new place I can try.

Place looks pretty nice, and the plentiful staff was cheerful and helpful. I'd give them higher marks but hey it's still self service, including your own drink.

We ordered their most supreme burger, some kind of double patty cheeseburger deal, and we got a large cajun fries as well. You get to pick from a wide a selection of toppings for free (the cheese is extra). I eagerly awaited its arrival - it must be good for $9 just for the burger alone!

Sadly I was very disappointed. It didn't click with me that the cheese was going to be processed cheese. I just kind of expected real cheese when I am ordering a $9 burger. Duh on me. Overall it wasn't particularly tasty, particularly because of the tasteless cheese. Sure it's fresh and all that, blah blah blah, but for me taste is everything and it was quite frankly a bit tasteless. I have no hankering to ever eat one again. The value here is what is really poor, I give it a 1/5 value.

The fries on the other hand were a good value. The bag is just filled with heaps of fries ... I think they were less than $5. The fries were also good and fresh. The cajun seasoning got quite sickening by the end though given the amount of fries. I think we will skip the cajun going forward and we'll be alright.

Didn't bother ordering a drink as they seemed a bit of a rip for a fast food joint. Never seen a more expensive drink. Again, poor value. If I had my burger, fries, and drink, I would have hit $16 + tax. That's crazy for fast food.

Anyway, I'd only ever order the fries from this place if I was ever to return.

All in all you can get a tastier cheaper burger at a number of full service restaurants so I can't justify every coming back for a burger here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good Eats
By aj67 of Burnaby (27 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 25, 2012 - 8:24pm [Dine in]

We had a chance today to go to Five Guys at Park Royal
I had been to one in Milwaukee, and had enjoyed it. Of course it is more expensive here
than down there.
I had the cheese burger, rainbowcrab had a bacon cheese burger and we shared a fries. And yes 2 adults can share 1 small fries, they are huge!

They were good, I enjoyed the toppings, and loved the fries. I also really enjoyed the free peanuts.

Rainbowcrab liked her burger, said it had very good taste, but for some reason hers was cold.
not sure how that happened as they grill them right there?

I would go back, would like to try a hot dog next time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
It was ok
By knothead of Burnaby (20 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, September 3, 2010 - 5:22pm [Dine in]

Had the cheese burger fries and pop for $15.09

Lots of fries it was a double order I think, more then what could fit in the container. I did order a small but it was rung in as medium. They were good could have been a little more crispy but I would give them a 8/10 over all.

The burger was ok 2 flattened 3-4 oz patties, I watched them smash down each patty prior to cooking think a MC donalds pattey and flatten it and that what you get.

Lots of toppings included fresh the grilled onions and mushrooms were good but over all under all the toppings you could not taste the meat. Theses burger places are forgetting that its a hamburger not a veggi burger.

If your going as a couple only order one fries cause thats all you will need.

Price for the burger was high it you get the full topping set they offer I suppose it would be decent value. I would rather have more meat in the burger than all the extra free toppings.

I won't be back with those prices

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Maybe once?
By imprimatur of Lower Mainland (19 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 19, 2010 - 1:50am [Dine in]

Food: Well-cooked burger. Complimentary (and delicious) roasted peanuts. All fresh cooked. That said, this place is little better than Harvey's in terms of quality - the cheeseburger cost over a dollar more than the hamburger, and got me a piece of American processed rubber, half-melted. Nothing about the burger was "wow-worthy." The fries were nice but had been fried in oil at the wrong temperature and were greasy and had an odd texture as a result.

Service: Very nice staff. Polite, attentive, and fast. Easily this place's best feature. The place was also kept nicely clean.

Value: $15 for a burger and fries. While the "large fries" were very generous - we were given not only two large boxes (think McD's super-sized), but the bottom third of the bag was also filled with fries - this doesn't make up for the cost of everything.

Ambiance: It looks like they hollowed out the back corner of a costco and turned it into some sort of cafeteria. Red plastic married with white laminate tile and harsh industrial lighting. All the walls are covered with vague newspaper article pieces culled from various (mostly Floridian) newspapers singing the chain's praises.

Bottom line: If you're in the area, this place might be worth a single visit for the hell of it, but it's not worth a long drive - you'll get something very nearly the same at half the price at any Harvey's (or even a well-staffed Wendy's on a good day) in the land. This reminded me rather of the burgers at the PNE - a nice experience, but nothing special.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

The best burgers/value in town, hands down
By nina of New Westminster (19 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 7, 2010 - 3:47pm [Dine in]

We drive all the way from new west to eat their burgers, they are just amazing! all toppings/ingredients are really nice and fresh (and included!), their fries are incredible, juicy beef patties (they taste home made) and the bread they use is great. I'm not giving them much for ambiance, but is ok, is clean, but is a bit caffeteria style. Great value, great service and great products, what else can you ask for?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Hey, if it's good enough for Obama.....
By HighPlainsDrifter of East Van (11 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 23, 2012 - 2:13pm [Dine in]

Dined here twice, both times with my wife and two small kids. One of those times we were accompanied by my sister in law and her small kid. The consensus? This place rocks! And we ALL couldn't wait to come back! So much for the intro, now onto the review:

Food: Burgers are delicious, juicy, tasty, and fresh. Pretty good selection of toppings, but not as extensive as what you get at Splitz Grill. The buns are gummy white bun, super fresh and offers little resistance as you bite into your burger --- just as it should be. This is no time for your fancy-pants artisanal ciabatta. These buns are perfect for me, but if you don't like this style of bun then stay away from this place. The fries -- delicious, hand cut, peel-on, deep fried in peanut oil. Others have complained that they are not "crisp" enough or something. Well, for starters, I always dine in as fries (from ANY place) will suffer during ANY length of time in a closed paper takeout bag. Yes, the quantity is ginormous, but guess what? We've never had any leftovers! My recommended burger is the regular (two patty) with bacon and cheese. I'm a 6-ft tall guy, 180 lbs and I can easily finish one of these, but I wouldn't have room for much more. This place does a brisk business, lots of happy customers, everyone enjoying their food, positive vibes all round, obviously no-one who posted some of the more lukewarm reviews on this site. Is this the best "fast food" burger in town? Probably not, but it's pretty damn good, definitely a cut above Triple O's and miles ahead of Wendy's, McD's, A&W, and the like......but possibly below Splitz Grill on Main Street or at Whistler. There's no point in drawing comparison to your $25 Lumiere foie gras burger or what-have-you since that is not in the fast food category and is like comparing apples with oranges. Four stars.

Service: Five stars for a fast food joint? Yeah, you heard me. This place is a well-oiled machine. All of your toppings are punched into a computer so they get it right every time. If you have multiple burgers in the same order they number the burgers so you know which is which, a nice touch. The cashier is always friendly and enthusiastic. The staff at the grill (all in plain view) are likewise upbeat. There is a positive energy in this place which really makes a difference. Even when the place is packed, the burgers never take very long as there is tons of staff behind the counter. Remember, that I am keeping things in context here: it ain't Bishop's but for fast food service it is as good as it gets, and that's what matters. Five stars.

Value: For people who think that $8 for a burger is too much here is my advice: build yourself a time machine and go back to the 1980's when burgers were $4 since the pricing at 5 Guys is very typical for Vancouver in the year 2012. Deal with it. Also, good value in the fact that things like sauteed mushrooms and sauteed onions are standard toppings, not extra like at most other establishments. The patties are fresh (not frozen) and the fries are awesome and also fresh. These things all factor into value. Four stars.

Ambiance: Four stars for a fast food joint in a shopping mall parking lot? You betcha. My rationale: the interior of this place is spotless, bathrooms are perfectly clean. The red and white motif just somehow "fits" with the 5 Guys aesthetic, and I mean that in a good way. Heck, once you have your burger and fries in front of you, you're not going to care about the "view" out to the parking lot. And, to reiterate earlier comments, both the customers and the staff seem to love this place, and that all contributes to good ambiance. Four stars.

......oh, and just one more thing: Obama's burger of choice? (in the States, not at Park Royal, duh): cheeseburger with lettuce, jalapenos, tomatoes, mustard. SOLID!

ENJOY!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Artery Clogging Goodness
By hannahawilson of Vancouver (Fairview) (10 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 28, 2010 - 9:51am [Dine in]

The first time I visited Five Guys was in New Jersey near my boyfriend's hometown, so the place will always have a very authentic feel to me. The Park Royal location does justice to my first experience - same no-frills authenticity, same amazing burgers!

If you're a woman (like me) and don't want to be stuffed beyond consciousness, opt for the "mini-burger" - one patty instead of a whopping two! That's much more than enough food (plus fries) for me. I had a bacon cheeseburger and it just melted in my mouth. So greasy-gooey-cheesy delicious! With sauteed mushrooms, onions, and bbq sauce I was in burger heaven! Their fries are worth a mention too - cooked in peanut oil so they have an amazing taste!

This is just the best junk food and a perfect spot to indulge once in a while. Don't go if you're expecting McDonald's prices - you'll pay more but it's worth it!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Worth a try
By sailorgirl83 of North vancouver (3 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 26, 2011 - 11:26am [Dine in]

When we first walked in and looked at the menu, we almost walked right back out. The prices are a bit outrageous for burgers and fries, like $15 each. But there is a way to do it for under $20 and you won't leave hungry! Go for the small burgers. They're still 1/4 pound and with lots of toppings, it's almost too big to eat. Share the fries. Trust me. Get a small fry and share them. The fries come in a normal size paper cup, which is full and more than enough for one person. It was hilarious though....look in the bottom of the bag. There was about 4 more cups of fries. A rediculous amount hahaha. It seemed like everyone else was getting the same. And they're really good too. Fresh cut, thick, cooked in peanut oil....yummy!! The other way to save money....share a drink. Get a small, and you can refill it as many times as you want. They don't seem to care either. They recommended that we do it that way, if you don't mind sharing! Plus you get free peanuts while you wait. We really enjoyed our experience and couldn't finish it all for under $20!! Maybe a rip off for one person, but a great deal for two if you know how to order!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Drove all the way and Nothing
By rideharder of Vancouver Area (3 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 21, 2010 - 6:32pm [Dine in]

We were all excited to try something new and different as Five Guys is new in town from the USA. They have whole lot of restos in the USA and we wanted to be the first to have the burgers here. OK the burger is big, fat and juicy but they sure charge you for it. Also the taste is nothing. It's just a burger supersized and more expensive. Nothing special about it. I can have the same burger for less at Red Robin. Probably it is the same too. All this drive for nothing.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
So Much Hype...For Nothing Special
By schwanzmannn of North Van (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, November 17, 2010 - 2:41pm [Dine in]

After hearing about how this burger chain was taking the U.S. by storm, I decided to go check it out. The layout was nostalgic, like a 60's burger joint. They had complimentary peanuts while you waited. Upon ordering, I noticed that a simple burger is $8 bucks (came out to be around $9.25), and that was without fries and a drink. Let me tell you, after so much hype about how good these burgers where, I was terribly disappointed. I received a soggy bun about the same size as a cheeseburger bun from McDonald's. The meat was modest to say the least, nothing one couldn't cook up in their barbecue with store-bought ground beef. The only positive thing I can say about 5 Guy's was the service and complementary peanuts!

Bottom line: 5 Guy's is overrated; don't believe the questionable reviews plastered all over the walls.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
disappointing
By softwareguy of new west minister (2 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 22, 2010 - 5:30pm [Dine in]

This place is too over priced, $8.00 for a hamburger is rediculous, and you have to pay an additional $4 for a basket of fries, but they give you free nuts!!!!

The hamburgers tasted like leather and were put together very sloppy,

I was truly unhappy with this place, they were taking down stuff off the walls and a tack almost fell into my burger, and the servers found it funny,

i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone, if you want a goods experience, find somewhere else to go

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found

Other Locations

1.Robson (5.2 km)
2.Fremont Village (30 km)
3.South Surrey (40.8 km)
4.Eagle Landing (86.2 km)
5.Kamloops (246.9 km)
6.West Bank (259.8 km)
7.Royal Oak (665.9 km)
8.Deerfoot Meadows (672.6 km)
9.MacLeod Trail (673.1 km)
10.Shepard Regional (676.9 km)

Nearby Restaurants

1.Booster Juice (0 m)
2.Thai Express (0 m)
3.Fresh Slice (0 m)
4.Fresh Garden Salad Bar (0 m)
5.Big Orange (0 m)
6.Koryo Korean BBQ (0 m)
7.Curry Express (0 m)
8.Quiznos (0 m)
9.Sashimi Sushi (0 m)
10.Dairy Queen (0 m)