One thing I've always loved about this place is it vibe. Now, there are a lot of other good places in town, but their lunch is pretty good. Lots to choose from, delicious food, and most importantly, its all you can eat. Buffet. Yes, buffet. Omnomnom. I love coming here during the summer, which is right around the corner, and just having a bite at the patio. The view is amazing, lots of friendly people, good food, add a beer and I'm good to go. They've got some local crafts but one particular Indian beer is really good. I'm a sucker for their chicken tikka but there are lots of other good dishes to choose from. If youve had indian before, you'll like the naan but the basmati rice is pretty good as well. Make sure you get a patio seat before they run out!
360 spin! I used to not be a fan of this place, to be fair, a gave it a couple of chances before I decided to not go there entirely. I found the food to be rather bland and sub-par to other Chinese and asian place in town, not to mention the portion sizes served here are quite small. That is the impression I had up until now, or so I thought.
We were looking for a place to eat and this one seemed to be the only one that would not take forever to serve us. We went in and the food was not bad. I don't know if there has been a change in management since i last came or what but the fake meat was delicious. Also, don't miss the drumsticks! Delicious.
Never coming back. Had 2 gift cards, one with $0 balance, one with $20 balance. Went there today to have lunch wanting to use up the $20 gift card. Cashier-in-training was on duty at the time. We had ordered 2 sandwiches and soups, then I gave the cashier-in-training both gift cards to pay. She had trouble getting the gift cards to scan on their system despite many tries. She asked a colleague for help, and during this time both the gift cards were lost amongst their huge pile of gift cards sitting on the counter. They didn't know which gift card was ours. We complained and the manager came out and all he offered was to take down our phone number while he calls the gift card company to see what he can do. We left, furious, to find lunch elsewhere, and $20 gone.
I also ordered a coffee in my own mug, so they had to give me the coffee. Next time if they give me a coffee, I would probably throw it away because it was pretty gross.
So me and my gf decided to order from the fish shack pay a premium for delivery , since my gf is a pescatore I reluctantly agreed knowing very well that most sea food restaurants don't deliver!! So we ordered a bunch of food seafood stuffed mushrooms, the rock crab jalapeño
Poppers (absolutely no sign of crab,ZILCH and you charger 10 bucks for 5 half poopers half filled with cream cheese?), the seafood melt ( this one is the best..big toast lotsa butter but hardly ANY seafood filling OMG even a Chinese restaurant would do better), seafood cannelloni (3 pieces of narrow cannellonis filled with you guessed right...HARDLY ANYTHING) and the fish shack fried rice (should be served as an appy minus too much salt)..
Hey blokes if you guys want real seafood this is NOT the place unless you have MONEY TO BURN
Nice little place, fun dancing if your into that they have a kinda crowded little dance area. Crowd was fun to watch though. Main reason I went was to have some food and watch soccer on the massive screen. At 8pm they didn't have there signature short ribs, supposedly the were frozen still, so had chicken wings three different flavours they were not very good, the chicken just didn't taste very good, it had a weird flavour to it. The major concern about this place is the service it was the worst I have had in a long time, it took 20 minutes to get a drink. my drink was fine, but my friends was served wrong they ordered 2 shots of rum with a lime over ice, they received the two shots plus soda water no ice -so after a 20 minute wait to receive the drink wrong on top was pretty bad then the waitress came back with the same tall glass that she had dumped and poured in the two shots back into the tall glass, seemed kinda weird. service was consistent for the few hours we were there.
Before a hockey game I have caught myself here a few times in the past year. Every time I order the Beef Wellington, OMG its really good. Tastes exactly how I expect....little expensive in my mind but it is a dish that needs time and care in the preparation. Good job Hy's. Service is also worth a note, our waiter's on all occasions were very professional, attentive but not interruptive.
My friends wanted to try this place as they had bought a groupon. The service was good and food was also very good. I had the steak. Dessert was also very good. It's worth the money they charge as most yaletown places have small portions. This place was not bad. Lots of people at the restaurant and our server was very good.
Every time I come in the servicers is beyond rude! Today I got lectured on the size of my dish. I have had this food many times and have never been lectured like I had today. The woman came up and watched me the whole time, Made me very uncomfortable. Then she stood right in front of me lecturing me about my dish size. Her stared at me with a very mean look on her face the whole time. I have ate there several times and this was the worst I have been treated there. I have experienced their rude personalities before. I was shocked to find they didn't water the sauces as bad as they usual do. I have been there when they watered them down with a pitcher before, which gave the sauces no flavor. Plus the rice is not fresh. I highly not recommend them due to their rude personalities. Plus you shouldn't get lectured for the price you pay. Pus I have a 2 year old and got charged $3 for the 5 noodles she ate. Their is another BBQ not to far from them and I will go there for now on. At least they give you fried wontons and extras with your meal. Again, do yourself a favor and never eat at Robson. Do if you want to be treated with disrespect. It has never been a pleasant visit every time I have gone. They hirer the rudest of rude. Why support a restaurant financially with people like them. I don't appreciate the lecture and the attitude!!!!!
Inconsistently good food, consistently bad service. I saw this place on Diners and Drive-ins, I really wanted to love this place, and at first I did. Problem is, after four times going to this place, the tea is usually served luke warm at best, the food is sometimes served at a temperature that seems to say- I have been sitting in the back on a shelf for 5 or more minutes, the restaurant is filthy, the décor is horrible, and my goodness the waitresses are so inattentive. The noodles are really good as is the gyoza, but they really need to clean this place up and hire some people who actually want to service not a bunch of people who stand around clueless. The service is a huge problem here, the food is great. I rated it solid but it would be outstanding if I actually received it hot!
A friend came here and posted it on FB so we decided to drop by this new place. As my wife and I both love ramen, we have gone to most of the popular ramen places in Vancouver and Richmond. Danbo is a small ramen shop on W 4th. A neat and cozy place with the ramen looking good and priced about average at about $9.50. You can customize the soup, noodles, toppings. This is Fukuoka style so the noodles are really thin. Unfortunately, the soup lacked the richness in flavour. The basic taste was there but it seemed really watered down and didn't have much umami to it. The amount of noodles also seemed small so you end up ordering the kaidama or an extra serving of noodles for an extra $2. That brings the price of the ramen to $11.50. I ordered the B set which comes with 3pc Gyoza and a bowl of rice for another $3.50. The gyoza was again cooked really well with a nice crisp bottom and juicy top but didn't taste very good. My wife had the Shio Tonkotsu $9.95. The soup was a little better but not much so. In the end, it looks good in appearance but for $15 for a ramen lunch, there are many better places in the city.
This place is new to Kerrisdale replacing the long standing Avenue Grill. With not be as satisfied with the other Pho place in the area it was time to give Pho Triple 3 a try. We ordered the lg hot & sour prawn soup with egg noodles and the chicken teriyaki and wonton soup combo.
The hot & sour soup broth came in 1 container and the noodles in another. The broth was filled to the top which I like b/c the broth is my favourite part of the soup. There were ample amounts thin egg noodles in the other. Accompanying the broth was 6 good size prawns, cabbage, deep fried onion bits, basil, tomatoes and bean sprouts. The soup was really flavourful. The only thing that it didn't come with was additional bean sprouts, basil and hot/hoisin sauce. I would request that next time. The chicken teriyaki came in a good portion of crispy deep fried chicken, a broccoli, steamed bean sprouts and cabbage. The teriyaki sauce came in the side with sesame seeds in it. This dish was a hit with the chicken teriyaki consumers in our family.
I would return to this place and would be interested to see what their other dishes taste like.
No one was at the desk when we arrived, so we just sort of stood around until someone finally noticed us. We were waited on by three different servers, and while they were friendly enough, the service was average. For example, only one of us was offered fresh ground pepper, and she walked away before we could ask. The soup had a layer of grease floating on top, the steak was gristly, the sea bass had no flavour, and the chicken, which tasted wonderful going down was ghastly coming out the other end all night long. When the manager got back to me four days later, by email and not telephone, all he had to say was "thanks for the feedback." We should have turned around and walked out when we saw the mostly empty restaurant at 7:30pm on a Friday and the big screen TV (really? In a "fancy" restaurant?) showing the latest MMA bout.
Well, this one is a significant improvement over the one on West 10th. The West 10th Gold Train Express used to be fabulous. It has gone seriously downhill in every way, especially in the quality of the service of the staff. This one was much better - I ordered the same thing that I used to always order at the West 10th location. It was MUCH BETTER food, the service was GREAT, the atmosphere was SO MUCH NICER. I will definitely go back to this one again, and I will never, EVER go back to the one on West 10th.
I was an extremely loyal customer of this restaurant for a very long time (many years). It used to be GREAT - great food, great service, great value, eclectic décor.
But now, I refuse to even go back anymore. I am in mourning! This used to be my go-to place. Now, I am left with such a terrible taste in my mouth that I decided I just have to let it go. This is what happened. In the last 2 years this place has gone seriously downhill in every single way. I think there was a change of ownership (I'm not sure, but nothing else explains the depressing downturn that has taken place in this once-great place). This is what they did:
- changed and seriously LOWERED the quality of the food
- RAISED the prices (lower quality for more $)
- DRAMATICALLY reduced the quality of the service of the staff
- developed a SERIOUSLY BAD ATTITUDE towards long-time loyal customers like me
Here are just a few examples of the changes that they made:
(1) There used to be regular table service by regular servers. They eliminated this except for the very beginning step of ordering food and bringing the food to the table. After the food is brought to the table, they do not provide any further table service at all. The servers used to come by regularly to the table as a normal server does to ask if you need anything and also to refill the tea pot, refill your water glass, etc. --> now, every time I've been there in the last 2 years, after the server brought my food I was completely ignored from that moment on, and if I ever needed or wanted anything else at all (water, tea pot refill, order something else, order dessert, or get the bill) I had to literally get up and go to the front counter to ask for it.
(2) They used to bring the bill on a small plate complete with one slice of orange per person + one fortune cookie per person. They eliminated this. Every time I've been there in the last 2 years, they never once did this again. It was a nice touch. Believe it or not, it kind of made the meal, in the end. Now, not only do they no longer bring the little plate with the slice of orange, fortune cookie, and your bill........they refuse to bring the bill to the table at all anymore. You have to go up to the counter and ask for the bill.
(3) Good luck when you constantly DO have to go up to the counter every time anybody at your table needs anything at all --> the staff are sometimes not even there, they are in the back, and you have to actually have to call out to them loudly into the kitchen and ask one of them to please help you. I think this is totally unacceptable for a restaurant. You shouldn't have to call out to the staff in the kitchen when you want a refill of water, you want to order something else, or you want to pay your bill. Then again, if this is the kind of system they want, who am I to say they shouldn't have it? But seriously, they should probably put signs up saying they no longer provide full table service like they used to. It's not always the case that there is nobody at the counter when you need to go up there to ask for something, sometimes there actually is somebody around at the front counter to take your request when you are forced to get up from your table every time you want something....just not always...they're absent often enough that I sure remember having to do it often in the last 2 years of my continued loyalty.
(4) They used to be friendly staff for so many years! They most certainly are no longer friendly, and they don't even realize that they're unfriendly to extremely loyal customers who have been going there for years and years on end.
(5) The last straw for me was the last time I went there, about 1 or 2 months ago. After so many years of loyal devotion to this place, this last time I went for lunch there was an extremely loud child in the restaurant. This child was not a baby. This was an older child of about 12, 13 or 14 years old. The kid and his Mom were screaming at each other nonstop. They were so loud that it completely disrupted my meal. I was alone, but if I were with somebody else we couldn't have had a conversation - that's how loud it was. I was trying to read a book...I couldn't even read because the screaming was so distracting. The yelling went on and on and on...through the whole meal! I could tell that all of the customers were disturbed by the loud voices too. Finally half way through my meal I got up, went to the counter, and asked the so-called "server" if he could please ask these guests to be more quiet. Would you believe that this is what he said to me: "No! I'm not going to ask them to change their behavior, they have loud voices, they have every right to talk and eat just like everybody else." WOW! These were not just "loud voices". This was bloody screaming and yelling at each other, nonstop.
This "server" didn't even give a damn that I was an incredibly loyal customer for so many years....as long as I can remember. I have brought many many friends to this place. I had been frequenting it about once/week for several years in a row!
I was so shocked by his lack of helpfulness that I asked who he was. He said he was the owner.
Enough said -- right then and there, I knew that I would never, EVER give this owner my money again. This is an owner who does not care about his good customers.
Nobody should give their money to that kind of business owner.
This is a great little craft beer joint in the middle of nowhere (Ontario & 8th Ave) which gets packed on Friday evenings. There's usually a line up to fill your growlers or to get inside but I usually manage to find a seat. Noisier than hell when it gets packed but that's part of the fun I suppose. They serve a long list of their craft creations and have small snacks to eat, including the meat & pretzel plates and Charcuterie. Sometimes a band will play live and often, a food truck is parked right out front. I love the beer sampler.
On Wednesday, March 9, 2016, my husband and I went to Osteria Napoli Ristorante (1600 Renfrew St., Vancouver) for dinner. It was our first time there and it was the Groupon that prompted us to give it a try. The Groupon worth $50 for anything on the menu. We arrived at 6:20pm. The waiter told suggested, politely, that instead of using our Groupon we might want to consider keeping it for another day of the week. Reason being, on Wednesday nights they offer your choice of any pasta dish (except seafood) for roughly half-price ($9.99) and deeply discounted house wines ($12 for a half-litre). We understood that conversation to mean… ”You should capitalize on our low Wednesday night prices by using cash and save your Groupon for a more expensive evening like a Thursday, Friday or Saturday. You’d get more bang for your buck then”. NOTE: Those are my words, not his, but that is how we understood the conversation.
Nonetheless, we decided to redeem the Groupon that night rather than risking holding onto it for a 2nd night when we it might turn out that we didn’t enjoy the food or service.
Here’s the key point, in our two conversations (on arrival and when placing our order) at NO TIME did he indicate that if we used the Groupon that we were not eligible for the special Wednesday prices and instead we would have to pay full price for the meal, i.e. - the pasta dishes became $17+ each instead of $9.99, and the wine became $18 instead of $12.
Our order was taken promptly and we received our appetizer in a reasonable amount of time. Once the appetizer was done, the main course never came. The tables around us were being served but not us. One table of 4 arrived after us, got through their entire meal, paid and left and we were still waiting for our meal. We had tickets for a play to attend at 8pm so at 7:25 we got up to leave and asked that our meal be boxed. We weren’t in a huff… we just had to go… and we didn’t think a pasta dish was going to take so long to prepare. Even if the food came out that minute we wouldn’t have had time to eat it and drive to the theatre. The person at the cash (the owner we believe?) was apologetic, as was the server. We were told: “We are so sorry, we told the kitchen about your order, we don’t know what happened with your meal but we are going to make it up to you, we will cancel your appetizer”.
The server said loudly: “I went to the kitchen 3 times asking where is the food for Table 33 !?!”
I think he said that more for “The Boss” to know where the fault lay and not so much for our benefit.
The Boss repeated 3 times… “Don’t worry, we’ll take care of you. Peter, (or whatever the waiter’s name was) take the appetizer off the bill.”
We waited for our boxed meal to come out of the kitchen and eventually it came, but with a bill with two extra surprises on it:
1) All the dishes and wine were all at full price… about $69 instead of $49.
2) The appetizer had not been cancelled and we were charged the full $17. The explanation was that because we used a Groupon they would not cancel the appetizer. They would have cancelled the appetizer if we were “Cash customers” but not for “Groupon” customers.
Wow! We are business people and we know about margins, profit, etc., and we understand that their profit on a Groupon meal is less than normal. Still, the whole point of issuing a Groupon is to attract new customers, impress them with your product & services, and expand your user-base and future business volume. Instead, we were treated like 2nd class citizens… it even gave me a taste of unwarranted discrimination… For them, Yes, but for you, No!
The whole experience at that restaurant was a disaster and left a very bad taste in our mouths. By the time we got home from the play it was 10:30pm we went to bed and did not eat the pasta. When we re-heated it the next day, the food was quite good. But it won’t matter, we would never go back to this place and we will advise our circle of friends never to go as well. Too bad, as it is right in the vicinity of our theatre house/stage which we frequent about 15 times per year!
A Groupon should be a marketing tool to get new customers to try your restaurant. In this instance, it was clearly treated as a nuisance by the merchant and we the users were not treated as “real” customers.
I would appreciate it if Groupon could acknowledge my complaint and pass it on to the restaurant owner or manager who signed on to your program.
PS – To think, all the waiter had to say was, simply, “You can use your Groupon for anything listed on our food & beverage menu. However, please be aware that if you apply it to our pasta and house wine specials you are not eligible for the Wednesday night pricing and would need to pay the regular price.”
That is clear… and even justifiable… but it needs to be said!
My husband and I contemplated eating-in, but our son decided that he wanted to get take away. It had been a long day at work, so as long as I didn't have to cook I was fine. Plus, there was a wine bottle that had been eyeing me for a while..figured now would be a great time to open it.
The delivery took longer than expected, I had almost finished my glass when the doorbell rang. It had nearly been an hour, and starving would not even close to describe how desperate I was for food. The food was okay though, albeit a bit cold. The tandoori chicken, which is usually my favourite new dish, was a little spicy and lacking elsewhere. The rice order we made came a little unnecessary as the garlic naan garnered all the attention. It was delicious and fell short for the three of us. My son ordered the vindaloo at normal spice and found it to be very good. A perfect combination of spice and meat. For the price, I think it was a good take, although I would rather eat it hot and not have to re-heat.
We were along on Tues. night, having booked the day before. It was popular. We selected our main course outside whilst waiting, then were introduced to our waiter & lead inside to our table. It was totally dark. We were surprised how the waitering staff managed to find their way around. Impressive.
We ordered drinks. A large beer in a tall glass might not have been the most practical of receptacles, but I didn't manage to put it down & knock it over when trying to re-find it ! Our starter was a small, beeroot & lettuce caesar salad, which was difficult to chase around the plate. It was also difficult to determine whether you had anything on your fork, so whilst it was an unusual experience, it was also a little frustrating at times.
My main course was beef tenderloin, which whilst very tasty, the portion size was somewhat small.
My sweet was a chocolate slab, again which was tasty but small.
The experience was undoubtedly unusual & different. But the portions were generally small, very average & the whole experience was severely over-priced.
We tired it once, but wont be going back.
Tuc has funky décor with nice touches, like fresh ranunculus arrangements in wood boxes. A long bar dominates the space and gives the sense that they’re serious about their drinks. Not quiet or romantic, but fun.
Love that they have nibblies (e.g. parsnip fries with coriander dip, gravalax) to take the edge off your hunger rather than fill you up. Wine, beer, and cocktails on offer were interesting and different – something for everyone.
Beef Daube was a rich mix of tender beef served in a cast iron dish on top of gooey Parmesan and mashed potatoes. Ling Cod flavours were subtle and interesting, and the fish was perfectly cooked (wish there were more seafood on their menu!). Dessert of a black tea sponge cake with ginger ice cream and absinthe apples wasn’t something I’d normally go for, but it was interesting, not too sweet – and totally delicious. Our server, Phil, was fun and super-helpful, and could answer any question in detail about the food prep (all the staff seemed very similar to him!).
Overall, had a great evening – Tuc deserves all the praise.
I have been coming here for years and I can honestly say Ajisai has still got it. No other sushi place I have tried has come near in beating it. It's rolls and nigiri are one of the best I have ever had. However, I have to say the whole experience has dropped for me a little ever since it has started getting recognition. What used to be a great place to hang out and get good sushi at a reasonable price has now become a whole ceremony. It is a small restaurant, I understand, but part of its charm has been taken but it. I usually end up waiting over 30 minutes just to get inside, so I have started opting for simple take-out.
|1.||Stepho's Greek Taverna|
|6.||Phnom Penh Restaurant|
|8.||Kobe Japanese Steak House|
|11.||Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar|
|16.||Les Faux Bourgeois Bistro|
|18.||Ebisu on Robson|
|20.||Glowbal Grill and Satay Bar|
|2.||Seasons in the Park|
|4.||Talay Thai Restaurant|
|5.||Diva at The Met|
|8.||Guu with Garlic|
|10.||La Grotta Del Formaggio|
|11.||Salade de Fruits Cafe|
|13.||Pink Peppercorn Seafood House|
|15.||Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar|
|17.||Khunnai Chang Thai Cuisine|
|18.||Afghan Horsemen Restaurant, The|
|20.||Terracotta Modern Chinese|