Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

Vancouver Restaurant Reviews
Pho Triple 32114 W 41st Ave, Vancouver
Yummy lunch
By yummynotsoyummy of Kerrisdale (25 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 16, 2016 - 2:20pm [Take-out]

This place is new to Kerrisdale replacing the long standing Avenue Grill. With not be as satisfied with the other Pho place in the area it was time to give Pho Triple 3 a try. We ordered the lg hot & sour prawn soup with egg noodles and the chicken teriyaki and wonton soup combo.

The hot & sour soup broth came in 1 container and the noodles in another. The broth was filled to the top which I like b/c the broth is my favourite part of the soup. There were ample amounts thin egg noodles in the other. Accompanying the broth was 6 good size prawns, cabbage, deep fried onion bits, basil, tomatoes and bean sprouts. The soup was really flavourful. The only thing that it didn't come with was additional bean sprouts, basil and hot/hoisin sauce. I would request that next time. The chicken teriyaki came in a good portion of crispy deep fried chicken, a broccoli, steamed bean sprouts and cabbage. The teriyaki sauce came in the side with sesame seeds in it. This dish was a hit with the chicken teriyaki consumers in our family.

I would return to this place and would be interested to see what their other dishes taste like.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Diva at The Met645 Howe Street, Vancouver
Stay away
By artshowmanager of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, March 16, 2016 - 10:39am [Dine in]

No one was at the desk when we arrived, so we just sort of stood around until someone finally noticed us. We were waited on by three different servers, and while they were friendly enough, the service was average. For example, only one of us was offered fresh ground pepper, and she walked away before we could ask. The soup had a layer of grease floating on top, the steak was gristly, the sea bass had no flavour, and the chicken, which tasted wonderful going down was ghastly coming out the other end all night long. When the manager got back to me four days later, by email and not telephone, all he had to say was "thanks for the feedback." We should have turned around and walked out when we saw the mostly empty restaurant at 7:30pm on a Friday and the big screen TV (really? In a "fancy" restaurant?) showing the latest MMA bout.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Gold Train Express Vietnamese Cuisine3236 West Broadway, Vancouver
Better than the one on West 10th
By FoodLover777 of Kitsilano Vancouver BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 7:50pm [Dine in]

Well, this one is a significant improvement over the one on West 10th. The West 10th Gold Train Express used to be fabulous. It has gone seriously downhill in every way, especially in the quality of the service of the staff. This one was much better - I ordered the same thing that I used to always order at the West 10th location. It was MUCH BETTER food, the service was GREAT, the atmosphere was SO MUCH NICER. I will definitely go back to this one again, and I will never, EVER go back to the one on West 10th.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Gold Train Express Vietnamese Cuisine4530 West 10th Avenue, Vancouver
I am mourning the loss of what used to be my favourite Vietnamese restaurant in all of Vancouver
By FoodLover777 of Kitsilano Vancouver BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 7:38pm [Dine in]

I was an extremely loyal customer of this restaurant for a very long time (many years). It used to be GREAT - great food, great service, great value, eclectic décor.

But now, I refuse to even go back anymore. I am in mourning! This used to be my go-to place. Now, I am left with such a terrible taste in my mouth that I decided I just have to let it go. This is what happened. In the last 2 years this place has gone seriously downhill in every single way. I think there was a change of ownership (I'm not sure, but nothing else explains the depressing downturn that has taken place in this once-great place). This is what they did:

- changed and seriously LOWERED the quality of the food
- RAISED the prices (lower quality for more $)
- DRAMATICALLY reduced the quality of the service of the staff
- developed a SERIOUSLY BAD ATTITUDE towards long-time loyal customers like me

Here are just a few examples of the changes that they made:

(1) There used to be regular table service by regular servers. They eliminated this except for the very beginning step of ordering food and bringing the food to the table. After the food is brought to the table, they do not provide any further table service at all. The servers used to come by regularly to the table as a normal server does to ask if you need anything and also to refill the tea pot, refill your water glass, etc. --> now, every time I've been there in the last 2 years, after the server brought my food I was completely ignored from that moment on, and if I ever needed or wanted anything else at all (water, tea pot refill, order something else, order dessert, or get the bill) I had to literally get up and go to the front counter to ask for it.

(2) They used to bring the bill on a small plate complete with one slice of orange per person + one fortune cookie per person. They eliminated this. Every time I've been there in the last 2 years, they never once did this again. It was a nice touch. Believe it or not, it kind of made the meal, in the end. Now, not only do they no longer bring the little plate with the slice of orange, fortune cookie, and your bill........they refuse to bring the bill to the table at all anymore. You have to go up to the counter and ask for the bill.

(3) Good luck when you constantly DO have to go up to the counter every time anybody at your table needs anything at all --> the staff are sometimes not even there, they are in the back, and you have to actually have to call out to them loudly into the kitchen and ask one of them to please help you. I think this is totally unacceptable for a restaurant. You shouldn't have to call out to the staff in the kitchen when you want a refill of water, you want to order something else, or you want to pay your bill. Then again, if this is the kind of system they want, who am I to say they shouldn't have it? But seriously, they should probably put signs up saying they no longer provide full table service like they used to. It's not always the case that there is nobody at the counter when you need to go up there to ask for something, sometimes there actually is somebody around at the front counter to take your request when you are forced to get up from your table every time you want something....just not always...they're absent often enough that I sure remember having to do it often in the last 2 years of my continued loyalty.

(4) They used to be friendly staff for so many years! They most certainly are no longer friendly, and they don't even realize that they're unfriendly to extremely loyal customers who have been going there for years and years on end.

(5) The last straw for me was the last time I went there, about 1 or 2 months ago. After so many years of loyal devotion to this place, this last time I went for lunch there was an extremely loud child in the restaurant. This child was not a baby. This was an older child of about 12, 13 or 14 years old. The kid and his Mom were screaming at each other nonstop. They were so loud that it completely disrupted my meal. I was alone, but if I were with somebody else we couldn't have had a conversation - that's how loud it was. I was trying to read a book...I couldn't even read because the screaming was so distracting. The yelling went on and on and on...through the whole meal! I could tell that all of the customers were disturbed by the loud voices too. Finally half way through my meal I got up, went to the counter, and asked the so-called "server" if he could please ask these guests to be more quiet. Would you believe that this is what he said to me: "No! I'm not going to ask them to change their behavior, they have loud voices, they have every right to talk and eat just like everybody else." WOW! These were not just "loud voices". This was bloody screaming and yelling at each other, nonstop.

This "server" didn't even give a damn that I was an incredibly loyal customer for so many years....as long as I can remember. I have brought many many friends to this place. I had been frequenting it about once/week for several years in a row!

I was so shocked by his lack of helpfulness that I asked who he was. He said he was the owner.

Enough said -- right then and there, I knew that I would never, EVER give this owner my money again. This is an owner who does not care about his good customers.

Nobody should give their money to that kind of business owner.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
33 Acres Brewing Company15 W 8th Avenue, Vancouver
All-around solid....and cool
By itadakimasu of Vancouver (101 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 12, 2016 - 2:31pm [Dine in]

This is a great little craft beer joint in the middle of nowhere (Ontario & 8th Ave) which gets packed on Friday evenings. There's usually a line up to fill your growlers or to get inside but I usually manage to find a seat. Noisier than hell when it gets packed but that's part of the fun I suppose. They serve a long list of their craft creations and have small snacks to eat, including the meat & pretzel plates and Charcuterie. Sometimes a band will play live and often, a food truck is parked right out front. I love the beer sampler.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Osteria Napoli1660 Renfrew St., Vancouver
Terrible experience
By coneamiller1 of Richmond , BC (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, March 12, 2016 - 12:23pm [Dine in]

On Wednesday, March 9, 2016, my husband and I went to Osteria Napoli Ristorante (1600 Renfrew St., Vancouver) for dinner. It was our first time there and it was the Groupon that prompted us to give it a try. The Groupon worth $50 for anything on the menu. We arrived at 6:20pm. The waiter told suggested, politely, that instead of using our Groupon we might want to consider keeping it for another day of the week. Reason being, on Wednesday nights they offer your choice of any pasta dish (except seafood) for roughly half-price ($9.99) and deeply discounted house wines ($12 for a half-litre). We understood that conversation to mean… ”You should capitalize on our low Wednesday night prices by using cash and save your Groupon for a more expensive evening like a Thursday, Friday or Saturday. You’d get more bang for your buck then”. NOTE: Those are my words, not his, but that is how we understood the conversation.
Nonetheless, we decided to redeem the Groupon that night rather than risking holding onto it for a 2nd night when we it might turn out that we didn’t enjoy the food or service.
Here’s the key point, in our two conversations (on arrival and when placing our order) at NO TIME did he indicate that if we used the Groupon that we were not eligible for the special Wednesday prices and instead we would have to pay full price for the meal, i.e. - the pasta dishes became $17+ each instead of $9.99, and the wine became $18 instead of $12.
Our order was taken promptly and we received our appetizer in a reasonable amount of time. Once the appetizer was done, the main course never came. The tables around us were being served but not us. One table of 4 arrived after us, got through their entire meal, paid and left and we were still waiting for our meal. We had tickets for a play to attend at 8pm so at 7:25 we got up to leave and asked that our meal be boxed. We weren’t in a huff… we just had to go… and we didn’t think a pasta dish was going to take so long to prepare. Even if the food came out that minute we wouldn’t have had time to eat it and drive to the theatre. The person at the cash (the owner we believe?) was apologetic, as was the server. We were told: “We are so sorry, we told the kitchen about your order, we don’t know what happened with your meal but we are going to make it up to you, we will cancel your appetizer”.
The server said loudly: “I went to the kitchen 3 times asking where is the food for Table 33 !?!”
I think he said that more for “The Boss” to know where the fault lay and not so much for our benefit.
The Boss repeated 3 times… “Don’t worry, we’ll take care of you. Peter, (or whatever the waiter’s name was) take the appetizer off the bill.”
We waited for our boxed meal to come out of the kitchen and eventually it came, but with a bill with two extra surprises on it:
1) All the dishes and wine were all at full price… about $69 instead of $49.
2) The appetizer had not been cancelled and we were charged the full $17. The explanation was that because we used a Groupon they would not cancel the appetizer. They would have cancelled the appetizer if we were “Cash customers” but not for “Groupon” customers.
Wow! We are business people and we know about margins, profit, etc., and we understand that their profit on a Groupon meal is less than normal. Still, the whole point of issuing a Groupon is to attract new customers, impress them with your product & services, and expand your user-base and future business volume. Instead, we were treated like 2nd class citizens… it even gave me a taste of unwarranted discrimination… For them, Yes, but for you, No!
The whole experience at that restaurant was a disaster and left a very bad taste in our mouths. By the time we got home from the play it was 10:30pm we went to bed and did not eat the pasta. When we re-heated it the next day, the food was quite good. But it won’t matter, we would never go back to this place and we will advise our circle of friends never to go as well. Too bad, as it is right in the vicinity of our theatre house/stage which we frequent about 15 times per year!
A Groupon should be a marketing tool to get new customers to try your restaurant. In this instance, it was clearly treated as a nuisance by the merchant and we the users were not treated as “real” customers.
I would appreciate it if Groupon could acknowledge my complaint and pass it on to the restaurant owner or manager who signed on to your program.
PS – To think, all the waiter had to say was, simply, “You can use your Groupon for anything listed on our food & beverage menu. However, please be aware that if you apply it to our pasta and house wine specials you are not eligible for the Wednesday night pricing and would need to pay the regular price.”
That is clear… and even justifiable… but it needs to be said!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
India Bistro1157 Davie Street, Vancouver
Home delivery experience
By weremorro of van (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 4:23pm [Delivery]

My husband and I contemplated eating-in, but our son decided that he wanted to get take away. It had been a long day at work, so as long as I didn't have to cook I was fine. Plus, there was a wine bottle that had been eyeing me for a while..figured now would be a great time to open it.

The delivery took longer than expected, I had almost finished my glass when the doorbell rang. It had nearly been an hour, and starving would not even close to describe how desperate I was for food. The food was okay though, albeit a bit cold. The tandoori chicken, which is usually my favourite new dish, was a little spicy and lacking elsewhere. The rice order we made came a little unnecessary as the garlic naan garnered all the attention. It was delicious and fell short for the three of us. My son ordered the vindaloo at normal spice and found it to be very good. A perfect combination of spice and meat. For the price, I think it was a good take, although I would rather eat it hot and not have to re-heat.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Dark Table2611 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver
An unusual dining out experience in the dark
By Kelvin_Brown of North Vancouver, BC (19 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 6:22pm [Dine in]

We were along on Tues. night, having booked the day before. It was popular. We selected our main course outside whilst waiting, then were introduced to our waiter & lead inside to our table. It was totally dark. We were surprised how the waitering staff managed to find their way around. Impressive.

We ordered drinks. A large beer in a tall glass might not have been the most practical of receptacles, but I didn't manage to put it down & knock it over when trying to re-find it ! Our starter was a small, beeroot & lettuce caesar salad, which was difficult to chase around the plate. It was also difficult to determine whether you had anything on your fork, so whilst it was an unusual experience, it was also a little frustrating at times.

My main course was beef tenderloin, which whilst very tasty, the portion size was somewhat small.

My sweet was a chocolate slab, again which was tasty but small.

The experience was undoubtedly unusual & different. But the portions were generally small, very average & the whole experience was severely over-priced.

We tired it once, but wont be going back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Tuc Craft Kitchen60 West Cordova Street, Vancouver
Delicious food, fun vibe, great staff
By lomimu of Lower Mainland (32 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 23, 2016 - 12:20pm [Dine in]

Tuc has funky décor with nice touches, like fresh ranunculus arrangements in wood boxes. A long bar dominates the space and gives the sense that they’re serious about their drinks. Not quiet or romantic, but fun.

Love that they have nibblies (e.g. parsnip fries with coriander dip, gravalax) to take the edge off your hunger rather than fill you up. Wine, beer, and cocktails on offer were interesting and different – something for everyone.

Beef Daube was a rich mix of tender beef served in a cast iron dish on top of gooey Parmesan and mashed potatoes. Ling Cod flavours were subtle and interesting, and the fish was perfectly cooked (wish there were more seafood on their menu!). Dessert of a black tea sponge cake with ginger ice cream and absinthe apples wasn’t something I’d normally go for, but it was interesting, not too sweet – and totally delicious. Our server, Phil, was fun and super-helpful, and could answer any question in detail about the food prep (all the staff seemed very similar to him!).

Overall, had a great evening – Tuc deserves all the praise.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Ajisai Sushi Bar2081 West 42nd Ave, Vancouver
Still one of the best
By younginvan of Kerrisdale (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 22, 2016 - 12:20pm [Dine in]

I have been coming here for years and I can honestly say Ajisai has still got it. No other sushi place I have tried has come near in beating it. It's rolls and nigiri are one of the best I have ever had. However, I have to say the whole experience has dropped for me a little ever since it has started getting recognition. What used to be a great place to hang out and get good sushi at a reasonable price has now become a whole ceremony. It is a small restaurant, I understand, but part of its charm has been taken but it. I usually end up waiting over 30 minutes just to get inside, so I have started opting for simple take-out.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
India Bistro1157 Davie Street, Vancouver
Our pick for date night
By mannyb of Van area (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 22, 2016 - 12:46am [Dine in]

Dee and I are doing a thing to kind of help us bond/ spend more time together and tonight (well, yesterday night to be honest) it was date night. It was my turn to pick the restaurant of choice and so this is the product of it.

I dragged my fiancee to India Bistro yesterday because I wanted good curry and knew that if not now, then never. She was a bit hesitant at first because of the calories and whole "trying to stay fit" attitude but I somehow managed to convince her. Whether it was the weather or her tiredness, she caved in.

Lets just say that the leftovers still satisfied my tastebuds today. We had a banquet consisting of veggie samosas, chicken tikka, palak paneer, biryani and jogan rosh. The classics played well their part and delivered taste. The chicken blended magically with the spices and sauces and just dipping your spoon into it made you hungry. As for the jogan rosh? It was on fire, literally. Lamb and chills apparently make you feel the burn. The waiter watched me gulp down glass after glass of water. Dee also had trouble eating it despite having built a huge tolerance to spicy food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Score on Davie1262 Davie street, Vancouver
Cool atmosphere crappy food
By 99north of Squamish (32 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 20, 2016 - 8:47am [Dine in]

After reading all the hype about this place we finally decided to try it out for brunch.?
The service was mediocre at best and the food not good
The big breakfast was so over cooked, potatoes like fried up rocks, poached eggs like golf balls
Awful food, toast had been sitting out a long time before it came to me, likely pre cooked, so dry and shrivelled up, yecch!
The perogies were so over cooked you could hardly cut them with a steak knife, unreal bad.
Likely the worst breakie I have ever had. Wife's French toast was passable, but there was snotty uncooked egg on the bottom,,,!
Suffice to say whoever is in the kitchen isn't on the ball, maybe we just happened to get a cook having a bad morning, but it wasn't good
The value for the price paid was NOT good,,pretty expensive for the portion and quality
We won't be back
Too bad, I have read some good reviews about Score but this isn't a good one for sure

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Rogue Kitchen & Wetbar601 West Cordova, Vancouver
Overrated
By cyberspace of vancouver (87 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 12, 2016 - 10:35am [Dine in]

Went to Rogue as I was meeting a friend for lunch. Had the Ruben sandwich and it was not good at all. Very greasy and meat was too fatty. My friend had the chicken burger and it was also very average. Service was decent but the food quality for not good for the prices that they charge. It was $17 for Ruben sandwich. There are much better places around town the one can go for lunch. I will not go back.. Décor was good at the restaurant.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Ashiana Tandoori Restaurant1440 Kingsway, Vancouver
A Vancouver Institution
By yvr1953 of Vancouver (5 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 12, 2016 - 10:10am [Dine in]

Restaurants come and go but Ashiana has been a temple of fine Indian food for many years on the Kingsway. The owner/chef and his wife always extend a warm welcome and the food is wonderful. I've been eating here since the 80s(!). Last night's dinner was another great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
IHOP - International House of Pancakes950 West Broadway, Unit 200, Vancouver
pancake all-you-can-eat
By thirdperson of Vancouver (10 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 12, 2016 - 9:39am [Dine in]

IHOP is short for international house of pancake - a typical restaurant chain similar to Denny's. The only IHOP in Vancouver is located upstairs near Broadway and Oak street. Clean casual ambiance with televisions available and over 20 tables. Only problem is that there tends to be customers waiting to be served during busy periods. During mid January to mid February, limited promotion is available for various breakfast meal combos with all the buttermilk pancakes you can eat. However customer must ask for special breakfast menu. Regular menu lists a wider variety of foods at higher prices. Best deal is the $8.00 regular breakfast which consists of eggs, hash browns, bacon or sausages with pancakes. Two pancakes are initially served per plate and customers can order more. Their pancakes are light, warm, fluffy and delicious. On the table, there are 4 types of syrup - blueberry, strawberry, butter caramel and maple. Also there is unlimited pot of coffee for under $3.00. Overall, decent food that is served reasonably prompt by friendly attentive waitresses. Good value for breakfast that I would recommend.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
India Bistro1157 Davie Street, Vancouver
Could have been more spicy
By louie of Vancouver (5 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 1, 2016 - 10:53am [Dine in]

Walked in for their lunch buffet on a weekend. For it being 2 pm on a Saturday, there was a wait. I can take that as a good sign since it is a popular place (also, being West End and Davie, what more can you expect?) We didn’t wait too long for table for two which was nice.

I’m not new to Indian food but this is my first time at their lunch buffet. We ended up trying almost about everything. For it being $11.95 per person, it was pretty decent.

I did like a bunch of things but found the butter chicken to be a little under-spiced, something super common in Indian restaurants here to appease the Canadian tastes. Good thing is, chicken to sauce ratio was good. Even the rice (plain) alone was good enough to eat on its own. Water was always present, although I could handle the spices a lot of others seemed to really need it. I would give its buffet 8.5/10

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Ciao Bella Italian Restaurant703 Denman Street, Vancouver
Best thing is free parking
By pc7999 of Burnaby (48 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, January 31, 2016 - 12:18pm [Dine in]

The title says it all here. Free parking is the only good thing going on for this restaurant. Food was bad, service was mediocre at best and yet they charge like a mid range restaurant.

Their menu looks good. Lobster tail, bisque, prawns, risotto, rack of lamb, and on and on but their don't know how to cook them properly. Overcooked, sauces that are clearly store bought, over seasoned and not to mention warm beer.

There are so many restaurants on Denman so just keep walking and keep looking.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Falafel King1110 Denman Street, Vancouver
Worst experience ever
By mannyb of Van area (2 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 29, 2016 - 9:53pm [Dine in]

All the reviews here are old, so I'll give it to them for it because I also used to be a regular. The falafel used to be so good but this time around it was almost inedible. The meat does not taste food and the chicken (or lack thereof) did not make me happy.

My major problem though, is the cleanliness. The table we sat in was completely wet but in a mucky style and we had to hound down a worker to get it cleaned. The same goes with the floor. Completely took my appetite away.

I hope they address this issue asap so that I can erase these bad memories.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Radicle Juice3088 Main Street, Vancouver
Great juice place
By petemaneats of Vancouver (3 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 29, 2016 - 5:04pm [Take-out]

Surprised Radicle has not had any reviews until now. This place has literally been my favorite stop for lunch ever since it opened. It is only a few blocks away from where I used to work but I still make the trip down nonetheless. The juices are a bit on the pricier side, but you can feel that it is made completely from natural materials. Not to mention that if you buy their tumbler for $3.00 and keep on bringing it back, you can get 50c off your next purchase. The General is one of my most recent favourites, and the acai bowls are to die for.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
India Bistro1157 Davie Street, Vancouver
Second time is the charm?
By yellowcf of Mississauga (10 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 22, 2016 - 10:23pm [Dine in]

Had delivery from them once in my last visit and found their food to be decent in terms of sauce and taste. Not too over the top, but not flavourless and/or watered down either.

This time around, we checked out their locale for lunch. There was a buffet going on and we decided to give it a try. The restaurant looked clean and the number of people inside already ahead of us gave us confidence that the buffet would be good. Would have liked to have been the first ones in to get the food when it was freshly made.

Overall, the buffet was decent – flavours and sauces were really well balanced. I did find some taste lacking in the vegan/vegetarian dishes, but I my eyes were all in the chicken. Chicken tikka masala was wonderful and not overcooked to the point of being dry, which was a plus. Prices were fine for Vancouver standards.

I would give this place a 4/5

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance