Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2.5
  • Food3
  • Service2
  • Value2.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews72

Tomokazu Japanese Restaurant

1128 West Broadway, #201
Vancouver, BC V6H1G5
Tel: (604) 677-0434
Fax: (604) 677-0426
Neighbourhood: West Side
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi
  • Price: $$ ($15 - $30)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
  • Hours: Mon - Sun: 11:30AM - 3PM & 5PM - 12AM
  • Tomokazu offers all you can eat Japanese for lunch, dinner, and late night. An la carte menu is also available.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 72 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
A better Japanese AYCE option
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 8:47am [Dine in]

With friends will I ever venture out to AYCE restaurants. We've gone through our phases with various Japanese AYCE joints around town and this was the most recent one to date.

Decor is fairly clean (certainly cleaner than most comparables) and there are the usual lunch and dinner time rushes.

For AYCE the menu has the usual (albeit limited) choices. The salmon and tuna is better than respectable most times, the odd instance of it coming out too warm. Hot dishes are usually hot when they remember to bring it out.

Service is befitting, better than other AYCE places but we've had problems dealing with some of their wait staff and the Manager - sometimes to the point of argument. I suppose by association we no longer dine there.

I'm sure with inflation prices have risen but afterall it is still all you can eat so the value remains if one can eat their money's worth.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Go for selection, not taste.
By foodfanatic of South Vancouver (286 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 7, 2006 - 12:31pm [Dine in]

For an all-you-can-eat dinner, they offer quite a generous selection without restrictions for the most part. Everything tasted clean, if cleaniness is a flavour--otherwise, it's just plain bland. This is the case no matter how many times I return, so I don't find myself returning often or at all anymore. It is, however, one of the few decent choices for all-you-can-eat for variety on Broadway or simply, around the GVRD. As long as you love your soy, this is the place to go.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Don't be fooled by the Upgrade menu!
By cherrybomb143 of Surrey, bc (218 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, September 21, 2008 - 2:44pm [Dine in]

Came here again a few more times and have tried their deluxe or "upgrade" menu, which means for a few dollars more, you can enjoy a larger variety of sashimi and sushi. We were swayed to upgrade seeing the "lobster sushi" , "shark fin sushi", "abalone sushi", "geoduck sushi" and the larger selection of sashimi that included mackrel, tai and others.

Unfortunately the above mentioned were all disappointing (the abalone was particularly gross). Lobster sushi is fake lobster diced up on rice and while I was ok with it being fake, it didn't even taste like lobster =( Shark fin sushi of course didn't have real shark fin, as expected, but was unimpressive with jelly fish and glass noodles on rice (which I personally didn't think goes together well). Sashimi was better but the tai was served frozen.

I would still recommend this place for AYCE but warn you to skip the upgrade menu unless you want to try a larger variety of sashimi.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good but not great
By azn_msfyt of Delta (194 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, May 25, 2008 - 8:46pm [Dine in]

Food: There were 2 menus to choose from and we took the non-special cheaper menu which was still quite extensive. Some warm items came out cold, especially the shrimp tempura which was most definitely cooked much in advance and just taken out when ordered. I like that they have beef tataki and tuna tataki. Lobster and shark fin roll was disappointing but then again, its all-you-can-eat so I didn't expect much. No limit on sashimi which I really enjoyed. Stay away fr the Jello dessert though - it is NOT jello but a generic no name brand that is bland and dry tasting. Overall, not bad.

Service: Prompt but sometimes need reminding but overall quite good for an all-you-can-eat place.

Ambiance: Clean. Tatami rooms that fit 6-7 look nice as well.

Overall: I would recommend for those who look for the all-you-can-eat but stay away if you're watching your waistlines!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
OK, but just.....
By marymac of Delta, BC (144 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 12, 2007 - 11:14am [Dine in]

We ended up here for an early supper on a Saturday, having just tried to get into a restaurant that was closed :-{ This was the first place that we saw after finding our goal papered-up.

It was.....OK. We ordered miso soup, assorted sashimi, prawn gyoza, spicy tuna roll and chop scallop roll. Yeah, I know this is an AYCE, but we just wanted a quick bite, not a gorging.

Sashimi...salmon was good, hamachi was good, tuna was frozen, snapper was stale. Also surf clams and octopus on the plate. Prawn gyoza was VERY greasy, spicy tuna roll was OK, chop scallop roll had a chemical, preservative taste to the scallops. Tea was offered once, and I practically had to trip the waitress to order a beer. Granted, it WAS early, and she seemed to be the only waitress, but.... it wasnt' THAT busy.

It was....just OK. We ate it all, and it didn't bankrupt us, but we KNOW there's better Japanese food out there.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
It's going downhill...
By hungryfordinner of Vancouver (125 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 10, 2011 - 10:58am [Dine in]

Food:
The food here is solid, considering it's AYCE. It's one of the better AYCE restaurants around.

Service:
The service is terrible. It's common knowledge that restaurants like to cut orders and we would usually just reorder. But some of the food items that were reordered again and again didn't even come!

Value:
I have to say that the value was only decent because not everything that was ordered came.

Ambiance:
It's alright.

Next time, I'm just going to skip the dinner AYCE and come for lunch.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Late Nite AYCE
By xlee8 of Delta (113 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, November 17, 2007 - 2:25pm [Dine in]

Food: we were there on a friday to try their $13 late nite AYCE. food came out super fast...i guess since they had pre-made a lot of the food earlier like the rolls and cones. hot foods still came out quite warm. nothing to complain or rave about. standard chinese jap food. i would have to say tho their AYCE quality is still better than Rmd Sushi.

Service: all about efficiency. dont expect anything more and you wont be disappointed. surprisingly there was no wait, but they do take reservations.

Ambiance: nothing special. good place to grab some food w/ friends. it's noisy fr all the ppl. cleanliness is decent...but i try not to look to too hard!

Overall: i'd do the late nite AYCE here again. for $13 u can't go wrong! it's like ordering an entree at most places nowadays.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
One of the better all you can eat places
By CaptainNemo of Vancouver (97 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, November 19, 2008 - 11:10am [Dine in]

Definatly one of the better ones I've tried.

The deluxe menu was not really different from the "lite dinner" menu. Almost the same selection, with an exception of a couple of items. So, it would be a preference if you would want the extra items. The sushi was good, the chopped scallop cone was full of chopped scallop. The chicken karage was really good too.

I thought the service wasn't bad at all. They had mistakenly entered in the wrong quantity of our order, but they were quite pleasant about it. The lady that was serving us was really nice and cheerful.

The value was cheaper than most all you can eat places I have been to. $19.95 for the regular menu and $22.95 for the deluxe. We chose the regular menu and it was quite extensive for me already. There was more menu on the sheet that you order than the meny they give you too.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Better than I thought!
By MBAK of Vancouver (80 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, June 28, 2007 - 2:36pm [Dine in]

I went here this week on a Monday night with my family and was pleasantly surprised. I've been to many of the AYCE restaurants around Vancouver and Richmond, and found this one to be the best "bang for your buck." There was a large variety of sushi and sashimi as well as cooked items. One item I found to be EXTRA tasty was the short ribs. Short ribs at other AYCE restaurants have been dry...tough...and fatty..BUT, Tomokazu's short ribs were very tender and tasty!
The service was mediocre. You should never expect 100% wonderful customer service when eating at an AYCE place! I also liked how the tables and booths weren't placed too close together (like many other AYCE places).
Overall I give this place two thumbs up ;)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Bit of a Let-Down
By nelliebobellie of Downtown (69 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 10, 2010 - 11:48am [Dine in]

Tomokazu on West Broadway is the sister restaurant to Ninkazu in Richmond. If they were really sisters, Tomokazu would be the awkward, dorky sister living under the shadow of the popular and talented Ninkazu. They might be related, but they are nothing alike. The servers don't actually smile, nor are they friendly in even the slightest way. They are, however, efficient and quick in refilling tea & water, bringing your food and removing empty plates.

The food itself was just ok - really nothing at all like the food at Ninkazu, which wowed me with both presentation and flavours. The beef tataki was so disappointing at Tomokazu that I actually questioned whether or not I had the right dish. It was bland and watery and the sauce was completely flavourless. The ebi sunomono had one small piece of a freezer-burned baby shrimp (not even a whole one) and the noodles were tough and tasted old. Some of the more average dishes like the tempura, gomae and gyoza were good, and the sashimi was fine - but after my experience at Ninkazu, I just felt let down. The value is still decent, because for the sashimi and nigiri sushi I ordered, it would have been over $20 anywhere else - the $22.95 I paid for the deluxe option here was still worth it, as I probably had about $40 worth of food. I can't rate this restaurant mediocre, so I give it three stars - if you expect something really great, the trip to Richmond is worth it.

I would go back, I just know which dishes to avoid next time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I am loyal to this place and I love it.
By pickyjerk of kitsilano vancouver (67 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, January 17, 2008 - 1:23am [Dine in]

This is probably the best all around AYCE I have been to ( I have been to a lot).

Why?

1- their lunch menu is so cheap and its good
2- their sashimi is fresh (though the servings have shrunken considerably over the years)
3- MOST IMPORTANTLY- their other dishes (salads, meats, etc) are excellent, unlike most AYCE restaurants.
4- their are very fast

Cons:

you have to freak out at them if you want your damn ginger.

the rolls are gross sometimes. Once in particular they were totally abhorrent.

Still, the gyoza, the sunomono, the gomae, and motoyaki here are probably my favourites in the whole city (again, I eat a lot of sushi)

This place is not perfect but I will always come back for more.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
a la carte menu better
By adidaf of Richmond (64 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, September 12, 2009 - 2:44pm [Dine in]

Food: didn't have the AYCE. The salmon sashimi quality seemed much better than what you get from the AYCE menu. The chopped scallop roll didn't have any flavor. The spicy salmon roll was disappointing in that all it was was a regular salmon roll with some hot sauce (like Frank's Red Hot) put on top.

Service: nothing special, nothing bad.

Value: of course not as good value compared to eating AYCE, but portions and quality were reasonable for the price.

Ambiance: clean, tables not too crowded together.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Late Night Dinner
By moussy of Vancouver (60 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, July 8, 2006 - 8:21pm [Dine in]

Contrary to the previous posts, I went during late night and I thought it was just fine.

We were seated immediately because there weren't too many people there, and I thought the place was nicely decorated for an all you can eat. It was clean, and I would rate the decor as one of the top AYCE places.

They have a wide variety of things to eat, but the taste is average. I really like their yam tempura rolls and the saba shioyaki(?). The salmon is a pretty good size too. The service was a bit slow, and they ran out of a lot of stuff (UNAGI roll! =( ) but overall, I enjoyed my visit. I'd try out lunch, but the late night seems to be better, since the reviewers didn't like it as much. No need to worry about seats, unless you come really late like me (10:30ish?)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Yes...It is going downhill
By marspball of Coquitlam (38 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 8, 2011 - 4:25pm [Dine in]

I went to this place on Sunday night for the AYCE deluxe dinner. We arrived at about 8 pm and the restaurant was busy but not packed. i used to love this place because they never cut the orders. This time, it is bad. We ordered 8 pieces of soft shell crab roll and only 2 pieces came out. Same thing with the sashimi and pretty much everything else. I have to agree with the previous review, this place is no longer worth it as the service is horrible. Food is better that other AYCE places but what good is it if they are not served?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
They serve sashimi for lunch
By ryyeung of Richmond (35 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, September 23, 2007 - 5:38pm [Dine in]

Went here for lunch with a few coworkers. The price is on par with most AYCE sushi places.

Food: The good thing about here is that you get 2 orders of sashimi per person, which is better than most places. I found the food in general to be very fresh and tasty. The chicken karage was especially good, and was fryed to the right crispiness.

Service: Basic AYCE type of service. Nothing outstanding, but again, nothing to complain about. They kept our tea filled consistently, which is something I can't say about all places.

Ambiance: Restaurant overlooks Broadway, so there is some people watching to do. Table felt clean, and utensils were also. The only drawback is the lack of parking.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
so much for trusting good reviews...
By momotaro of New Westminster (28 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 7:37pm [Dine in]

We went last night, having read the reviews, good and bad, for this place.

As mentioned by many others, the service here is, politely, funky. Hit or miss.

And yes, uncomfortable seating, especially in the horikotatsu (the tables along the walls where you take off your shoes, sit on the floor and your legs drop down into a hole beneath the table). Normally, Japanese restaurants would have cushions for this kind of seating. I ended up folding my vest and sitting on that.

The food was decent, but nothing was spectacular. The sushi sometimes had warm rice. That is not how sushi is made... The rice is cooled by hand before being used. It was very odd to place a piece of sushi in your mouth and almost burn your tongue.

The sashimi was good quality. We were impressed with the octopus and squid. But when menu items weren't available, the only way we knew was when the wait staff didn't deliver it.

And be warned: not that you'd normally order jello at a sushi place, but don't order it here... it had a skin layer and was made with too little water, so it was overly sweet.

I think we'll try some other AYCE places before we go back...

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Downhill & Beyond
By DavidLee of Richmond, Vancouver (25 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 22, 2007 - 8:09pm [Dine in]

Atmosphere was regular, nothing special, at all.

Food was alright, if it ever came in the quantities that we actually ordered. That was the biggest issue we had. 5 of us went there for dinner on Monday, the place was about half full.

Dishes that stood out were the beef ribs, prawn tempura, the sushi/sashimi were fresh enough. Even though a lot of the more 'pricier' items were 'sold out' (Toro, Amaebi, unagi, etc.) So that was quite a turn off. Also the fact that I order 9 salmon, 4 chop scallop & 3 tamago would somehow be interpreted as 2 salmon, 2 chop scallop and 1 tamago is really beyond me. I guess you also order chicken wings by halves since I ordered 6 and I only got 3. We ordered our 3rd round and since that's the pattern they were going to use. We wrote down 15 pieces of salmon sushi, surely enough 3 pcs came. C'mon there was 4 guys and 1 girl, we were still pretty hungry, we order 15 and we get 3? I was furious and complained to the manager. He gave us an ugly smirk and barely acknowledged us then walked away. Then a whole bunch of food we didn't even order came.I guess 'compliments of the manager' (uh, it's AYCE, thanks?) We didn't eat any of it since we were worried he might have done something to the food considering the attitude he gave us.
The oysters were disgusting, the 'fresh' oysters weren't very fresh, warm and barely any meat. Invest in some bottles of Tobasco, they didn't even have any, at least that would have killed some of the bad flavour of the oyster. The baked ones were so dry.

No discount or anything on the bill. Left a couple dollars tips on a very disappointing $130+ bill.
I am never, ever coming back! Much better places down the street!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Late night ayce review
By cariba of Vancouver+ (23 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 26, 2010 - 8:36am [Dine in]

what a nice place to eat late night considering it is not that expensive either. the service wasn't that bad either it was about the same as any other ayce places i've been to and was beyond avg this night, the menu selection wasn't that great and i found myself wishing i could pay more for more item selections. unfortunately the most important part- the food- was quite a BIG dissapointment comapred to what i have heard. the simplest thing in terms of the gomae really pissed me off because it was very salty. I have just never tasted that before and it was really weird and disgusting. I thought to myself how do you mess up gomae. the sashimi also wasn't at a high standard and i could barely taste the salmon. With two of my favorite dishes messed up i really cannot give a solid rating for food. But to be fair there were a lot of positives as well = oyster motoyaki, chopped scallop cones, fried chicken wings, and i forgot what it was called but it was a curry flavored skewered in which i was very happy with. The wasabi was very good as well as it was very strong. Overall though if you compare there food with other ayce establishment I was not impressed one bit.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Terrible Service
By browntown of Richmond (23 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, November 14, 2008 - 1:57pm [Dine in]

FOOD:
- The food was great and fresh for AYCE standards.
- The rolls were also good considering they are all pre-made

SERVICE:
- Terrible is the only way to describe it, we were still eating our food and we had the waitress grab the food from right under us.
- The waitress's do not speak one word of English - I know this isn't there fault but someone who can at least explain what the items are on the menu would be great.

AMBIANCE:
- Great decor.

This place is always busy - I guess its because of the food because its not for the service!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Value for your Meal
By Lise of Burnaby (23 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, October 12, 2006 - 10:21am [Dine in]

This is one of the better all-you-can-eat meal around. I like the Lunch buffet, it is certainly better than most Japanese restaurants out there. Food quality is not so bad but when it gets busy, they tend to 'cheat' a bit - as in, food ordered no arriving or the fact my seafood motoyaki seemd to shrink in size with only a few sprinkling of cheese on top.

Service is outstanding considering the place can be busy. When asked for water, I got water within a couple of minutes.

Dinner buffet is wonderful. The selection of food is amazing with different cuts of sashimi. It can get busy, especially on the weekends so make sure you arrive early or call in for reservations.

And yes, the washrooms do need a bit of cleaning up every so often especially the mens. The womens is not so bad but they still need to be serviced every so often.

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who want to experience all-u-can-eat Japanese buffet for the first time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 6 of 6 Images Found