Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food3.5
  • Service3.5
  • Value3
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews26

Tipper Restaurant & Review Room, The

2066 Kingsway
Vancouver, BC V5N2T3
Tel: (604) 873-1010
Fax: (604) 873-1070
Neighbourhood: East Side

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 26 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
The underdog tugging on the heartstrings
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, March 30, 2009 - 12:13pm [Dine in]

My gf, main dining companion took to here over the weekend. I've driven past this restaurant frequently as it is on my route to the office and it looked worthy of atleast a try. Though a late evening dinner they were still open, and we were seated immediately as the place was not busy at all. The menu is on the small side but there should be something for everyone.

My gf's Penne Tip with chicken was a cut above the rest. It had an excellent, flavourful cream sauce with a quiet, simmering heat that eases itself into your tastebuds. Perfect amount of sauteed mushrooms and peppers, with lots of chicken chunks mixed in. The slices of avocado on the top was an added touch which I felt worked well. My steak sandwich was ordered medium rare, and actually came medium rare. Good cut, nicely seasoned, moist and tender. The fresh cut steak fries on the side were a nice golden brown. My only quibble would be my overseasoned fries.

There only seemed to be one staff working the floor, but he was very attentive and friendly. He checked up on us regularly and made sure my pop was refilled as I was particularly thirsty that evening. The styling cues really work well for the restaurant, though maybe not for the area. There was a lot of local art on the walls without looking out of place nor trendy and there's even a bar area complete with tv alongside the comfortable booths.

It seems that the area might not be ready for a restaurant like this yet but I could be wrong. Glad to know that the few people inside the restaurant wasn't a precursor of the food or the staff. Good local eatery worthy of future visits. Recommend.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
great local joint
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 14, 2010 - 3:06pm [Dine in]

Mrs. C and I were looking for chow outside the 2010 party zone and we decided to give this place a try. The whole area looked like a ghost town, and there were few customers in any of the local restaurants. TR&RR was nice and clean inside including the w/c. The manager and the cook were extremely friendly and both made menu suggestions and did quality checks. We had buffalo chili and a burger and fries for me, and clam chowder with a chicken wrap for my beloved dining companion. All the food was fresh and tasty and a lot better than we expected from this humble diner. As for value, the price was right too. The ambiance was okay, but nothing special.

Overall, quite good. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

yummy
By snowysakurasky of Vancouver (18 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, January 11, 2009 - 7:10pm [Dine in]

i loved the food! we tried the seafood chowder, the incredible mushroom creamy soup, mushroom burger (no meat), and penne.oh and the cheesecake. everything was yummy, especially the stuff with mushrooms! the service was a bit too attentive for my taste! owner was very nice but there was no one else there so he kept making sure we were ok. it is comfy but im not too sure about the decor...its clean and the art is fine it kind of has a not so new and polished feel. so if u r taking a female date here it might not be too impressive.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Friendly and Fun
By soupgirl of Killarney, Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, December 16, 2008 - 9:07pm [Dine in]

I have been to the Bottle Tipper a few times now as it is one of the few nicer restaurants in my area. I love the atmosphere, the paintings are very unique and every seat is a booth which is great. They always greet you with a smile and invite you to sit wherever you please. I already have my favorite seat, the booth in the back.

The food has always been great. I've had the three cheese burger with seafood chowder and it was perfect. the mix of cheeses was bang on, and the burger itself was juicy and well just great. The seafood chowder was incredible, and aside from breakfast I've had it every time I've gone. Can't say enough about it. Breakfast was great, I had the Classic and it was made just the way I ordered and fast. The last time I went I had the beef dip, with the seafood chowder of course, and it was fantastic.

The service is good, no hovering and they are always around when you need them. It's just a great low key place to eat with my friends. I've seen that they have live music nights and I can't wait to make it to one. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
New Option for Cedar Cottage
By SimonSed of Vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 5, 2008 - 10:00pm [Dine in]

We moved into the area almost 2 years ago and have been waiting for a place to open up that will provide some dining options to the neighbourhood.

The food quality has been really good and it's amazing how much you notice when a place puts some effort into the food. No prepackaged here. The main thing that will keep people coming in the door is the food and that fact hasn't been overlooked. You pay for what you get and the prices might be one or two dollars more than you expect at first but the quality of the food is well worth it.

The service has also been very consistent and friendly. It was nice to have a quality check done on the food after the first couple bites instead of just at the end of the meal.

The ambiance was the best that could have been done with the limbo that was Hellven notwithstanding gutting the place.

We will be back regularly, can't wait to try breakfast.
Hope this helps.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A cozy little bistro
By JBLoyola of vancouver, Bc (3 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 12:26am [Dine in]

The Bottle Tipper is a quaint and funky restaurant halfway between Metrotown and Downtown Vancouver. The food is homemade and made to order. I had the Tipper Salad and it was delicious! It was really fresh and came in a generous portion. Very reasonable at around $13.00. There are a lot of healthy choices on the menu as well as many choices for vegetarians. I came back the next week and had the steak sandwich with yummy homecut fries! This restaurant has really cheap daily drink specials, $3.29 for a caesar on sundays! The service was excellent! Very friendly staff. I highly recommend the Bottle Tipper to everyone!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

It's our neighbourhood hangout spot.
By redhairedgrrrl of East Vancouver, BC (12 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 5:00pm [Dine in]

We eat at the Tipper quite often, and are never disappointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the food is well-prepared, and they're fine with substitutions.

Never do we leave hungry, or feeling as though the meal was substandard. On the rare occasion that we've received food not up to their regular quality, we've spoken to the waitress or one of the co-owners, and had the issue resolved immediately. We love our neighbourhood local, and will absolutely keep coming back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great lunch
By goingdutch of Vancouver (16 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 8, 2009 - 5:00pm [Dine in]

Having driven by this place along Kingsway many times, we finally found a time to stop in. We were promptly greeted and seated. There was another large-ish group in the restaurant along with my partner and I. We went on the holiday monday for a late lunch. The service was a bit slow (from the time placing the order to receving our food) but the chef sent us out a complimentary yam fries appy! My dutchy dining partner settled on the 3 cheese burger and fries and I had the chicken wrap and seafood chowder. Being a self-proclaimed burger connisseur, my bf was delighted with his food. It was the perfect portion for him, as was my chicken wrap and soup for me. Mine was hot and the chowder was excellent! This place also seems to have live music/acts throughout the week, so next time we will be checking it out. Great un-pretentious food. I also remember seeing an ad of some sort for $10 burger & beer on Saturdays and tuesdays.......Our server was delightful and, aside from the long wait (we were in no hurry anyways) we were thouroughly impressed and thankful for the complimentary appy too. Oh yeah, they serve breakfast all day too!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great food + knowledgable proprietor = successful business.
By foodi of Burnaby, BC (12 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 13, 2008 - 4:37pm [Dine in]

If you're ever in the neighborhood, or if you're just wanting some cheap comfort food in a quiet and friendly atmosphere, then this is it. The service was attentive and earnest (,almost to the point of disruption).

The main dishes that come with amazing fresh cut fries, house salad or one of the tasty soup available is such a deal. The appetizers and deserts are expensive by comparison, but the chocolate truffle I had was pretty solid (,if a little one dimensional). The seafood melt is orgasmic, but make sure you tell them you want your buffalo burger partially rare; well cook does not a buffalo burger make.

The atmosphere is that of an upscale but understated modern diner. Good drink of the day deal; a solid draft beer and wine list; and refill coffee with comprehensive breakfast menu as well. An amazing place for a cheap date. They also have functions (a la stand up comedy and music) in their back room stage.

To the reviewer below me: I did not have pasta, but the proprietor/manager showed me one of the pasta dishes, and I can say from experience that it looked al dente and flavourful; one might find the food here bland as they utilize the same strategy as Bishop's in terms of less artificial addition, and more natural flavours; I find that they pull it off relatively well.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
First timer.
By mcjardine of whiterock (34 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, October 26, 2013 - 4:51pm [Dine in]

We would never have found this place without a coupon from the Entertainment book. Blue collar neighbourhood,but a great little local eatery. Melonie ,our waitress, was very attentative , knowledgeable and friendly, as were all the wait staff. Food was perfectly prepared and prompt.Over all rating is a solid 3.+

I would definately try this place again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
1st Timer with a Courier Coupon
By teemsum of vancouver (27 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 3:03pm [Dine in]

My DH & I dined here on Saturday for dinner after seeing a coupon in the Courier newspaper + checking the reviews.

DH had the Wild Salmon burger with a cup of Seafood Chowder for $ 0.99 and I had the Steak Sandwich with fries and an iced tea.

The Salmon burger was good and a little spicy..prob from the paprika or cayenne pepper on the salmon.
The Seafood Chowder had too much pepper in it but loads of seafood.

I ordered the Steak Sandwich medium well and it was a little chewy...prob shoulda had it just medium.

The fries were good but lightly salted...woulda liked to salt them myself.

The iced tea was pre-sweetened...a little too sweet for my taste.

At the other 2 tables near us, the server asked them if they wanted dessert.

Our server didn't ask us, just brought the bill.

It was ok...don't know if we'll be back.

They're not fancy but they use fresh ingredients, buying locally.

They also prefer that you pay with cash or debit so they don't have to pay the merchant fee.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Very underwhelmed...
By k8te of East Vancouver, BC (7 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 28, 2011 - 10:22pm [Dine in]

My brother and I were looking to grab a quick bite and saw this place on the way home. It stood out a bit from the typical asian fare all along Kingsway so we decided to try it.

I have to say that besides the ambience--kind of reminds me of a place found on main or commercial--it was pretty disappointing. I was thinking about ordering fries with my dish but the server assured me that sharing with my brother was probably a better option due to their large portions. Well, that was definitely not the case. The portions were extremely small--a lot less fries than your typical restaurant.

I order a salad and their seafood special. Honestly I could hardly believe it when they served it to me--it was a half of a hamburger bun in a ramekin with a oyster motoyaki type mix on top of it. Then it was smothered with cheese. It was a greasy mess. My salad was small but decent to go with. My brother did not particularly enjoy his burger either.

We were probably there for 20-30 minutes. It was one of those meals you wish you could take back so you could go eat something better!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great place in the area
By ochocinco of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, November 2, 2009 - 12:49pm [Dine in]

It's hard to find a place in this area. This place had great service, the manager was really nice. Their breakfast was superb. Dinner on the other hand was not as great.
Also didn't like how they didn't have prices for the liquor items.
I keep coming back because of the great service and it's one of the few decent restaurants in this area.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best new place
By beorletbe of burnaby, bc (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, August 15, 2009 - 12:11am [Dine in]

This place could be the best thing that Kinsgway has seen in awhile! Nestled in the heart just off of Victoria, we found a comfy and clean retreat, take a booth kinda place and just enjoy.
Our second time there we had more of an afternoon lunch, my friend had the tipper salad and seafood chowder, which I should of ordered but I thought too light of a meal, I chose the blacked chicken burger with fries and we did have the black bean dip to start but I was still surprised that we both left feeling full and happy
The first time I visited the Tipper, I just popped in for a quick breakfast and coffee to go. Even though I was there for a short time, I felt I would like to re visit again just because it was an instant liking to the place and the people and I am glad we did.
The service was casual and attentive and of course good, but I was more keen on the food and if my friend would enjoy, so I payed more attention to that.
She enjoyed it all!,
it was indeed a great dining experience, we had great food and a very pleasant night out. We have a new neighbor in town , let us welcome him, he is off to a good start!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Refreshing casual dining
By Balance2010 of North Van (1 Review)
Submitted Friday, June 19, 2009 - 10:30pm [Dine in]

I have been visiting the Tipper for about a year now since my gf found it on line when purchasing a entertainment coupon book.

The first visit did catch us off guard a bit... what is this place in the middle of no where ( when it comes to casual dining restaurants that is ) . Odd location for a casual diner !

I have since gotten to know the place a bit, played one of the Monday nite music shows held Every Monday. Hosts of the night are sooo nice and helpful!

The Service: Genuine wait staff - who provide Good - non pushy service, they remember mine and most peoples names just after a few visits. Plus, I have come to trust if anyone has a question or concern the servers will do what they can to correct or answer.

The Food: we usually start with the yam fries, they rock - esp the sauce.... note; not crispy like the processed ones you get at the chains, these are real. The spicy penne pasta is a solid meal just the right amount of heat, and you can't go wrong the blacken chicken burger. Being a fresh food based restaurant they are happy to sell out of key items it means they start fresh the next shift.

Value: Much cheaper than the chain restaurants - I find the quality to be far better on each visit. It is surprisingly good each visit!

The Review Room: Most of the time it is free to artists . It's simple room, not fancy - great sound for singers, plays etc.

Why Visit this place: It seems the Tipper has a lot of positive things going on, it really can't be taken in with just one visit. This area need a tidy place to have quick eats, or relaxing visits. Wishing em well...

Lacking: still a bit unknown to its future customers.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Fantastic food, great service!
By Hu-Gadarn of Dickens, East Van (5 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, May 8, 2009 - 9:18pm [Dine in]

My wife and I love this place. We've been about five times and recommended it to our friends and family.

Highlights: food is consistently delicious and portions are good. I love the buffalo burger, very succulent and full of flavour. The wings are great and my wife usually talks about these for about a week before and after we visit. Nice selection of locally brewed beer and the price is right. Service is top notch. Parking is easy to come by on Kingsway or right around the corner. Despite all of this it's easy to get a seat!

Lowlights: because it hasn't been discovered yet it can feel a little quiet. That's about it.

Enjoy, I think I'll go again this weekend. :)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
The Tipper
By koonta of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, December 21, 2008 - 9:19pm [Dine in]

I just had a great experience at a new rerstaurant, the Tipper.

2066 Kingsway, cross Street Victoria. I don't know this part of town very well and I had never heard about it before but I was very impressed.
When I walked in I was greeted by Colin the owner who was very welcoming, classy and genuine, which is a big thing nowadays with all these kids serving at other chains of restaurants (you know who they are) and they just don't want to be there and give you these fake smiles and bad service. Anyways, The ambiance of the restaurant is very Warm and friendly and cozy, everything being made of brown wood like the cabine I always wished I had. The prices are all very low and the food very tasty and the service even better. Making the whole experience way above average.
I had the Teriyaki Bowl, and I am salivating on my keyboard. It came on a sizzling skillet it was just the right size, it was cheap and it was good.
I don't know what else to say except that the washrooms were clean and that it was a great experience.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Very Enjoyable!
By EmmaH of nanaimo (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, December 6, 2008 - 5:21pm [Dine in]

I have gone to the Tipper several times and each visit has been great. The decor is interesting with unique artist paintings and the atmosphere is both social and relaxing. The feature of the private back room for special events is something I will considering for future parties.

My favs are the bean dip - it reminds me of Spring, the flavours are so fresh. And the seafood melt, it's simply delicious. I've had numerous appys and a few cocktails - all were good eats.

I will be returning when back in the area!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A Quiet Gem
By OnTop of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, July 24, 2008 - 4:03pm [Dine in]

My husband and I love finding an unpretentious restaurant, so I can't wait to introduce him to The Bottle Tipper on Kingsway, which I just discovered last week.
In addition to pleasant service and excellent food, the price was very reasonable.
The menu is simple, but offered a nice selection of seafood, including wild salmon. The fish chowder is the best.
I look forward to going back, and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good service, poor food.
By yumyumsigsig of Burnaby (15 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 6:59pm [Dine in]

Trying out unfamiliar restaurants based on Entertainment Book coupons can result in very different experiences. Sometimes, you get unexpectedly good food and service. Other times, it could be downright bad and you wonder why you have chosen the restaurant over another. Unfortunately, my dining experience today falls into the latter category. I ordered a steak sandwich which came with French Onion soup. My first sip of the soup told me immediately that perhaps I needed some water – it was just too salty. This also made me wonder if I should have ordered salad instead. The steak was ordered well done; it seemed to be too dry and salty as well. The overall taste was mediocre at best. The only bright spot of my dining experience was the service. The restaurant was not very busy at the time, the waitress had plenty of time to attend to customers. We found our requests mostly answered within a few minutes. Based on this one time experience, I am afraid I can’t give this restaurant a good recommendation.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 3 of 3 Images Found