Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2.5
  • Food3
  • Service2
  • Value3.5
  • Ambiance2.5
  • Reviews29

Simply Delicious Galleria + Sushi Lounge

4316 Main St
Vancouver, BC V5V3P9
Tel: (604) 875-9866
Neighbourhood: East Side

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 29 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
simply inexpensive
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, September 4, 2009 - 10:54am [Dine in]

Mrs. C and I were on Main Street looking for some chow when we spotted SD. The entrance is by way of some rather grubby stairs which did not look very inviting. Once we got past that obstacle we found the place was not too bad. It looked a little dark inside, but everything looked clean enough, including the ancient w/c. Service was pretty good throughout the meal, and although I would not say the servers warmed my heart with their jolly goodwill, they were efficient and came back for quality checks and tea top-ups.

We had a variety of foods including soba noodles, beef teriyaki, Cali roll, tuna roll, tuna sashimi, gyoza, BBQ eel, a decent bean and coconut drink for my beloved dining companion and a beer for me. All the food was tasty enough, but by no means deluxe. It was definitely worth it for the price, but that’s about all I can say. As for price, that is the real attraction of this place. We ate well and the bill came to 25 bucks for two, including a generous tip.

I don’t really understand the negative reviews for this place. SD offers cheap gut fill, and you get exactly what you pay for. I will be back for more.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Yummy & Cheap!
By ILOVE2EAT of East Vancouver (73 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 26, 2008 - 12:53am [Dine in]

Have gone to this place a few times in the past couple of months. Food is very cheap, delicious and quick. Service is OK. Always have to ask for more tea and the bill. The few times we've been there, has not been busy. Free parking in the back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Ok, but slow food
By Lanie23 of Vancouver (53 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 11:17am [Dine in]

As other reviewers mentioned, the food here is cheap. $2 California roll, $2 spicy tuna, $2.5 yam tempura roll. Yet the food is not that big so you do need to order more to fill up, kind of negating the savings. The rolls I tried were all very tasty, esp. the avocado roll. The service was not very good. The place was not busy, but it still took quite a long time for the food and our tea never got refilled. Also, we could hear the workers talking about the customers from the kitchen! Not professional. So many restaurants on Main, probably won't be coming here again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Food is consistent but service is slow.
By 604girl of Vancouver (26 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, November 21, 2009 - 10:03pm [Dine in]

Food is pretty consistent. It's decent food for incredible prices. The best deal there are the "bento" boxes there. You get a side of rice, salad, a choice of chicken/beef/pork/sashimi/tofu plus 3 more other side of a large variety of choices. Choices include cali roll, salmon/tuna sashimi, mussels, beef ribs, tempera, BBQ eel, eggs, cheese cake, bacon wrap, and many many more. (All very decent food) Plus a miso soup for $8.5, including tax. (Miso soup is kinda blan but I'm not really into that anyway.)

Service is super slow though. Usually there's only 1 waitress, 2 max. So don't go there when you're super hungry because you won't be getting you food anytime soon.

Ambiance. They used to have these Christmas lights on all the time. So it's like Christmas all year round! But they recently took it off and did some renovation so it's all good. Washroom is like a typical Asian restaurant; cold, metal everywhere, slight odor but passable.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Short black skirts, animal print chairs, spacious place - all intentional
By rockstarrr of Vancouver (20 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 15, 2010 - 3:07pm [Dine in]

This restaurant is definitely NOT a family restaurant. With sushi rolls ranging from $2 to $7, $3 drink specials, some flat screen TVs and top 40 music, I'd say this place has transformed into a restaurant/lounge. It's a great place to chill with your friends. The food is solid, not outstanding. There is no sushi bar. You get what you pay for for the $2 robata items. I totally agree with the last reviewer about short skirts though. The dress code should be tasteful; Cactus club is a good example. The waitresses where black dresses/skirts there and it's tasteful. Show off your legs and cover your top. That's pretty much the rule of dress anyways. Great place to go if you're on a bit of a budget. Recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Consistentcy is the best policy!!
By okayisay of vancouver (16 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 23, 2007 - 12:37pm [Dine in]

Just to make it clear, I am not in agreeance with all the bad reviews below about service and such.
For the price they charge, I find that the restuarant does a really good job in keeping their food quality and taste far from adequate. Everytime I have went, I have recieved friendly and efficient service whether it was recieving food or ordering for it. They also have a comment box and the option of take-out so if picky people who want both cheap food and 5 star service can have other options.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Second try, still good
By foodmonkey of Vancouver (15 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 18, 2007 - 10:20pm [Dine in]

This was our second visit to this place; again at lunch. Only two other tables occupied. Again, the prices are jaw-dropping: cheap, cheap, cheap. $2 for a salad roll or a california roll! Both quite good. Other sushi was good, agedashi tofu was good, even the salmon sashimi (farmed) was good. Prawn tempura was tasty. It's so cheap, you can't help but expect something to go frightfully wrong. So, mark us down as pleased x2. Oh, but don't venture to the washroom -- that was truly, truly frightful.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
All day breakfast takes all day to arrive...Maybe bring a snack for your wait...
By 40something of Vancouver BC (9 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, July 17, 2008 - 5:55pm [Dine in]

The food is actually pretty decent and cheap cheap cheap. That's it!

The place is filthy. Junk all over the stairs, carpets upstairs strewn with food, no kidding.
The staff is totally oblivious to both the surroundings and the customers and still manage to be friendly. Orders take FOREVER! 45 minutes last time, thats after a good long wait to place an order. I thought my first time there was just a really off day, nope. I guess there is only one person in the kitchen.

Oh yes, the bathroom, brings your own supplies.

Everything "looks" right, sort of, but it like being on candid camera with Luis Bunuel behind the curtain. The "is this for real?" feeling.

$30 for three including large sake and tax! Surrealism no extra charge.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
new managment, better service, and better ambiance.
By tikuku of Vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, April 6, 2010 - 3:01pm [Dine in]

I honestly have no idea what the posts below me were talking about when they say the waitresses are scandily dressed. They look perfectly fine to me - better than earls and cactus club if you ask me. Cactus club girls are not classy, I don't care what anyone says, they're just not. I've also gotten GREAT service from the new waitresses, however, when i get the old ones serving me then not so much.

I've been a couple of times since they renovanted the place and i really love what they've done with it. There are framed comic book pages, cd covers and artwork adorned on the walls, and some awesome quirky neon signs around. The place was never really 'authentic' japanese as the owners were vietnamnese, so I find that this ambience matches the place more.

The menu has changed a bit and the prices have gone up just a bit, but I find the food to be the same, however with clean dishes, cups, plates though, which is so much better.

They also have a cheap dessert menu which personally makes me very happy. I love cheesecake.

I suggest going back to check it out to see the changes and decide for yourself whether you like it or not.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
simple
By potatoes of Mount Pleasant, Vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 28, 2008 - 12:49pm [Dine in]

Totally cheap, totally awesome. They play instrumental covers of the songs you used to like in the 80s and early 90s... it's a fun game to try and recognize the song. You'll probobly hear the same song 3 times over the course of your meal. Also fun to find the grammatical errors in their menu. I'm itching to try the "banana vocano", despite it's accompanying menu picture.

All in all, pretty bad service, but whatever, it's cheap and still yummy. Place always has room and is quiet and relaxing.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Not Impressed but Can't Beat the Price!
By Daisycloud of Vancouver East (7 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, June 19, 2007 - 10:35am [Dine in]

Not a pleasant experience, especially when you don't have much time to spare. Its redeeming qualities are the UNBELIEVABLY CHEAP prices and the not-bad food. 3 of us went on a Saturday night.

Miso soup came right away, but 2 of us waited 30 minutes for food, while the 3rd one waited 45 min. We also noticed one takeout customer waited over 30 min, and another waited close to 45 min.

Although we asked, the waitresses didn't bring the right utensils. Poor attitude and not attentive. Eventually there were 6 tables, but only 2 waitresses. Very disorganized and didn't prioritize. Took orders but started helping other customers so didn't submit orders to kitchen right away.

$8 for teriyaki choice, rice, salad, miso, and choice of 3 specialty items. Great value! Except the lemongrass chicken was just boiled chicken. Blech!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Cheap
By VanFan of Vancouver (6 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 20, 2007 - 9:54pm [Dine in]

I went in with a few friends. There were about 5 other groups of people. We waited about 10 minutes before having to walk up to ask for a menu, and even then, they didn't give us the right one. They seemed to just ignore our table, and it took over 45 minutes for our food to arrive.

The food was decent, it's not bad, but definitely not the best. But bad service, and OK food is forgiven, since the prices were so low.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Now this is awkward.
By happy_spork of Vancouver (4 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 9, 2010 - 1:26am [Dine in]

I feel bad for Simply Delicious/SD Galleria. I came here a ton when they were known as Simply Delcious, in its pre-Galleria days, mostly because it was one of the few sit-down cheap places in the neighbourhood and didn't require lining up. They didn't get much business then, and with this new look, I can't imagine they will last very long.

I found the quality of the food to be the same as before, solid, but nothing remotely amazing. Decent value, not dirt cheap, but definitely affordable. The service has definitely improved, but I don't approve of the new dress code for waitresses - shirt skirts, low cut tops...it seems a little sleazy of the management to me. The decor is perhaps the biggest difference, an assortment of comic book covers, records, and a faux Mona Lisa...there's quite a bit to look at now! It's kinda tacky, not gonna lie...but I don't mind tacky that much, so it's not necessarily a bad thing to me.

I've been here twice since it became SD Galleria, once with a group of 4, and then with a group of 6. The first time, they place was not super busy, but they definitely had customers, and I didn't feel bothered or distracted from my meal. The second time however, half of the place was filled with high school kids and young college kids who had just turned legal - there was about 40 of them....not eating, but talking loudly, dancing to the bad DJ, and smoking on the patio outside. This was irritating; the last thing I want during my meal is to be distracted by skanky teenagers and second hand smoke. My group almost left, but because the waitress was friendly when we came in, we decided to eat as quickly as possible, and finish off the evening at the Mcdonald's down the street.

I understand that 40 teenagers would seem like good business to management, but the fact that the bulk of them were standing around and not ordering food doesn't seem to balance out this equation, and it only serves to bother other customers more. I would have been back to SD Galleria for the cheap solid food since that last visit in February, but I haven't for fear that there may be another noisy group of 40 there disturbing my meal.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not as good as it used to be.
By jnnfr of Main St Vancouver (4 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, March 29, 2010 - 6:54pm [Dine in]

If you read below, you'll find my old review of Simply Delicious, now also known as SD Galleria. I'd been to the restaurant on many occasions over the past few years and even though the service was extremely slow, the food was fairly decent and the price was dirt cheap.

I hadn't gone for awhile and I heard a few months ago from friends that the restaurant had undergone a makeover with the addition of neon signs and artwork plastered over the walls and was now going by the name 'SD Galleria'. Assuming that the management or owners had changed, I finally went a few nights ago to check out what was different, but I'm definitely not going back again unless they change their management.

First off, the service is a lot better than it was before. The waitress was quick to bring us drinks and menus, and to take our order. The food came relatively faster than usual, too.

The ambiance was slightly improved with the art and the presence of a live DJ. I quite enjoyed that they added in couches in place of chairs at some tables. I also noticed that some of the booths had been reupholstered with animal prints. While these may have been great strides in terms of making the restaurant look better, some remnants of the old decor are still prevalent (e.g., the colour of the walls, the tables, etc) which do not mesh well with the new additions at all and instead make the place seem very tacky.

This brings me to the food. The food is horribly overpriced. The $5 yam tempura only had 4 skinny pieces of prawn in a thick coating of fried batter. The BC roll was large, but at least 80% the roll was filled with cucumber slices. The gyoza came in portions of 4 as well, but were small enough to eat one in a single bite. On the other hand, the beer was rather cheap.

Also keep in mind that, if you're paying debit, you need to spend over $10. If not, you have to pay a $0.25 charge. We also had to go up to the counter to pay, and repeat our order to the employee there.

Like I said, it was a pretty bad experience and I definitely won't be going again. Time to look for a new place to go to for 'cheap eats'.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Guilty Pleasure
By promken of Main Street (3 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 13, 2009 - 11:08pm [Dine in]

I don't know if my mom (very thrifty lady) would be proud or afraid that I love to eat here.
Pretty good experience if you never go to the washroom, not to mention enter from parking lot up the back stairs. Abyssmally dirty and a bit funky with the chemical/??? smells.
That being said...
I eat here pretty regularly.
All about the cheapness, no delusions.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good sushi. Good Value
By digiri of Vancouver, BC (3 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 24, 2009 - 5:58pm [Dine in]

I go to Simply Delicious about three times a month. The menu is very good value and very varied - sushi, Pho, robata, french fries, whatever you want.

The bento boxes are an excellent deal and you get lots of choices to make your own combos. There are lots of little dishes so it's fun to order a lot and share as a group. The sushi is always fresh and the rice prepared correctly.

Yes, the service is erratic. I'm convinced that the owner only hires extremely new Canadians who have never worked in a restaurant before - so don't be so hard on them. I tip decently and have tried to make a connection with a few of the wait staff so I will often get attention before someone else. Being a regular pays off sometimes.

It was an Argentinian steak house a very long time ago and the decor still reflects it. But the booths are big and comfy, the menu selection wide and the beer is cheap!

They did just raise their prices a little but it's still cheap. It used to be that my sister, my niece and myself would have our fill of sushi, sunomono, and tempura plus three beers and a diet coke for $24 but now it's a whopping $27. Where else in Vancouver can you eat a huge meal with a little bit of booze for $27?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
It's Christmas 365 days of the year here.
By alexk of main, Vancouver (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, December 16, 2008 - 10:56pm [Dine in]

It is simply delicious and simply cheap.

Although the stairs and the bathroom are not in the best condition, you will get over it. We have been going there for over two years at least once a week. The prices are so low, you have to tip over twenty % just so the servers can make any kind of money.

I regularly check Vancouver Coastal Health food inspection site and they have always had very minor infractions compared to many other places I have read about and then steered clear of.

I have never personally had a problem with the service although I have heard of others who have. But I always tip more than 20%.

We have eaten mostly everything on the menu, including tons of raw sushi and have never been ill. I think that sometimes it looks like it is empty when a normal sushi restaurant would look packed. It is because it is so big compared to most of the tiny little sushi restaurants in this city.

And the best part is the weird ambiance, the Christmas lights are up 365 days of the year!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
New Management, higher prices, but same fabulous food
By Theastronoid of East Van, The Drive (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 13, 2010 - 1:38pm [Dine in]

Yes, the place used to be dirty under the old management. No longer.
Redecorated to appeal to a hipper crowd, with slightly higher prices, the food is still great. Speed and quality of service depends on the serving staff on duty (Natural selection works slow for waitresses if one keeps tipping them ;-)

This continues to be one of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Delicious yes, but ....
By Kidolina of Vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 10, 2009 - 4:02pm [Dine in]

The Sushi and everything tastes great. But I have to say, it is very filthy in there and I just hope that it doesn't look like that in the kitchen. It was summer when we went there and the Christmas deco was still up. They could make it such a great place if they would put some effort into cleaning right.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Cheap Eats
By lemonsnlimes of Vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 12:34pm [Dine in]

I go to Simply at least once per week and have to say I love the place. If you learn to deal with its shortcomings, it is such good value you'll be coming back all the time. The food is good, although the more expensive dishes aren't worth it. I ordered the Seafood Hotpot last week and was really let down, it didn't have any flavour to it and was seriously short on the seafood. The other dishes are always good. Beef Pho is only 4$ and always tasty, although it will occasionally come out less than hot.

The only issues Simply has is brutal service, but after getting used to getting up and asking the servers for things it really isn't bad. They are always friendly, they just don't ever come back to the table after you get your food.

All in all, good place for cheap asian food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 5 of 5 Images Found