Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food3.5
  • Service3.5
  • Value3.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews39

Pho Tan Vietnamese Restaurant

4598 Main Street
Vancouver, BC V5V3R5
Tel: (604) 873-3345
Neighbourhood: East Side
  • Cuisine: Pho, Soup, Vietnamese
  • Price: $ ($15 or less)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • Service: Takeout
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Features: Wheelchair accessible
  • Serving not only noodles and lemongrass chicken/pork/beef shortribs, but also a good variety of la carte dishes, from skewers to fried bean curd wrapped crab meat paste. Special orders/requests for off-menu items are always welcomed. Just call ahead and discuss with management.

    Plenty of free parking all around with no meter parking and a small lot behind the restaurant.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 39 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
MMM, MMM, Pho
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, September 23, 2007 - 4:31pm [Dine in]

Mrs. C and I Mrs. C and I were desperate for Pho, and we spotted this place on Main. We found it to be a small and pleasant. The décor was comfortable and clean, and our server was helpful with our choices. We had spring rolls with beef brisket pho for me and brisket and tendons pho for my beloved co-diner.

The spring rolls were excellent, and the pho was very good. No MSG, and hearty soup with noodles that were just right. Even the beef was better than average. One thing that struck me was how comfortable I felt in the restaurant. Some places make you want to eat and run, but at PT I wanted to linger. It was a great pho experience. Plus it didn’t cost much.

Recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Good, honest pho
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 15, 2009 - 3:20am [Dine in]

My friend and I dropped by during the lunch rush; we aren't too picky with seating so we were crammed into the corner table by the wait area.

We both ordered pho with a share plate of spring rolls. A rich and hearty broth with the usual body found in a well prepared stock. Good lean slices of beef though I felt the tendon in mine were a little stingy. The spring rolls were fantastic - though they weren't appreciably different from most other spring rolls I've eaten in terms of taste, it was tightly packed, with just the right amount of crispiness, chewiness and easy on the oil soakage with a finely minced pork filling inside.

We encountered both the servers on the floor, both incredibly friendly but both were clearly overmatched by the lunch hour crowd. It took about 10 minutes before they came to take our order and I didn't particularly like how we received our spring rolls half way through our noodles. They could surely use an extra body on the floor.

While the entrance/wait area is nothing to look at, the actual eating area is nicely up-to-date, with dark, engineered floors, nice wallpaper and noticeably clean.

One of the better pho places in town - I will surely make subsequent visits.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Consistantly great
By thecritic of Vancouver (376 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 2, 2006 - 2:09pm [Dine in]

I recently moved into the area and have eaten here 3 times. Each time I had 3 different items on the menu. All were good even with the higher expectations from the previous visit. The food is inexpensive, quality Vietnamese food and tastes of home cooking. The pho broth is tasty and not greasy. Ingredients are fresh, items come out of the kitchen very quickly.

The service is very good, especially for a Vietnamese restaurant. You can tell that they actually care about the customer and ensure they are well looked after. When the restaurant is slow, they offer great service without hovering over the tables.

Definately recommended, I will return often.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Off the Menu items
By cocoeater of vancouver (323 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 1:20pm [Dine in]

Went here on a Friday after a friend pre-ordered a few items which isn't available on the menu. Beer crab came in a clay pot, very good with some soup on the bottom to add to some white noodles after. Crab was moist and very good. Lamb chops were made in some tangy sweat sauce and BBQ'd, very good. Then the oxtail was in some five spice and came in a thick sauce, again very good. Also had the boneless chicken wings and spring rolls off the menu.

Would go again but pre-order. The service was very good and changed plates with a better than your normal Pho place ambiance. Value was good.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Decent clean place
By EatsFats of Vancouver (322 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, November 11, 2007 - 10:46pm [Dine in]

Considering what kind of restaurant it is, unusually "nice". Very clean decor and finishings inside. Very clean, you can feel comfortable hanging around there.

Service was pretty quick and friendly. Maybe a little too friendly, almost "used car salesmen" like. Hmmm...

Food presentation is above par for Vietnamese places in Vancouver. By far. Fortunately, it also has the taste to match. We had a lot of stuff, broken rice dish, thin noodles, spring rolls. Just no pho that day. Some stuff was slightly on the greasy/oily side, but was otherwise done quite well. My only disappointment is that the menu selection is pretty much "the usual", nothing new or really interesting like I've experienced at other places (i.e. not in Vancouver).

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Good honest Vietnamese cuisine.
By foodfanatic of South Vancouver (286 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 26, 2006 - 2:46am [Dine in]

Always reliable, always friendly, and consistently tasty. From when they were located closer to King Edward on Main St. doors down from The Grind, to when they passed the lease on to the current pho restauranteur that relocated from Cambie, they've always provided a reliable meal and friendly, enthusiastic service. This is one of the few pho places I'd completely trust the freshness and integrity of the ingredients & staff. They seem to take great pride & passion in their creations. Now, with the newer, better location (still awaiting their liquor license and interac/cc machines to be delivered), they have managed to impress me more than before. The food seems to have found & settled on an identity it wants to keep as has the new menu along with added kitchen staff. The self renovations seem to be mostly complete, though still in need of some fine-tuning.

I sincerely hope this one is here to stay so that I would not have to venture over to Richmond's Pho Lan all the time when I'm in need of a quick pho fix and then some. Though their a la carte dishes can't quite compare to that of Phnomh Pehn's, but I definitely prefer their location over to venturing out into Chinatown for a meal (missed the Broadway location :( ).

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Good Pho, reasonable value
By lindarose of Vancouver (172 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 18, 2010 - 9:19pm [Dine in]

After reading many good reviews at Dinehere.ca, I decided to give Pho Tan a try.

First impression was only okay. I called ahead to ask if they accepted VISA. The woman who answered the phone said, "Hello." This is a pet peeve of mine. I answer "hello" when I am at home. When I am at work, I answer, "Hello (or, better yet, good evening) then state my company name." This is basic professionalism. I asked the woman if I had reached Pho Tan and she said "yes." I asked my question "Do you take Visa" and she answered something unintelligible. I asked again, this time a little slower and tried to be more clear. She stated, a bit impatiently that it was cash only.

Anyways, they have no telephone manners.

I tired the place anyway (and brought cash)...

The place is decorated nicely - a bit more atmosphere than most.

There were lots of people there including lots of families (so we felt we fit in nicely).

We ordered our standard fare (Rare Beef Pho, vermicelli bowls with chicken, minced pork and spring rolls and I had my favourite drink - a salty lemon on soda).

The prices were very reasonable ($7 for a large Pho; $7.50 for the vermicelli bowls and only $2.75 for my salty lemon drink; soft drinks were $1.60).

The Pho was tasty. The bowls were okay - I found the minced pork had a weird powdery seasoning on it. The chicken was good and it was nice that it was completely boneless. The spring roll was tasty. My salted lemon drink was very tasty and had just the right amount of preserved lemon and sweetness. I ordered two of them!!

Our waitress was very pleasant and efficient.

I would go again if I was in the area, but I have another favourite Pho place which I will continue to go to as Pho Tan and my other place are the same driving distance from my home.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
very good pho, great prices.
By pickyjerk of kitsilano vancouver (67 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 30, 2008 - 5:20pm [Dine in]

I came out of my way because I heard that this place has very good Pho.

I ordered the large rare beef and beef balls. It arrived fairly promptly with a side of fresh condiments, including chilies which I always appreciate. The broth was wonderfull and there was a generous portion of fresh, quality meat. The noodles were harder than I am used to but still nice.

I recommend this place. Their prices are very competitive, you can have a pork chop or a range of things on the side for a mere 5$.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Amazing Beer Crab
By 8there of Vancouver (66 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 5, 2011 - 11:18am [Dine in]

I had been here on a few occasions for the regular pho and rice dishes, and found them to be adequate but not outstanding. What I never knew was that some of their special items not on the menu were incredibly good.

Beer crab in a clay pot - amazingly tasty, even for someone who usually doesn't like to eat crab because it's so messy. It was hot, juicy, and full of flavor. After you eat the crab you can ask to add noodles to the delicious soup to finish it all up. For a 3lb crab it was $50.
Braised Ox tail - this one was tasty and tender, but a bit oily for my taste.
Lamb chops - wonderfully seasoned, tender, and grilled to perfection.
Eggplant - this was an interesting one. You could taste a charred flavor like it had been grilled before being doused in a slightly sweet and sour sauce. If you like your eggplant mushy then it's worth a try.

We had dinner on a weeknight and had made a reservation. When we arrived it was pretty empty, but halfway through our meal there was a lineup and people were being turned away. It's not often you see that at a Vietnamese place. Service was decent, our plates were changed about 3 times during the course of the meal. I think you may need to pre-order the special items, but it's definitely worth a try. My mouth is watering just thinking about that crab!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Vietnamese/Cantonese Greatness!!!
By Bobeater of East Vancouver (58 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, April 17, 2006 - 11:59pm [Dine in]

Finally, a place where great food meets great taste!

I went to this place with a friend last week and I have a very delicious time.

The service was excellent. The servers were so friendly they actually communicated with us. The owners are chinese which is pretty much a rarity in Vietnamese restaurants.

The Food: Delicious and fast. I had the pork chop on rice with an egg and a order of spring rolls. The rice was perfectly cooked and the pork chop really tender. The dishes were very modern, something different!

The Ambiance: Super! The decor was spacious and elegant. The restaurant was too loud in both the atmosphere and colours. They were calm and zen-like.

I would come back for seconds next time!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Love the food
By panda of Burnaby (56 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 15, 2008 - 1:04am [Dine in]

I have read great reviews about this restaurant and I was itching to try it out. We finally had dinner here last nite and I was impress with their decor. Most Vietnamese restaurants are not known for their ambiance nor their decor, just good food. This place has both. Their menu selection was different from other vietnamese restaurant. We had stuffed chicken wings, Pho Tan special rice noodle soup, chicken veg. stir fry with rice, and shredded pork & spring rolls with vermicelli. Each dishes was very good and well presented. Good service, food came quick, water and tea were refill w/o being asked. The owner made an effort to talk to his customers which was why I gave the service rating a 4. My husband & I would definitely come back to try out more of their dishes.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Better than the average pho joint
By Lanie23 of Vancouver (53 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 19, 2009 - 9:57pm [Dine in]

The restaurant decor and furniture is definitely nicer than most pho places that I've been to. The spring roll/pork/vermicelli combo is awesome. So is the pho- tasty soup, perfectly done pho. Big portions, very reasonable prices for these dishes, in the $6-7 range. The only minus is that the rice dishes that I've seen come out leave something to be desired- something that looked like a stirfry and another one was a porkchop? Anyhow, it looked a bit like something the average person would cook up in their kitchen which is not a compliment. Stick to the pho or vermicelli and you will not be disappointed!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Solid Soup Noodles
By Spelunca of Vancouver (45 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, August 5, 2009 - 12:57pm [Dine in]

Preamble: a quiet Tuesday night

Food: not overly impressed by the boneless chicken wings or lemongrass pork, the former by a lack of flavor and the latter by the small portion size and a tad too much of the salt. We ordered two soup noodles and they were certainly better than your average Vietnamese restaurant quality. MSG usage was moderate.

Service: better than usual. They will give you an entirely new tea kettle to replace the old one. Quick and efficient.

Value: not the cheapest for the portion size, but not outrageous either.

Ambiance: better than usual. Slightly darker with blinded up windows. Fan running as no A/C.

Overall: will try again

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good Food Good Server VERY Reasonable Prices
By stevendrowe of Vancouver (44 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 5, 2009 - 10:08pm [Dine in]

This is our second visit to the restaurant. The new owners have been there since May 09 and looks better than the previous residents, we didn't go in prior to this as it looked dirty.

The good is excellent, both times I have had sandwich which were good but also tried others food and especially love the beef stew with noodle soup!! I always have their Vietnamese coffee as well, always delicious.

The service is quick and friendly, very attentive and ensure we are happy. Everything is served fairly quickly.

This isn't The Ritz but its very clean and welcoming, certainly above average for the price range they charge for the food.

This is local to us and would come back on a regular basis.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not great
By chica of vancouver (36 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 15, 2007 - 12:37pm [Dine in]

Yea, the portions are really small, and the lemon grass chicken is really dry and bland. I think the ambiance is nice though. I would prefer to go to Vietnamese Restaurant on Main Street and King Edward, because their portions are huge for its price.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Good pho
By foodluva of Vancouver (35 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, September 17, 2009 - 7:08pm [Dine in]

Came here for lunch today at around 330pm. There were only about 3 other tables so it wasn't busy. No complaints about service. I got my food about 5 mins after ordering. I came here after hearing good reviews from friends and its silver rating for best vietnamese from vancouver mag. I really like the broth, didn't taste msg nor was i thirsty afterward, and it had a really nice flavor. The amount of rare beef was about standard but they were a little stingy with the tendon. The sprouts and basil were fresh and clean (this is important to me). The decor is also nicer than other pho places. Would definitely return.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good Pho On Ya
By lazyhusband of Burnaby (31 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 2, 2006 - 1:55pm [Dine in]

Checked out this place this past weekend because I was feeling in a pho kinda mood. I ordered the large rare beef/tripe/beef brisket pho noodle soup and it was very satisfying. The soup was nice and hot (temperature wise) with just the right amounts of green onions and regular onions added in. It was not oily but light and refreshing. My bowl had ample amounts of noodles and meat and price was just $5.85. Unlike Pho 66 on Hastings, this place is not limited in the pho combinations, vast array to choose from.

Service was excellent. I asked for ice water, they brought it right away. I asked for little dishes to squeeze my hoisin in, they brought it right away. I asked for extra smaller bowls and a fork, they brought it right away. This is one place that goes that extra mile to make the customer happy and I applaud them for that.

Inside is very clean with some recent updates/renos done.

Overall, good food, prices, service and cleaniness makes this place a worthwhile visit for any pho lover.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
nice decor in a pho restaurant
By foodie57 of Vancouver (21 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, July 31, 2009 - 9:47pm [Dine in]

This place has above average décor for a pho restaurant. It is relaxing inside, and it looks like somebody put some thought into it. The food is pretty good, I have no complaints. The pho has a good broth, lots of fresh bean sprouts and the like on the side. Spring rolls and salad rolls have always been tasty. The people working there are friendly. I will be back, it’s nice to go there for lunch and finish with an iced coffee on a hot day.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good Pho at Pho Tan
By styledish of Vancouver (21 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, September 25, 2008 - 9:58pm [Dine in]

Among the many Pho places in Vancouver, I would say this one has one of the more comfortable seating environment ie no big bright neon lights, dirty tables, sketchy chairs, etc. We ordered 2 different types of noodles and the minced pork crepe dish. The noodles were pretty good portions and the soup was delicious. The crepe was somewhat disappointing as the crepe skin tasted tough...like as if it was left out in the open for too long. But if I ever wanted comfort food, especially during rainy cold weather, I would come here again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Consistant food & service
By frugal-diner of richmond (20 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 2, 2008 - 10:52pm [Dine in]

This is one of our favorite places to go with the kids. Everytime we go, the waitress brings us kids bowls and utencils without being asked. Service has been fairly consistant each time. Friendly fast efficient servers. Like previous reviewers, the food always arrives quickly (which is a good thing when you have children). Favorite dishes are the seafood dry noodles, lemon grass pork chops, pho, and spring rolls. Can't really go wrong with anything here. I hear they have specialty dinner items such as whole fish cooked in traditional vietnamese soup but haven't had a chance to try that yet. One time we did have an issue with our food (hair in the noodle/sprouts), the server apologized, took the food away, and returned with a replacement right away. Parking can be found fairly easily in that area. There are a few spots in the back as well. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 5 of 5 Images Found