Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2.5
  • Food3
  • Service2
  • Value3
  • Ambiance2.5
  • Reviews37

Pho Hoang Vietnamese Restaurant

3388 Main Street
Vancouver, BC V5V3M7
Tel: (604) 874-0832
Neighbourhood: Main Street

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 37 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Main St. Mainstay
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 1:33pm [Dine in]

I met up with a friend for lunch here this week. It's been a long time since we've both been here and it seems to have maintained itself consistently over the years.

Pho and spring rolls again were our cards. Our larges looked bigger than what we actually got, but lots of meat was to be had, but of which was decent at best. It was on the tougher side but that was offset with the jaw gnawing tendon, despite having a few large pieces floating around, which many places are guilty of being stingy on. Broth was good with minimum MSG added. Spring rolls were good but the filling was bland.

You never come to a Vietnamese noodle joint for the service and there is no surprise here. Lone waitress was friendly but her mind was elsewhere. We didn't get any tea or water but that wasn't a dealbreaker for us.

The restaurant is actually pretty clean and has held up well over the years though it feels a little cramped despite the larger space.

The food didn't wow us, but it was comfort food nonetheless.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
good enough for the ancients
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, October 25, 2009 - 10:40pm [Dine in]

The ancestors summoned us to eat with them and they decided to go to PHVR for some reason. Usually we have Chinese food when we eat with the old ones. I kept thinking that tomorrow is Ancestor Day in China, but since everyone at the table was alive, there was probably no connection. The restaurant was nicer than on my last visit, with new (and clean) carpet and some other renos. Service was good too, but one uncle insisted on talking to the Vietnamese manager in Cantonese. That was disturbing, although she could understand and speak to the venerable kao fu. Extra service points to the manager for putting up with us.

We had a variety of dishes, including spring rolls, salad rolls, roast chicken legs, and a variety of vermicelli-based meals, both with and without soup. I decided to be contrary and I had a beef curry on rice. It was quite tasty, although it was not like other curries I have had before. The other dishes were also reported to be good, and the chicken on vermicelli without soup was the unanimous choice for best dish of the evening. As for price, we all ate well including appetizers and beverages for about 15 bucks each. Luckily I did not have to pay :)

I will be back soon now that pho weather is here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

It's a Winner!! For worst service, that is.
By epicurious of Burnaby, BC (507 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 7:31pm [Dine in]

Came here Monday night - we had a craving for vietnamese. When we arrived, we were almost the only ones there - this was before 6pm. Shortly after - many people trickled in.
We ordered chicken skewers (good), spring rolls (not the best), vermicelli with lemongrass chicken and spring rolls (okay) and curry beef w/ rice (not bad). For such a well-known place, I expected much better food. I will commend them for using nice plates though - not your average chipped ceramics, but nice modern slightly oversized white plates, both square and round.
Restaurant seemed clean, but once you sit down and looked around carefully, you will notice that the place is in dire need of a good scrub down.
The service killed. Like previous reviewers, if I could give negative points for service, I would. During the meal, we were always polite saying our pleases and thank yous. When we asked for water the first two times, the owner lady said, "yah" then walked away. When we asked the server for water, or anything else, she looked at us like there was a stench in the air (yes, it's called stinky service) and again ignored our request.
I've seriously never had service this bad before. I'd much rather support restaurants that appreciate their customers.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Roomy and Consistent
By latelier of SE Vancouver (69 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 6, 2005 - 8:30pm [Dine in]

In spite of some of the opinions of my friends and family, I have alway found the food and service at the Main Street Pho Hoang pleasantly consistent - the larger-than-other-pho-shops dining area also helps the ambience. When I am here, I normally order #21 Pho (large), or their lovely Grilled Lemon Grass Chicken and Pork served on a bed of rice. And of course, a small serving of their deep fried spring roll and high-wiring Vietnamese-French coffee to start.

My only wish is to have them expand on the appetizers section of the menu..and perhaps more seafood dishes.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
So So Pho
By cocoeater of vancouver (323 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 13, 2007 - 4:08pm [Dine in]

Went there for dinner and shared the wings and spring rolls to start. OK spring rolls, average for a vietnamese rest. but the wings weren't as good as Phonm Penh (sp) in Chinatown.

Large Pho for $5.95 is a good deal and soup was good. Standard quality of meat. What I didn't like was the delay in the other people's food. They ordered fried rice and it came when the pho orders were almost finished. Service needs to be improved as per other posts. Good budget meal.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Clean and less msg!
By teddyandturtle of Vancouver - Kingsway (84 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 1, 2010 - 9:56pm [Dine in]

Dropped by on a rainy weekday during midafternoon about 3. They had about 7 or 8 customers, with just one waitress, typical. The place is definitely more clean than your usual pho joint, and I love how they don't leave the chopsticks and spoons out for you to get yourself like a lot of other places, which is why I gave it a 4 for ambiance. But they play an odd combination of music.. from classical they switch it up to vietnamese music?

The lady who worked there seemed nice.. but it was just her, so she was constantly on her feet. Seemed like everytime she had something to say, she had to yell across the room in Vietnamese. Not much else to say. Oh, and my food came 5 mins after I ordered, which was nice.

I had the in season veggies with noodles in soup. Okay, by in season they meant one kind of vegetable (some kind of choy, looks kinda like bok choy) and carrots. That's it. But the soup base is above average.. I did find it a little salty though, not as in msg or too much salt, but like over seasoned? Maybe my soup was at the bottom of the pot and they didn't stir it as they served it out to customers or something. And they gave me more than enough noodles. For once I didn't drink cups and cups of water after having pho!

My noodles were 6.75, there are no choices for larges or smalls unfortunately. But it's a decent price for the amount and quality I got. Not too bad for a pho joint.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Meh
By A Fatty of North Burnaby, BC (75 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, April 14, 2010 - 9:53pm [Dine in]

Personally, I love pho. However, there is a lot of MSG in the pho. Not the healthiest thing around (not that pho is healthy to begin with) but makes do for an empty stomach craving pho. I miss the lion fish in the fish tank. Overall, its pretty average, nothing spectacular.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Pho is Pho
By diningRL of East Vancouver (65 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, July 25, 2008 - 4:59am [Dine in]

There is very little deviation in the quality of Pho among Vietnamese Restaurants. "Noodles in Soup" (Pho, Wonton Noodle Soup, etc) is considered to be a 'fast-food-esq' type of meal in Asian Culture (Asians would NEVER host a somewhat important dinner at these places - they're only meant for quick bites when thy feels lazy a la late niters), therefore, the preparation and ingredients are very simple - hence, my assertion that quality varies very little between Pho Restaurants (Pho is Pho).

Having said this, there are 2 major determinants for people to favor one Pho Restaurant over another (whether conscious or unconscious): 1) Price, and 2) Quantity.

The pricing at this place is in line with most other places. Quantity wise, I'd say the portions are a tad more than the average.

That being said, Pho is Pho. Don't expect 5 Star Service, as this is basically a Vietnamese McDonald's - much like Wonton Noodle Places are Chinese McDonald's.

Accept it for what it is and rate accordingly.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Go elsewhere nearby for Pho, disappointing place.
By pickyjerk of kitsilano vancouver (67 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 18, 2008 - 4:12pm [Dine in]

The service was not great, but not the worst ever.

The tea literally tasted like dirt, I was surprised by how shockingly bad tea could be.

The pho, well, it beats some places on the west side but when so close to a few others south on main you may as well avoid this place with 1- overcooked meat 2-low quality garnishes 3- extremely salty broth.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
If I could give service as -10, I would!!
By ILOVE2EAT of East Vancouver (73 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 13, 2007 - 4:21am [Dine in]

There was 5 of us eating dinner here tonight. Sat us at the large, slightly dirty, round table. Asked the girl to wipe it clean, and gave us the look as though we were nuts!
One of us asked for a pot of hot water. She acted as though they didn't have any!!! Don't asian people drink alot of hot water??? Isn't this an asian restaurant??
Ordered 5 dishes. Not very good food. Felt sick afterwards. The Pho wasn't very good. Curry tasted ok but not the best. Small spring rolls and the chicken and pork satays were burnt.
Didn't come and ask how everything was.
When my husband tried to flag one of the girls to get our bill, she didn't come to the table to see what he wanted. He had to ask for the bill from across the room. Weird or what!! We decided not to leave a tip as we didn't get any service. The bill was for $37.10. We had $40 and my husband stood and waited for the change. THey wouldn't give it to him. He had to ask for it. And when they did finally give it to him, they threw it at the counter.
Will we be back? NOPE!! TOo many other great Pho places to waste our time here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
"Best Vietnamese"??
By foodchix of Vancouver (11 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, June 2, 2011 - 7:26pm [Dine in]

I wanted some pho and this place had won "best Vietnamese" in Georgia Straight so thought would try it out. Big mistake!! The place was filthy. The table was sticky even after wiping. I overheard another patron ask to have their table cleaned again - twice! The food was mediocre. The broth tasted of MSG, which is a cheat in a good restaurant. The chicken ditto. Very disappointed. Don't understand how this place is busy when there are much better places. Don't encourage bad food... This is Vancouver and there are so many more choices!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Decent Pho
By vancouvertasty of South Main, Vancouver (11 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, December 30, 2008 - 10:25pm [Dine in]

I'm not a very adventurous pho eater - I always order Pho bo with rare beef. The broth at Pho Hoang is decent, I find it can be really inconsistent, sometimes rich and delicious and other days a bit watered down and bland. When its good its great, but I like consistency. I always have to ask for more basil and sprouts, they are often very stingy with the plate when you go in with a group.

The spring rolls are tasty, crisp and good.
I ordered the lemongrass chicken a while ago and it was only half cooked, they took it back and gave me a new one.

Service is not friendly, always have to ask twice for things, orders arrive at different times. But its cheap and mostly very tasty and I'll keep going back cause its clean.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Food is Always Good
By chowsman of Vancouver (Main and Ontario) (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, October 9, 2010 - 6:24pm [Dine in]

We've been going to Pho Hoang for around three years and the service has always been crappy! But the pho is awesome. They have a older Vietnamese lady cooking in the back who does a great job. As far as the service and cleanliness goes they could both use improvement. Great value though compared to some other places in Vancouver.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My favorite place for pho
By berry of kitsilano (7 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, January 13, 2009 - 7:42pm [Dine in]

I've been going to this place for years and I think this place has the best tasting pho soup. I'm not exactly sure what makes this soup better than others but I would say it has a nice balance of flavours - not too salty, a little sweet, nicely spiced, and not a crazy amount of msg.
Aside from the soup, I also love their grilled lemongrass porkchop. It's so flavourful! My bf likes their lemongrass chicken.

I'd also like to add that this place is nice and clean compared to other pho places. That's another reason why I'll keep going here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great! A must try!
By TStevenson of Vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 1, 2008 - 3:58am [Dine in]

So it's been a while since i came back here and whoa, my family and I are impressed. The service is wonderful now. Our waitress was very pleasant to us and made us feel welcomed. Even though she had an accent, she was very nice. The pho was rich and packed a wonderful punch. Their lemon grass chicken was still huge which makes it such a good value for my family and I. Some major plus took place and i'll for sure be back if it stays.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Nothing has changed in 20 years
By Edhopper of East Van (4 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, April 21, 2008 - 10:04pm [Dine in]

I've been going to Pho Hoang since they were a smaller restaurant a few blocks south of their current location.

Even though I am a "regular" (I go there at least once a month), the service has not changed. Yes, they continue to ignore me and give me dirty looks when I ask for more water or tea.

The food is excellent. Stick with the rice noodle soup and you can't go wrong. The good news is that they are fair; they treat all the customers horribly.

I still continue to go there because they have the best pho in town.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Taste of Vietnamese
By mrslee of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, November 20, 2007 - 12:01am [Dine in]

The best Vietnamese PHO I've ever tried. The price is so resonable. I ordered a lemon grass pork chop and chiken on rice only 'bout $7 with too many staffs, enough for 2 people. With large space, make you a comfortable feeling. the menu with more than 100 choices of rice or egg noodles,steam rice, fried rice, vermicelli, chicken, pork, beef, seafood...and varied of drinks and desserts. I think here the best place for Vietnamese taste in vancouver, only 1 word DELEcious

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Awesome & Improved!
By Debra of vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 31, 2006 - 7:43am [Dine in]

A place where great food meets great taste! Odd how the previous entry stated that there was alot of msg in the food(UNTRUE!). My husband and I have had a huge problem with msg in the past but Pho Hoang's delectable food items are not at all filled with msg! In fact, a delicious hot bowl of beef noodle soup(#11) or lemongrass chicken in noodle soup(#72) on a chilly day is marvellous!
Pho Hoang's spring rolls and shrimp salad rolls are excellent appetizers to have before your bowl of noodle soup or their famous and generous rice dish (#37). The vermicelli combinations with springrolls and charboiled beef, chicken, or pork is also fantastic to have on a day where you don't feel like having soup.

The service has improved alot and the waitress's are friendly and some were able to communicate in english, mandrin, and cantonese as well!
The ambiance is pretty good. The decor was spacious and elegant.

I will definitely come back again next time!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great food vs. poor service
By currant7 of Manila, Philippines (20 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 31, 2006 - 11:38am [Dine in]

Contrary to some of the reviews below, I've found that the food quality has remained excellent and the portions about the same. Pho Hoang still makes some of the best spring rolls in town and their pho broth is still better than almost any other pho place. However, the service is definitely hit or miss. If you're lucky, you'll get competent (don't hold your breath for friendly) service. Last time we were there with a group of four, nobody came to take our orders for 45 minutes. After which time we waited another half an hour for the first dish to arrive. One of our orders was completely wrong, and we didn't get our spring rolls until the very end of our meal, despite the fact that other tables who were seated later than us received their meals as well as their spring rolls ahead of us.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Poor Service not Worth the Visit
By soiepu of Vancouver (16 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 10, 2008 - 3:24pm [Dine in]

We have tried this place a few times over the years and its service has been getting worse and worse. During our last visit, we asked for a to-go bowl for the leftover. We saw the waitress first put the lid for the bowl ON THE FLOOR before she bent down underneath the cash register to get a bowl. When we asked for a new lid, she threw us a wicked stare and loudly complained in a foreign language, and went on to complain to other co-workers. I wondered who was the customer here and who was paying who?? The service here was absolutely horrendous.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 4 of 4 Images Found