Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food3.5
  • Service3
  • Value3
  • Ambiance3.5
  • Reviews64

Jules Casual French Bistro

216 Abbott Street
Vancouver, BC V6B2K8
Tel: (604) 669-0033
Neighbourhood: Chinatown, Gastown
  • Cuisine: Bistro, French
  • Price: $$$ ($30 - $45)
  • Reservations: Recommended
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Features: Patio
  • Hours: Mon - Sat: 11:30AM - 10PM, Sun: Closed
  • Jules offers a menu of hearty, unpretentious French bistro fare in a room straight from Le Marais. Kronenbourg 1664 on tap and a daily three-course table d’hôte for $26 make it as affordable as it is authentic.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 64 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
What's not to like
By sgtoca of Kitsilano, Vancouver (103 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 30, 2007 - 11:17am [Dine in]

This place is fun, great ambiance, typical of a noisy French bistro. Great prices for food! Come on, a prix fix menu with starter, entree and dessert for $21 for Vancouver is crazy. As we were famished we ventured off the prix fix menu and ordered ala carte instead. I had the prawn avocado salad which is amazing and I had the 8 oz steak + frites, it was a simple dish, minimal sauce but tasty and well aged steak and the crispy piping hot frites made a world of difference, ask for mayo dip! Other diners had their lobster and crab bisque, I had a taste and actually bit into pieces of lobster which is unheard of, wickedly delicious!! The service was prompt, attentive without being imposing. The atmosphere is what kept me enthralled, it was noisy, packed to the seams, every diner was having a great time. I cannot wait to return, this place rocks!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great French Bistro!!
By JooJoo of East Vancouver (82 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, March 4, 2010 - 12:25am [Dine in]

We were greeted warmly as we entered by the restaurant manager. We were offered water as soon as we sat down,I love how they sit down a jar of iced cold water for you. Our server told us about the specials of the evening however she seemed very timid. But the restaurant manager came back to see if we had questions and he introduced the dishes in a very informatively and delightful manner. The bread was warm, crispy on the outside crust, soft and delicious inside, adding butter was just the best part of it all, it was crunchy, and then soft and creamy all together. I really enjoyed the bread, it was one of the best bread I had. The appetizer special of the day was salmon and scallop carpaccio, both was really nicely done. This dish was light and perfect to start the meal off. They have a $25 special that included a mixed greens, salmon frites and dessert. The salad was yummy with bits of walnuts that gave it a nice touch, it was bits of my favorite; crunchy sugar coated crunchy walnuts with a light dressing that kept you wanting to eat more. The salmon frites was grilled to perfection with a touch of garlic, tomatoes and peas on top, all of which I ate and loved. I normally do not eat peas however they made it so good with the salmon that I really liked the peas with my salmon. The salmon came with a side of fries, best restaurant fries ever, super crunchy and fresh, it was perfect! The other entree was the beef tenderloin with a red wine sauce, ratatouille and scallop potatoes, it was so juicy and tender, great dish! To end the night, we got the Marquise au Chocolat, which is a creme au chocolate terrine with coffee cream sauce, it was absolutely amazing, I loved every bite of it, it was delicious! We were welcomed back as we exit the restaurant, not many restaurants makes this gesture anymore, it was very pleassant! Excellent service from the restaurant manager! I would definitely recommend Jules!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

They need to ditch the attitude
By millar of New Westminster, Vancouver (77 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, October 5, 2007 - 8:13pm [Dine in]

We went to this restaurant because of all it's good reviews. It was early 5:00 p.m. and the restaurant was empty. And we get "Do you have a reservation?". I mean this place was empty. They gave us the worst table. So we move and are told we can't sit by the window because it is "reserved". They do seat us at a better table finally, but the restaurant stayed relatively empty and the "reserved" window tables were empty throughout our whole meal. This is a Bistro for heavens sake. Ditch the reservation book. First come first serve, and let people line up out the door.
The food was good, butithe experience put a damper on the evening.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Not bad, but overrated
By k-dawg73 of Burnaby (67 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 14, 2008 - 9:25pm [Dine in]

We went to this restaurant tonight for dinner. I had read some rave reviews about Jules and wanted to try it for myself. I knew ahead of time that I was probably going to order the prix fixe menu of salad, steak frites and chocolate terrine for $23.

Food: The food was okay. Previous reviews raved about the portions sizes...I didn't particularly find the portion sizes that big. Having said that, I realize that this is a French bistro after all. The salad was good, not great. The steak was on the small size, but cooked to medium rare like I had requested and I asked for the herbed butter with it. It came with french fries, which was a fairly large portion, but it's just potatoes after all. There was a tomato/garlic cheese garnish, which was the only vegetable to food on the plate...and that was quite good actually. The dessert was nothing special. Should have paid an extra $2 and upgraded it to creme brule. We had bread to start, which was probably the best thing about the meal....really crusty and chewy baguette with cold butter. And the price was $25, not $23 after all. Must have increased their prices.

Service: our server was quite attentive and friendly, without being obtrusive.

Ambiance: our reservation was at 5:30 pm, when dinner service started, so it was pretty dead when we got there. It's pretty nice inside, nothing to complain about. Famed music manager Bruce Allen came in and sat down at the table next to us with a group of 6 other people. Vancouver mayor Sam Sullivan was at Rosa's in Port Moody on a night that we went. We must attract all the celebs. ;-)

Value: The four of us had the prix fixe menu, with a bottle of red wine and 2 coffees and 1 tea and the bill came out to $151.98 after tax. I guess that is okay for gas town, but I definitely went away hungry. Wouldn't probably go back though for that price. I was okay, but I just felt it was too hyped and didn't deliver. I've had a prix fixe menu in New York about 3 years ago for $16 and the meal was way better than the one I had tonight.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Tres bien!
By Trevor of Vancouver (60 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, November 5, 2007 - 12:41am [Dine in]

Was here with a few friends.

Ambiance: Cozy, small. Quite noisy, but not noisy enough that we couldn't hear each other talk. Nice decor inside, but metal fences/construction going on outside took a bit away from the whole feel of the place.

Food: Very good! Started off with the Moules Frites - so tasty!! I used the bread to soak up the delicious white wine sauce. Had their special dinner of salad, steak & chocolate terrine, great deal. Only complaint was that the steak had quite a few chunks of fat throughout. Oh well, for $23 I guess you can't expect too much.

Service: I'd actually give it a 3.5, but that's not an option. Polite and professional, but not all that friendly. At times we had some difficulty understanding the staff because of their thick accents, but that's what gives the restaurant that authentic feel. Server cleared plates promptly, but didn't always pour our wine for us - no biggie. However, they did ask for our table back after 2.5 hours (no mention of this when reservation was made). This was surprising considering that we had ordered 2 bottles of wine, and our bill came to around $230 after taxes/tips. I guess since the place isn't too big, they don't like patrons to stay for more than 3 hours.

Worth going to at least once.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
First time lucky.
By louielobster of Glendale (53 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 7, 2007 - 1:11am [Dine in]

Went there for my friend’s Thirty-third birthday dinner on Tuesday night. Made phone reservations with Hostess (Joy) and was greeted warmly at the door. But not before meeting owners Stephan (front of house) and Emanuel (Chef) at the entrance whilst on their breather break. They assured me the steaks are par excellence. I joked with them that the “real” French chefs are still in France but they’ve sent us their French trained dishwashers as a substitute!

We both ordered the three courses dinner from the carte du jour with the steaks done medium rare. One order with black pepper sauce and the other with mushroom sauce. The plate was trimmed with half a baked tomato Au gratin and plenty of frites. To start; the bread arrived at our table warmed with a small dish of unsalted butter and MMmmm. A mixed green salad with some sliced cherry tomatoes was served before our main course and a fruit crumble after. A couple of beers and Americano’s rounded up our meal. All this at a modest $54.00 plus tips and Taxes for two.

They did deliver the goods on the rib eye steaks (very tender) and the sauces were superb. The frits were crisp, clean with out any hint of oil, an added side dish of mayo and I finished every delicious frite, with my fingers (Bistro style).

I only have two minor distractions: The music was (?) and perhaps an injection of Bach would be nicer on my ears. And the restaurant was loud, LOUD but maybe that’s a la Style Bistro. Just be prepared to be boisterous and have some fun.

I’m looking forward to trying their pate and the Al-la-Carte items.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Very French Very ncie
By Barcelonaguy of Yaletown (48 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 16, 2007 - 2:02pm [Dine in]

I dropped in with my business associate here last night and what a pleasant surprise. Lovely selection of BC wines and quirky French wines at decent prices (6.95 to 8.95 a glass). Wonderful lobster and crab bisque to start followed by mustard rabbit leg. My associate had the thick country pate and the casoulett (very filling). The portions are huge for the price all under $21 for entrees. Service was very good with a mulitlingual server from Ottawa. Stephan the owner is charming and looked after us. Great place for dinner in Gastown. It's just around the corner from Salt. Have a drink at Salt then come here for a great dinner.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Yum
By crazee_turtle of Richmond , BC (37 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 16, 2010 - 3:12pm [Dine in]

Food: My boyfriend and I ordered escargot and bacon tarts for our appetizers. The bacon tart was delicious but the escargot was only alright. As a main, I had the pork chop and my boyfriend had the tenderloin. Both of which were cooked perfectly. I really enjoyed my meal :)
Service: I expected a little more. The servers seemed unorganized. We had the specials read to us twice and then there was a bit of confusion as to who was going to take our order. But they did what they needed to do. They got the food out, they took our plates..etc.
Value: It was worth it, but it's not the cheapest place to go.
Ambiance: Very small little place. It's cute, but a little crowded.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Didn't like it, oh well.
By discerning_palate of vancouver (36 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 3, 2007 - 6:07pm [Dine in]

OK, I was anticipating a great experience with recent reviews but was disappointed. We ordered appetizers, and most were not bad except the pate had all this salt on top which made it extra salty. Oh well, it's just an appetizer. I wanted to like this restaurant. Then my Cassoulet came. Funny thing is that the meats were not tasty (as another reviewer pointed out) but the dish was salty as heck, and I have a higher tolerance to it than most. We all had small samples of each others and the steaks and seafood were decent but we could have had better at a westcoast restaurant like Horizon's for about the same price. Try Cassis Bistro on Pender.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Take note - don't walk past it, go in!
By honorberry of kits, vancouver (32 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, January 8, 2012 - 3:52pm [Dine in]

I can't count how many times I've been in the area and never noticed this wonderful little bistro. A spontaneous evening out found us at Jules. We arrived an hour before closing and were welcomed openly - they didn't pressure us to leave as they were closing, and let us finish in our own time. The live streaming of French radio was a nice touch.

We shared the octopus salad with shitake mushrooms - for my part, i enjoyed it, but would have prefered mushrooms that didn't come from a tin. For mains, we ordered the moules frites and lamb special - both were really well cooked, nice complementing flavours. The fries were so so, but the home made ketchup and mayo made up for the fries. Dessert was ok; not the biggest fan of dessert in general, but the flavours from the roasted pineapple were like a mini explosion in the mouth.

Service and the ambiance were second to none. Very attentive serveurs but not intrusive.

Jules is worth checking out!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Reliable Bistro Fare in the Ghetto
By artfuldodger of False Creek, Vancouver (30 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, December 30, 2008 - 4:04pm [Dine in]

I heard about Jules from two people: my sister (whose friend's father owns the restaurant) and a co-worker. Both parties said it was a hip bistro with awesome food and an urbane atmosphere. I concur!

First, I love the size of the restaurant. It is intimate yet it avoids the slightly cramped feeling of, say, Pied-a-Terre or Grub. The design is cool too: exposed brick wall, mod furniture and woodiness.

Second, the food was great. Not perfect, but great. Our table ordered the foie gras spinach salad, the escargots, the duck confit, the steak frites and the salmon provencal. My one criticism lies with the salad: the fois gras was raw and did not add much to the dish, and the greens were much too salty. Avoid this starter. Also, I have to disagree with Sandy...the portions are average in size.

Third, the desserts are outstanding. Fairly standard bistro desserts, but all well made, rich and flavourful.

I was totally satisfied with Jules and would definitely recommend it, but I don't have the desire to go back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great for the price!
By i_love_food of Vancouver (28 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, November 17, 2007 - 7:55pm [Dine in]

What you think of Jules probably depends on what you expect. If you expect fine dining, you'll be disappointed. But if you expect an above-average meal with great ambience at a reasonable price, that's exactly what you'll get.

My 2 friends really liked the lobster bisque, and their entrees were good, if a tad salty. I ordered the $21 steak and fries special (includes starter salad and dessert). The steak was ok, not the best, but the same steak alone probably would have cost me $25 at a chain restaurant.

The chocolate fondant was more cakey than you would normally expect, and when we told the waitress, she simply said it was overbaked. She didn't comp it or ask if we would like something else.

The lively french bistro atmosphere really is quite fabulous and unique for Vancouver. It's the perfect place to go with friends for a bottle of wine, mussels and a great baguette.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Nearly perfect!
By Viviyan of Burnaby (27 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 7, 2008 - 10:37pm [Dine in]

My boyfriend was leaving for Halifax and he'll be gone during our anniversary so I decided we should go somewhere special. He liked the French idea and so Jules seemed like a good choice with relatively affordable prices. We arrived 10 mins late but our reserved table was still there! And it was a window-side seat.

Both of us went for the $23 fixed menu - I was especially anxious to have the ratatouille or spinach instead of the fries. Our server told me "sure!" and I was euphoric! Off the bat I was impressed. NOWHERE does this happen! I mean come on, Earl's asks for $2.50 when you ask for a salad instead of fries. And even more so because my partner has some severe food allergies and she was able to take care of it all! Down to the dessert, she offered him a special coffee I find this type of attentive service just rare in Vancouver.

The food was really delicious for the deal we got. How much could you ask for? Gosh even the salad came in a generous portion and my boyfriend got his own special balsamic vinegar/olive oil dressing because of his allergies. My major pet peeve is lukewarm food. I definitely don't mind scalding hot food for sure! So I found my steak done really well and the ratatouille was mellow and sweet. Eh the dessert was okay, I had the chocolate terrine: nothing special.

My only major beef with this place is the noise level. I can see that others here are concerned with rowdy patrons. Yeah unfortunately we sat near a group of 6 giddy women who could not stop shrieking and laughing. And the bar was really full of men yelling. I wouldn't have mind all that except combined with everyone else in the restaurant, having a conversation is futile unless you'd like to scream. And uh... we also occasionally saw some odd things going on outside the streets. Like the homeless walking around, stopping cars, lots of weird stuff. That was disconcerting but not the restaurant's fault I guess.

Definitely coming back again!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
A fun place with good food
By ratatouille of Shaughnessy, Vancouver (20 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 19, 2008 - 10:48pm [Dine in]

I loved the casual, unique atmosphere of the place. It was a perfect place to have a relaxed meal and catch up with friends.

I ordered the 3-course special for $23. I got the salmon frites. The salad was forgettable but I really enjoyed the salmon which was very tender, and flavourful with olives and other unknown spices. And the frites - who doesn't love some good ole fries.

Now the dessert - for $2 you can upgrade your chocolate terrine to one of the regular desserts. The chocolate terrine was decent but my friend ordered the chocolate fondant - warm chocolate cake dessert with vanilla gelato and it was to die for! hot and rich chocolate cake with a gooey interior. Love the mix of hot and cold with the ice cream on top. Drools!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
good food good price..
By satch of vancouver (19 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, August 10, 2007 - 3:50am [Dine in]

i read other ppl's reviews and saw that the 3 course special was a good deal so i order the salad, stake/fries, and dessert. It was good solid food. Can't complain about it for $21. The only better french bistro food with as good price was in Montreal. The fois gras was awesome and the cheese plate was also pretty good. I brought my own bottle of wine and paid $12 for bottle service. Not bad... if you have a nice bottle of wine, well worth it. Go try it out.....

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Better values elsewhere
By thill01 of North Vancouver (17 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 2, 2010 - 11:14am [Dine in]

Went to Jules for the first time the other night knowing from previous reviews that it might be hit or miss. Sadly it fell on the miss side. The room itself is very nice and I agree with other reviewers that it looks like something right out of Paris. We had good service, and the owner was very helpfull and polite (we must have gotten him on a good night). That the service was good should not have been a big surprize as the place was near empty. As for the food, we ordered a salad to split as an appitizer. It was fairly bland and basically lettuce with a few token nuts thrown in. I ordered the duck confit, and my partner ordered a scallop dinner special. The duck confit was well prepared, but all it was was a leg on another fairly basic salad. The scallop dish was just that, 5 scallops and bit of dressing...not much else. Again well prepared, but not exciting. For the prices charged, I would have expected more on the plate or at least some more creative use of the ingredients. Les Faux Bourgous or Le Regalade offer a much better experience and value than Jules does. I doubt I will go back to Jules any time soon.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Excellent value! Succulent food!
By Florentine of Yaletown, Vancouver (17 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 9, 2007 - 1:54pm [Dine in]

Arrived on a busy Friday night. We had no reservations and despite there being a small group of people waiting at the door for a table, we were seated at two empty seats at the bar. Had a glass of wine while we waited.

We were seated 15 minutes after by the window. Our waitress was very professional and friendly. We ordered a bottle of bordeaux and she always poured our glasses before we had the chance.

To start we shared the country style pate with a blend of balsamic vinegar/caramelized onion on the side. The only thing that was strange was they brought out a plate of fresh bread with butter about 2-3 minutes before bringing out the pate. So we started to eat the bread, not realizing that it was probably for the pate. Because of this, we had more pate on our plate than bread (and who eats pate on its own?). We didn't bother asking for more bread because there was only a tiny chunk of pate left. In the big picture, no big deal.

Food was outstanding though. The filet the boeuf with morel cream sauce, ratatouille and scalloped potato was "très speciale" as they'd say in French - a signature dish that I would not hesitate to recommend to anybody. In fact, this is the second time I have eaten it, and I'm the type that likes to try new things - it was that good.

For dessert, the gateau de riz, essentially rice pudding cake with rhubarb compote, was decadent. Rich vanilla flavour with tangy sweet rhubarb. Definitely not old fashioned rice pudding, that's for sure!

Finally, the ambiance makes you feel like you're in France or in Montreal. "Less is more". The ceilings, window frames are painted a shiny black. The red brick walls are exposed. There's a beautiful extravagant chandelier adding style to the space. Mirrors on the walls extend the room, and maps of Paris and wine-producing regions in France add French character. So does the black board menus over the bar.

One of my favourite restaurants and a wonderful addition to Gastown's new identity.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Disappointing food
By christinC of vancouver (16 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, December 7, 2007 - 9:04am [Dine in]

My first visit here was six months ago. I had the pate to start followed by mussels. The pate was not really the texture of a pate, and the mussels sauce not especially tasty. Then I went back and had the Alaska black cod and really did not like this. The fish itself was placed on a bed of very bitter vegetables - I forget what the menu said, either braised celery or endive... the bitterness overwhelmed everything, and the fish, obviously not smoked, was very much in need of a little salt. The side of scalloped potatoes was dry, the potatoes a little hard and the portion only enough for one (usually a la carte sides are enough for two to share). The creme brulee was very good though. And this place gets top marks for atmosphere - very European and no loud music like in so many Vancouver eateries. I would go back and try one more dish, but if that disappointed, then here is yet another Vancouver restaurant that has let me down.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
It began badly.......
By polska of Vancouver (16 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, November 17, 2007 - 12:04pm [Dine in]

We had a reservation for a party of 5 for 7:30 on a thursday night. We show up on time and the restaurant is packed and we are told our table will be 15 minutes as the group currently seated there is just finishing their meals. Ok fine, its sucks but whatever. 15 minutes turned into an hour and 15 minutes. We didn't get sat until 845. I understand that you can't force people to leave but come on. Don't take reservations if you can't guarantee people a table. 30 minutes would have been bearable but over an hour when you have a reservation is ridiculous. They did bring us a round of wine and a round of kir royales on the house to appease us and were very apologetic. It was not a good start. However the rest of the experience was totally solid.
Service: Our server was wonderful. Very professional, nice but not overly fakey nice. Attentive but not hovering.
Ambience: Very cool little room. Noisy and packed. Very lively. Patrons were definately a mixed bag. Couples, groups, young, old, yuppies, cool kids, they were all there. Note: If you are looking for a romantic quiet type place this is definately not it.
Food: The food is truly what made up for our wait. I would have been so bitter if we had waited for over an hour and the food sucked. We started with the mussels and escargot. I have never had such tasty mussels. My mum and sister had the filet of beef and raved about it. My dad and boyfriend had the cassoulet. Also delicious. I had the salmon and it was perfect. It was actually medium rare! So tender and juicy. And the mashed potatoes it was served with were so creamy. We also ordered 3 desserts to share. Creme brulee, creme caramele, and an apple tarte dessert. All were superb.
Overall: I would have given this place a higher mark had it not been for the ridiculously long wait when we had a reservation. It was generally great but with a crap beginning.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Very French
By asianfusion of Seattle (15 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 31, 2007 - 11:33am [Dine in]

The husband and I had dinner here last night and had a very enjoyable evening. Steak Frites were tasty as was my halibut. Creative wine list made up of BC and French reds. This place reminds me of many Paris bistro's with it ambiance and joie de vie.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 3 of 3 Images Found