Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food4
  • Service3
  • Value3.5
  • Ambiance2.5
  • Reviews43

Dragon Ball Tea House

1007 W King Edward
Vancouver, BC V6H1Z3
Tel: (604) 738-3198
Neighbourhood: South Vancouver
  • Cuisine: Bubble tea, Cafe, Tea house
  • Price: $ ($15 or less)
  • A wide selection of different flavored Bubble teas, milks, and ice. Always busy and a hit with the local teens and twenty somethings. Line-ups common on Friday and Saturday nights.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 43 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Awesome
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, September 10, 2007 - 10:14am [Dine in]

Awesome. That was the only word to describe my tea. I had a fresh strawberry with milk and coconut jelly, and it was the best bubble tea I’ve had. They used fresh strawberries, and when the counter lady asked “you like slush, no slush?”, I wisely chose the slush. The tea was creamy and packed with flavour and tasted more like a milkshake. My friends had variations on mango and they reported that theirs were also fabulous.

The ambience in the place was cramped and a little grungy, but there were cute dog pictures on the wall to keep you occupied while you wait. The service was brisk and that is a good thing. The menu was extensive, and there was something to please the most discriminating tea palette. Sure this place is a little out of the way, but it’s worth the drive.

Recommended!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Best bubble tea around
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, October 9, 2008 - 6:11pm [Dine in]

Bubble tea was nothing I had gotten regularly when I was young but it's something that I frequent quite a bit more now since it's a nice way to get together with friends.

It's a small place in retail/residential building on the corner of King Ed. and Oak. It's definitely scrub on the inside compared to many other bubble tea joints but they clearly have the best bubble tea around. My choice by default would be the Lychee Slush with Coconut Jelly and no milk. It's blended well so there aren't small frozen bits of ice and they actually use lychee chunks in theirs compared to most others. The coconut jelly is also noticeably sweeter compared to the bland stuff they use most elsewhere. They seem to be generous in using ingredients in their drinks. I have tried many sips of other varieties including their House Milk Tea w/ Pearls, Passionfruit, etc, etc. Pearls are nicely sized and good texture.

Service I find to be a little suspect. Until recently did I know that you could place orders by phone and pick up otherwise I would've done that. There's usually a short lineup but it's always quick to move. the time between making your order and actually getting your drink always varies from quick to rather slow. A couple of times I've waited 20 minutes to get it.

It's cramped so I would rather not stay in. They have the usual food menu items if you're hungry.

This place is no frills and not like many other joints that have sprung up that try to mask their inferior quality with a nice decor, hip music and cute looking female servers. For consistently excellent bubble tea come here. It's worth the wait.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Best mango drink by far!
By foodfanatic of South Vancouver (286 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 18, 2006 - 5:40pm [Dine in]

You can even taste the real slime that can only be found from eating a real mango. None of it preserved, etc.. Best prices by far! Still only $3.xx for a fresh fruit drink! Choice of tapioca pearls, cocojelly, and/or grass jelly additions are charged separately. For pearls, I'd prefer other locations like Yuen Yuen Bubble Tea, or elsewhere, but for the fresh fruit drinks, Dragonball is one of THE BEST! And by far, they have one of the lowest prices in town. Call in advance to order your drinks for pickup, that way, you may avoid some of the lineups they often have in that tiny little store.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Slow, crowded little Bubble Tea Place
By lindarose of Vancouver (172 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, May 28, 2011 - 5:06pm [Dine in]

Went on the recommendation of an acquaintance.

I found the bubble tea menu limited. I ordered the almond milk tea with pearls. Hubby and the kids had the mango slush. The mango slushes were very good - about as good as one would find at Bubble Word. I know that my almond milk tea was made from powder - it said so right on the menu board - I am not sure why I was disappointed with the powdery taste. I guess because Bubble World using a sweet syrup added to their milk tea and it tastes better and has better mouth feel.

The service was okay. Friendly enough - but slow as molasses in January. There were a few people there - but it seems that others had pre-ordered or something and we waited close to 20 minutes for our drinks - too long!!! Our kids (age 4 and 6) were getting very restless. Frankly - so was I.

I noticed they had some food items on the menu - goodness knows how long that would have taken to receive if we had ordered some - there were only two people working - one taking orders and one making the bubble tea.

I don't think I would return.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Incredible bbt
By hungryfordinner of Vancouver (125 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, October 10, 2010 - 4:21pm [Dine in]

Food: I've been hooked on their bubbletea ever since I set foot in here a few weeks ago. None of their competitors even come close!

Service: Our bbt took awhile, even though it wasn't particularly crowded on the day we went. Perhaps they should hire more people as I can see how busy this gets during evening hours.

Value: Not bad at all compared to other places. I think it was $4? It definitely rivals places like Cabin 555 which charges outrageous prices for terrible drinks.

Ambiance: It's clean. There aren't a lot of chairs available; it's mainly takeout.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great BBT
By mmmsteak of Richmond (74 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 6, 2009 - 11:24am [Dine in]

Having heard that this is possibly the best BBT place in the lower mainland, we made a few trips from Richmond to Vancouver just to try it out.

Their regular milk tea is very good. Unlike bubble tea at other places, you can taste the strong flavor of the black tea and it's apparent they use good tea. Reminds me a bit of Pearl Drops. I've also tried their lychee slush, and that wasn't too different from other bubble tea places. One thing to definitely note is their pearls. Dragon Ball has yummy YUMMY pearls of just the right consistency.

The place gets busy so sometimes it can be a long wait to pick up your drink. We've always ordered take out since the place is so tiny, but some people seem to enjoy sitting down and eating some of their food menu items as well. Can't say too much about ambience since it's a hole-in-the-wall type of place.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

One of the Best
By kawaii of Vancouver (51 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, May 3, 2013 - 6:31pm [Dine in]

It has taken me awhile to try this little bubble tea shop, but I realize now it's one of the best.

The place is tiny, not the cleanest but acceptable, and with a constant line-up of customers getting in each other's way while they try to order or find a space to wait - it really is more of a take-out place.

Their bubble teas are ridiculously good - perfect consistency for the pearls. I've stuck to my favorite - fresh apple slush. I'm going to try some of the other fresh flavors recommended here such as mango and pear - it's not much more for fresh vs powdered, and the taste is so much better. For food, my friend tried the milk toast once and enjoyed it - it looked similar to other bbt places.

Wait time is reasonable. Service is efficient and friendly enough.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Green tea icecream craving
By ballin_eater of Vancouver (34 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, September 10, 2009 - 4:23pm [Dine in]

I go to Dragon Ball BBT religiously once or twice a month due to the perfect pearls they deliver.

Drink: I always order the japanese green tea icecream or milky strawberry slush and has always been consistently up to my standards.

Service: Whenever I go, i'm always taken my order by the man in the snoopy apron (the owner). Whenever I order, he repeats it to me cuz he remembers my order exactly. Talk about my patronage over time. It does get extremely busy at nights with lineups but everyone seems to be patient.

Verdict: I will always been at Dragon Ball whenever I get my BBt with perfect pearls craving. 9.5 out of 10 rating

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
most chewiest pearls ever....LOVE IT!
By food-queen of East Vancouver (28 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, October 26, 2007 - 10:36am [Dine in]

this is hands-down, Vancouver's best bubble tea joints...service is friendly..."slush/no slush? milk/no milk?" ... food is good too (toast is good) but i think they need more variety and better settings/cutlery...the PEARLS are THEE best here..i think they soak'em in syrup prior to serving them...that's what makes it so good..oh yeah , and they also got a bunch of FRESH flavours....none of that powdery-stuff. Go Dragonball!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
I was enjoying my bubble tea until.......
By melly of Kitsilano (26 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, June 29, 2010 - 8:50am [Dine in]

My husband and I were in the mood for some bubble tea and decided to give this place a try based on reviews we read. He had the Japanese Green Tea Ice Cream bubble tea and I had the Strawberry Slush with milk bubble tea. The place is definitely a hole in the wall, but the guy behind the counter was nice enough. We were in there for about 10-15 minutes waiting for our bubble tea and there was a constant stream of patrons coming in and ordering bubble tea. Some of them even ordered 3-4 kinds of bubble tea at once. I thought to myself that it definitely looked promising and could be a sure sign that the bubble tea is good. We finally received our order and we decided to sit out in the car to drink our bubble tea as the place was too small for my liking. I was enjoying my bubble tea until my husband took a sip out of his and he spat something out. There were several pieces of hard plastic in his drink! Totally turned us off from drinking the rest of our drink! I really wanted to like this place, but unfortunately that experience will prevent us from ever going back to this place. Sorry to the nice guy behind the counter!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great flavor and pearl consistency
By Emileigh of Point Grey, Vancouver (26 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 29, 2007 - 2:34pm [Dine in]

I was needing a bubble tea fix, so I wandered into Dragon Ball. I ordered the longan fresh juice tea mix with tapioca.
It took quite a long time to get my drink, but it was worth it! The bubbles were very chewy, warm, and delicious. I'd never had longan before, but blended with ice it was fantastic (very sweet!)

I will definitely go here again!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Anything Else?? Love her.
By silmycat of BC (25 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 23, 2009 - 12:09am [Dine in]

This has been our go to place for bubble tea since my days at university. We went again today and I had the fresh papaya milk slush with coconut jelly. Nice papaya flavor. I have tried most of the drinks on the menu with various pearl/jelly/pudding combinations and I cannot recall any disappointing visits.
I really like the fact that when I have a slush-style drink the ice is a very, very fine slush. I have tried slush at some other bbt places and the ice can be quite coarse. The pearls are consistantly nicely cooked with good chewy texture.

Service has always been the same for our visits. We order, we wait. We usually go on a Saturday and the waits have never been unbearably long. I'm okay with waiting because they are busy, and if they're busy that means there is a lot of product turnover. In turn, I'm inclined to believe that the ingredients in my drink are fresh or at least not sitting past it's prime. ;) The service is decent for what it is. I don't expect too much from a take out drink place. I just want a well made bbt. In our last several visits, the owner has been manning the front and he keeps things moving pretty smoothly.
On a side note: In our past visits there was a female server with a stone cold poker face, that would always ask, "Anything else?" in a robotic monotone voice, at every pause in the order. We LOVED her! For some reason her no nonsense, somewhat surly demeanor appealed to us. And being asked, "Anything else?" at every pause was hilarious. I don't think she meant to be funny but it was always the highlight of our bbt visits. (Sigh....) We miss her.

The prices are right in line with many of the other places I've tried. Maybe even a little better considering I can always depend on getting a good drink. Whereas at other places it can be a bit of a crap shoot.
The ambiance is just decent. It can get cramped when crowded. Sometimes the music is blaring. Sometimes there are strange odors. At times things are sticky...I can deal with this as I don't eat in, I get out as soon as our order is up.
I still continue to frequent Dragon Ball and still recommend it to friends.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Creamy mango bubble tea...
By Le_Gourmand of Burnaby (24 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 16, 2006 - 10:18pm [Dine in]

I took the advice of one of the reviewers here and tried out the creamy mango pearl tea. It tasted like fresh mango and very filling. Next time I will try out their other flavours. Only downside, is the lack of parking around, there were only 2 parking stalls allocated and no parking on King Edward.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Best bubbletea in the city!
By monkeypie of Vancouver (15 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, September 9, 2007 - 8:48am [Dine in]

The bubbletea is incredible and addictive! The bubbles are soft, warm and flavourful. The ingredients taste fresh rather than powdered like some other places. They will take specialty orders. The only problem is how busy and small it is. I think they should def. expand, I'm sure they are making enough for a bigger place!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
No doubt the best in town
By tsej of Richmond (15 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, April 13, 2007 - 9:58pm [Dine in]

Long lineups during the summer as this place is easily the best in town. They actually use fresh fruit which sets them apart from the pack. Good for stopping by after a run or ball game at Douglas Park.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
I'm thristy... Give me a bubble tea
By chinlatino of Vancvouver (14 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 5, 2008 - 11:36pm [Dine in]

My friend recommended me this place 6 years ago since then I’ve been hooked.
I’ve tried almost every flavour: powder and fresh ones, slush non slush, milk or no milk. With sugar or without. Hot or cold.

And I always come back to the fresh cold ones. My favourite ones are papaya, barlett pear, green tea ice cream (powder only), mango, taro and avocado. They can be with bubbles or coconut jelly. And in a cold winter night, I will have the longan & ginger.

We used to stay and read the magazines, but they are all outdated now. Service is quite fast. First come first serve or you can order on the phone and your order will be ready for pick up.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Value-priced Bubble Tea
By royrock of Vancouver (West End) (13 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, October 7, 2011 - 6:12pm [Dine in]

Since recently moving into the neighborhood, I had a feeling Dragon Ball would become my go-to bubble tea house.
The place could really use some renovations... but I mean, it's a small bubble tea joint run by two older ladies so I wouldn't direct all my focus towards the aesthetic aspects.
They have a large menu of different bubble teas, ranging from fresh fruit, milkshake, powder, and all of them have the option of customization with milk, slush, and of course pearls/jelly. The cheapest bubble tea is $3.00, and then an additional $0.50 for pearls. They don't seem to charge tax, so you are saving a good amount compared to buying from Bubble World (they charge $4.20 for basic bbt with pearls). In quality and taste, you are getting what you paid for, but it still measures up and shines through compared to some Chinese fast-food joints that try and experiment with selling bubble tea on the side.
I reccomend going either before 3 PM to beat the high-school rush, or go after 5 PM on a weekday. It's not very fun waiting with a sea of people in that small store.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best bbt
By hhvan of Vancouver (downtown) (13 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 9, 2010 - 1:33pm [Dine in]

The BBT taste really good. Mango and cantaloup are my favourite. Not a big fan of other powder drink but their fresh food is very consistent. Service is fast too. The only thing is they take cash only. At that location, better take debit or credit card. I really like it because I can order half coconut jelly and half grass jelly with no extra charge.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I'm hooked
By bigfatcow of Kitsilano (13 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 29, 2007 - 11:30pm [Dine in]

Had to try this place after reading all the rave reviews on this site. Even though I'm not a huge bbt fan, I am now hooked. The other reviewers are so right, the bubbles are awesome here.

I even have my boyfriend craving bbt from this place, and he's never liked bbt before. He loves their strawberry banana milk slush w/ coconut jelly. The only thing is, these drinks go down SO quickly, that I'm finished mine by the time we get home, so I always order 2 whenever I go now.

Service is efficient and friendly, and the prices are great. I hope that doesn't change too soon.

I don't want to repeat what has already been said in other reviews, but basically the parking and store size are the only problems I have with this place.

Also, does anyone else love that the cups say "Caution: Choking Hazard" on them? Too cute.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Bubblicious tea
By Gastroc of Vancouver (11 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 30, 2008 - 8:11am [Dine in]

I've tried bubble tea at many places in Van/BBy and Rich but always go back to Dragon Ball. Very good bubble tea with lots of pearls (and coconut jelly if you prefer). Good selection of flavors and service is always prompt unless there is a lineup of 20 patrons. Ambiance...well take it or leave it but I'm there for the bubble tea.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found