Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2
  • Food2.5
  • Service2
  • Value2
  • Ambiance2
  • Reviews33

Cafe Crepe

1032 Robson St
Vancouver, BC V6E1A7
Tel: (604) 488-0045
Neighbourhood: Central

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 33 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
who cares
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 23, 2008 - 10:45pm [Dine in]

I was with Mrs. C and looking for dessert after an unfortunate experience earlier in the evening when I spotted CC. I remembered that they had a takeout window and decided to give it a try. The workers here seemed to be unhappy in their jobs. There were 3 or 4 of them gossiping and ignoring the customers.

As for the ambiance, I could see stuff on the floor that had not been picked up, and the place just looked untidy generally. I went with a chestnut crepe despite my misgivings. I expected to see a new crepe being born, but no, the counter guy just pulled a pre-made one from a bin and slapped some chestnut paste on it. A couple of flips with a very dirty knife and it was tossed into a paper bag and handed to me with a grunt.

As for flavor, I used to live in Paris so I knew this crepe wasn't going to compare, but they managed to fall short of my already diminished expectations. I got a cold crepe with a tasteless gooey paste on parts of it. I left feeling very ripped off.

They won't see me again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Ehh
By epicurious of Burnaby, BC (507 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, May 24, 2006 - 10:02am [Dine in]

I wanted to grab a quick snack while on Robson and thought a nice savoury crepe sounded great. I've had a sweet crepe there once, a chocolate banana one and ate it in the restaurant. Although there is nothing wrong with the look of the restaurant, it was a little too dark inside. Black walls with not so bright lighting.
This time I took my crepe to go. I just wanted a simple light snack so I ordered a ham crepe. Little did I know, a ham crepe was just ham + crepe. Wow. I guess the crepes I was used to really spoiled me. At other places, at least it came with some sort of addition to it like salsa, or egg, or a tiny bit of cheese. Nope. Just ham...oh wait...I do recall now that there was a bit of cracked pepper on it! The plain crepe ended up costing me $5, which normally would be ok, but I just can't help feeling a little ripped off for a mixture egg, flour, milk and 2 slices of ham.
If you want a good crepe, visit Gypsy Rose crepe cafe, and find out what a real crepe is.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Nutella banana crepe *drool*
By foodfanatic of South Vancouver (286 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, May 27, 2006 - 9:46pm [Dine in]

Okay, they used to make them a lot better... when the old owner guy was there to add a touch of natural salt to the crepes as he slaves over the heated crepe-making pan and in the open kitchen of the Robson store in the midst of the summer heat, dripping, and dripping away.... The tuna crepes are good, too. When he's not there, one of the young guys making them are still not bad... but as more locations started sprouting everywhere and more and more young'uns are hired on it has gotten to be a hit & miss. Sometimes sloppily wrapped crepes (love eating on-the-go especially on a cold wet day outside--one can appreciate the juicy warmth of a nicely wrapped crepe all the more) depending on the person making your order. It has gotten to be so-so with the dispassionate looking part-timer school kids there to just make some summer cash. Regardless, whenever I have a craving for nutella banana crepes, this is the location I go to for it--for now.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Take out a better option
By azn_msfyt of Delta (194 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 11:01pm [Dine in]

Food: had the smoked beef/egg/dijon mustard crepe and it was fine, a little bit greasy. I think I might try a panini sandwich next time as the table beside us raved about it. The accompanying fries were warm and crispy with the right amount seasoning. Chai latte was quite bland - just sugary and milky.

Service: very abrupt - its a "take your order and deliver your food" and that's it joint. Didn't check to make sure everything was ok after we received our food, no waters refilled. It also took some time before our food arrived.

Value: Lunch came to $13 so I guess it was fine but not great for what I got.

Ambiance: dark and cramped and a little bit on the dirty side.

I wouldn't mind coming back but I would def only do take out as the service and sitting area were not great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
They're going downhill aren't they?
By hungryjo of Vancouver (175 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 13, 2008 - 11:43am [Dine in]

Been here a few times ordering to-go and I had eat-in once. This place looks like a fun place to be with the whole "crepe kitchen" window opened up to the public. You always see those curious people looking in and wanting to order a crepe for their own.

The last few times I ordered crepe, I always forget that I will regret it in the end. They're just so expensive, more than $5 for one topping. Wth? A lot of times the crepe are pre-made so you don't know how long your crepe has been sitting there. What's the fun of this if you see them make those fresh crepe but it's NOT for you. The fresh ones are place on a dish for future use. Wth? And they're so small! Can't feed any hungry tummy, not even a child. There's this one time I ordered chicken and cheese. The chicken was so small, it was camouflaged into the cheese! I was left starving!

And one time I sat-in for brunch. The lady told me to sit on this seat where I have to walk through 2 tables which were practically 3 inches apart. I'm not big, but I'm not thin as a stick either! I had to suck it in in order to get to my seat. It was ridiculous. That day, it was quiet so I could've sat anywhere else. I should've said something, argh.
The service was kinda lacking but whatever, I was hungry. The eggs benny tasted alright but left me with a stomach ache all day.

I will never go again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I acutally demanded a refund!!!
By lindarose of Vancouver (172 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, April 3, 2008 - 6:40pm [Dine in]

I was out on the town with my three year old, one year old and a four year old boy that I babysit during the day.

It was around noon and we hadn't had lunch yet, so I thought I would treat the older kids to a crepe (I am generally not a fan of fast food places like Tim Hortons or MacDonalds - I prefer to let the kids try different things).

I ordered a simple ham and cheese crepe. When ordering crepes at other places - I noticed that they make them fresh. Here, the crepes were premade - they just put in the fillings. I paid ($6.56 for ONE crepe) while I waited. After the crepe was folded, I asked the server to slice it in half so I could give one half to the three year old and one half to the four year old. I might as well asked him to fly me to the moon and back. He said, "we don't cut them" I explained that I had two small children and that they would not eat a whole one each. He asked the manager. The manager just repeated "we don't cut them".

I was stunned. I asked for a refund and told them they could keep their crepe if they couldn't perform a very basic service for a paying customer so two little kids could enjoy their lunch.

I will never return.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Exceeded expectations during busy Olympic rush.
By sweethot of lower mainland (162 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 28, 2010 - 5:24pm [Dine in]

I'm not a fan of Cafe Crepe, but we were near there and wanted a snack. Despite being innundated with other patrons the staff and customer service was actually good. They were upbeat, calm, making jokes, and handling the hungry patrons well. They were upfront about the 30 minute wait, as to the other poster the reason there was up to a 30 minute wait for food was because of all the orders ahead of you. Not due to the kitchen's cooking capacity. We were given a number, waited outside the restaurant watching the Olympic crowds and were happy to receive our food. The crepes are all pre-made, though the fillings are freshly added, the prices were extremely high at around $10 for a crepe, but overall I was happy with my snack. I'm not sure how they managed to have good service, as they normally have the worst service but I was plesantly surprised.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
What they gave in service, they took away in food
By foodiephil of Richmond (65 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, September 26, 2008 - 1:28pm [Dine in]

Many reviews on here complain of the service. I guess I was lucky at the take-out window - the fellow was chatty and pleasant.

However, I, too, got a premade crepe with some hazelnut slapped over top - folded and thrown in a bag. If you can't make fresh, why be in the food industry??

It certainly was not hot, and the worst part was it was pully/chewy/rubbery. I'm not talking in a tasty, nice, fresh way that most gluten products have, but in that "it was hot and now it's not" way. I am a big aficionado of quality crepes, and I've had heavenly experiences.

This was NOT one of them, and I was deeply offended by the food quality.

Have they no shame?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Much better at night...
By cakone of Richmond (52 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 28, 2006 - 1:45pm [Dine in]

My boyfriend decided he wanted a Crepe on a Sunday morning, so off to Cafe Crepe we went. We had first spotted this place on a Friday evening after dinner in Yaletown while looking for a funky place to have a drink & people watch.

When we walked in, one of the servers promptly seated us. A short time later, another server took our drink & food order. She didn't seem very friendly at all, kind of like we were interrupting her. A bit disappointing to say the least.

Anyways, we both ordered the Cafe Crepe Breakfast (3 eggs, bacon or sausage & a choice of one of several crepes). I chose the Cinnamon & Sugar crepe, which was definitely lacking in flavour (gimme more sugar dangit!). My boyfriend ordered the Maple Syrup crepe which he loved.

We would go back to see how the other crepes measure up. We will also be back in the evening for some drinks on their sidewalk patio. Great for people watching!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Yummy snack
By Emileigh of Point Grey, Vancouver (26 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, April 15, 2006 - 3:39am [Dine in]

Cafe Crepe is a great place to grab a snack and coffee before seeing a movie or catching a bus.
They offer all types of crepes, both sweet and savory. The staff is friendly and any crepe you order will be served piping hot and fresh in under 10 minutes.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Good crepes, not so good service
By samw_bc of False Creek, Vancouver (19 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, June 30, 2007 - 11:15pm [Dine in]

We went there for crepes on a Sunday afternoon. The food arrived in good time. I had wanted to ask for some water near the start but it wasn't until the food arrived that I had a chance to.

After our food had arrived and I had asked for water, the server was pretty much non-existent. No one asked me if I wanted more coffee or if I needed anything throughout the lunch. The water never arrived. I flagged the server down and asked for my water again. By the time I finished eating, it was time to ask for the bill so I flagged the server down again and asked for the bill and asked for my water again. The water did finally arrive with my bill. The server drop the bill off onto the table without saying a word or making eye contact. After all this, I remained calm and friendly so I'm not sure what I did to deserve the cold treatment.

The crepes were nice though.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
small dirty little hole in the wall
By Food_taster of Vancouver (17 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 16, 2008 - 2:02am [Dine in]

why is this place so small? why are the booths so small? how come they force you to sit in a little hole at the corner of the room? We were sat at this table that had only one way out and we were 6 people!! Meaning if one person needed to pay or go to the washroom, everyone had to step out of the way. Terrible restaurant planning.

Also the service really sucks, it seems every time that we are here (which from this point on will be never) there is new staff, MUST NOT BE A GOOD WORKING environment. No wonder the servers are always angry or annoyed looking. If it isn't you, must be the management or owner?

I've heard this place was good for breakfast and brunch, which it is, but it's so sloppily put together that I'm embarrassed for the server that has to serve it to us. The chicken isn't actual pieces of chicken, but this mashed up powdered clumpy chicken, i can't even tell if it's chicken. The smoked beef looks like ham. It's only safe to stick with sweet crepes if you absolutely must insist to go here. And if you do, just order outside at the take out, honestly not a good idea to come inside! really!

When we were leaving, we saw a fat sweaty man, no hat on his head or apron, spinning crepes and making orders. Is there no hygiene? or food safe? That made some of the greasy crepe turn uneasily in my stomach as i walked away from that place, hopefully forever!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Don't order the Savory Crepes!
By grnbastard of South Van (17 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 18, 2007 - 11:30pm [Dine in]

Today was the second time I set food in this establishment and I recall the first time being lousy - especially the SERVICE! Had to come here because my buddy wanted to try a crepe and all I have to say is that the chicken, mayo, swiss cheese crepe sucks! I get the feeling this place has a high turnover rate for staff as it was our server's first day and he didn't know anything! Just like the first time, we had to wait a while for someone to at least acknowledge us at the door while waiting to be seated. The hostess had a nasty scowl on her face when she greeted us and asked for how many. It was all coming back to me now....why I will never set foot in this place again. I would consider the ambience ok since they serve alcohol and the place is dim with leather booths. Will never come here again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Soggy Crepes
By Kusano of Richmond (13 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 13, 2006 - 5:53pm [Dine in]

We were roaming downtown on a glorious shop-aholic afternoon and remebered that we hadn't stopped for breakfast yet so we decided to grab some quick breakfast crepes.

Inside of the cafe is very artsy with dark/bold coloured walls and some great collections of old print ads. I guess it could be romantic? Haha I'm not sure.

The selections were promising - many types of both sweet and savoury crepes. I had a breakfast egg, mushroom and cheese crepe which sounds scrumptious in print. But when I got it, the crepe was all soggy and dripping out the bottom! I don't know if that just happens when you work with mushrooms because I know mushrooms tend to get really juicy when they're cooked...still, it was dripping EVERYWHERE! By the time I got to the halfway mark, the crepe was a veritable mush.

Might have better luck with the sweet crepes that have less filling?

Definitely not the type of food that I would specifically make the trip to get. For me, it's more of a if-you-happen-to-be-walking-by kind of place. Even for quick snakcs, there are tons of other options in the area

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Could there possibly be worst customer service? I think not.
By luckyduckluk of Vancouver (6 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 28, 2008 - 10:54pm [Dine in]

I used to really enjoying coming to Cafe Crepe, being a big fan of crepes! But in the past while, I find myself going there less and less due to the non-existent customer service.

I took a friend there today, and it took them 15 minutes to come by. Getting their attention is like a game...they seem to love standing at the corner chatting than glancing over at anyone. When we finally caught their attention and told them we were ready to order, they disappeared. YES, DISAPPEARED!

I vow never again to go there, and will happily spread the word.

Way to go Cafe Crepe management.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Unbelievable
By fo0d. of Vancouver (5 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 12:37am [Dine in]

Food took 30 minutes to come out.. I understand that it was busy, but it does not take 30 minutes to make a crepe. Even in a fully pact restaurant it takes about 20 minutes for a full meal. Not only did it take forever to come out, it came out cold. For those wondering, it was a savory crepe, and it usually comes out hot. Service was terrible! Server came by once to take the order and was never seen or heard from again for the rest of the time spent there. I would never return to this location nor would I recommend anyone to dine here unless they love crap service :)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not good + PRICY
By FoodKING of Vancouver (5 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, April 3, 2008 - 7:27pm [Dine in]

Ive been to cafe crepe twice and both times it wasnt that good.
ITS DEFINATLY not worth the money.
it isnt good both times ive went
i only went there a second time was because i was craving for a snacky kind of dessert. and decided to try ONCE more... but never again would i go AGAIN !

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
The BURGER Surprise!
By fi-guy of Richmond (5 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, June 17, 2007 - 7:33pm [Dine in]

Yes, this is a review for a restaurant and what they do best: Great Crepe's.

First, a confession. I'm a glutton for culinary bliss. So bad as to not care much about the ambiance. It's definitely a factor but not a deal-breaker. As long as the place is clean and decent, I won't fuss.

FOOD: Sure. A crepe is a crepe. I really think they wanted to exceed that cliche when they opened their doors. The choices are quite extensive and elaborate. As an addition, their burgers are worth a mention. Upon ordering they tell you it will take 15-20 mins. It's made to order from a scratch prepped patty, and has always arrived juicy and flavourful. It wasn't a fluke: I expected and got the same quality all other times. Not $15, not $10, but $6.60(fries incl).

SERVICE: The over-staffed location assures constant, meaningful attention. And YES, they take reservations. I like a team that considers my young kids for the best possible seating without being coaxed.

AMBIANCE: The place is a bit dark for my taste and impresses one with a snug feel. Have a seat a get surprised. Washrooms are clean and tidy.

OVERALL: For meals or deserts on a decent budget, it's a NO-Brainer. Must be the best burgers in town(!). Downside? Well, parking in the weekdays are only a tad better than weekends. But rest assured, patience is deliciously rewarded.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Yummy creeps
By Iluvvancouver of Burnaby , east hastings rd (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 13, 2012 - 10:01pm [Dine in]

We were craving a late night snack so we went to cafe crepe. They are open late which is great and are right on robon- super convenient! The server was fast, efficient and friendly! They have so many great fillings for the creeps too. Sweet and savory! I noticed they also have well priced breakfast ...will have to go back and try out their omelettes!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Very Disappointed :(
By EricaH of New Westminster (3 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, November 13, 2008 - 4:40pm [Dine in]

I decided to head over to Cafe Crepe on the spur of the moment. I have loved their crepes in the past! It was a few minutes before their stated opening time. I stood outside waiting for them to open, watching 3 employees walk in, as the time ticked past 8am (opening time) to 8:07am. I finally got let in at this time and then was ignored for the next 8-10 minutes as myself and another lady stood waiting for service. We just watched 4 of them stand in front of us getting ready for opening (after opening), without even a hello, or sorry for the wait! They could have at least started my order!! Finally, at almost 8:20am, someone took my order. When I finally got my crepe, I was further disappointed by the lack of toppings (I ordered a sugar and cinnamon crepe, and it barely had any sugar or cinnamon)!
After I got my crepe, I decided to speak to the manager and complain. She did say she was sorry, but proceded to give me an excuse (they were updating computers...could they have not done this BEFORE opening??) and that was pretty much all she gave me.
It was truely an all round disappointing experience. I don't think I will be going back to this location.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found