Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3
  • Food3.5
  • Service2.5
  • Value2.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews11

Cactus Club Cafe

1136 Robson Street
Vancouver, BC V6E1B5
Tel: (604) 687-3278
Fax: (604) 681-3274
Neighbourhood: Central

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 11 of 11 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
My server was awesome.
By bordercollie of north vancouver (268 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, March 20, 2008 - 8:14pm [Dine in]

I went with my friend to share a late lunch after our work & decided on the Cactus Club.
I give 10 stars to my server, she was awesome, attentive, friendly and was a natural for doing this job. My friend and I was impressed how she would check on us, make suggestion, knew the menu and when it came to our bill, even split the bill for my friend & I, without us asking.
The food was good, I like my chicken wings, messy but good, and got lots of napkins. My friend meal was good, she didn't like the yam fries, and that was the only complaint in her meal. I thought the Spinach & Crab was on the cheesy side, but filled the gap in between our meals. We decided on the trio dessert, mini apple pie, mini cheesecake and mini lava cake and it was just enough for the both us to be satisfied.
Our visit was over hour & half, picked a good time, not too busy or loud and the food hit the spot.
I wish I got the name of our server, I would promote her to executive position in Customer relations...I wish all place could have all servers like this lady at the cactus club...Thank you!!

I would recommend to eat there after 3pm, before it gets busy and line up begin to start.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Overcrowded
By epicurious of Burnaby, BC (507 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 12, 2006 - 5:27pm [Dine in]

Great location for location, but not the best for dining in. It gets way too busy here. Went here for dinner and had to line-up outside for almost an hour. Luckily, the weather was nice. Service was lacking inside as well.
I'd rather go to a quieter location.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Poor Service Awaits You
By 5926117 of Delta (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, May 29, 2011 - 8:27pm [Dine in]

Having dined at the Cactus Club on Robson more than 40 times over the last few years, my wife and I were astounded at how poor the service was on Saturday (2011May 28 at 7:00 p.m.). We stood at the door for several minutes and were ignored. We were then asked to sit for awhile and were eventually shown a tiny table in the corner. We asked if we could sit closer to the center of the restaurant as there were eight tables vacant. Upon being told that they were all reserved, we sat at the tiny table in the corner of the room. During our 1 hour and 15 minute stay, all of those tables remained vacant. The Server was rude, non-attentive, and rushed us through our meal at every opportunity. As we were ordering, she turned away to help another table. As I was still eating, she pulled my plate away and cleared the table and as we were enjoying the balance of our drinks, the Server rushed up and asked how we were paying. This restaurant was always a little pricey but at one time, the service and the ambiance made it worth a few dollars more. Obviously it has gone down hill and we were so turned off, we vowed not to return.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Reliable but not worth fighting for...
By SONofFOOD of North Vancouver (20 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, September 18, 2006 - 11:31am [Dine in]

While i will always enjoy the Kung Pao noodles, the Teriyaki Chicken Rice Bowl and the Chili Chicken, the prices keep getting higher and the service keeps getting worse. Too bad.

Cactus Club once stood high on the mountain of goodness but it is definitely sliding. The prices don't warrent the food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Grudging respect
By CoolDiner of North Vancouver, BC (25 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, December 24, 2011 - 6:55pm [Dine in]

Let me be frank - I am not a huge fan of CC's menu - seems to me to lack imagination, but, I suppose, it's pubish food and one has to be reasonable. And I do go there for lunch on a fairly regular basis - the fish tacos are ok, the calamari is ok, but I must say the tuna tartar that I had last night was very very good. So hats off to CC - now the tartar is my must-have. And, I confess, the girls are very cute.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Cannot Compare to other Cactus Clubs
By NicoleM of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Friday, March 27, 2009 - 3:15pm [Dine in]

I had a friend visit from Whistler. He is a regular at Earls in Whistler and I told him that he would love Cactus Club. However, the ambiance did not compare to other Cactus Clubs. It was an older restaurant with a dirty feel to it. We were meeting 2 people who were already sitting down. There was not anyone to greet us at the door so we sat ourselves. When we found our friends they didn't have any drinks in front of them. They said that they had been sitting there for 10 minutes and no one had even come to the table. We waited another 10 MINUTES before anyone came over. The server approached the table and said, "Hi, what can i get you guys to drink." We found it a little odd there there was no, "sorry for the wait," or "Welcome to Cactus Club." Each of us ordered cocktails and water. We received the cocktails but never the waters - even after reminding our server.
The server dropped off the drinks and said, "i will be right back." She never came back???? After some time later, we asked another server if we could order because we had not seen our server in some time. Instead of solving the problem and taking the order for her co-worker she said, "hold on, I'll find her." After waiting and waiting, a friend of mine went to the bar and asked for our bill. He paid it and we left!

We were STARVING from shopping all day and i felt humiliated for recommending the restaurant. We went across the street to Earls and had the best lunch ever. A hostess opened the door for us and greeted us right away. She sat us in the booth right by the window. Our server explained drink specials and food choices and we received our food right away. We even ordered dessert and coffee - something we wouldn't normally do.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

I never would have guessed
By appetite99 of Downtown Van (3 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 18, 2008 - 9:33pm [Dine in]

Came here with a couple of girlfriends and was at first skeptical. But, hey! It was pretty good after all! The service was outstanding and the food was really quite good. I had a salad with grilled chicken on top. There were lots of berries and nuts mixed with some really fresh greens. A well run establishment if you ask me. A keeper for sure!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
back to back
By geordie of surrey (4 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 27, 2007 - 7:19am [Dine in]

So my first visit, and all the way through to my 15th visit, I was very cramped in my seat, except when i sat at the bar (which only seats about 8-10 at max). Not that it was uncomfortable, but it was back too back with the table behind me(bumping heads with the guy behind me). I guess because of the cost of square footage on robson thats the only way to go right? I still think that it is avoidable. The bartender was very concious of his buisy job and at the same time being social with the guests(Which is a very hard trait to come by). Too bad he moved off to another job. And the tour of the kitchen really showed me how a small resteraunt can really pump out tons of food without 86'ing anything. Keep up the good work robson!!!
P.S. is the chipped paint all fixed in the bathroom?

(you can delete the other one I made a typo)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Flavourful In Every Way
By Grooving Riding of Suburbia (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, October 29, 2011 - 6:46pm [Dine in]

The food was good although the presentation and the waitresses were even better, the combination were good and menu well priced. Service a vast improvement on the usual restaurant concept, sincere and what you would expect from any top Vancouver restaurant. Pleasant as always but need to make sure the prices dont go any higher even tho the short skirts are worth it (he he). Will definitely be back,

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Cactus Club, you've redeemed yourself. Just a little.
By irenekristine of Burnaby BC Canada (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, October 2, 2010 - 1:53am [Dine in]

I've never really been a fan of Cactus in the past but a couple days ago, my boyfriend and I were cruising around downtown and we decided to try something new: Cactus Club (we were getting tired of sushi and pasta LOL). I was a bit reluctant because I personally have something against Cactus Club after they wasted my time and effort a couple months ago when I applied there as a server but that's not the point. We were really hungry so we decided to stop by.

We ordered the dry ribs to start which, literally, were very dry. Not to mention bland. My boyfriend and I practically used up the entire salt shaker on the dish. It would have been delicious with a dip, like a sweet chili or plum. ANYTHING. It was still good though... after a couple tablespoons of extra sodium LOL. My boyfriend ordered the chicken quesadilla & I had the chicken tenders. I didn't try my boyfriend's meal (it had cranberry inside and I'm not a very big fan of it unless it's in juice cocktail form) but I absolutely LOVED my tenders. The fries were delicious and extremely fresh and hot. After adding salt and vinegar to them, it was even better. The chicken was delicious too. They were fresh off the fryer, absolutely tender (some places sell chicken tenders but they turn out to be rock hard and dry!!) and just awesome.

Our server, surprisingly, was a young male. He was really nice and it was a nice change because everytime you go to a place like Cactus Club, you get some chick with her boobs practically hanging off her low-cut shirt and that's basically what drives customers to give a 15% tip even though the service was practically shit. Not only was our server a decent looking guy, he was very prompt. We gave him a decent tip but after noticing that he didn't punch in my Coke, my boyfriend decided to give him a bit more (in cash). We were just that nice :)

Okay so you won me over that afternoon with your awesome chicken tenders and free Coke, Cactus Club, but you will still always be the last restaurant I will ever consider going to while on a day/night out in Downtown Vancouver. I'd rather go to Shabusen... even though a lot of Asian restaurants I go to ALWAYS have shit service and snooty servers (except for Akasaka Sushi in Surrey; the staff there are ridiculously kick ass <3)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good food, terrible service
By lavreview of West End, Vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, November 9, 2009 - 11:06pm [Dine in]

I thoroughly enjoy the food at cactus club, especially the quesidillas (there are 2 on the menu, they are both great) and the lava cake. I've also gone for drinks there, and I think that they have the best bellini I've ever tasted. Their service, however, has been sliding for quite some time now. Last time I was there I was so disgusted by it I decided I wouldn't be going back.
To set the scene for you, I asked for vinegar, and it was brought out to me in a small dish. It wasn't enough, so a different server brought me some more, and let me know that it was the last of the vinegar, as they were all out. I poured it on my fries, and after consuming a bunch of them figured out that whatever I was eating wasn't vinegar. The manager comes out, crouches beside our table, and says “What seems to be the problem, ladies?” I felt her sarcasm right away, but thought that I was just being defensive… I explain what happened, and I ask her what mystery liquid I’ve ingested. She explains to me that they haven’t had vinegar for “a while”, and that there must have been some other liquid in the bottle that both servers had brought out to us. I asked her again what I’ve ingested, to which she informed me that condiment bottles are placed in the dishwasher, and there must have been some leftover liquid in it when they put it back after. She was obviously irritated, and her tone was very snarky and defensive. She saw my obvious reaction to eating stagnant dishwater (keep in mind, stagnant dishwater is a best case scenario) – and was quick to counter with “It’s just water”… followed by “I guarantee you it’s water” and “it won’t make you sick”. She then let us know that she would “take the fries off the bill, but other than that I don’t know what I can do”. I told her that I understand that it would be an easy mistake for a server to make, and that I didn’t think it was their fault, but that it wasn’t ok. She then got up and left. That was the last straw for me... however the food is quite good, and it's possible that there is great service to be found at other locations.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 6 of 6 Images Found