Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2.5
  • Food2.5
  • Service2.5
  • Value2
  • Ambiance3.5
  • Reviews59

Bridges

1696 Duranleau Street
Vancouver, BC V6H3R9
Tel: (604) 687-4400 Reserve Online
Fax: (604) 687-0352
Neighbourhood: West Side
  • Cuisine: Pacific northwest, Seafood, Steaks
  • Price: $$$ ($30 - $45)
  • Reservations: Recommended
  • Service: Banquet
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Features: Ocean Wise, Patio, View, Fine dining
  • Bridges is a Vancouver restaurant nestled on the water's edge of Granville Island, just five minutes from downtown Vancouver, Canada. Bridges Restaurant offers four unique dining experiences - The Restaurant, Bistro Wine Bar, the Bar and outdoors on the Dock - all combine unparalleled water, mountain and city views with award-winning food, served by friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 59 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Can they un-renovate it?
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 30, 2006 - 1:33pm [Dine in]

I've been going to Bridges for years, and I used to love it. Lately it has gotten kind of pretentious, and the 'bang for the buck' is lower. Luckily, they can't screw up the view from the patio, although they really pack 'em in. Last time I had a Tex-Mex pizza and a Caesar salad, which was more than enough to share with my wife, as an aprés travaille snack. For drinks I had a seabreeze, and Mrs. Chasiubow had a margarita.

The food is okay, but not outstanding. The drinks are similarly average. The sevice is lacklustre. For the price it really isn't worth it. I just wish they would make it like it was before!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Caipirinhas!
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 5, 2010 - 2:11pm [Dine in]

OK, so we finally made it here. It was Sunday evening and the day was dying down. Naturally an early nightcap was in the works for us.

Despite the tempermental weather the ambiance is quite appealing, especially the patio areas. Easily on of the best outdoor spots around town.

We stuck with the simple stuff, their thin crust pizza which was lightly dressed with toppings over a thin, slightly charred cornmeal crust along with restaurant quality hummus. You're mostly here for the drinks so we went across the board with caesars, caipirinhas, a malbec red and rounded it off with a pitcher of pimm's.

Service was good despite our waitress having to wait of tables both outside and in. It's definitely better than other outdoor seating situations we've had in the past.

With caipirinhas, patio action and decent food, this is one summer hotspot.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Epic patio but food and service lacklustre
By thecritic of Vancouver (376 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 17, 2013 - 3:09pm [Dine in]

I've eaten here a bunch of times, usually in the summer because I've been sucked into sitting on their amazing patio. Its really hard to beat sitting on the wharf with the view of the water and all the boats. But...

The view is pretty much the only redeeming quality about Bridges. The food is poor, it has been for several years. The service is mediocre at best and could sometimes be interpreted as surly. You can't have more than one drink on the patio without being forced to order their overpriced food. This has been their policy for sometime and I can't think of very many other restaurants (Furniture Warehouse?) that do this, liquor license issues aside. The only time I've had decent food here was when it was the Swiss House during the 2010 Olympics and they changed their menu for it.

The only time I would recommend anyone coming here is going for a quick drink on the patio and then leaving (or I guess being asked to leave because you don't order food). Overall, not recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
$19 Burger
By cocoeater of vancouver (323 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 17, 2013 - 2:44pm [Dine in]

Went to Bridges to check out one of the best patios in the city. Great views as usual between the bridges. The food has never been great out on the patio but looked at the prices and $19 for a beef burger, $24 for nachos as an example of prices. To me it looks like they are trying to gouge unsuspecting tourists who won't return for a 2nd visit. This is a pub/bar menu but with these prices and average quality, I'm not returning soon. So many other patios to go to. Service was average but the 15% min grat for 6 or more people was a bit surprising.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good meal in a super setting
By curmudgeon of Downtown Vancouver (100 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 22, 2007 - 9:58pm [Dine in]

Bridges was my first Dine Out stop. I've walked past the establishment for 10 years and never eaten there until now.

Ordered from the Dine Out set menu, chosing the Tomato and Mozarella Salad, the Pan Seared Monk Fish with Risotto, and the Citrus Creme Brule.

The food was all well prepared and quite delicious.
Our server was polite, attentive and inobtrusive, and the room is one of the best dining settings in town, especially at night.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Switzerland House Opening Night
By Gidge of Vancouver (93 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 5, 2010 - 11:47pm [Dine in]

Hubby and I visited opening night of Switzerland House, one of the many Olympic pavilions opening around town. The marketing scheme and venue are great, however, for foodies it may be a disappointment. Upon arriving, there was mass mayhem for lack of any semblance of front-of-the-house organization. The bistro area downstairs was packed with diners and tourists alike and no one knew how to get seated. It took management awhile to finally serve on a first-come basis instead of having more assertive groups jockey for the next available table. Finally, some sense!

Food: shared the seafood chowder which consisted of chunky fish bits and prawns. Most likely made in a seafood-tomato broth base. Tasted like the ocean. The accompanying bread was nice though with infused herbs. The Chalet Macaroni (ham, potatoes, onions) was greasy but fairly tasty, deep fried onions provided most of the flavour. Hubby's Swiss Sausage and fries were boring and nothing to write home about. Just think of a grilled, criss crossed 12" sausage with fries on the side.

Service: experienced male server was on the ball and served our first appy within minutes. He came by several times to clear plates and check up on us. Initially dining was at a frenetic pace, but it eventually slowed down allowing us for a dining experience was similar to any lively bistro. Service was prompt and courteous. The hostesses were young, inexperienced pretty things and it was probably overwhelming for them so I'll cut them some slack. 15% gratuity tacked on and we tipped above it for the server's great service.

Value: $17 for each main and $10 for the soup. Pricing is in the standard bistro range but the flavour and uniqueness that I was looking for, was sorely lacking. Having been to Switzerland, I was hoping for more authentic selections (i.e. roesti). Value wasn't there for the food ingredients and level of culinary expertise required to prepare. I could have fried up a smokie and made mac'n'cheese at home.

Ambiance: The view was quite nice and the atmosphere was festive. We missed the freebies given away 2 hours earlier, which probably explained the mass mayhem of people exiting while we were entering. The pub area in the adjoining room was filled with a lively crowd and a two-person Swiss musical group. Some folks broke into group sing-along and dance. The dining room was cozy with plenty of square tables of two's and four's mostly. Simple decor yet warm.

As an Olympic event, I think Switzerland House is worth a try but don't expect set your food expectations too high and you'd be fine.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Room With A View
By Okaliswan of New Westminster (75 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 3, 2007 - 10:27pm [Dine in]

Rainy Saturday, Granville Island mercifully berift of tourists, this is what living in Van is for. After a walk in the water stepped in for some heat. Ate in the bistro. Had buttenut squash soup, salmon pizza and a glass of Sandhill pinot gris. All were excellent. The soup was seasoned to a tee and the pizza was unbelievably savoury and perfectly accompanied by the nicely
balanced wine. The view of False Creek westward is serene in a squall.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Comfortable Chairs, Pleasant Upstairs Patio
By frugalgourmet of Vancouver (70 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, June 29, 2008 - 11:47am [Dine in]

Patio in the Dining Room was great - views of downtown, the mountains and water views of False Creek. The prices were high for what you got - $30 for a spotted prawn pasta?! The $15-18 appetizers were pricey but you got a decent sized portion. One dining guest said the scallops were "the best [she] ever had". Service was fine, water glasses were re-filled promptly.

Maybe I'd come again for lunch, but not for dinner.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Outstanding Location, Good Food
By jpcostales of Metrotown, Burnaby (70 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, December 30, 2006 - 5:15am [Dine in]

Not sure why Bridges has been getting some bad reviews lately, as this has been one of my favourite restaurants of late. Absolutely superb bar and lounge and decent restaurant area.

Food - Best crab burger in town. Pretty good seafood dishes for the price, and a nice selection of wines and local beers.

Service - Attentive, attractive and talkative waiters/waitresses and bar staff. Friendly and informative.

Ambiance - Great views of the bridges (no pun intended) and downtown skyline. Incredible fireplace by the bar.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Summer drinks option
By whataview of yaletown (66 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 13, 2006 - 11:54pm [Dine in]

Bridges has a great deck for a summer meeting place. The food and drinks are satisfactory; actually the nachos are pretty good - heaped full of stuff, perfect for sharing with drinks in hand. I think it's everyone's summer hooky hangout. I never go in any other season.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
mediocre food
By alpha_dog of richmond (61 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 2, 2009 - 8:47pm [Dine in]

ate here for lunch on a summer day and i wasnt all that impressed with the food, could have been better. much better.
i ordered the burger and it wasnt anything special.. just tasted like an ordinary burger, of course it was better than fast food (i.e. mcdonalds or burger king) but it was definitely not worth the cost (just under $20 which is ridiculously expensive)
the service was the worst quality of this restaurant.. our server never really came around. once our order was taken, we basically had to stare at him until we made solid eye contact for him to come over and realize we wanted something else.
nice atmosphere and feeling to this place, its right by the water and when the sun is out, great to sit out on the patio and take advantage of that beautiful weather.
overall, the experience was not anything like i thought it would be based on how popular this place is. would i return? sure but i wouldnt go out of my way to eat here again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A solid place - but could use a kick in creativity
By vancouverpiggie of burnaby (54 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 22, 2014 - 6:52pm [Dine in]

I came here today for lunch with my family. This was my first time - personally. We were a party of 4 and paid 170.00. We had about 50% of it packed up later because we ordered more than we could eat.

Overall, first impression is this place is clean and quite a few bucks was spent in its minimalist, west coast style interior design.

I was quite impressed with the washroom to be honest - i am weird sometimes.

We ordered 2 sharing plates, a soup, 4 entrees and 2 teas.

Overall, the menu was nothing to rave about - the owner seems to be playing it safe and simple although that is not necessarily bad.

The downside for me, which i will begin on in terms of safe playing is of course, value. Value was solid but i wish they would have taken it up just that one notch. that missing 10-15% in the end of menu design, cuisine design - that flare.

why? because the price is on par with milestone and earls - and in some areas 10-15% higher.

i can't be totally bias in my criticism because the restaurant's expenses are, to my guess, mostly due to location.

this restaurant's view is AAA, right on the cusp of granville island facing english bay and the burrard bridge.

real estate is probably taking a huge chunk out of the owner's profit margin so i can be fair in heart.

but i also need to be objective on the food part. the owner can keep the same, fresh ingredients, but maybe up the technique and taste without sacrificing kitchen efficiency.

for example, if you're going to do tacos, don't just do fresh tacos, but do tacos that are unforgettable - or at the very least make me want to come back for a second try to quill my doubts. i ordered tacos today and i just eat and forget about it.

i do not believe the mantra of because my ingredients are fresh so i do not need to do much to them since i want them to speak for themselves. wrong.

i think a chef needs to enhance a fresh ingredient's natural taste - however you do it.

because, at the end of the day, with vancouver's incredibly cut throat restaurant and foodie industry, it's about the food and in this sort of depression, economically speaking, the dollar value trumps all no matter how safe you try to play. people's mouths do not lie.

i suspect this restaurant's greatest kitchen skill is consistency. why? because this kitchen was on the lighter side of seasoning and so i can respect the chef's bravery is showing to its clients, "i use fresh ingredients and i am not afraid of showing it without masking it with heavy flavor".

i respect that, but even your side sauces lacked flavors at time.

the tartar sauce, chipotle (i think?) and another dipping sauce just tasted like mayo. no offense.

the service was solid, waitresses were attentive.

my final thoughts of this place is the view, the atmosphere and the fresh ingredients. price-wise, i would say it is fair but that is because of the freshness of the ingredients, cooking technique and portions, not because of actual menu design.

perhaps i am asking too much, but i think paying around 45.00 pp for lunch is reasonable enough of an excuse to ask for that extra 10-15% flare in cuisine design.

overall, i'd return and try this place again, but only on very special occasions and not as a regular.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
go for bad service and overpriced food
By badgerbalm of pretentious yaletown (37 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 21, 2008 - 2:28pm [Dine in]

Excellent place if you want poor service (or in our case non-existent), and/or if you want overpriced food.

Like other reviewers have said, this place packs them in, then do their best to make you wait. And wait. And wait some more.

We went to the bar, and nobody came to acknowledge us. We actually seated ourselves, and waited about 10 minutes. Still nobody even knew we were alive, so we gave up and went and ordered our drinks at the bar.

We wanted to have something to eat, so waved down a server and ordered pizza. $17 for a thin crust pizza, and and even though it tasted good, split between the 3 of us, we were still rather hungry afterwards.

All in all, I highly recommend this place if you want to serve yourself, and if you want to waste money on food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Boring
By banany of Vancouver (37 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 18, 2007 - 6:04am [Dine in]

I was a fool when I went to Bridges and ordered steak at a seafood restaurant. I was on a high from a tenderloin I had a Rex Rotisserie the same week (I'm a striploin girl so the fact that a tenderloin impressed me was a miracle). I went ahead and ordered the tenderloin at Bridges. BAD IDEA! I knew I shouldn't have done it too. I even told my friend ordering steak at a seafood restaurant is just wrong, but I couldn't help myself. It was boring, very very boring. So boring that I can't even remember what my appetizer or desserts were. They don't even have proper steak knives! I asked the waitress for a steak knife and she said the knife I had was a steak knife. I've eaten at Gotham's and Morton's many, many times and I know what a steak knife looks like and what she gave me wasn't a steak knife! She said she'd check in the back and let me know. Well, she never did let me know which is why I say the service was just decent.

Normally I'm not picky about service, but I didn't appreciate her telling me she'd check in the kitchen and let me know, but never did!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great View - Horrible Food
By yummm of Surrey (36 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 1, 2009 - 10:04pm [Dine in]

I've been to Bridges twice and were disappointed both times. It took over 15 minutes for our server to come to the table to greet us the first time we went. The second time, our server brought us our drinks then disappeared. They seem to pay much more attention to big tables. The first time I had fish & chips and the second time Halibut. The fish was obviously left in the fryer for too long - it was burnt and tasteless.
It's a nice-looking restaurant with beautiful views to offer, but the service and the food certainly don't worth the price you pay. Won't go back again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not even good enough for our tourists
By peppe of Burnaby (32 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, May 28, 2010 - 10:59pm [Dine in]

This is a review for the downstairs restaurant. Been there a few times with the family in the last year to provide a fair review. Every time, the servers seem disengaged. The clam chowder just tasted odd and not fresh (tried it different times), and the menu just seems inconsistent - as if they don't really know what they want to serve, that there is no consistent theme to it. They do have a wonderful location especially if you like patio dining by the water. However, there are many other alternatives in Vancouver if that's what you're into. We see tourists almost every time we go and can't help but think it's a tourist trap. They're probably on some visitors guide but I wouldn't go back, nor would I take any of my out-of-town guests there.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Burger In Town?
By gomer300 of Vancouver (26 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, November 18, 2007 - 12:17am [Dine in]

We happened in for a burger today and were surprised that the burger and fries easily compared with The Red Onion and Vera's in terms of size and quality. $13 for a burger and fries - a bit steep, but par for the course when eating on Granville Island. If you can eat better for less in the market, I'd be surprised.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
view is the only thing well the patio!
By doald of westend vancouver (25 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 21, 2010 - 2:45am [Dine in]

We had the oysters to start and chowder they where dreadfull after that I wanted to really just leave ,but I was in with friends from out of town so we orded more we had a 22$ pizza next it was dry and covered in cornmeal . I would not recomend this to anyone as our bill for bad food service was over 200$ and get this we only had one drink each and no dessert .

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Blah.
By wright of West End, Vancouver (24 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 2:00pm [Dine in]

I've been here twice; once in the summer and once in the winter.

Summer: sat on the patio, got the soup, which was nice, but the view was much nicer!

Winter: sat inside (obviously); the food was COLD (it had been sitting out a while), the service was barely passable, the meat was overdone, and I could have made something similar and tastier in my own kitchen in less time, and for far less money! I won't be returning for sub-par food, sub-par service, and an ambiance I could go elsewhere to get!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Holy Tourist Trap
By PromQueen of Kitsilano (21 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, July 17, 2008 - 11:57am [Dine in]

Never seen a place in this city care less about their customer. The food is insanely overpriced for what you get.

I had a chicken burger that cost me $19!! Okay, if it was special, but it was not. Tasted no better than what you'd get a neighborhood pub-which is not bad. It was very average food, but considering they are charging about double what everywhere else does, I'd expect a lot more than average.
My partner had the regular burger, which was only $17. Much better? Nope. He said it tasted like your average ground beef patty with lots of filler. Plain and boring, absolutely nothing special.

Sure someone is going to justify location for the price. But we were sitting inside the restaurant, and well, It could have been any cheap bistro anywhere.

I've heard talk about this place for so long, I am horribly disappointed, and looking at the consistently poor reviews on here, it's clearly a standard there. And clearly they don't care.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 3 of 3 Images Found