Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

4
  • Food4
  • Service4
  • Value4
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews14

Al & Jan's Fish & Chips

9014 152nd Street, #201
Surrey, BC V3R4E7
Tel: (604) 930-2021

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 14 of 14 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
More like fish sticks
By hydeeho of Burnaby (182 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 17, 2009 - 8:57pm [Dine in]

I don't know how this restaurant got all these high ratings. My experience was the pits. Did the AYCE on Monday. Arrived at 6:45 and was seated as soon as a table was cleaned. Closing is 7:30 on Mon. They closed the doors at 6:55 and I saw many people about to enter then saw the closed sign and left. Soon after my meal arrived I was told the last call was now in effect. I felt rushed and uncomfortable.

The chips were standard fare but the fish was horrible. It was dry and the fish used was very coarse and low on the quality scale. And to make things worse they were cut in the shape of zuchinni sticks so that you needed 3 pieces to equal a normal piece of fish. I am sorry I strayed from Cockney Kings and won't let it happen again. And another thing, they charge $11.95 per person. That's $2.00 more than C Kings for an inferior meal. I will not be back, ever.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
for what it is, EXCELLENT!!
By marymac of Delta, BC (144 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 19, 2008 - 10:03am [Dine in]

Based on reviews here, we searched out Al & Jan's at lunchtime yesterday. It was "all you can eat", and the place was extremely busy, but we were acknowledged and seated promptly.

OK, so this is a fish and chip shop. Nothing fancy about the basic room, but it was tidy and clean. I ordered a platter of cod, oysters and prawns with coleslaw and a roll. Hubby went for "all you can eat" (cod). Food arrived quickly, and OMG - it was amazing! Fries were perfectly done, fish was fresh and an ample portion. Oysters and prawns were excellent as well. Hubby got FIVE pieces of cod on his plate, "for starters". He could have had more, but had to give up...

So, keeping in mind that I'm talking about a fish and chip joint, this was superlative. Everything was very fresh, perfectly done, and not greasy in the least. Service was quick and friendly. If you have a craving for this type of food in Surrey, it's worth looking for. Tucked in beside Save-On Foods on 152nd at Fraser Hwy. Excellent.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Love the AYCE fish and chips
By Huge of Surrey (134 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 1:32pm [Dine in]

My wife and I went here as we were craving some all-u-can-eat fish and chips. The service was attentive and prompt. The fish was lightly battered which I like compared to other deep batter fish where there is more batter than fish. Here it is light and tasty. The chips were freshly cutted. Both fish and chips came out hot and fresh. The whole experience was very positive and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is craving some excellent fish and chips.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best fish and chips
By panda of Burnaby (56 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 11, 2008 - 11:42pm [Dine in]

Upon reading great review about this place, I had to dragged my family across the bridge for dinner as I was craving fish and chips. I forgot that it was a Tues night and it was all you can eat night, the place was busy. Since it was our first time here, we didn't want to for AYCE in case the fish and chips was terrible.
I ordered the two pieces of halibut and chips w/ coleslaw. Hubby ordered the chicken and chips and son ordered the one cod and chips w/ coleslaw. Apparently, their fries are unlimited as well as their pop.
That was the best halibut I've ever had. Not oily, thin batter, big portion fish. I was too stuffed to order more fries, but I loved their fries. Coleslaw was good too. I did order mushy peas, but they had forgotten our order, no big deal, I was too full to eat another dish.
My family claimed they liked what they order. Their plates was polished off while I was struggling to finish my halibut. Now, that we've tried this place, next time I might tried out their AYCE.
Place was clean, friendly and helpful staff. Dinner wasn't too greasy for me as I usually end up sick to my stomach with all that heavy oil.
Highly recommended for those who crave fish and chips.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Simply the best!!!
By browntown of Richmond (23 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, January 22, 2008 - 8:47pm [Dine in]

From the moment my girlfriend and I walked in we were shocked at the service and how great it was. This family business is by far the best service I have seen in a long time. Nonetheless, we went there on a Monday (ALL YOU CAN EAT NIGHT) and the place was packed. The food was great but if you come here and order the regular the fish seems to be bigger and better but the all you can eat night the food was still great, lightly battered fish not drowning in burned and reused oil like most places. The fries were fresh cut and perfectly cooked. The place was spotless. I can go on and on, by far the best fish and chip place in the lower mainland hands down!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Best Fish And Chips?
By foodCRITICAL of Surrey (14 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, September 20, 2008 - 7:14pm [Dine in]

I suppose it depends on your perspective... on what you are looking for when you go out for fish and chips. In my case, I enjoy fish and chips where the fish is freshly battered, the fries are freshly cut, and they are fried in different, clean, oil. I don't like soggy or greasy. And never, ever have the batter still raw in spots.

In the case of Al and Jan's I must admit that all of the above criterium were met, and then some. The fish was perfectly cooked, batter was crispy and dry - little grease was left on the plate which is quite the feat!

The service was stellar, and I believe it was Jan who was so attentive, even with the restaurant full of tables.

Overall, an excellent little spot. BTW: If you are looking for it - its right by the Save-on-Foods opening, beside blockbuster - we had a hard time finding it!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

a homey mom and pop shop
By lyndawitha_y of Surrey, BC (13 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, January 25, 2011 - 1:57am [Dine in]

I used to come here all the time in high school, so when I moved back to Surrey after I graduated, I was so glad to see that Al and Jan's shop is still open and still offering all you can eat!

But now that my metabolism is what it used to be, I can't find myself eating that many pieces of Fish, so I usually opt for the oyster burger which is fresh, simple, and delicious.

Their fish and chips never fail my cravings. I believe that they make their own tartar sauce as well, but I'm afraid that I'm too used to the more flavorful and texturized Heinz tartar sauce to enjoy it.

This is the local fish and chips, ma and pop shop. Strangely, the outdated, tacky and cheap ambiance of the restaurant makes it feel homey.

I am usually served by a nice lady, and sometimes they have a male helper. All servers are very courteous, check up on you during the right times, following every rule in the server's handbook for good service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Fish & Chips around
By gdt717 of Fleetwood, Surrey (5 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, December 29, 2006 - 8:34pm [Dine in]

This restaurant was the former Codfathers. Al & Jan were the operators then, and they dropped the franchise and still run this excellent fish & chip shop. In my opinion, very close to the best fish and chips EVER!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
A fish to remember
By ChwkGirl of Surrey (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 6, 2007 - 9:32pm [Dine in]

After reading the one review on Al & Jan's when the whole family got a craving for fish we decided to go check it out. The inside is modest, it sort of has that family restaurant feel; but the all you can eat fish and chips for $9.95 with your drink on Monday and Tuesday was awesome. I really don't like fish usually but this fish was outstanding. They didn't drown the fish in their light and crispy batter and the fries appeared to be fresh cut. The whole family loved it! I also have to mention that the services was increadibly good even though the restaurant was packed. IT's well worth giving this place a visit, we'll be back!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Excellent fish and chips
By MJohnson79 of Surrey (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, July 14, 2009 - 1:59am [Dine in]

Al and Jans have terrific fish and chips! The batter is not to heavy or too light, nor greasy. Service is incredibly efficient, and staff and owners are all very friendly. Even when its busy, you never have to wait too long to get your meal. The decor is ok, and there is no music, which is nice, so you dont have to shout or strain to hear. There is a TV if you want to watch news or sports game. The prices are reasonable, especially Monday and Tuesday, all you can eat night!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Did not have to drive to White Rock!!!
By kimpat of Surrey, Fraser Valley (1 Review)
Submitted Friday, June 5, 2009 - 6:09pm [Dine in]

After hearing about Moby Dick's in White Rock we tried to dine there - but line-up was tooo long - so we tried Al & Jan's. Excellent taste - our meals were light and cooked perfectly - not greasy - service was prompt and efficient. Owner was very friendly - and restaurant was immaculate. Ambiance okay considering it's location next to Save On Foods, but overall very happy with our dinner.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Gotta Love Those Chips
By Naes of Surrey (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, February 4, 2009 - 7:03pm [Dine in]

Great service, good food, good price. It amazingly filled up my stomach and the bottomless drinks + unlimited fries = best combo ever.

Ambiance is great and the tables are far enough apart with out you hearing what everyone else is talking about.

I give props to the owner for making a nice home like restaurant and the accoustics of the place is great so you dont always sound like your yelling.

Good place to eat food! Yum yum.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Fish & Chips Shop
By kat1899 of Guildford, Surrey (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, May 22, 2008 - 11:24am [Dine in]

This has got to be one of the best fish & chip places on the lower mainland. The fish has been consistently great, with the chips being made on the premises I know they are fresh. Frequently take people from in and out of town there, and now most say they are going there with others as well. Farthest away is from Germany - on a 10 day vacation to BC, we went twice! Have never had any complaints re the food or the service - just that sometimes we have to wait up to 15 minutes (that's a bad time??) to get a table (yikes - no booths!!) Just keep on going back for more & loving it. Thanks Al & Jan for such a great place to go at such reasonable prices.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
something special
By EHman of Surrey (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, May 19, 2008 - 3:23pm [Dine in]

Al and Jan's is the best fish and chips I have tasted the fries are made in house and are cut that day so its garented to be good same as the fish. Waiters are friendly and aprocable the location is deffenaty tucked away and you may have to look for it and the all you can eat is just great. All I can say is it's something special

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 4 of 4 Images Found