Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food3.5
  • Service3
  • Value3.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews37

Matsuyama

8500 Alexandra Road, #110
Richmond, BC V6X3L4
Tel: (604) 207-9178
Neighbourhood: Golden Village

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 37 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Good late night sushi
By Bonka of Vancouver (464 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, October 2, 2008 - 5:10am [Dine in]

My regular sushi restaurant mostly for its convenient times and decent quality sashimi and rolls. They're open until 12am most days and 1am Fridays and Saturdays.

Pretty typical menu with bento boxes, appetizers, sashimi, tempura, rolls, noodles, special combos and party platters for large groups. Prices have rose recently too.

Still good value for decent sashimi and bento boxes. The Gyozas and Specialty Combos are plain and rather bland overall so I would avoid those and get them at the Vietnamese Pho places.

Service is generally good although the servers are sometimes a little impatient though the place is usually busy. One of the FEW places in Richmond where I would venture to ona regular basis. I hear Ichiro is good but I think that place is in a different price bracket.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Never again
By hydeeho of Burnaby (182 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, July 31, 2009 - 8:35am [Dine in]

What a shambles. 12 adults for dinner. 8 receive dinner in a timely manner. The other 4 are waiting for various hot plate combinations. After 20 minutes 2 more dinners appear. After another 10 minutes when everyone had finished eating we complain to the manager. He comps 1 of the missing meals and explains that the kitchen lost the ticket. What a bunch of crap. Food was alright but the level of service stinks.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Nothing special...Pretty slow service if you are caucasian
By eating good food of Vancouver (114 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, December 15, 2011 - 9:13pm [Dine in]

Came here late last night with a friend of mine......All I can say is that is definatly is not one of the best sushi places to go to.....it is too pricy (I mean $4.25 for a spinach gomae) The sushi wasn't really anything to write home about. The service sucked too (probably because we were the only caucasians in there) the couple next to us came after we did and thier food came like just a couple minutes after ours (and they had alot more food than we did) It just didn't cut it

We won't be back

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not Impressed
By 8there of Vancouver (66 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 30, 2010 - 8:36pm [Dine in]

I expected a lot more from this place after all the good reviews. We arrived for lunch and right away the service was not good. We were left waiting with no one greeting us. When they finally noticed us, we were seated right away. The table was dirty, my sleeve stuck to it when I made the mistake of putting my arm on the table. It took a long time to get someone to take our order. We noticed another table who were there before us had also been waiting to place their order. I have to say the lunch combos are pretty good value, $8 for a lunch box. It took about 15 mins to find someone to place our order, but our food came out after about the same amount of time. The food itself was not bad. We also ordered a vietnamese lunch combo, which was not as good as the japanese food. Overall I much prefer Silver Tower next door for value and service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Average Sushi
By djj_rome of Richmond (57 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 17, 2007 - 11:09am [Dine in]

Tried this place for the first time since they reopened. It was not bad. The sushi I found a little expensive for what you get back compared to the all you can eats in Richmond the quality was not bad. Large menu with lots of choices, not a bad option for sushi in Richmond

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Give the Sushi Chefs an apron.
By louielobster of Glendale (53 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, March 6, 2007 - 2:08am [Dine in]

My friend invited me for a “late night menu” at Matsuyama after a boy’s night out poker game. Winners pay for the losers…I ate for free!

The restaurant was a nice surprise in Richmond. I found the place to be very clean and bright. Service was efficient and pleasant. My complaint could be a big one. The two sushi chefs behind the counter were wearing their casual summer street cloths; what’s with that? And one of the chefs kept touching his face and then kept on making the sushi rolls. We sat in a booth and I was facing away from the sushi bar and did not observe this until we walked by to leave.

We ordered 9 pcs of salmon (Atlantic farmed), 2pcs spicy scallop, flying fish roe, tamago, nigiri sushi. 4 pcs raw oyster, beef sashimi, salmon roll, spicy chopped scallop roll, and spicy tuna roll. All the food was what you would expect from a decent Japanese sushi place. Nothing stood out of the ordinary, except for the beef sashimi. The price for two was reasonable; $32.00 plus tips for the meal.

Until they get a uniform for the chefs, can't say when I'll be back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Pretty decent, would go back if I can find parking
By pompey of Vancouver (41 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 19, 2009 - 2:42am [Dine in]

This was our third attempt at Matsuyama. The first two were aborted because we couldn't find parking! Of course I can say the same for any restaurant along Alexander Road. The third time was a charm as we were lucky to park at a spot just vacated. When we got there, it was quite busy (which explains why their parking lot is always full). We arrived at 8:45pm and noticed there were specials starting at 9pm. However, the waitress said it was alright for us to order before 9pm. I ordered the standard fare consisting of nigiri sushi, rolls, udon and so forth. I was quite pleased with the food because it was prepared nicely. Some places they serve you frozen fish (ie....hurried thawing). Everything was just right with the good food and good value. We'll certainly go back, but that depends on parking!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Solid go-to place
By imonaplain of Richmond (39 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 14, 2009 - 1:06am [Dine in]

Ok, so I come here so often that sometimes I'm a little embarrassed to be back so soon but hey they offer great food for the value. I mainly go for the late-night 9pm special, which gets crazy busy during the weekends.

What impresses me most about this place is their solid consistency, the food is always presented nicely and tastes above-average for a non-Izakaya Japanese restaurant in Richmond. The agedashi tofu is remarkably tasty, and the salmon is probably farmed but at least it doesn't have a fishy taste to it. Nice portions. Good tempura, and teriyaki. I love oyster motoyaki's and they have a great sauce but the oysters itself are never quite fresh I find - and I'm kind of skeptical about the shells they use since I have a feeling they are re-used. Kind of gross now that I think about it, I hope its not the case but it is simply too expensive for a Japanese restaurant to offer all-you-can-eat quantities of oysters by the shell, thats why so many cheap AYCE places put their motoyaki in those tin things.

Service is ok, never been really blown away, sometimes it's hard to get their attention but the food comes out fairly quickly.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Only worth it after 9pm!
By cee-licious of Vancouver (37 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 1:32pm [Dine in]

Pretty decent food and price only if its after 9pm. Had beef udon and beef sashimi both at 4.95 each. The udon was served in a large bowl and was definitely filling. Tried their sushi here before and just tastes like jap-wannabe sushi. Sushi itself is large but not of high quality. Nice looking restaurant though. Very clean and newly renovated. But will only come after 9pm.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great late night value
By yumyumlu of Vancouver (22 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, May 10, 2009 - 10:28pm [Dine in]

The late night menu is great when you want to grab a bite between 9pm and 12am. If there were no other options, I would definitely return. We had a few pieces of nigri sushi, sashimi, and a chopped scallop roll. The salmon sashimi was quite slimy and one of my pieces of fish smelled a little odd. I don't think we'll go back unless there's no where else to grab late night sushi. The value was great though...but I guess the explains the fish. Maybe we'll try the cooked food next time...if there is a next time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Matsuyama one of my favourites
By juston_cha of Vancouver West (16 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, September 24, 2008 - 8:25pm [Dine in]

One of my favourite sushi places in lower mainland, Matsuyama is an extremely affordable place to eat with very good sushi. Although place feels somewhat dirty and floors are sticky, the lighting is great and has a North American Japanese restaurant feel. And the service is friendly, Has an X factor that just keeps me coming back, not quite sure what though. Worth trying and finding out.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good for Certain Items
By anners of Richmond (14 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, May 12, 2008 - 11:15am [Dine in]

It's hit or miss with Matsuyama. The first time I went there I really liked it but afterwards, upon trying other menu items, I was disappointed. I loved the spicy tuna sashimi - extremely tender and the sauce they use is really really good. The service there is also pretty exceptional. There is one guy who is always there (I think he might be the manager but I'm just guessing) who is very nice and accommodating. I wouldn't recommend the rolls or the tempura. I didn't think it was possible to do any wrong with tempura (all you do is deep fry is after all) but their tempura is never very good - wayyyy too much batter. However, the sashimi is generally pretty good so if you're in the mood for a light meal Matsuyama can be a good place to go. The decor is simple and nothing fancy but it's really clean and the pricing is reasonable.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Best Hamachi in Vancouver
By uncle_junior of Cambie, Vancouver (13 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 4:02pm [Dine in]

A friend recommended this to us - apparently they've been around for a while but were closed for a year because of a fire.

For 18 bucks you get the largest, freshest and best tasting hamachi sashimi. Tojo's will probably charge you more than double for it. Kudos as well to their mirugai and toro sashimi.

Their rolls are very generous, tasty, and well priced. Best Japanese food value, I think.

Parking sucks, though. One time I parked all the way in Lansdowne Mall's parking lot.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
can't get enough of their late nite menu
By ms-sunshine of Vancouver (9 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, March 1, 2007 - 3:03pm [Dine in]

first of all, their late nite menu starts at 9pm. i find their standard to be very consistent - always very good. we usually start off with the agadashi tofu, maybe a miso soup. they've never skimped out on the sashimi. my favorites are chopped scallop and toro. my bf favs are salmon, amaebi, negitoro, and spicy tuna. their beef sashimi is average. and don't forget to order the oyster motoyaki, yum yum. if you're not a big fan of "raw" food, no worried, they have a pretty big selection of cooked food too. i've experienced their california roll (huge) and beef teriyaki roll, not bad.
service is typical of most asian rest.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Late Night.
By utonium of Surrey (8 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 1, 2011 - 10:00pm [Dine in]

It is usually busy whenever we go (later than 9pm), and a handful of times where we had to wait at the front. The longest I've waited for a table for 2 was probably 15-20 minutes? It was too long, but our food made up for it!
We usually go there to order from their Late Night Special Menu (dine-in only). $2.99 maki sushi and $0.89 for their nigiri sushi...♥ Like someone else said, if you are craving AYCE, then go here! It is much better quality and value for the food.
Service: I have never encountered any problems here. Our food come out fast. The servers are typically very busy (so they are not too attentive) but friendly when we ask them for something. You just need to ask them or remind them for whatever you need.
Love Matsuyama!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Just a Solid Okay
By bling of Vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, April 7, 2008 - 2:11pm [Dine in]

Food: my boyfriend and i ordered the teriyaki chicken and tempura hot plate. the teriyaki chicken contained so much fat (overall it was half meat and half fat) and it was also really SOGGY. the tempura was good, fresh and warm though. we also ordered a california roll which was packed with a lot of rice (yuck) and did not really stand out either.
the miso soup tasted alright, a bit sour and not even hot =(

Service: the servers did not serve the miso soup to us until we were finished eating our meal and we had to ASK for the miso soup. they said they forgot about the soups (again, the soup was not even hot) they did not even check on our table and it was not busy during that time.

Ambiance: it is kind of dark and gloomy in the restaurant. they need to renovate the restaurant into a brighter, happier atmosphere!

my boyfriend asked me, would you go back there? i said, no comment, sorry.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
One of the better Sushi places
By StringerBell of Steveston, BC (6 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, December 22, 2011 - 8:24pm [Dine in]

I've been here many times and I never leave disappointed. It's not your typical sushi restaurant. It reminds me of Sushi Garden in that the quality and presentation of the Sushi rocks. They have a large selection of sushi and they serve big portions so you get your money's worth. I will go back again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Late-night cheap eats are a good deal!
By unisushi of Vancouver (6 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, June 29, 2010 - 11:27pm [Dine in]

I like Matsuyama and I go often. They have good deals for their late-night menu. So good that you're guaranteed a 15-20 minute wait around 9:30pm or so. Reservations may not be fulfilled in a timely manner due to how jam-packed it is.

But the service is efficient, the servers are friendly but they are busy busy busy! It's hard to find them sometimes cause they're running all over the place fulfilling orders or cleaning up.

The food is solid but I've had my fair share of mediocre experiences here (e.g. fish scale in the sashimi, food not coming but ending up on the bill, really off chopped scallop, lukewarm noodle bowls) but it's cheap and busy!

Value is great for late night! $1.99 for cones and good Sashimi combos. Check the door for a special of that day (which is pretty well priced) you will often find items not on the late-night menu there but at a reasonable price (e.g. soft-shell crab).

The ambiance is loud. There's TVs going (often playing sports games) so it's a hit with Hockey fans and constant loud talking over the general noise.

They take Visa, Mastercard and AMEX.

Parking is horrendous here as it shares the spaces with several other restaurants.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
i love matsuyama.
By davidson of richmond, bc (6 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, April 20, 2008 - 2:50am [Dine in]

Order BOX A and when it arrives at your table, consider what you get in the box vs. how much you're paying for it, and then eat it. You will probably love Matsuyama too.

(If you are not very hungry, order BOX A and eat everything except the Chicken Teriyaki, which you can save for lunch the next day!) I always think that this is my signature move, but I bet a lot of people do it too.

If BOX A doesn't convince you, try the late night menu after 9pm. In particular: Crab & Tobiko Salad, Agedashi Tofu, Ebi Sunomono, and whatever sushi you enjoy - they are all great.

Chawan Mushi is good too.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Best Cheap Sushi in Richmond
By Lexamark of Richmond (6 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, July 19, 2007 - 10:30pm [Dine in]

Go there. If it's between 9PM and 1AM, stop reading this review and go there now. You will never want late-night All You Can Eat again.

As much as I adore Matsuyama, I wouldn't go there for anything but their late-night, as their rolls/robata are comparatively expensive

They have a huge menu of reduced-priced items available after 9PM every night. There is far more selection than AYCE places, and you can order off that menu AND their regular menu at the same table!

Nearly every item on this list is popular. It's not the best Japanese food in Richmond, but for $0.79 pieces, you can't go wrong.

I highly recommend trying the Beef Sashimi - You know you're curious! It's lovely and tangy. My boyfriend and I fight over the onions used as a garnish it's so yummy.

You can easily eat your fill for less than the average AYCE total of 11.95.

Another outstanding bonus: They deliver. YES. FINALLY. They have a minimum order of $25, but this is easy to accomplish as you can't get the late night menu prices. We order all the time (about once a week actually) and they drive all the way out to Steveston and No.2 Rd, so they'll go pretty far (unlike a lot of asian places in Richmond it seems)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found