Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3
  • Food3
  • Service3
  • Value2.5
  • Ambiance4
  • Reviews52

Blue Canoe Waterfront Restaurant

3866 Bayview Street, #140
Richmond, BC V7E4R7
Tel: (604) 275-7811 Reserve Online
  • Cuisine: Seafood
  • Price: $$$ ($30 - $45)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • Service: Takeout
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Features: Ocean Wise, Patio, View, Television, Wheelchair accessible
  • Hours: Mon - Thu: 11:30AM - 11PM, Fri - Sat: 11:30AM - 12AM, Sun: 11:30AM - 11PM
  • Located right on the Bayview pier in Steveston, the Blue Canoe offers an unparalleled view of the river. The newly renovated space has a 92-seat upscale-casual style restaurant & lounge as well as a seasonal 100-seat patio space.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 52 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Great Seafood restaurant
By cocoeater of vancouver (323 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 1, 2010 - 9:42am [Dine in]

Went during the week and sat by the waterside, a great view of the river. Started with the chicken drummettes. Nice and crispy with a bit of soy and ginger flavour. Shared some mussels which were very good and lots of garlic. Then had the sable fish and shellfish pasta. Very good fish and lots of mussels and clams. A bit too much roasted garlic for me but overall a great dish. Lots of bottled beers to choose from. Service was very good with the value to be just OK. Love to come back during the summer and have dinner on the deck.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
This Canoe Is Seaworthy
By diner40 of Vancouver (95 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 27, 2009 - 10:41am [Dine in]

Went to the Blue Canoe last night for a early Boxing Day meal and was not disappointed in the least. My dining partners and I arrived shortly after five and were quickly greeted by a very cheery fellow who took us to our table.

Shortly thereafter our server arrived and explained to us in detail the specials for the night. Very impressive and he didn't leave out a thing. One of my dining partners and myself went to share the two piece halibut fish and chips plus an order of the curry mussels. The other dining partner ordered the sable fish.

After a short wait our meals arrived. The halibut fish and chips was a very generous portion and the thing I liked most about it was the fact that it was very light on the batter. Nothing worse than an over battered piece of fish that you tend to get at many restaurants. Here they cook it just right. The fish was generous and very tasty. The fish came with a nice helping of their homemade fries which were not greasy but delicious.

The mussels were again a very generous portion but the curry flavour really didn't come through at all, so was disappointed somewhat with the mussels.

The sable fish looked big and delicious which it was as reported to us by our other dining partner.

Our server was a very friendly guy and there when we needed him. Great service, keep in mind it was early and we were about the only table in the place but still they made us feel welcome and were prompt and courteous.

I recommend this dining spot. If you like your fish, this place is a must visit.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Extremely dissapointing
By imonaplain of Richmond (39 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, July 5, 2008 - 5:31am [Dine in]

After months of anticipation and delays, a couple friends and I decided to try out this new replacement for Jakes on the Pier and we all agreed that it was a huge let-down. After waiting over 25mins for appetizers/entrees, a friend who joined us for dinner and received his meal before the rest of us because the kitchen "slipped up". The calamari was so bland and plain it tasted like fried oil, and the burgers resembled processed McDonald patties. Ridiculously over-priced menu for the quality served. Will not be returning.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Beautiful view!
By crazee_turtle of Richmond , BC (38 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 29, 2011 - 10:59pm [Dine in]

Food: I ordered a seafood spinach salad. It was a really nice meal but it was really small and not filling. There were a few pieces of salmon, some mussles and clams. I would have liked more greens too, to be honest! But overall it was a good salad.
Service: Very nice service! The hostess gave us water right away, which was really nice because it was a hot day. And our server was super friendly and approachable.
Value: My salad came to about $20, so it was really expensive for a salad but I expected to pay a bit here. So if you're tight on money, definitely wouldn't come here. But if you want to splurge a little on some good seafood, this is a good place to try!
Ambiance. My friend and I sat on the patio with a beautiful view. It's great!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
The waterfront view makes up for mediocre food.
By SKTraveler of Vancouver (33 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 21, 2011 - 3:15pm [Dine in]

I have eaten at the Blue Canoe a couple of times, and each time I liked my meal enough I guess, but it sure didn't wow me. The menu seemed boring and uninspired and needed more selection. The meals were small, though cooked well with appealing presentation, but the dishes were priced fairly high. I expected more from a place with so much going for it. On a positive note, the service was excellent, with friendly hosts and servers and the restaurant and view were great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
pay for view, food????
By byrdman of richmond (29 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 2, 2008 - 3:16pm [Dine in]

So I went up with the famile to checkout the buzz.
First the good - The ceasar salad was good and big, though clearly from a bottle, maybe some garlic added. The salmon was good though clearly forgotten as it appeared about ten minutes after everything else. We tried vigorously to get someones attention but were obviously ignored until the salmon apeared.
Now the bad, 3 entrees and 3 appies were tasteless and tiny, like a $200 11 course meal tiny. I could go into detail, but I will not as the kinks will hopefully get worked out once the ridiculously busy summer season on the docks is over.
The service was inept, were told there was no specials, than the server 2 tables down recites specials, so I ask again. "Oh sorry I just started and did not know them. Well than soberup, she rankedof booze I had poured her all afternoon at my work and take off the shade inside. Seriously where is management to cut stumbling servers. My second visit differeent server same cluelessness.
There is one (latin looking) girl that is on the ball,t she always serves on the window and prime dockside. Memo to self make resos in her section.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

GREAT view - Yaletown pricing
By dai_lo of Yaletown, Vancouver (26 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 13, 2009 - 9:48am [Dine in]

It's always nice to have a fresh-face in historic Steveston and this place is very appealing however their prices seem rather ambitious. I suppose they're trying to capture the new-yuppie $$ - however Steveston/Richmond is still the burbs and Yaletown pricing is inappropriate.

This dishes were nice and tasty (kinda like a Cactus Club/Earls/Joeys) but nothing exceptional. Stil kinda neat place to go and socialize (blankets for deck patrons are a nice touch)

Probably hippest new spot in Steveston

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
New favourite on the waterfront
By redfish of Richmond (23 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, December 11, 2008 - 6:43pm [Dine in]

After several visits to the Blue Canoe in Steveston (Richmond), it is my new favourite restaurant on the waterfront. The dinner menu has had several creative and tasty additions on the seasonal sheet, the service is invariably friendly, the ambience is cozy and welcoming, and there is a beautiful view as a big bonus. On the regular menu among the dishes I would recommend are the plump mussels with chorizo, served with bread and wonderful fries. The steak with lobster butter and thyme potatoes is one of the very best I have ever had. Salads are delicious too, in particular the chicken, apricot and brie selection, as well as the Canoe salad. Some bread would be a welcome addition to some dishes, such as the main course salads. On the seasonal sheet the sage gnocchi were fabulous, served with a skewer of scallops adn vegetables. There are many other very creative choices, including lamb, pork and a variety of seafood dishes, all prepared with imagination. Among the made on the premises desserts the ganache is a true stand-out; plenty to share. Some of the cocktails are unique creations and there is an ample wine list. Heated seating is available outside and there is a cozy fireplace inside. A great addition to the waterfront!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Solid waterfront dining
By ngibzak of Burnaby (22 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 8, 2009 - 11:41am [Dine in]

Am somewhat of a fan of the Blue Canoe, having patronized this restaurant at least three or four times since last Fall. Of those, only the last visit was disappointing. On that occasion, our party of three was seated at a table clearly meant for two – partly our fault for coming on a busy night without reservations, although we would’ve waited fifteen minutes for a bigger table – and my otherwise beautiful tuna steak came out almost fully cooked through. Meh. Undeterred, I decided to give it another try this past weekend. After a long day of hiking, a relaxing al fresco meal at the Steveston Pier seemed like just the thing.

We arrived late afternoon, a little ahead of the dinner crowd, to find the patio already crammed with patrons. Luckily, there were still a few tables open and we were able to take our seats right away. Our server (friendly guy, didn’t give his name) came over promptly to take our drink orders and get the ball rolling.

After some indecision, the girlfriend decided to go with the mussels, clams and fries, in a Thai broth. She definitely wasn’t short-changed in the shellfish department. When the bowl came, I was impressed by the sheer volume piled into it. The broth was nice, too – subtly sweet and not overpowering. Girlfriend’s only complaint was that there was a bit too much grit and broken shell hidden in the broth. A little can be expected, but I recall seeing her pick sand off her tongue more than a few times.

Wanting something lighter, and despite our server’s warning that some people don’t like the tarragon used in it, I ordered the crab and avocado sandwich. I happen to like tarragon, and was actually a little disappointed I couldn’t detect it. Neither could the girlfriend. Nevertheless, I thought the sandwich was very good. As with the girlfriend’s dish, there was no shortage of seafood given. About the only change I’d suggest (aside from an extra sprinkling of tarragon) would be to replace the bun with a nice grilled sourdough. That’d knock it out of the park, I think.

Ambiance wise, it’s hard to beat the Blue Canoe’s patio on a warm summer evening. The breeze, the sunset and the fishing boats bobbing a short distance away can make for a magical experience – along with the food, of course. Service was good, as well. We actually got a chuckle out of it, actually, as we must’ve had three different people come by our table asking if they could clear our plates. And as for price, well, it is Steveston, so there’s a small premium to be paid.

Overall though, considering the quality of the food, the casual-cool ambiance, and decent service, the Blue Canoe’s worth the little extra.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
GM saved the day
By orbisnova of Langley (19 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, June 26, 2012 - 3:27pm [Dine in]

Went here for lunch with the mother in law on a monday. Waited at front to be sat on the patio. We actually had to go in to be sat, which we didnt know, until we saw a group of ladies behind us being sat.

It was a nice sunny day, so great day to be on the patio. We were sat by a gentlemen. (at first we were not impressed that we didnt get any acknowledgement at the front, only a few glares)

He came by to get drinks for us. He said they make the best margaritas. My mother in law said 'double'. I had a ginger guava orange drink (sadly cant remember the name. ) It is my favorite summer cocktail!

We ordered the rustic flatbread and soy drummettes and a side of fries. Ive also had the lobster macaroni here before. Very yummy.

Great ambiance, great view, great food! In the end we found out that our server was the General Manager Colin. He welcomed us back and we definately will be back!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great!
By stellah of richmond (14 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 7, 2008 - 7:46pm [Dine in]

Have been many times, and each and every time the food, service and views improve! Great burgers, fish and chips, and the new seafood fresh sheet make for delicious dining choices. Good wine list, and mixed drinks are fine! The owner/manager, Jim, makes us feel very welcome. Desserts are yummy - especially the lemon square! This is our favourite casual Steveston restaurant. We love sitting outside in the summer, and like the warm fireplace in the winter!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sweet patio but not worth $$$
By KenWard of Richmond (13 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 9, 2008 - 2:38am [Dine in]

Love the feel and the concept but the menu looks like a ripoff of almost every other mainstream restaurant. Ahi Tuna, calamari, pastas etc...

If the price were in line with the calibre of food I'd give a higher rating but they really need to fine tune not necessarily the menu but the quality of food. Ahi Tuna tasted ultra soggy on a bed of mixed greens, calamari tasted bland and the apple crumble wasn't what I expected. Seemed like some sponge cake or bread at the bottom of a crumble?

Bill was just over 100$ between my date and I and I think it should be in the 60-70$ range.

The patio however had an unbeatable view and they'll do well with the tourists for sure.

Service ended up being somewhat satisfactory but they seemed understaffed ine the serving dpartement. Three hostesses and we were never assigned a server. Waited nearly 25mins before we got a drink order taken.

When will Steveston have a truly great modern style resturants so we don't have to go downtown for it?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
NIce new Restaurant in Steveston
By JJWOW of richmond (10 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 28, 2009 - 12:14pm [Dine in]

Was here a few weeks ago with friends, hoping for a nice lunch.....
The place itself is nicely renovated from what it was before and it stands out from the other restaurants on the wharf.
so hopes for a nice lunch was high... ordered our food, took maybe 30 mins for couple of sandwiches to be prepared in a less then half full restaurant. hmmmm
once we go our food, we all looked at each other and laughed cuz for we were expecting a lil bit bigger portions than what we received. The slider wasn't good either. patty from my point of view was deep fried.

so we left still hungry and unsatisfied.
NIce new Restaurant in Steveston that's about it.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Been Twice and Will Return
By k8bouch of Main Street, Vancouver (9 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 5, 2008 - 5:23pm [Dine in]

I have been to the Blue Canoe twice and will return. Both experiences were positive. The first time was with a group of girlfriends for lunch on a Friday. We had a reservation, luckily, and were seated right away at a gorgeous booth inside. I love the ambiance and decor - it is so much more contemporary than other Steveston restaurants and I hope more start to look and feel like this.

All the girls ordered something different and everyone enjoyed their meals. We started off with some appetizers - calamari was great and different that I am used to(not as greasy). The corn bread was very good as well. I had the avocado and crab sandwich, which was delicious (albeit a bit small looking but I was quite satisfied at the end). Others ordered yummy entree salads and someone got a hamburger which was just okay. Service was good.

The second trip was with my husband. We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday. Got the calamari again, and the crab sandwich because I liked it so much last time. Hubby had the halibut and chips. He enjoyed it but thought it was a bit too expensive for what you received and for being on a lunch menu.

Only negatives I noticed both times were that the kitchen was a bit slow and that the 45 min to 1hr wait for a table seemed unnecessary (many were open but they must have been understaffed). I think that both of these problems can be fixed with a bit more experience.

Overall, good experience and will return!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good this time
By madkins of vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, November 27, 2014 - 10:29pm [Dine in]

Service is kind of spotty I must admit, sometimes good and sometimes bad. This time around it was good though. My boyfriend and I came in for lunch, I was kind of skeptical because last time when I came with a group of friends (we were seven) we were largely ignored by our waiter and when our food came, it was cold and the poutine tasted soggy.

I guess Blue Canoe was having a good day because we were served almost instantly. We choose a seat at the patio and the waiter we got was prompt and really helpful. The food this time around was so-so though, except for the tuna ceviche. I loved that it was gluten-free. My boyfriend found his paella to be lacking.

Wouldn't recommend this place for a date or if you are looking for a quiet dinner though. There are TV screens everywhere and people come in for a game.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Think Twice About the Blue Canoe
By bixby of south surrey (8 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 29, 2014 - 10:08pm [Dine in]

A friend and I had lunch at the Blue Canoe in mid-June. Great location, the wait staff were great, but the food left much to be desired. So much so that my friend, who had the beef sliders, ended up with food poisoning. The salmon on my salad was unde rcooked, but passable. A call to management to inform them of the food poisoning was received indifferently. Not good enough, in my opinion. Definitely not going back, view or no view.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Nothing Special & Got bad service on this visit.
By utonium of Surrey (8 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 1:59am [Dine in]

It was a beautiful, sunny day at Steveston when my boyfriend and I decided to have lunch at one of the restaurants. I used to come here a lot in the past with my family, and vaguely remember that we had good experiences here with the food. I thought that it would be nice to have a try again.
We got a table out on the patio and were given menus. Waitress came by and asked if we were ready to order, but we needed a couple more minutes. She never came back. We were not even asked for any drinks. I'm a server too, and the first thing you need to do is get the drinks out! So after being ignored, yes- ignored for about 20 minutes (I kid you not, the bf tried to call a different waitress who was cleaning a table near us, and I am pretttyyyy sure she heard, but she shuffled away)- we finally were able to stop a waiter. We ordered clam chowder and fish and chips. We also asked for a glass of water and Iced Tea.
And then, the wait for the food began. I don't know, it was probably another 20 minutes? That's not the best part though. I think the whole team of servers passed by our table and not one of them realized we were sitting there with an empty table. I didn't ask them for our drinks because I wanted to see how long it would take them to realize we didn't have any drinks yet. So then the food finally came. The waiter came out with them and dropped it on our table, said Enjoy, and turned on his heels so quickly I almost- allllmosttt thought he wouldn't hear me. I said Can we get our drinks? A turn of his head and he sputtered out "Whhaat?" I repeated "Can. we. please. get. our. drinks."
"Oh... what did you order?"
Gosh. A different waitress came out with our drinks (thank you). Seriously, who was our server? Or are you guys not assigned tables? The clam chowder was amazing. 3 stars for that. I might, just might return only for this chowder. The fish was so damn crispy, it crumbled when I tried to stick the fork through it. Not impressed. Hopefully you guys see this review and change up your service. Or at least check on your customers once in a while. Please?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Downtown Steveston
By wee_skye of Richmond (8 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 8, 2009 - 10:48am [Dine in]

We had just gotten home, when friends came to see us and take us out for dinner! Well who is going to say no to that. the restaurant we had planned on going to was closed on Mondays! Rats! Hubby suggested we try the Blue Canoe...good choice.! We thought about sitting outside as they have heaters and blankets for snugglling, but finally realized it was just a little too cool. The inside of the restaurant is great, mirrors on the walls mean you don't have to turn around to see the boats and water view. Wait staff were wonderful, suggesting wines for us. Food was good, tried their Ahi Tuna, some of us for the first time. It was great! Could have been a little more avacado in the sandwich, but it was such a little detail. Deserts are absolutely decadent......leave room!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A good dining experience - with view!
By elouise50 of Tsawwassen (7 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, July 18, 2008 - 10:30am [Dine in]

First of all, we've been looking for a new (to us) restaurant that combines view, service and food without having to go all the way into Vancouver. After reading the previous reviews, we thought we'd give Blue Canoe a try.

We went on a sunny, Monday evening without reservations. We were promptly greeted by the hostess and given the option of sitting on the patio or inside. Since it was a little breezy, we asked if there was a window table inside. She said there were two and offered to show us first before we made up our minds. We chose to sit inside with a view overlooking the patio and fishing boats.

Our server was prompt, friendly and helpful. He told us they were out of the first wine we requested, but had a couple of good alternative suggestions. Likewise, when I ordered the Seared Ahi, he made sure I understood that it was more "salad-like" than some people expected - i.e. it comes sliced on a bed of greens with a light vinaigrette, rather than like a tuna steak.

For starters, I had crab cakes and hubby had the chowder. The crab cakes were very good; a bit chunkier in style than I've had them, but I liked them a lot. My husband who tries the house chowder wherever we go, declared it "pretty good", not the best he's had, but good enough to have again.. I did have the Seared Ahi which was fresh, and perfectly done. I didn't care for the sliced hard-cooked egg on the side which reminded me of a Cobb Salad, but that's just me. My husband had the Prawn linguine which he proclaimed very good. For dessert, we shared the lemon meringue pie. It was large and we couldn't finish it. Our server had warned us that the meringue was done a bit differently and, for me, it was the meringue that I didn't care for; being a bit too watery and sweet.

Overall, I think the food merits a 3 1/2 stars, not quite outstanding, but better than average. Service was very good and the location is terrific.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A place that is improving
By davebc of Richmond (6 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 16, 2008 - 9:26am [Dine in]

Have gone to the Blue Canoe several times since it has opened and have noticed dramatic improvements in everything since then.

To start off, food overall is good, but some dishes can be lacking. I highly recommend the chicken drumettes, and the burger is pretty good as well.

I'm not quite sure what is up with the servers there. Some days it is quite good, others we won't see our server for 30 minutes and have to ask another to get us what we need.

Food prices are expensive, however their beer selection is very good with a selection of great microbrews at reasonable costs.

Of course you can't go wrong with their great patio area. Now that summer is fading away, it'll be a shame not to be able to use it.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found