Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

soiepuVancouverSince December 30, 200616 Reviews
Average Rating
2 (2.2)
  • Food2.5 (2.4)
  • Service2 (2.2)
  • Value2 (2)
  • Ambiance2.5 (2.7)

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 16 of 16 Reviews Found
Maguro Japanese Restaurant10090 152nd Street, #141, Surrey
Fresh Homemade Korean and Japanese Food
Submitted Saturday, March 17, 2012 - 9:48pm [Dine in]

We dined at Maguro twice and twice it did not disappoint us. This restaurant has good food value and quiet ambiance. The menu is huge; they serve both Korean and sushi including bento boxes. Yes it is a bit more expensive than Guildford sushi (but cheaper than other sushi+korean in the neighbourhood) but the quality and quantity of food here are definitely most satisfying.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Deer Garden Signatures8580 Alexandra Road, #2015, Richmond
Tasty Soup
Submitted Thursday, August 18, 2011 - 12:04pm [Dine in]

After dining there twice, I told my husband: "I think I will really miss their soup if I ever move away from Vancouver."

They have a pretty extensive menu including a variety of noodle soup and typical HK cafe dishes. They did increase the noodle soup price to $7.95 from $7.5 but it is still a good value. Both times we ordered their famous fish soups which were consistently good and filling. The hot drinks that came with the soups were very thin but oh well...

The service was OK and the environment was loud, given that the restaurant was not big and yet it was packed in addition to many people in queue.

They do not take reservation for three guests or fewer, which is a deterrent since we do not appreciate waiting 1+ hours for a bowl of soup. Nevertheless, we will go back when we are able to make a reservation for a bigger group of people.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Memphis Blues Barbeque House18690 Fraser Highway, Unit 302, Surrey
OK BBQ; not authentic and not cheap
Submitted Tuesday, August 2, 2011 - 10:23pm [Dine in]

My husband lived in the South for 7 years and he said this is definitely not Tennessee-style BBQ as they claimed it to be. I thought the flavour was OK but it was a bit pricey.

The meat was greasy. The sides were nothing to be desired. The baked beans were wayyyy too salty. The fries tasted old and dry. We did not try the corn bread that came with our meal -- a tiny crumby chunk of yellow dough was not appetizing.

The servers were friendly and the restaurant looked pretty clean.

We were not too impressed with the overall value and will not be back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Richmond Sushi8388 Capstan Way, #1488, Richmond
All you can eat, now with a reduced menu, higher price
Submitted Saturday, June 4, 2011 - 10:46am [Dine in]

You get what you pay for -- we usually do not have high expectations toward all-you-can-eat places. This is why we go to places like Richmond Sushi. They were not bad amongst AYCE restaurants. Nevertheless, yesterday's visit was quite an disappointment. They raised the price, and reduced the menu. There were a few our favorites that were cut from the menu. We also noticed that the raw fish was not fresh.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Dae Bak Bon Ga1947 West 4th Ave, Vancouver
How bad could it get? All of us refuse to go back, ever.
Submitted Thursday, May 19, 2011 - 10:53am [Dine in]

We visited this restaurant due to "good reviews". The whole meal was a huge disappointment. This restaurant is very expensive in terms of food value. The taste was not authentic. We had 8 people so we ordered a lot of food. In the end, we all left hungry. We ordered the seafood pancake, $14.95, and it was a very small pancake about 5 inch in diameter. Another example, soft tofu stew, $8.95 each and there was only tofu inside while other Korean restaurants would add seafood or meat at same or lower price. Potato noodle with seafood, $15.95, the noodle was so little we felt so cheated. The bottom line, the restaurant is a BIG rip-off. We were there on a Saturday from 11am to 2pm, we were the only customer in the restaurant during the whole time! Was it because they have such a bad business they had to sacrifice food quality and quantity and try to get as much out from us as possible?!

Last but not least, the service was very poor. The waitress showed us her unhappy poker face the whole time. We rarely felt so dissatisfied about a restaurant but they are bad enough to warrant some warning to others on this website. In the end, they automatically charged us 15% tip because of our group size -- for such a poor service?! There are plenty of Korean restaurants out there you could try, but this restaurant certainly is the worst one in almost all areas. (If there was a bit comfort about this place -- it looked quite clean from outside)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sushi King House8176 Granville Street, Vancouver
One of the Best Jumbo Sushi in Town
Submitted Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 9:41pm [Take-out]

This restaurant is clearly one of the best "fast food" sushi places in town. Don't expect to get an authentic Japanese fare -- you got what you pay for but the value is great. Their jumbo sushi are so much tastier then those of by the Samuri sushi group (another jumbo sushi joint). They are not stingy on fillings. We ordered smoked salmon maki and we did get large chunks of smoked salmon. Their quality is consistent throughout the years.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Closed
Legendary Noodle4191 Main Street, Vancouver
Where is the meat?
Submitted Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 9:28pm [Dine in]

This is the very first time we asked to see the chef. Why? We ordered a large meat noodle soup, and we saw only a few tiny cubes of meat, and most of them were fatty. We refused to be treated like idiots so we talked to the waitress who did not know a thing about customer service. Then we had to ask to see the manager/chef. They saw our dish and apologized, saying they had mistakenly thought we ordered a small bowl. Fine. We also ordered another dish, beef fried noodle, and we only saw ONE piece of small beef. The rest was greasy noodles, a little veggie, and lots of soy sauce. Their hand-made noodles are good, but that's the only thing that's acceptable about this small dirty place.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Fishboat15513 Marine Drive, White Rock
You called this good Fish and Chips?
Submitted Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 9:12pm [Dine in]

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews here, and we were utterly disappointed. The fish was small for the price ($9.95 for one piece, and where was the bread?!) -- we felt like we were eating the batter more than fish. The service was bad; the owners were pretty cold. They were not nice to other customers either and we wondered how they could survive? A group of people came, but they took off right after they sat down and read the menu. We will never go back to this restaurant again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Ban Chok Dee Thai Cuisine20563 Douglas Crescent, Langley
portion size wayyy too small
Submitted Thursday, January 6, 2011 - 5:39pm [Dine in]

The food tasted good, but the portion size was ridiculously small. We had lunch special -- rice, a spring roll, about 3 tablespoonful of food (very greasy), and a very small and simple salad (a few lettuce), for $8.99 + tax + tips. It was not a filling meal. The service was slow but the server did apologize.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Kerkis Greek Taverna3605 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver
Overpriced, poor service, mediocre food -- better off going elsewhere!
Submitted Saturday, July 10, 2010 - 8:32pm [Dine in]

IF the food is good, we can forget about the small portion and high prices, but NO, the food is at best mediocre.

IF the service is good, we can forget about the small portion, high prices, and the mediocre taste, but NO, the service is awful, awful, awful. The waitress was cold, arrogant, and did not seem to want our business -- who is paying who here? The service is so "unforgettable" that we will never go back to this restaurant again.

There are better Greek restaurants in the same neighbourhood where you can get fairer prices, larger portions, and better services. Don't waste your money here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Pho 99 Vietnamese Noodle House19533 Fraser Highway, Surrey
Surprisingly good Pho in Langley/Surrey
Submitted Saturday, August 1, 2009 - 12:19pm [Dine in]

We will not hesitate to visit this place again and again. The food is solid and the restaurant looks very clean and tidy. The broth is not too greasy and the meat is lean. The noodle is not over-cooked nor under-cooked. We also tried their fresh shrimp rolls and they tasted fresh although their peanut sauce tasted different from others. A good experience overall.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Luxe Chinese Seafood Restaurant19653 Willowbrook Drive, #138A, Langley
Overrated due to no competition in Langley
Submitted Saturday, August 1, 2009 - 12:10pm [Dine in]

We went there for lunch. The deco is very nice, but we went for food. The dim sum did not taste fresh; we could tell that they were reheated -- the texture of the dumpling was mushy. We have tried dim sum all over the greater Vancouver area, and this place simply fails in comparison in taste and value to other good, authentic dim sum places in Vancouver or Richmond. The choices of dim sum are few and the dim sum is definitely over-priced.

They served us tea and charged us 80 cents per person, without even asking us what kind of tea that we want. Traditionally, for dim sum, we are supposed to choose the type of tea if we are paying for it. The service was okay, average -- we did not feel welcomed but the servers were responsive when we needed help.

It is too bad that there is no dim sum competition nearby, and maybe this is why they can still survive without striving for a better food quality and value. If you are willing to settle for mediocre dim sum and pay a premium for it, this is the place. Otherwise, it is worthwhile to drive out to Vancouver/Richmond for some real dim sum treat with the same price or less expensive.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Pho Hoang Vietnamese Restaurant3388 Main Street, Vancouver
Poor Service not Worth the Visit
Submitted Sunday, February 10, 2008 - 3:24pm [Dine in]

We have tried this place a few times over the years and its service has been getting worse and worse. During our last visit, we asked for a to-go bowl for the leftover. We saw the waitress first put the lid for the bowl ON THE FLOOR before she bent down underneath the cash register to get a bowl. When we asked for a new lid, she threw us a wicked stare and loudly complained in a foreign language, and went on to complain to other co-workers. I wondered who was the customer here and who was paying who?? The service here was absolutely horrendous.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Closed
Koi Sushi7831 Westminster Highway, #100, Richmond
Poor food quality and service
Submitted Wednesday, November 7, 2007 - 1:21pm [Dine in]

Eight of us went there for all you can eat lunch. We waited for everything - 20 minutes for the waiter to come and take the order, 30 minutes for a napkin to arrive (after chasing down the server), and 3 hours to get about one third of our ordered food (and we did not order much). They not only delivered wrong items, but also poor-quality food. The sushi did not taste fresh at all. We came out hungry after spending close to $100.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Closed
Hon's Wun Tun House4600 No. 3 Rd, #101, Richmond
Solid Food, Great Service
Submitted Friday, September 14, 2007 - 4:39pm [Dine in]

For years Richmond Hon's has not disappointed us. We go there regularly. Almost everything on the menu is tasty. The dishes are solid and services are pleasant.

They chance their menu from time to time and we have tried different dishes. We especially like their soups.

They also have a take-out and frozen food section. The food is equally solid and quality is consistent.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Pearl Castle3779 Sexsmith Road, #1128, Richmond
Waited one hour WITHOUT seeing food - no apologies!
Submitted Friday, December 29, 2006 - 8:31pm [Dine in]

I think the title tells all. We waited there for one hour without seeing our food. First, we waited 30 min. before we first asked the restaurant. We were given a lame execuse - "our food is prepared fresh." We waited for another 30 min. and nothing happened. We finally decided to leave the restaurant, and they not only offered no apologies but also charged us for one drink that we ordered. We will never go there ever again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance