Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

4
  • Food4.5
  • Service4
  • Value4
  • Ambiance4
  • Reviews25

Sushi Shelter 101

1250 Dominion Ave, #102
Port Coquitlam, BC V3B8G7
Tel: (604) 464-0086
Neighbourhood: Riverwood

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 25 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Another odd sushi place
By princess123 of New Westminster BC (135 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, October 27, 2009 - 11:53am [Dine in]

I was excited when I saw this place. It looked funky and new, different from other sushi places. First time I ordered take out while waiting the waitress almost pushed me into a chair to sit and wait andthen brought out tea for me a my year old? I said it was take out and she nodded. Then she brought out some of those meat on a stick things - I told he we did not eat meat and she looked hurt. I It is complimentary she said. I told her thanks but we dont' even eat free meat. I felt really uncomfortable about the whole thing.

I tried again and took a friend for lunch. There wereno sushi rolls on the menu only combo specials. We had to beg to get them to make sushi. Again came abunch of free things we did not want or order. When se did not eat them again with the pouty face. THe sushi we finally got was fine, but I like to be kind of anonymous in a restaruant and do no tlike to feel I owe them anything except to pay the bill and tip if appropriate. THis place feels too needy for me even thought I had to give it all 3 stars.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
a place you really got to try
By Mon061582 of Port Moody (25 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, November 9, 2009 - 10:48pm [Dine in]

I totally disagree with the previous review. I dropped in one day when I went shopping at Save-On based on a friend's recommendations. The place looks really different from other traditional Jap restaurant in tri-cities. Simple, elegant and relaxing even though it's pretty small. The server is probably one of the most friendly one I've had in years. They were prompt and professional which made me totally comfortable for a first time comer. Food! Ah! PERFECTO. I thought these dishes I order would only appear in Downtown area. The chef is such an artist. the sauce around the fusion rolls - torpedo, snoopy, SOS and such, they are not just pretty , they are also tasty. What surprised me was that the garnishes around the dishes are pretty edible.
Price. pretty cheap for Japanese food. My whole family of 4 spent around 30 bucks walking out totally satisfied and stuffed.
Port Coquitlam 's got a new star. At least for me and all my friends in Port Coquitlam. Now we got a favorite place to hang out.
Like the first review said, you would truly sense a feeling of joy after you visit this place. Not kidding. You've got to try.
Oh and they shouted when you come in and out. really funny.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

fusion is fun - Why bother with the all you can eats?
By Foodfor2 of Vancouver (22 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 12:12pm [Dine in]

We've been three times to this restaurant so I'll keep most of my comments to the most recent evening out. We've decided not to go to the all you can eat restaurants in the Tri Cities anymore as this place ends up being the same price for much better quality food that's amazingly presented. We order separately but eat off of each others plates so we end up having lots of different items.

We're greeted warmly upon entering every time. The place has quite a few neat things to look at if you like vintage items. Service is fine especially since this last time, the server didn't yell out our orders so that the whole restaurant could hear like the other server had done on our previous nights out to this place. It's a small place, but this is my one peeve about this place.

Yes, they don't have nigri sushi, but big deal you can get that anywhere. What they do have is beautifully presented fusion rolls that no one else around does have. This time out we had gomae, miso soup, super shelter roll, snoopy roll and gyoza. I can't say enough about how well they do on the presentation of the food items with lots of fruit garnishes. I did have the tagine one time here and found it bland, but every other item I've had has been delicious. They also give you suckers at the end in a small vase, which even though we're not with kids is very cute.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Had Better - Not Worth It
By foodcritic81 of Vancouver (15 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, December 4, 2010 - 11:53am [Take-out]

Where to begin...I really don't like writing bad reviews but I thought I would be doing everyone who thought about going here a disservice if I didn't write this. Was visiting a friend out here and we ordered from here based on dine here reviews but was sadly disappointed. They got the order wrong but we didn't find that out until we got home and couldn't be brothered to go back. The presentation looked good but the food didn't taste nearly as good as other reviewers say it is - maybe they never had good authentic sushi? Worse part is, I have had way better sushi for less. Don't get me wrong, I don't have a problem paying a lot for good food but when the quality and taste is not there, and they charge the same as anyone else, we have a right to feel ripped off - will not be returning ever again!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Fushion Japanese Restaurant
By twcjen of Vancouver (15 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, May 13, 2010 - 8:14am [Dine in]

I love this mom and pop kind of restaurant. Its very personal. The food is always excellent. One of my favourite is the bumble bee roll. Its like a dynamite roll wrapped with a sweet potato tempura with this Mango like sauce. Another favourite is the Beef YakiUdon. Very flavourful.

Once you are seated they offer you free salad with strawberries in it. The prices are decent and the ambiance is excellent.

It maybe a bit hard to find if you dont know the area well as they are tucked behind a small street. Just look for the Archbiship Carney school or Save on Foods.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A+ !
By hishou of vancouver (14 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, October 30, 2010 - 8:56pm [Dine in]

Outstanding restaurant, just Wow ! Mostly amazed by the creativity of the chef, not only by unexpected surprises when you put a piece into your mouth, but also by his artistic presentations that beautifully entertain your eyes...imagine what kind of harmonious surprises Strawberry Sass Roll (one of sushi rolls we tried tonight) would produce in your mouth. I also liked the modest atmosphere of the restaurant; unlike other noisy Izakayas that waiters are trained to shout out "irasshaimase" whenever customers come in and out, SS101 provides mature mood by simply quietly smiling back to customers. : ) And when we got the bill at the end of the dinner, another Wow ! Definitely SS101 became one of my favorite restaurants, I am sure will visit again soon.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

What a find
By johnathan of Port Coquitlam (9 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 24, 2011 - 6:15pm [Dine in]

This place really surprised me with the whole package. Since I don't expect to find a japanese restaurant really satisfying my taste buds in the country side, this is definitely a good find.
My family and I drove by after Costco and saw their sign beside Save-on-food. Looks pretty nice from the
outside and we were afraid to go in since it's pretty tiny.
But, wow, the food was awesome. Every dish was nicely presented and the fusion rolls, well, we didn't try all at once, but a few, and they were very very different from the rolls at other places. We had snoopy, torpedo and my favourite, bumble bee under servers' recommendation. We were Totally surpised and overwhelming. All I can say is you've got to go see and eat yourself to see the differences.
The servers, they were pretty young, but attentive and friendly, so we actually started to feel comfortable under their care under a few minutes.
Value, well, I can't say they are on the cheap side,but I seriously was happy to pay for the price since I enjoy so much the atmosphere and the service and most of all the food.
Defintely, I will come back and recommend all my friends to come have a try.
On one note, they get packed really easily, so I guess I would recommend people to avoid rush hours since they only have five or six tables.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Sushi/Fusion! Yum!
By Kaiz of Burnaby (6 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 12, 2010 - 9:30am [Dine in]

If you remember one of the chefs from the now closed Maji Sushi, he now owns his own restaurant and is the head chef here. He's brought his passion for food and established this restaurant as one of THE best in the area.

Food:

Incredible! The presentation is always spot on. Basically a feast for the eyes before you get to devour the food (And devour them you certainly will!) The flavours will explode in your mouth and you will be amazed. Some favourites include the snoopy roll, the salmon sashimi and the toro tataki. The chef is always hard at work trying to create new types of rolls and other foods, and they all taste amazing. Their Lamb rolls is very good as well!

Service:

The waitresses here are always fantastic, they are always on the ball. Super friendly and will remember you after a few times going there. I'm pretty sure if you told them your name they'd remember it as well. This place has some of the best service of any restaurant i've been to.

Value:

You definitely get what you pay for. I'd say you can probably be full for about $25-30 depending on what you order. Certainly there are variations in menu item pricing, but the value is always there. They've also recently gotten their alcohol license, which is a huge plus!

Ambiance:

The deco is slightly a mush of modern and retro. Think of the fallout computer game series, and half the restaurant seems like an underground 'shelter' of sorts. Upon entering, the specials of the day are listed, along with pictures of many people that have visited the restaurant. There are about 6 tables or so as well a few stools, its not a very large place, but good enough.

Final Thoughts:

I try to get over here every few months, as it is a fair drive. I've had a birthday party (for aprx 20 guests) here as well, and i've never been disappointed by the food or anything else here. If you love Japanese food, you have GOT TO try this restaurant out. I've taken friends, family, coworkers here and they all rave about how fantastic the food is, and how this is the best Japanese food they've ever had. The only reason why it might not always be full is that it is sort of in the middle of nowhere.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A hidden gem in Port Coquitlam
By fasteddy of Coquitlam (5 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, January 26, 2012 - 5:14pm [Dine in]

Went for lunch at Sushi Shelter due to the great ratings on here. I am glad I went. The place was not busy at all and my friend and I got a table quickly. I had the sashimi salad lunch special and my friend had the Sushi Shelter Roll lunch special. Each special came with tempera chips, 2 pieces of calamari, 2 pieces of salmon type roll, a potato croquette, and fruits. I also ordered the torpedo roll (smoke salmon, tempera shrimp, tataki tuna) which is really delicious . The sashimi salad was really yummy. Big portion all around. They don't cheap out on anything. The total was around $34. A pretty good deal for all the food we had.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A Spectacular Valentine's Dinner
By firlfoodie of Coquitlam (3 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 3, 2012 - 11:14pm [Dine in]

My soon-to-be husband surprised me with a dinner at Sushi Shelter on valentine's day. All I could say throughout the meal was "SPECTACULAR". I have never been treated like they did anywhere else, well, at least not in the suburb area. This was also the first I have been here, so I was surprised my hubby was confident about this dinner which you had to make reservation beforehand to receive the special menu for the evening. It was 7 course meal plus a drink for each person for $70, at first I thought it was a bit expensive cause I would think all courses would be appy size for this kind of price. Then I was so wrong that I promised myself I would bring everybody I know to here. 7 huge dishes that we couldn't even make half way through. The most I love is the fusion trio that includes three fantastic rolls. My favorite would definitely be the tropical thunder with mango sauce. Hmmm... it's like sushi roll/dessert which was full of flavor. Then the seafood with rice was full of aroma which makes my hubby drool like crazy.(he finished the whole thing) Its like this entree with morocco tanjine container. I found it very interesting since I preferred myself as an open-mind person. So far down the menu I admire the creativity of the chef very much. Well, the lobster tail within the menu really makes me realize they actually care about the food. My my... Overall it was simply amazing to see how the chefs create the dishes and care so much that it touched my heart and satisfied my tastebuds and not make our pocket bleed all at the same time. Enough said.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Sushi Ever!!
By jendavi of Lower mainland (3 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 9:15pm [Dine in]

Chef is an artist. The presentation of the plates are always different, he keeps it decorative in a different way each time. The food tastes and looks like the food that can be ordered at Hapa or Guu in downtown but prices are a steal. I love how you can even eat the fruit garnish on the side so it's never a waste. I go there for lunches and dinners and its never disappointing. Servers are always sincere and they make me feel welcome every time I go in.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Japanese restaurant in tri-cities
By dsonline of North Vancouver (3 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, April 9, 2010 - 12:08am [Dine in]

I've been to lots of Japanese restaurants in tri-cities but Sushi Shelter just became my favorite Japanese restaurant.
When I read good reviews about Sushi shelter in dinehere.ca, I decided to give them a try and I visited there with my girlfriend 3 weeks ago.
I was having some difficult time to find the restaurant because it was located in kind of odd place.
Anyways, we ordered couple of fusion rolls(one of them was snoopy roll), croquette and sashimi melody and foods were amazaing!
Both rolls we ordered were very unique. My girlfriend especially loved snoopy roll.
Sashimi melody was really fresh and big portion!
We also had some complimentary and they were also great.
The presentation of the food was also very cute.
The service was very friendly too.
Since then, I already visited there 2 times more and I was always happy.

I highly recommend this restaurant and I think everyone will love this place.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I love this place
By waud of Port Coquitlam, B.C. (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, June 1, 2013 - 3:39pm [Dine in]

After dining at SS101 for the past few years, I always find myself coming back here. I love sushi and Japanese food, so I always try new places. Every time, I find myself always choosing SS101 over any sushi place. It is in a perfect location. A hidden gem in Port Coquitlam. The service is great, the servers are young but they are professional and attentive and kind. The chef is amazing - great presentation, flavours and overall quality. I have been here so many times and I have never left feeling disappointed! I would recommend any dish with their spic sauce. All of their sauces are made in house - and their spicy sauce is my favourite (I usually opt out of spicy food)! I will always recommend SS101 to my friends and family!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Pleasant Saturday Lunch Surprise
By epeters70 of Port Coquitlam (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, June 18, 2011 - 5:04pm [Dine in]

So my hasband and I were really sad to see our old favorite neighbourhood sushi place being replaced by a Pho... so we decided to give Sushi Shelter a try and what a pleasant saturday afternoon surprise. It was even better than our last place and a much better deal.

The ambiance was wonderful - trendy, but didn't make you feel too out of place. We just a baby, so getting out is difficult and being a "mature mom" really messes with your age identity... so this place made me feel right at home. The tables are even shaped like your dining room table, so when we sat down with kid in tow, it felt just like our dining table only in a much hipper place.

The food was OUTSTANDING! The detail included savory sauces, strawberries and slices of lotus root.

My husband had the seafood ramen and spoonful after spoonful gleamed a cheshire cat smile as he just kept bringing up seafood treasures: muscles, fish, clams, chicken, salmon, scallops, prawns... it was wonderful and all for under $10!!!

We have found a new favorite. The food and presentation is amazing. Their lunch specials (under $9) is not your typical Japanese box lunch with no-fresh salads and overly greasy tempura... this was just awesome and super filling - the amount of food was satiating and the presentation was tantilizing to the eye. True works of art. I just let their "sunshine" tempura (yams and sweet potatoes) and the chicken karage just sit there a minute so my eyes could feast too.

Thank you Sushi Shelter 101... now if I could just figure out what's with the name... my husband says it's a reference from a video game. I think it's just a shelter from all the crummy sushi places out there and reinvents Japanese foods and teaches us to re-love old favorites... kinda like English Literature 101.

Yeay Sushi Shelter!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A decent sushi meal
By leeshyp of Port Coquitlam, B.C. (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 12, 2011 - 8:19am [Dine in]

We tried out this place recently because of the great reviews on dinehere and because we were looking for a new sushi place a little closer to home. Overall we did not leave disappointed but it also wasn't the best sushi we have had. The service was great, the food was served promptly and the sushi was displayed nicely. While the food was decent it didn't have that pop that great super fresh sushi can give you.

The ambiance of the restaurant is interesting with a funky menu layout and eclectic decorations. The music was a little too dance club for my liking There are mostly larger tables with only two small tables near the front of the restaurant. Which means that if you are a group of two you are stuck looking out over a strip mall parking lot. Some blinds or shades would make those front tables more intimate.

Overall we were happy and we will likely go back but only when we want the convenience of a close location rather than venturing further afield to our preferred spots.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
What a place!!!
By yoyo520 of Coquitlam (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 12, 2010 - 10:34pm [Dine in]

I visited this place based on a friend's recommendation. He told me this was a really weird place, then I decided to come check it out with my gf. Am I glad to find this place? however, it took me half an hour to find it though.
It is a tiny restaurant so I didn't expect too much. only five tables, but when we got there it was packed. waited for 15 mins and got seated. Based on the waitress' recommendation as a first time comer, we got spicy sashimi salad, the handmade ebi gyoza, volcano roll (not on the menu but definitely got to get it! the visual effect is totally worth it) assorted tempura and SPiCY AGEDASHI TOFU !!! OMG that tofu is phenominal........I have never tasted spicy tofu this amazing. Its hard to describe to you but that is why you have got to try it yourself.
oh this restaurant is really different, we got two complimentary dishes- scallop and something really cool but cant remember the name.
The presentation is what made every dish more tasty. The chefs are truly artists. every dish has different style and color. It satisfied your eyes as well as your stomache.
The service is friendly. Our tea and water were never empty. When we needed help ordering, they were really helpful to give good suggestions (which I doubt any of the dishes could go wrong). smiles seem to be never ending for them too. Give us more pleasant feelings througout the meal.
The decor is different and we reallly like the type of music they played there. Jazzy and Japanese mixed together.
But I think they really need to get more seatings and more privacy for the table. I had seem people waiting outside for half an hour for a table which would be the downside.
Values are reasonable. Not too cheap nor expensive on the average side. Really depend what you order. Our bill came to 40 something. and some to take home.
Overall I am really glad my friend recommended to us. We will for sure be back (but reservation is neccesary ).

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sushi with a difference
By Lucia of surrey (2 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, April 18, 2010 - 12:01pm [Dine in]

My husband has been telling me about this great sushi place near his work that he just loves.
So the other day me and our new baby went to meet him for lunch. The lunch specials are great. We had the sushi salad, it comes with miso soup, the salad is full of sashimi, veggies, rice and a great dressing Then the bring you a plate of chef specials around 5 things. After you finish that they bring out some fruit to finish your meal. All of this for $8.
There is japanese pop music playing in the back ground, the waitress is not intrussive and the food was great.
I am planning to take my mom and sister there soon.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
The Best Sashimi in the area.
By joe_199 of Pitt Meadows (2 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, November 27, 2009 - 5:48pm [Dine in]

I've found it difficult to find quality sashimi in the area, but I've finally found the tastiest sashimi in the area-- if that's your thing!

Sushi Shelter has an excellent chef. His food is not only delicious but also arranged in an artsy manner.

Service was wonderful, waitress was very attentive and cheerful-- even though I was only waiting for take-out.

Highly recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Come with an empty stomach!
By foodiee48 of Gastown Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, January 8, 2012 - 5:24pm [Dine in]

I don't like to write reviews, I only like to eat good food, so for me to write one means that it was something beyond anything I've ever had.
I went to Sushi Shelter 101 last Wednesday night with friends and I think I'm going to have to go there at least once a week now.
I've travelled a lot and have eaten real Japanese cuisine before, but Sushi Shelter 101 just blew my palate away.

The presentation of the food was amazing, I've never seen sushi presented this way that didn't cost at least $20 a plate. My friends and I are adventurous eaters and we wanted to try something different, so the Snoopy Roll definitely peaked our interest. It was basically a California Roll with peanut sauce, it sounds sooo strange but man was it so tasty!
My favourite of the night was probably the Assorted Tempura, I didn't know that an order of tempura could be so big, and the Bumblebee Roll.

Service was good, friendly, efficient and on the spot. The waitress always knew when we wanted more water or tea, and she always had a smile on her face, which was nice.

My one and only complaint was that I didn't bring my camera, and that I could only eat so much. Next time I'm definitely bringing my DSLR and an extremely empty stomach.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My friend and I thought it would be good to try a new Restaurant....
By Nobueno of Poco BC (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, October 4, 2011 - 8:33pm [Dine in]

I don't do this often but I felt that I should write a review considering I went to this place based on previous reviews on this site only to be extremely disappointed with bad service, long wait times and mediocre food. I do recommend the Assorted Tempura, It was delicious. I wish there was better organization with our food order.. I mean, If I'm the only one who ordered soup, why are you putting it RIGHT in front of my friend? My friend ordered Tempura, why are you moving my plate and setting it RIGHT in front of me? I understand that people can fall under pressure, maybe another staff member would be in order? In fact, as soon as we stepped inside the restaurant we weren't even acknowledged, not a smile, "hello", nod or even eye contact, instead we waited in silence for a good five minutes where we witnessed a table of four being re seated to another table for four to allow my table of two to sit??? It made no sense!? I think the food presentation was beautiful, tasted ok for the most part, wouldn't dine there again. It was a Tuesday, I can't imagine how it would be on a Friday.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Images Found