Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food3.5
  • Service3.5
  • Value3.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews21

Koi Japanese Restaurant

2573 Shaughnessy St
Port Coquitlam, BC V3C3G3
Tel: (604) 945-6866

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 21 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Wow. What a hidden AYCE gem!
By goonboy of Burnaby (40 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, May 16, 2011 - 3:59pm [Dine in]

Somebody recommended this place and wow. Very good quality for an AYCE restaurant. Everything tasted like a la carte restaurant quality, although some of the food was on the salty side (intentionally) including the most saltiest soya sauce I have experienced in my life. The other minus was the dim lighting due to a few burnt out light bulbs. A have yet to experience a comparable AYCE sushi place. At $17.99, it is definitely worth visiting.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sushi
By Foodcriticbc of vancouver (39 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, January 22, 2007 - 9:41am [Dine in]

I recently went and dined at this restaurant. The food was average the price was a bit too much for what you got and the service was very poor. Compared to other place in the tricites I have to give this place a thumbs down.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

I wish they could cope with being busy
By Foodfor2 of Vancouver (22 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, June 22, 2012 - 3:05pm [Dine in]

I have eaten at Koi a couple times by myself or with my partner in the afternoon and on weeknights and have enjoyed it. I love the value of the all you can eat which starts at 5pm. However, we won't be back on a weekend. They obviously can't cope with having the place full and with take-out orders as well. I have now been twice with other family members and have had the server tell me 'the kitchen is screwed up'. The servers also can't keep up or are very forgetful, with bringing tea as we have had on both occasions to ask several times and then ended up serving ourselves once. We've had items ordered that have been forgotten and when you're eating with small children, having to wait 2 1/2 hours for the food that they want most is crazy.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Decent but not spectacular
By ChefRamsay of tri city (10 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 6:23pm [Dine in]

I have tried this place once. The food is decent, but I would only go again because of convenience. I think there are plenty of other japanese restaurants in the area that are better.

They have a very unique dessert. It's ice cream surrounded by bread, which is deep friend. It was interesting.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Wonderful little Japanese Restaurant in Downtown Poco
By kitina of Poco (5 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 29, 2008 - 2:18pm [Dine in]

We went for the AYCE last night, wonderful service, all of our dishes arrived in a timely manner. A little higher price wise for AYCE but the quality is exeptional. Could use more ambiance, a little less sterile environment but the food made up for it. Fairly busy for a Sunday evening in sleepy Poco! The food was so fresh, the tuna sashimi was the best I have ever had, just melted in my mouth. They have some very interesting rolls as well. We were all well fed by the time we left.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great service and great value
By Philbert of Coquitlam (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, December 20, 2011 - 3:46pm [Dine in]

I have eaten here so many times now and really recommend it. I usually go for the lunch bento boxes as they are great value. The owners are so friendly. We are always greeted and the service is very prompt. I like to take my children and they are treated very nicely here and love the food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Great Food, Great Prices, Awesome Sushi in Poco
By human_vacuum of Port Coquitlam, BC (3 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, May 27, 2010 - 4:42pm [Dine in]

Koi is our place for Sushi. We live in Poco, but used to go for sushi in Coquitlam. I went to Koi on a lunch meeting and since then it has been our place. It has a quaint atmosphere that they've tried to make it look authentic Japanese. The sushi rolls are all made fresh when you order them and just something about them puts them ahead of every other Japanese place in the area.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sushi~
By daynight of Vancouver (3 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, November 19, 2008 - 12:03am [Dine in]

Quality food here.
Love the taste and the friendly environment of the restaurant. The food are great not extremely great, but i would highly recommand this place if you are a sushi lover.
A large place so, bring your family and friends with ya!!
Also, just a tip, there's a new Wave Cafe near this restaurant, so after the delicious sushi, might want to have a seat and socialize!!
Cheers!~

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Would Never Come Again !!!!
By sam3184 of Port Coquitlam BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, November 11, 2013 - 5:18pm [Dine in]

Came back in January. Their all you can eat menu was 12$ per person and the quantities where big.

Now in September we came and the all you can eat Menu is 20$ and the quantities are small. we ordered a fair amount of food. and the server wondered if we were able to finish the food and bugged us 3 times about leaving food in the plate and the policy of being charged. they forced us to finish the rice

worst service ever.

The Sushimi was small. the food was not cooked properly

sorry hate not to leave a bad review - wished it was great - the place is great looking - but not what i excpected

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Frozen Nigiri Sushi
By ditgh of Port Coquitlam (2 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, May 31, 2010 - 1:05pm [Dine in]

I haven't tried their AYCE, but I have tried their a la carte menu. Last time I visited Koi, I really liked their Sukiyaki which is rarely on the other restaurants' menu. So I thought why not order Sukiyaki since I can't order them anywhere else, but this time, it wasn't very tasty. (Don't know why but something wasn't there..) and I really like Nigiri sushi, so I ordered Tako, Unagi, Ika, Toro etc, my usual favourites. Unagi was delicious, but other than that, all the rest were frozen! I couldn't believe it. Toro is supposed to melt on your tongue, but no.. It was so hard! and I asked them to bring me their AYCE menu.. and I saw Kamikaze Roll was on the menu. I have once tried Asahi's Kamikaze Roll (the restaurant is a block away) and I thought maybe I could take it home for my sister since she likes spicy rolls. When I got home, I opened the container, I thought they gave me a wrong roll, so I called them but no... their kamikaze roll was completely different from the one that I had tried in the past. Well, I should have confirmed what was in the roll, but I was hugely disappointed paying about $30 in total.. I heard their AYCE is less pricey than their neighbor restaurant, so maybe I should try their AYCE instead. I don't really like that the restaurant is too open, there are some booths but most of the tables are wide open.. But it's on good location though!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Quality food, with attention to detail
By craigstraalen of Port Coquitlam, BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, May 9, 2007 - 9:21am [Dine in]

Ive lived in Japan, ive eatn at many many Japanese restaurants here and there....the Koi Restaurant is very very good.

In Japan its all about quality, pride, tradition, and attention to details like texture, presentation, food temperature; nothing is over looked....very meticulous.

Have to say I was impressed! I can tell the chef cares about what he is serving. The spicy tuna sushi was higher quality not a cheap cut, the spicey sauce was excellent great texture, taste, not to salty or spicy. The miso soup was outstanding, possibly the best ive ever had. Even the rice was noticeably of higher quality. The dynamite roll was made fresh, the tempura prawn in it was hot not cold like in most other places.....

Koi Restaurant 5 stars, excellent!!!

CS

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Wouldn't go back there again
By Sbarneswork@gmail.com of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, March 23, 2013 - 11:20pm [Dine in]

Went to this place because the reviews said the food was good. I would agree with earlier reviews that the service is horrible. First it took them forever to sit us down. There were tables with no people but they were covered in dirty dishes from previous customers. The servers were not friendly and it took a while for them to take our order. The food wasn't awful but they were cheap when it came to the quality. Instead of avocado and cucumber in the rolls they put lettuce and mayo. We had many empty plates on our table and we had to ask them to take them away because we has no room for anything else we ordered. The server also came over at the end to point out that we had left some rice behind from the nigiri and we had to eat all the rice. She said she would let it go this one time... But next time we had to eat all the rice. I was actually shocked by this comment. We maybe left 25 cents worth of rice behind. What a joke this place was. Don't bother going here ever.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Wow!!!!
By Edcnorton of New west (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, January 1, 2013 - 3:40pm [Dine in]

Took a friend that was in from out of town. It was amazing. If it is out of your way I reccomend you still consider this hidden gem. 5 stars all the way! Sashimi was fresh, the rolls were amazing and the sushi cones topped it off. For 2 of us for all you can eat under $40.00 worth every penny.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good food. Terrible and forgotten service.
By Freybles of Coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 8:24pm [Dine in]

We have been here several times throughout the past year, however the service has steadily gone downhill.

Tonight was some of the worst service I have ever experienced. I know this is an all you can eat place and to not expect the world, but waiting 25 minutes for tea/water is inexcusable. Add to this the fact that not once throughout our entire meal was our tea refilled. Not even a stop at the table to ask how everything was.

Not only this, but several items from our order were forgotten including our order of rolls. When we were still at our table waiting for our rolls (at this point we thought they might still be coming since everything else came out of the kitchen at a painfully slow crawl) the server very rudely asked "Are you finished?!" and began clearing plates as to usher us to the register as fast as possible.

Needless to say no tip was given, especially since the prices have been recently raised. I am not quite sure how an establishment can raise prices while at the same time deciding to lessen customer service.

The numerous complaints we heard throughout our meal from other tables were very much warranted.

Food: Good
Service: Terrible
Value: For raised prices with that kind of service? Horrible value.
Ambiance: Clean and bright.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
BETTER than ALL others in Vancouver and Richmond!!!
By chaos24x of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, December 24, 2011 - 10:12pm [Dine in]

I've tried every AYCE (all you can eat) sushi place in Vancouver and Richmond (and that's a lot), and I've never come across a place that comes close offering the kind of food that this restaurant has to offer. While the quality of the fish is average compared to other AYCE restaurants, the HIGHLIGHT of Koi Sushi lies with the preparation and presentation of the food.

Simply put, ordering from the ayce menu is like ordering a la carte from an above average sushi restaurant. So much detail is put into the presentation of the food (eg. dried onion flakes and thin slices of curled green onion on agedashi tofu, each Katsu dish comes with japanese mayo drizzles on top and lettuce/cabbage on the bottom, etc). I mean when have you ever been served beef teriyaki and yakisoba (with the perfect vegi compliment), sizzling on a steel plate at any other AYCE place?!?!?!?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Excellent Sushi and Service!!!!
By thebigsd of Coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, July 20, 2011 - 5:37pm [Dine in]

Bottom line, the sushi was excellent and the service was very punctual and professional. The chefs even greet you when you walk in!! Best miso soup ive ever had. Nigiri was mouth watering. Sashimi was to die for. I really want you to know that Koi would NEVER serve frozen food and every employee speaks very good english. I guess you cant please every single person but me and my family were pleased beyond belief... Koi is our new AYCE sushi place!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Terrible Service!! Waitress can't speak Englaish!!
By Arther of Port Coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, November 7, 2010 - 4:09pm [Dine in]

I've given Koi not one, but five chances. Every time I go here, I always leave with a bad experience.

I went there for dinner last friday with my wife.
The food was not fresh. Everything from the sashimi to the cooked foods.

The waitress was worse than the food!!
She couldn't speak English. So obviously couldn't communicate with me!!

.I will NEVER go back again!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My favorite
By kkiimm of Coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, January 22, 2009 - 8:05pm [Dine in]

I eat here all the time and figured I should let you guys know how amazing you are. A warm welcome always. The chefs great you from behind the sushi bar and truly are happy to see you. The food is quick (as you would except for sushi) my order is always right and everything is delicious. I did a large party to-go order with many irritating requests, and every thing was perfect. I thought I ordered too much food but it was so delicious that everyone ate all of it. Koi has recently started offering an all you can eat menu, some may think the price is high but unlike many other japanese restaurants, koi puts all of the delicious rolls on the all you can eat menu. The kamikaze roll is my favorite. Top grade sushi, they definatly don't cut corners. The servers are all very pleasant and accomodating. As for one of the other comments about the cleanliness of the reasaurant, you have to consider the fact that it is a slightly older building. I work in the restaurant industry and I think you guys do a great job!!! Thanks,

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Awesome sushi, friendly staff!
By krista1979 of Port Coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, November 6, 2008 - 3:50pm [Dine in]

I live close to Koi and eat there often. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and they have a great spicy tuna roll along with tons of other options. The sashimi and sushi are also delicious, fresh and filling. The price is good and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in the area. We usually just get take out, but have eaten there once and the service was quick and the restaurant is nice and clean!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
foom Yum
By yummyroll of port coquitlam (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, November 28, 2006 - 11:21pm [Dine in]

Friend took me to koi Japanese Restaurant, a very good size restaurant, the sushi chef and staff are all very friendly. I believe they probably have the freshest sashi and you should try their chief special roll it's so good. I was suprised their kitchen staff make excellent food, I had fish kaszu, okonomiyaki and chicken yakisoba, it's delicious, high class and love price, highly recommend.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 3 of 3 Images Found