Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

2.5
  • Food3
  • Service2
  • Value2.5
  • Ambiance2.5
  • Reviews31

Honey Doughnuts and Goodies

4373 Gallant Ave
North Vancouver, BC V7G1L1
Tel: (604) 929-4988
Fax: (604) 929-1235
  • Cuisine: Cafe, Doughnuts, Sandwiches
  • Price: $ ($15 or less)
  • Hours: Mon - Sun: 6AM - 5PM
  • Honey's soft and sweet doughnuts are a Deep Cove institution. They are baked in small batches throughout the day and are snatched up very quickly. Also available at Honey's are huge sandwiches, soups and gelato.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 31 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
dirty
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 7, 2008 - 11:36pm [Dine in]

Mrs. C and I wanted to try this famous DC doughnut shop, and when the rain stopped and Mr. Sun poked out his head, we decided to seize the opportunity. The restaurant is on the main drag of DC, and parking proved to be a challenge. When we got into the shop, I was surprised at how dirty and run down it was. Some of the patrons looked a bit rough as well, which was a surprise considering the neighborhood. I also noted the only w/c had a highchair parked in front and a handmade "out of order" sign was taped to the door.

The menu was not exactly encyclopedic, but there were enough choices to make it interesting. I had a Reuben, my beloved dining companion had a muffin, and we shared a big mocha. Service was not exactly friendly, but I expected that based on the previous reviews here.

The food was fine although the muffin was a bit dry. I did note that rye bread was not an option for my sandwich, but it was okay with brown bread. I also found it was rather expensive for what we got.

What this place really needs is a clean up, a coat of paint, and a little more charm. I don't think I'll be back anytime soon.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good choice for breakfast
By epicurious of Burnaby, BC (507 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 4:51pm [Dine in]

It was my first ever visit to Deep Cove this past long weekend, and I tried hard to remember some good reviews on Deep Cove eateries. Three came to mind: Arms Reach Bistro, Deep Cove Pizza, and Honey Doughnuts.

Arms Reach looked wonderful, but upon inquiring, there was an "at-least" 30 mins wait. Walked over to Deep Cove Pizza to find a chest-high counter with no pizza by-the-slice visible. Wasn't sure if it was only whole pies or not, so I walked over to Honey.

There was a huge line-up, but the place was pretty big with the eating area spilling out to next door.
I got in line and ordered an egg muffin (like egg mcmuffin, minus the mc) and an iced mocha. The cashier looked at me with a death glare and said, "no ice". I didn't quite hear her and said, "excuse me?". She said really loudly, "NO-ICE!!"
Not wanting hot coffee on a scorcher of a day, I just opted for soda. I was paying when I realized I forgot to mention my order was "to go". If looks could kill, I would have died right there. She snatched my "number 13" flagger from my fingers and scribbled hard on the order paper and gave me my receipt.

While waiting quietly in the corner, I noticed her mood swings from customer to customer. She was pretty friendly and talkative to the Deep Cove locals, but was really cold to the touristy types. Especially those who didn't speak English very well.

Shame about the service, because the food was quite good. My egg muffin had really nice sliced ham (quality better than deli slice) and green onions with the cheese sauce. It was a really good breakfast sandwich at a good price too.
Unfortunately, I would probably only go back (if in the area again) if that particular cashier was not working.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Totally awesome In a Gross greasy kind of way
By princessgaga of burnaby B.C. (120 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, June 7, 2010 - 8:56pm [Dine in]

I had a honey donut. It was $1.50. It was not superfresh but still slightly warm. It tasted like it was deep fried in oil that was not hot enough for too long. Super super super super greasy and heavy. The sweet part did not taste like honey thank goodness because I hate honey. It was just super super sweet. I thought one was good in a bad way. Two would have been heave-inducing. Verdict - perfect hangover food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Gone way downhill
By victory66 of Burnaby (35 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, January 13, 2008 - 7:02am [Dine in]

I agree with the last two posters. I went to this place on the recommendation of an article in the newspaper about 2 years ago and it was decent. The donuts were not too greasy, and the coffee was hot. However, I went there again about a month ago and this place has gone downhill in a big way. The coffee was only lukewarm and had a strange-looking film on the top, even after I added cream. I took one sip and found it to be bitter and almost cold. Then I tried the donut and this was even worse. I found the donut to be so greasy that I could not eat it. I tried one bite and got a mouth full of oil. I tried using a napkin and after soaking up 10 napkins worth of grease, figured it just wasn't worth it. I gave the plate and napkins and the remainder of the donut back to the server, as well as the coffee and let her know that I would not be back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
pretty good for a heavy donut
By I-like-pies of Vancouver (23 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, October 5, 2009 - 5:52pm [Dine in]

I've had the really light air filled donuts such as krispy kreme, but these are the total opposite. Heavy, filling, and with a honey glaze or crunch to the outside. Very filling, but still manageable to down two plus a coffee. I've had similar donuts before, but this one seems to be a treat, especially in Deep Cove. Always a nice trip out there anyways.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
This is the real local am coffee spot
By advcardio of northshore (15 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 19, 2007 - 8:53am [Dine in]

When we have out of town visitors we take them down to the cove and let them experince the true local hangout. Coffee strong and just right and of course the doughnuts are so unique , well it's the only dougnuts we know to be so darn good. Inside is very tight and even on rainy days you can still be outside reading the paper and watch the neighbourhood walk by.
The cafe even leaves out a bowl of water for your dog.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Worth the drive
By Munchies of East End, Van (15 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 23, 2007 - 5:15pm [Dine in]

For anyone who wants a really good cake-like donut...this is "THE" place for it. I heard alot of people talking about it and one day, a co-worker brought one in for me. It was amazing, a little oily but amazing. This place is situated in the heart of Deep Cove and the ambience is really quaint though I have to comment the size of the cafe shop is really small and cramp...especially on those busy and crazy days. It's a great local coffee shop ( forget Starbucks ) to just hang out...I know I'll be doing that when the weather is more favorable.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Don't assume you'll find great donuts
By kitchennightmares of Vancouver (13 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, May 25, 2012 - 1:37am [Dine in]

I've only tried the plain donuts here once but I left very disappointed. I have a sweet tooth and so it's not often that someone screws up a dessert for me. After brunch at the Arms Reach Bistro this spring, I decided to stop at this place for a treat, as I had read that this is one of the top attractions of Deep Cove.

I find it hard to describe the donuts because they lacked any flavor. I find donuts from major grocery stores to be mediocre (dry and too sweet), but these might rank even lower. I can only hope that I had a bad batch, because I don't understand the hype about this place.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Greasy and Unappetizing
By all4movies of Richmond (13 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 20, 2008 - 7:38pm [Dine in]

I recently went to Honey's and was very disappointed by the server's surly attitude. She was an older woman and it appeared that she was tired and grumpy and didn't want to be there. I didn't see her smile once or say thank you to customers.

Even more disappointing were the greasy doughnuts. Perhaps, if they were fresh they may have tasted better but they appeared as if they had been sitting awhile under the plastic cover. They did not look very appetizing and I only tried it because I've read the positive reviews.

This will be first and last visit for me.

Thank god the gelato store saved the visit to Deep Cove from becoming a total disaster.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I used to like your doughnuts...
By tommy of Kits (10 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, September 22, 2008 - 2:14am [Dine in]

It has been very famous for the doughnuts and I used to go almost every weekendjust to get them.
But this summer, everytime I went there, I was always very dessapointed. Tasts not good, and they were very, very, very greacy.
Last time I had them, some of them were not cooked enough I felt.
Plus, the owner's wife is so arogant. It was very busy and many customers were trying to order their food at the same time, so she was really angry and yelled "Nobody talks me now! OK?! Wait for your turn!!!!"...
I'm not gonna go there anymore, even though their breakfast menus are still good.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Not sure what the hype is
By muffinbaker of Burnaby (9 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, August 21, 2009 - 9:43pm [Dine in]

After hearing all the raves about Honey's doughnuts thought that we'd go give it a try today. Well, I had the maple and my sweetie had the choco. Given he is a chocoholic, he thought it was great. I myself didn't really see what the big deal was about it. Kind of like a greasy lump of fried cake with maple icing on top? Bought a muffin to go for later and that was pretty good. Breakfast looks good, would be willing to try that next time we're there but I think once is enough for the doughnut.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Will Travel for Doughnut
By EstherBrown of North Vancouver (8 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, May 9, 2007 - 10:18pm [Dine in]

These doughnuts are famous! Even without the chocolate dip, they are worth travelling across the city to get! They are so popular that it is really crowded on the weekends - would more staff help sell more doghnuts?

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Honey doughnuts are CAKE, not "dough".
By feevo of West Vancouver (6 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, March 28, 2013 - 10:00am [Take-out]

Honey "doughnuts" are cake doughnuts, which means they are made from batter, leavened by baking soda/powder; they are deep fried cake. Traditional doughnuts are made from dough, leavened by yeast; they are deep fried bread. The two have little in common, in my opinion. Several people I know say they don't usually like doughnuts, but they love Honey's! They never specified (or realized?) that what they love is cake, not dough. So hearing all the rave about the best"dough"nuts ever, I was excited to try them. They are like a deep fried cake muffin, not my thing, and I could taste the baking soda, also not good. They are heavy, not light... So, if you like deep fried cake, greasy and crunchy on the outside and a rich cake center, try Honeys. If you actually want a doughnut made from dough, good luck finding one in Vancouver that isn't a Tim Horton's! The ones in Granville market are pretty good though!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Killer Doughnuts
By honestreviewer of North Van (6 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 1, 2008 - 7:45pm [Dine in]

It strikes me that there are an incredible ammount of hidden agendas on this site and itbehooves us to read between the lines where reviews are concerned.
I've always wanted to add my opinion and I've finally decided to after reading the last two posts.
Giving a place like this one star across reflects on the maturity of the reviewer...enough said.
I have been bringing friends here for 10 years since I moved to the Norht Shore and every single guest has drooled over the flavour of Honey's famous doughnuts...definitely there strength.
If you can get them while they're still hot you'll be in for one heck of a treat if you like an old style, dense, slightly crispy on the outside doughnut:)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great Casual Fare
By funworshipper of north vancouver (5 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 10:54pm [Dine in]

I took a kayaking lesson at Deep Cove and part of the package was lunch from Honey's. The bread is so fresh and the sandwich, so large. I had a turkey sandwich and a doughnut and I was stuffed! Those big yummy doughnuts are the size of a car tire and are total indulgence. They are bit oily but hey, doughnuts are cooked in oil. It's a very casual little place, you can sit outside in the summer or take the food to go and walk down to the park across the street and look at the ocean. Just great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Can you say "grease ball"
By angleoffood of north vancouver (4 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, July 15, 2011 - 6:31pm [Dine in]

got three of the donoughts - OMG- they really suck - they are dripping in grease and it is made even worst that they are not cooked long enough.

The grumpy lady manager told me they are honey flavoured when I asked - guess what they had no honey taste. just grease. all three donoughts were left on the table and we left. - never to return again.

bad food - even worst service

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Doughnuts Ever
By chrisfrench of North Vancouver District (3 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 30, 2010 - 1:45pm [Dine in]

Honey's is the place for a family to go on their way to a picnic. They can get great food there for a lunch in the park. The sandwiches are toasted and taste amazing. I highly reccomend the BLT. I also am ape for the doughnuts. If there was no such thing as a Honey's Doughnut, I would die. This is a perfect place to go for a coffee too if you just finished coming down from Corey Rock. I really enjoyed that with my family.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great pastry, pretty rude service.
By lolabeans of kamloops (3 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, December 18, 2008 - 1:43pm [Dine in]

Yep, the doughnuts are a glutinous indulgence, so much better than any doughnut you'd get in a store. The other pastries are wonderful aswell, particularilly the croissants. The other food is ok, yet overpriced. The coffee is not terrific, yet adequate if coupled with one of there more than ample pastries. Some of the younger people who work there are nice, however, some of the older employees (possibly owners) are extremely rude and indifferent. You gotta be ready right away without any questions or they become noticeably impatient. Parking is tough to find, but that applies for all of deep cove, not just Honey's.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Honey's is a great little spot in Deep Cove
By Dometown of North vancouver (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, October 20, 2010 - 5:43pm [Dine in]

I have been going to Honey's for so long I cant even remember. There sandwiches are great even though sometimes they scimp on the meat. The doughnuts are one of a kind. Had about 100 over the years. They make wonderful healthy muffins and the coffee is always hot
The owners are great and always super friendly, but I do agree with some posted about the old grumpy lady at the front counter. Has a few run ins with her, she should not be dealing with customers, actually she should be fired.
Overall this is a great little spot

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
cementitious muffin, delicious gluten-free bagel
By harbinger of North Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, April 29, 2013 - 7:19pm [Dine in]

It was 7AM and the server was already grumpy. I glanced into the kitchen and the kitchen staff seemed no happier. If this was a sign for the rest of the day, I felt apprehension for patrons arriving later.

I tried one of the muffins and it was cementitious: heavy, dense, dry, unleavened, coarse. A large coffee was not enough to slake the muffin. The muffin had healthy ingredients; but it wasn't palatable.

My friend had a gluten-free bagel with bacon and cheese and said it was so delicious, she could have eaten two.

The main storefront of Honey Doughnuts is visually interesting with lots of charm; however, ambience can never make a lumpy muffin edible.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 3 of 3 Images Found