Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

4
  • Food4.5
  • Service4
  • Value4.5
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews12

Sagres Restaurant

22550 Dewdney Trunk Rd, #100
Maple Ridge, BC V2X3J9
Tel: (604) 466-5330
  • Cuisine: Continental, European, Portuguese
  • Price: $$ ($15 - $30)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Hours: Mon - Tue: Closed, Wed - Thu: 11:30AM - 2:30PM & 5PM - 9PM, Fri - Sat: 11:30AM - 2:30PM & 5PM - 10PM, Sun: 12PM - 9PM
  • Sagres Restaurant serves lunch and dinner Wednesday through Sunday in Maple Ridge, British Columbia. Your hosts, the Santos family, have been serving authentic Portuguese and Continental cuisine for over 27 years. Sagres is the Santos family fourth successful restaurant and is the best dining experience in the Maple Ridge area. Sagres takes prides in serving only the freshest seafood, hand cut steaks, homemade desserts and their own Sangria. Whether your eating-in or taking-out, you can expect generous portions at modest prices.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 12 of 12 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Must try!
By epicurious of Burnaby, BC (507 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, November 26, 2007 - 4:05pm [Dine in]

I don't venture off past Coquitlam often, but found myself in Maple Ridge yesterday. I was attending a family lunch/dinner with a large group of about 80 ppl. This restaurant is no where near big and with only 2 servers (one being the owner), I was super surprise at the wonderful and attentive service we received. It's not easy attending to so many people let alone doing so with only 2 people - not to mention the other section of the restaurant was still open to other diners.

I ate a Portuguese feast!! Started off with the usual port. bun w/ butter. The bun was fresh and was served with plenty of whipped butter. House wine (red and white) was okay. Next came a fresh salad, famous Sagres fries/chips, roasted potatoes and rice.
The mains came quickly after: chicken frango(?), steak, and a delicious sole fillet (a definite must have).

All of this was non-stop service. Whether it was a starter or main, the food flowed like a never-ending river without much delay.
I would definitely recommend this place and was surprised to be the first reviewer!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Stay away from the seafood platter
By VJB of abbotsford (156 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, March 3, 2013 - 2:48pm [Dine in]

After reading all the good reviews for Sagres my husband and I decided to give it a try.

We made reservations. There were 2 large parties the evening that we were there and we were seated between the 2 large tables. It was okay. We were given the option of another table but we didn't care for the location of the other table. The ambiance is like that of a typical coffee shop. We have not had good Portuguese food since Adega in Vancouver closed so we were really looking forward to dinner at Sagres. The poor waitress was run off her feet. She appeared to be the only server and the restaurant was very busy when we were there. I think that it is a husband and wife team that are in the kitchen. When things slowed down at the end of the evening they came out and talked to some of the customers that I thought were regulars.

We shared a litre of Sangria that was very good. For an appetizer we shared the Portuguese sausage. This was a large sausage that was bought to the table still sizzling from the flames that enveloped it. Hot Portuguese buns were brought to the table and they were delicious. More places should take the trouble to heat their bread. It makes all the difference. Salad was also served with the meal. For entrees my husband had the chicken with piri piri sauce. It was delicious. The chicken itself was nice and moist but the skin was crisp and spicy from the piri piri sauce. A marvelous dish. I had decided to try the seafood platter. It was a hugh platter and it had clams, mussels, fish fillet and prawns. This was a poor choice. The clams had a very strong fishy taste and it was just overwelming. I'm used to having a sauce or something served with mussels but the mussels here were just served in the shell and a few of them were overcooked to the point of being chewy. The fish and prawns were okay but they were certainly not in the same league as the chicken that my husband was munching away on. The entrees came with cubes of potatoes that were crispy and yet nice and soft on the inside, rice and vegetables. As others have mentioned the portions here are huge. It is not the kitchen or the waitresses fault but they were so busy that we ended up spending more than 2 hours over dinner. This is fine if you're out at a fine dining restaurant but it is a very long time to spend at your regular basic restaurant.

I would try this restaurant again as my husbands chicken was really amazing, the Portuguese rolls were good and the sausage was also good. I would just be sure not to order the seafood platter, clams or mussels. I would probably just avoid the fish or seafood dishes here as they seem to have a problem cooking these dishes on a busy evening.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Great Food, Friendly service
By Sidewinder of Maple Ridge (12 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 9, 2009 - 4:05pm [Dine in]

You can't say much else about Sagres without spending hours with a Thesarus. Down home cooking, service when you need it without hovering, you get a full plate, with fantastic hearty food. Great Value, very friendly owner and server. After a new manager started at my place of employment who is from Portugal, and being one who loves to try new food, I asked him one day what is Portugeuse food.....He replied "Meat, Fish, Chicken, Rice, Potatoes " . After going to Sagres a few times, I realized he was hiding the true meaning of Portugeuse cooking. Find a parking spot close to the door, as you will not be able to walk very far after eating their full plates of exceptional food!
Some of the favourite foods on the menu: Sole, Portugeuse steak (A heart stopping huge steak in a garlic/wine sauce, served in a massive bowl with potato slices and a fried egg) Portugeuse chicken (Paprika mixed with numerous other things that are combined to make chicken from elsewhere seem bland!) I was upset this weekend to find they were closed for two weeks, but realized that everyone needs a vacation, and after putting as much heart and soul into doing what they do, they deserve more than their allotted two weeks! A gem in little old Maple Ridge! (Make a reservation, it's hard to get a seat without one for obvious reasons)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My tastebuds are alive!
By CastIronCook of Vancouver (7 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, September 6, 2012 - 12:10pm [Dine in]

Sagres restaurant is a gem of a place to eat. Again, I can't stress this point enough locally owned shops are where it's at. Family run, this business thrives on delivering tasty portuguese food, with a comfortable setting. The carne allejana is out of this world. Pork, shellfish, potatoe yum. The sauce is just incredible. I have yet to try the house pallea, you must call in the order in advance.It is a house specialty. The servers are friendly and helpful with menu choices. Ever since I had a birthday dinner here, I've been thoroughly impressed. Don't hesitate to sample this establishments tasty fare.Being an astute diner, finding places like this that do things right is reason enough to try out different places to eat, cheers!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Excellent Portugese restaurant
By anituchka of Maple Ridge, BC (7 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 5, 2010 - 10:32am [Dine in]

I meant to leave this review long time ago!

We went there for our last Christmas party and were not disappointed.

Their seafood is delicious and portions are huge. The wine was very good and reasonably priced. Everything else was just delicious as well.

The owner personally served us and came back later to make sure everything was ok.

The food is absolutely to die for. What this place lacks is nice renovation. The tables are plain and it doesn't look like a proper restaurant. That's my only complaint.

I would come back again as I couldn't find seafood that good anywhere in the Lower Mainland.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sagres-I will be back!
By cile2008 of maple ridge (6 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, July 5, 2008 - 12:15pm [Dine in]

5 of my girlfriends and I went to Sagres a few months ago for dinner. We had a great time from start to finish. Our server, Ming, was GREAT! She made sure we had everything we wanted. The owner was also there, and we had a lot of fun with him too. Very nice man.
The food was very good, my greek salad was big enough to share with everyone at the table, I even had to take some home. Everyone enjoyed their meals. After dinner we discovered that it was Ming's birthday, so the owner surprised US with a free slice of cake ( i think tiramisu) and we sang happy birthday to Ming. (the cake was delicious)
They were closing the restaurant and never made us feel as if we had to rush to get out.
This is a great restaurant, with friendly service, we will be back!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Old School Portuguese
By dshark7 of Burnaby (5 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, March 23, 2012 - 10:56am [Dine in]

This establishment in the Ceter of Maple Ridge has been here for a long time. The atmosphere is very relaxed and personal. I have been here several times for lunch and a couple of times for dinner.

The Paella is great to share with a group and it has a lot of different types of seafood as well as some pork medallions. The pork and clams is another favorite and the pork has a great white wine flavor from a long marinade. Our must have is the quail that comes in a rich spice sauce. The sauce alone is worth a visit.

The secret ingredient for many dishes are light crispy fried potatoes. I can't figure out how the are cooked but they are always cooked perfectly.

The owner and staff are attentive and friendly but without any great sense of urgency. My portuguese friends recommended this place to me and they say it is quite authentic.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Almost as good as mom's home cooking!
By greenlight of Coquitlam (3 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 16, 2009 - 12:08am [Dine in]

Fantastic food, great portions (almost too big), excellent flavours.

What can I say - it's authentic. Tastes just like Portugal. I've been to Sagres on three separate occasions, with each being just as good as the other. The last time I brought a group of ten with me and everyone enjoyed their food - even the picky guy who never eats anywhere!

Try the Carne Alentjana! Yummmy!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A new kind of eating
By lucastds of Port Coquitlam (2 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 8:08pm [Dine in]

Want to eat? Like, really really taste good food? Go to this place.

This is a nice neighbourhood feel restaurant but the food is pulled from a five-star dining room. My fiance's dad is obsessed with this place since going there and has returned about five times.

It's a bit of a drive, but honestly, I would drive here from Vancouver for the food.

Try anything off the menu. Seriously anything.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
only the best place to eat in maple ridge.
By empiricist83 of maple ridge (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, June 6, 2012 - 3:09pm [Dine in]

I've eaten at Sagres so many times, I couldn't even begin to count, but it never gets boring.

If you're not familiar with Portuguese food... I feel sorry for you. Go to Sagres. Everything they do is delicious but in particular, its the fish dishes that stand out. The rice pilaf and fried potatos that come with most mains are very filling, but absolutely great.. you might not even realise how good they are until you've taken home leftovers and tried them the next day. The pork and clams are one of their more traditional offerings, and should not be missed. If this combination sounds strange to you, just buck up and try it, it'll be one of the most unique and flavourful things you'll ever eat, while at the same time, staying very simple and rustic.

On some days Santos has real ling cod, or red snapper on special. If he mentions "fresh cod" or snapper as a special of the day, order it. The sauce for the cod is a spicy and tangy dressing with piri piri, white wine, sauteed onions, stewed tomatos and butter. The fish itself is lightly dredged in seasoned flower and pan fried after marinating in some kind of magic liquid. When combined, these two things which are already great on their own, become even more special, and he uses only the freshest, best quality fish.

If none of this has convinced you to try this place, then consider the value. The portion sizes from the lunch menu would be generous for dinner at any other restaurant you've been to, and they range from about $10 to $14. The dinner menu ranges from about $15 to $25, and these enormous piles of perfection don't fit on normal dinner plates. Be prepared to be fed.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
New Favorite restaurant
By santrac of Mission (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, April 25, 2011 - 7:01am [Dine in]

I was told about this great restaurant by a friend and finally had to see for myself. A little place, tucked away in Maple Ridge, but what a gem. Park close to the door - it will be hard to walk anywhere after one of their meals. I am not usually a fan of a starter salad but this one changed my mind, fresh, flavorable and just enough to leave you wanting more. The pork and clams entree came highly recommended to me. This combination had me a little skeptical but willing to try. All I can say is: oh my - what a feast. Succulent clams, pork pieces seasoned and cooked to perfection with small chunks of roasted potatoes, the combination is fabulous. Save the portuguese bun for the sauce that is like heaven all over again. Huge platters of food at a ridulously inexpensive price served by the nicest staff I have ever met. The owner and his wife visited our table several times to make sure we were properly looked after and all I could do was smile and sigh - the food was incredible. Even though you are stuffed with the main course - please - try the black forest cake. Every bite was incredible - different and totally addicting. I plan on returning many times, will reccommend it to all of my friends and will be taking take out orders to friends on the island just to make them jealous of this fabulous cuisine

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Maple Ridge's little secret
By canadianbutterfly of Maple Ridge (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, October 4, 2008 - 6:17pm [Dine in]

My husband and I were rooting around Maple Ridge one afternoon and did not feel like the same old-same old. I've lived in Maple Ridge for year, drove by it a million times, but this time decided to check it out. It was right between what normally would be lunch and the supper hour. Went in, and found the service to be amazing. Great people, great owner, great staff! It occurred to me that the owner was not only very decent with us, he was amazingly decent with his staff as well. It was one of their birthdays and he ordreed out and had a little surprise party for them. All the while, he had closed the place down while doing this, however we did not in any way make us feel uncomfortable about staying and finishing our meal. He let us know ahead of time. They had a genuinly good time, and it was nice to watch. The food was great, the prices were great, and the service was unlike I have had in .... forever!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance