Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3
  • Food2.5
  • Service3
  • Value3
  • Ambiance3.5
  • Reviews29

Kingfishers Waterfont Bar & Grill

23840 River Road
Maple Ridge, BC V2W1B7
Tel: (604) 463-0094
Neighbourhood: Albion Flats
  • Cuisine: Pacific northwest, Pub
  • Price: $$ ($15 - $30)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • Meals: Lunch, Dinner
  • Features: Patio, View
  • Hours: Mon - Thu: 11AM - 11PM, Fri - Sat: 11AM - 1AM, Sun: 11AM - 11PM
  • Kingfishers offers a menu of West Coast pub cuisine, BC craft beer and VQA wine along with an incredible patio and view on the bank of the Fraser River.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 29 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Great view during lunch
By VJB of abbotsford (147 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, December 18, 2011 - 10:59am [Dine in]

We decided to try this place for lunch yesterday. What a great setting. We had a seat by the window overlooking the river. This bar is really in a terrific location. It was not too loud which is nice. Such a nice relaxing lunch.

We were greeted at the door with a pleasant smile by the hostess who asked if we had a preference for the table. When we suggested a seat by the window she said we could pick the table that we liked and she would follow us. Our waitress was also a delight. She was very prompt with the taking the order and providing us with water. I had tea to drink and she even asked if I wanted more hot water for my tea half way through lunch. This is something that many servers fail to do. Kudos to her for asking. They have a very interesting and varied menu and I think there is something on the menu that would appeal to almost anyone. For the setting, ambiance and quality of food prices are very reasonable. The wine is also reasonably priced. It's nice that they have a reasonable mark up on wine and also a decent selection of good wines. For our lunch my husband had the salmon and crab burger (waitress asked if he wanted to substitute salad for fries, again great service) and I had the borgata prawns. My husbands burger was very good and came with a good sized order of fries. My prawns were very good and a decent sized portion. They were in a chile oil sauce and were really nice and spicy. 4 good sized pieces of garlic bread accompanied the prawns. The garlic bread was delicious on it's own but dipped into the sauce the prawns came it it was magnificient.

It was a great lunch, wonderful ambiance, terrific waitress, good food and decent prices. Would highly recommend and definitely intend to return ourselves.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best view in Maple Ridge!
By Food-Goddess of Coquitlam (96 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 1:26pm [Dine in]

Went there with some friends last night for a late dinner. The restaurant is right by the Fraser River, beside the old Albion ferry station. Great view of the river, very nice, except for when a train passes by right across the street from the place.

I ordered the salmon and crab burger and cranberry juice. It took a little while for it to come, and when it did, they brought my the salmon and crab cake because the kitchen read the order wrong. So they gave me a 25% off the burger on my bill for the inconvenience. Very prompt and willing to fix the issue and make their customer happy.

The burger was quite good. Nice and soft bun with a good-sized salmon and crab patty that was seasoned nicely. The fries were crunchy, just the right size (I think thick-cut fries), and they weren't too greasy.

Great place to visit if you're out in that area.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Great service, good food, too pricey
By Mullo of New Westminster (16 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 1, 2014 - 4:47pm [Dine in]

Our server was extremely good. She was always smiling, attentive, and made us feel welcome. The food was pretty good, but so expensive. For one burger, a chicken sandwich, pulled pork poutine, one pop, and 9oz glass of white wine our bill was $65 including tip. Ouch!!! We could go to the Keg for that price. For that reason alone, we will not be returning.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
like dating an ugly woman that is great in bed
By mr_eater of maple ridge (11 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, May 18, 2009 - 4:51pm [Dine in]

Kingfishers; I am so confused..... They do have a wide selection of beer on tap - that is good. The Patio is great, if they would allow me to sit on the patio and drink beer all day; Kingfishers would get all 5 ratings; unfortunately I would get hungry, and have to eat, and the only menu around would be theirs......and that is where it all falls apart. When you walk in the front door; there is an air force of large flies circling the dining room; I don't know if they have come from the dirty river, or the dir... kitchen; either way, they look like they also are looking for a good seat in the dining room and are commited to flying around until the find one; thus they never land. I must be shallow, because if it wasn't for the great patio, I would never want to see Kingfisher again. OK, maybe I am being too hard on the ugly girl; If you do get a seat on the Patio, the food seems an awful lot better that it might otherwise. When the stars align; sunny day, patio seat, right menu choice and beer is flowing; Kingfishers can offer a great experience.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
This is a good place.
By valdrag of maple ridge (9 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, December 24, 2011 - 11:45am [Dine in]

I really like this place, the view is awesome and the building is really nice to hang out in. The beer menu has so many options with very unique brews, and I love that. Ordering the food however. I ordered their salmon burger a few times but the last time I ordered it, it stunk. I mean it was the fishiest thing I have ever had on my plate. I gave it a gallant effort but I would be sick if I finished this plate. I sent it back and they gave me a discount no questions asked. Then about a month later I ordered another salmon appetizer. That same fishy smell happened again. Very disgusting. I will never eat a fish dish at this restaurant again. Otherwise, a fantastic place to watch the game, chill in the summer time, or drink awesome brews in the wintertime.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Mother's Day brunch was not well organized
By robatsea of Maple Ridge (5 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 18, 2010 - 4:12am [Dine in]

My family attended the Mother's Day Brunch at Kingfisher's, which had seatings at 11 am and 1 pm. I had been here twice previously; they have a very nicely designed facility and the deck is great for sunny-day enjoyment. Menu is pricey, but food has been good. However the brunch on this particular day was not well organized. It took over 40 minutes to shuffle through the line-up for food. I'm guessing the bottle neck was caused by the time it takes to make crepes or omelettes towards the end, but perhaps these could have been moved elsewhere to make for an easier traffic flow. By time we got to where the seafood was it had been thoroughly picked over. Food was okay (soups were really good), the rest nothing fantastic. Their website advertises an $18 brunch fee which is high enough, but for Mother's Day it was $20. I'm not sure what extra food may have been presented, but at $20 it was WAY over priced - especially when you consider the lousy wait in line you have to endure just to get one go at the buffet line. People were trying to juggle as much as they could on one plate so as not to suffer that twice, especially when you only had a two-hour dining window.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

This Place is such a shame
By cynicalfoodster of maple ridge BC (4 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 9, 2011 - 12:43pm [Dine in]

I have to say that this restaurant/Pub has the nicest view and nicest patio in all of Maple Ridge. Unfortunately that is all it has. I have been here only once and the experience was disappointing to say the least. I have heard many mixed comments of this place and now realize I should have stayed away. The food was so bland and so over cooked that the mussels i had, as a starter, had shriveled up and were chewy like lego wheels. The steak as a main was decent but the sides were a complete disaster I could have most likely laid bricks with the mashed potatoes. The beer list is nice but I still have a hard time finding New Castle Brown Ale which is my favorite beer. The person who was supposed to be waiting on us was not trained at all in the menu, beer list, or serving etiquette at all and was probably the worst part of the whole meal. All in all great patio lousy service nothing more then low end pub food and because of all that the value is not worth it I will not be back and I will not recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great place, great views, great service, great prices...... the food? not so good.
By bullocks of Maple Ridge (4 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, April 16, 2010 - 9:11pm [Dine in]

Sat out on the patio, beautiful view, im sold right there, river and sunset to boot, great service, im in heaven....then the food came...hopes dashed.

We first ordered drinks, very impressed so far, affordable ($5.50 for a microbrew, $7 for cocktail - no complaints), ordered an appy, calamari, $13, a little above average but if its good Ide even pay more.... wasnt good, average at best. First off, the calamari itself was fine, batter was nice light, not greasy, well cooked.... the tzatziki was a bit odd, tasteless, no yogurt flavor, and large chunks of cucumber that you cant scoop up with the soft calamari, just didnt fit the dish. They advertised cilantro calamari, i love cilantro, but it was mixed into the batter and deepfried??? , odd never seen deep fried cilantro, zero cilantro flavor, why not use fresh cilantro? odd cooking style.

Next we ordered entries, Paella and quesadillas, the quesadillas were quite good, although the plate was void of anything but the quesadillas, no even a piece of parsley or cantaloupe something? just seemed lazy, but they where good so no complaints there.

Paella potentially good but ruined, mushy, lazy, tasteless. First off, huge muscles ontop, impressed until realized their almost completely RAW with the texture of SNOT or FLEM or SPIT? not to appetizing, not to mention the health hazard, meals ruined at that point really but I scraped them to the side, went on eating hoping for better.

The next taste, cheap canned tomatoes and plain white rice? are you joking? no seafood flavor, no saffron flavor, no chirizo flavor, no spice flavors whatsoever, just bland tomato and rice, similar to ricearoni, very very disappointing; just throwing this out there... why not use fresh tomatoes?

Three tiny pieces of chirizo in the entire 5 pound tasteless rice mountain? worst of all, non of the flavors were infused into the dish, must have just added the seafood and sausage right at the end, after the rice was prepared(eg/ dump almers can into plain rice). paella is supposed to be stewed like a soup, rice added last so all the flavors infuse together with the rice.... lazyness.

I would still go back, I like the place, but I will not order an entree again, I would stick to simpler menu selections, beers and wings, beers and burgers, nachos and beers. To bad place has so much potential :)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good dining experience
By pacificsun of Langley (3 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 22, 2009 - 9:12pm [Dine in]

The waitress was very attentive to all of our needs . There were many wonderful flavours to both of our meals. The seafood dishes are well prepared, nicely presented on the plate, and not overcooked. There is a wide variety of items to choose from on the menu, yet it also includes some very unique items. We really enjoyed having our dinner out on the deck overlooking the Fraser River.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Terrific views!
By alias51 of Pitt Meadows, BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, September 13, 2011 - 9:24am [Dine in]

This has got to be the best patio outside of downtown Vancouver. We stopped in for drinks and dessert after eating dinner elsewhere, and will definitely go back for dinner. Although the dessert menu was limited, the chocolate brownie was excellent paired with a couple of yummy specialty martinies. The cucumber mojito was also amazing! The service was quite slow, even though the restaurant was not very busy. Our server was not overly friendly either, but the ambiance and the food/drinks more than make it worthwhile.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Never know what your going to get
By Sadie P of Pitt Meadow, BC (2 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, August 31, 2011 - 9:10am [Dine in]

Love the food and ambiance. My only issue is the service, you just never know what your going to get depending on which of the servers you luck out with. This seems to be an on going issue not just in reviews but also from talking to friends who dine there as well.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Don't get it!
By richard of maple ridge (2 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 12:13pm [Dine in]

This place has a great location and that's about it. Tha ambiance is lacking, servers seem untrained and the food resembles White Spots menu. I had the chicken curry and was amazed at how small the amount of chicken was in the dish, maybe 3oz! Nachos were a single layer, very basic and for almost $13? Come on guys, you have such an opportunity to sink your claws into a regular clientel and you are missing it. Get a chef who knows this market a bit better than a consulatant from Vancouver. So much potential yet always a disapointment.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Huge Potential
By CYBARR of Maple Ridge (2 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 3:52pm [Dine in]

The Deck on a sunny day is a fantastic place for lunch, however the food is bland, and the service is not bad. I find the inside of the resturant to be extremely noisy, and I'm used to going to pubs for lunches, business and otherwise. If they could break up the inside so you don't feel like your in a large open barn, that would help immensely! Parking is a very dicey affair, you don't want to park anything bigger than a car or small SUV. I'm sure that won't be a problem after the ferry closes and the road can be utilized.
The resturant needs a good cook/chef with some new ideas, the food needs upgrading!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Mixed experience
By joe_199 of Pitt Meadows (2 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, October 10, 2008 - 2:54pm [Dine in]

Ate here yesterday around midafternoon, when it wasnt busy. I'd been in there before when it was packed and the experience wasn't so great... If you don't like a wait, avoid rush times!!

Overall I had a mixed experience. We were seated by a lively, and I'll even say beautiful girl, which was a charming start... But when our server came she seemed sort of out of it and wasn't talkative. Service was ok.

Not a long wait for food, but then again, not a lot of other people in the place. It was a passable meal, a little on the cold side.

They do have terrible seating plans, as was pointed out in another review. Even though there isn't a lot of room, it just feels cluttered with the way the tables are too close to each other. Privacy means alot to some people!

If anything come for a few drinks and just take in the view. Haven't tried out patio yet, but will definately do so in the future..

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Dining with a view of the Fraser River
By traderdave of Chilliwack BC (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 4:13pm [Dine in]

Located on River Road in Maple Ridge, this bar & Grill looks over the Fraser and you have a choice of a window view or the Patio for those warm summer days. A very relaxing place to watch the river flowing by, tugs and barges, and fisherman trying for Sturgeon. The food is very tasty, they have a well stocked bar, and friendly staff. We have dined here several times and it is always a fun time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Very disappointing Manager!
By susan macrae of Anmore, BC (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, May 26, 2012 - 3:03pm [Dine in]

I went to the Kingfishers Waterfront Bar last night for a friends Birthday celebration. The fourth person of our party arrived and ordered a drink. Her drink arrived she picked it up to have a sip when the bottom of the glass detached from the glass leaving the contents all over her lap. We were all so surprised when this happened we sat there for a moment. A lady at another table ran to get help. The server arrrived with napkins. Napkins could not deal with this. The manager arrived with towels not much better than the napkins. He did not apologize! He had very little care or concern. Our friend went in to try and dry her pants. She was so embarrassed and humiliated. Her efforts were futile as she was soaked to the skin. When she told the manager she couldn't deal with this mess with the towels or hand dryer. He said" sorry, all I can do is give you towels." My friend said" that's all you can do?" He said "yes" She said you are not going to offer me anything? He said "Nope!" She was so uncomfortable and upset she left. It really ruined our Birthday celebration. When I told the server our fourth guest had left she apologized and said the manager would buy her a drink. The manager needed to step up and accept responsibility and show that he cared about his customers. I will make sure I share with my friends my experience and leave it up to them to decide whether they would like to go there.I thought the view was nice, the server tried but the manager was extremely disappointing. Clearly he does not value the customer. We drove quite far and will not go back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great local spot (outdoor patio)
By gdoorman of Maple Ridge (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, May 22, 2012 - 1:44pm [Dine in]

Sitting on the deck overlooking the river and enjoying Kingfishers' great food is a favorite for us EXCEPT the wines. They only offer B.C. wines and none of good value or character. (Well, there might be one or 2, but they're not our style and have been on the list so long it's tiring!) Kingfishers, if you are reading this, PLEASE add some import wines (Perhaps from Chile or Argentina, which have such great value and character to offer!!) or at least some better quality B.C. wines.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great patio
By hockeypuck of Maple Ridge B.C. (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, May 22, 2012 - 10:12am [Dine in]

I find Kingfisher selection of wines is quite poor, however i do appreciate the B.C. concept.
Please choose some better quality so we can enjoy the whole experience as we do enjoy sitting on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine with our food.
The ambiance, the food and the view are great so we look forward to re visiting in the future with an altered wine list.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
A fantastic addition to the area
By Greenland of Pitt Meadows (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, January 1, 2009 - 10:32pm [Dine in]

I have lived in the Pitt Meadows/Maple Ridge area for almost 30 years and am so pleased at the arrival of Kingfishers to the area. We were in much need of a higher-end (though not super fancy) dining venue. The greatest strength of the restaurant is the service. I have been to Kingfishers around 10 times and every time the staff have been friendly, approachable, and responsive, but not overbearing (I hate it when wait staff are too present during my meals). The owners of the restaurant have been really thoughtful about the whole dining experience, creating a great open dining space with comfortable furniture, flexibility in the seating (that can accommodate families, singles dropping in for a quick beer on the way home from work, and romantic couples), and designing a building that really takes advantage of the beautiful view of the river and Mount Baker. There is varied menu with lots of healthy choices (rare in the pub world). The fish and chips are fantastic! Kingfishers is a restaurant with great value: good food, great view, and a wonderful local feel that is a pleasant change from the sterile and cookie-cutter environments of all the chain restaurants.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great night out
By Cowboy-Joe of Maple Ridge (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, January 1, 2009 - 1:29pm [Dine in]

We've been here about six times now. The selection is varied enough that you can keep going back and experience something new each time. Though not really a beer drinker, they have some really cool selections of unique beer.
This is NOT simply a step up from the old fish and chip place. This is a classy restaurant. The owners have gone way beyond what this area is ready for and are leaders in trying to bring a new level of class to the Albion waterfront.
We were there for New Year's Eve dinner at the 8:00 p.m. seating and the dinner was fantastic. The service was awesome. The fit everyone in, including some who didn't pre-purchase their tickets. The chef plated the food in a very upscale, classy fashion.
The live music is always great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 1 of 1 Images Found