Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food4
  • Service3.5
  • Value3
  • Ambiance3.5
  • Reviews22

Akari Japanese Restaurant

7261 120 Street
Delta, BC V4C6P5
Tel: (604) 590-1192
Neighbourhood: Scottsdale
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Sushi
  • Price: $$ ($15 - $30)
  • Reservations: Accepted
  • The original Akari Japanese Restaurant, located in the heart of Delta.

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 22 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Disappointing
By azn_msfyt of Delta (194 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, November 13, 2007 - 8:07am [Dine in]

Food: the food is quite good but ridiculously overpriced for what you get. I ordered the lady's bento box which came with the typical teriyaki, rice, rolls, etc. Nothing out of the ordinary and I honestly expected more. Nigri sushi was ok and they had a nice assortment of different types of fish.

Service: Atrocious. The restaurant was relatively empty on a weekday night and we were seated around the corner and behind a wall for some reason. It made getting service impossible. After waiting for 20 minutes for someone to come by, my dining partner just got up and went up to the counter to grab a waitress. Waitresses were congregated around the counter chatting to one another and ignoring people in the restaurant. After our meal, we couldn't find anyone to clear the table or get our bill. What a waste of time. Another group of 4 people arrived later and asked to sit in a tatami room and they were left with no service. They also finally had to come out and ask for service.

Ambiance: It looked a lot nicer from the outside but once we got in, it looked like some sterilized room. It didn't help that we were seated in a corner and didn't have a view of the rest of the restaurant save for the one table across from us.

Will not return as the sushi is ridiculously overpriced, the service is mediocre at best and there are just so many other authentic Japanese restaurants in this city that are much better.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Middle of the Road Japanese
By honaunau of surrey, bc (15 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, March 25, 2009 - 9:41pm [Dine in]

Stopped by for lunch on recommendation. The restaurant was busy when we got there and continued to get busier. Service was fine when we arrived, but nearly non-existent when we were ready to pay and leave -- not just us, but other tables were having trouble getting the servers' attention.

The restaurant has an extensive menu, but for simplicity we chose a lunch box ($9.95 and up) and roll lunch combo, which looked like a good value ($11.95 for soup, larger salad, choice of side: tofu, gyoza, tempura, or chicken AND specialty roll: 8 to choose from!

Miso soup was very bland (no dashi?), but the salad was good. The gyoza that came 10-15 min. later were barely warm and mediocre. Surprisingly, I still had to wait at least 5-10 minutes for the Kamikaze roll (spicy tuna, tempura) after that. The roll did have a lot of flavour and was tasty, but it wasn't as spicy as I was told it would be. Enjoyed the sweet spicy sauce, though.

The tempura in the bento was great, but the California roll, although huge, tasted very mayonnaise-y.

Again, service was sporadic. We got a nice cup of tea when we first sat down, but when she came by and refilled tea at tables beside us, she neglected our table, and there was no one to flag down to ask for more. So instead, we just asked for the bill.

Although the restaurant was very busy, when I looked around, there were very few Asian diners. Hmmm.... a different demographic from my favourite Japanese restaurant, which offers better quality AND service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Best Japanese you'll find in the area
By Jonathan of Burnaby (15 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, August 9, 2008 - 9:51pm [Dine in]

I actually just moved near Metrotown which has a plethera of Japanese/sushi restaurants, and I can still say that by any standard, Akari offers some very good food - especially the sushi. I rated the service 3 because it really depends on the server you get on that particular night. Great atmosphere and the value isn't bad as some reviews say because the quality is far greater than any other Japanese restaurant for miles around (just like you shouldn't rate the value of a fast food burger next to one you'd get at Milestone's or Earls'). Ultimately food is the most important, I'd give the sushi a 5 and the rest 3-4.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Very poor service! OK food.
By ahjay of Surrey , B.C. (12 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, June 12, 2012 - 2:02pm [Dine in]

We arrived at around 8:30PM and it was quite empty. One thing I cannot stress enough is how bad the service was. We got our menus and literally waited 10 minutes for someone to check on us. There were about four waitresses on duty and they were huddled up by the cash register. One of them finally saw my wave and acknowledged my call but instead of coming to our table, she goes to clean the other nearby tables! She looks at me with dishes in her hand and I waved her over again, which she yells out "okay!" in a upset tone. After about another 5 minutes, she comes by to bring us tea..only to say "just one minute" before leaving us again. She finally comes by after 2 minutes to take our order.

Food arrived after 10 minutes (we just ordered 10 pieces of gyoza). The food had a nice presentation but did not taste fresh but overall tasted ok.

The service really got to us and honestly, no one should ever be treated that way. Will never go back again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
find a better place to spend your $$
By monmon of Vancouver, Canada (12 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, July 15, 2008 - 3:41pm [Dine in]

go find a better place to spend your $$
I'm a lover of Japanese Food and whenever possible, I’d suggest eating some sushi. So even when my brother was sick, but wanted to eat, we went for sushi near where we lived - Delta. When it comes to Japanese food, we usually choose to go to Richmond or Vancouver, but since my bro was sick but desperate for Japanese food, we decided to try Akira. The decor looked nice outside, so why not? It was such a mistake to go in...

Time: 5:10pm
Day of the week: Sunday
Duration: 1hr 15 min

Ambiance: Decent plus 1
- neat little place. When we got there, there were 3 other tables, already sitting. Even though there were booths, since there were only 2 of us, they sat us in a table. The dishwares were noticeably different, and are quite nice. Too bad the good things kinds here.

Service: Horrid
- you can probably get better service at a self-serve check out at Superstore than here. 2 maybe 3 timid server ladies were working. Since we actually had dinner plans at home later on but was just hungry for some sushi, we only ordered a Spicy Salmon Roll and a Philadelphia Roll. They took our order right after the table next to us. So when their food came after ~15 minutes, we thought we should be getting ours soon. None-the-less my brother starts his timer on his new iPhone to keep track for fun.
- [10 MINUTE PASSES BY]. No one has even come by our table, so we flagged over a server from across the restaurant and told her we still haven't gotten our food yet. So she goes check, and I can see that the sushi chef is saying that he doesn't have our bill. Fine, it happens.
- [5 MINUTE PASSES BY]. Our first roll comes, the Philly. We thought it was odd because everywhere else would serve the rolls together.
- [15 minutes later] we've finished our first roll, and no sight of the Spicy Salmon.
- [Another 10 minutes of waiting] The restaurant is getting busy and we're completely ignored. I couldn't even flag down a waitress to tell her we're still missing food. But it was pointless now since we had to leave to go home, so when I finally flagged down a waitress, I just asked for the bill. This is the best part - the bill comes back with BOTH ROLLS on it!! I wait and wait for a server to come by so I can tell her that I didn't even GET the 2nd roll, but everyone ignores me! Aren't I supposed to be paying? getting change or making an interaction? Should they not be paying attention when customers are paying?? This is when I should've left, but since I’ve been a server before, I can understand how stress it can get. So I took my brother and went up to the manager at the cashier. I told the manager that I didn't have that roll, and guess what? he looks at me as if I was a scammer, and said that I must be mistaken... um NO! He then proceeds to ask each of his serving staff and kitchen staff if this is true. I showed him my brother's phone which now read over 50 mins waiting on two rolls when the restaurant was basically EMPTY. He said sorry (finally!) and took off the spicy salmon roll. I threw down a 10 and left. HORRID.

Food: The food here is pricey. ~$4.50 for a standard roll (ie. spicy salmon), above $7 for a deluxe roll. Everything was $1 or $2 above the average Richmond/Vancouver/even Downtown joints. But $$ isn't really a concern as long as it's worth it (I've had some 'worth it' sushi before at an even higher price). I ordered two roll, only 1 came. The roll that I DID have was the Philadelphia Roll. I looked great in the menu, but it didn't look like the picture when it got to our table. It was decent. But was it worth the $9.80 after tax for an 8 piece roll? NOPE.

3 phrases to sum it up:
- horrible, HORRIBLE service
- can think of better ways to spend $
- never coming back

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Excellent sushi!
By Lizard2112 of Surrey (10 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, January 23, 2008 - 8:02pm [Dine in]

Another reviewer said it was too expensive, that may be somewhat true, but I got what I paid for - really good food! The service was okay, but they were quite busy. The food was well above average and I've tried a lot of different places. The best tempura anywhere! The Rock'n Roll is a full piece of Unagi (BBQ Eel) over a real crab California Roll with Unagi sauce on top. Very filling by itself and a real bargain given the quality and quantity. This place tops my recommended sushi in the Lower Mainland.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

Great Service
By squirrelnutkin of Kitsilano (6 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, July 4, 2010 - 4:44pm [Dine in]

The workers here are extremely friendly, and greet everyone with a smile and a hello when you walk in the door. The ambiance is great, they have these booth areas with rice paper doors - very cool and unlike anything I've seen in the area. The food was pretty good, I remember the rolls were a bit small though. The price is alright - it's probably more expensive than other Sushi places in the area - but not by too much. It wouldn't be my first choice for a sushi place in the area, but it's definitely a staple if you live near by it.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
great food, not the greatest prices
By cakes of Fraser Valley, BC (5 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 4, 2011 - 6:38pm [Dine in]

for a treat we go for sushi and when we go we go to Akari. I never had any issues with the service as others have; they are always polite and accomodating to any special requests. The dynamite roll is truly dynamite, yummy california rolls too.I do find it pricey here, but there are really no other choices in Delta, so there you go. The decor is due for refreshing/updating so I only rated the ambiance as mediocre, but it is a small and cosy place otherwise.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
This is my parent's favorite place and it turned out to be alright!
By iheartfoodie of Surrey , BC (5 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, December 14, 2009 - 11:55am [Dine in]

The Delta Akari Japanese Restaurant...

This is my parent's favorite place and because of the location (Delta and sushi seems like an oxymoron), I was hesitant to try it out. But being in a open spirit and shopping near by, I finally decided to try it out last night with the family.

At the end of the experience I had one word to sum it all up: INCREDIBLE!
We got assorted sashimi platter, miso soup, gomae, takoyaki, chiken terriyaki, Alaska crab salad special and the bottled sake.

One of the reasons I like going here is because of their
crispy tempura rolls. They are the crispiest and finest that I've tasted

Miso Soup: You can't mess up miso soup...deep miso broth with seaweed
it's a perfect way to de-stress in the winter.

Gomae: This item is my litmus test. I can tell the authenticity of a Japanese restaurant
by whether or not they use peanut butter sauce or ground sesame.
This place used the real thing- hand ground sesame sauce, not to heavy just right.

Sashimi platter: Great presentation and the colors were lively and appetizing-
eating it after a while.

Chicken Terriyaki: The sauce!
It's some sort of a smoky, not too sweet, tangy terriyaki saunce.
Rarely do you find a Japanese place that uses fire grilled chicken breast
over stir fried thigh meat.My husband loved it and the quality was great for the price.

Alaskan Crab Salad: This was the special for the night and was recommended to us by our waitress. Oh boy, were we glad to try this. I have never tasted anything so fresh and satisfying in a long time. It was a delicate treat for my taste bud- whole pieces of de-shelled Alaskan Crab (quite a generous portion)on top of seasoned dark greens, with garlic chips and gingery seasoning with tobiko eggs. YUMMY. Definitely worth the $12.

Value: For the quality and attention you get, outstanding value. For a dinner for 4 with a quality bottle of sake, it came to a little above $120. Quite reasonable if you ask me.

Service: This place was really packed, even on a Sunday night.
Where did all these people come from? It seems like people here in Delta wanted to congregate here for their sushi fix. Service was slow but nothing short of attentive. We actually preferred this over the unecessary frequent tea stops at some other places. The owner and his various staff have s been pleasant and fun to talk to. The owners came by at the end and asked us if we enjoyed the experience. She even gave me a souvenir chopstick when I told her
that I came here on recommendation from my parents-a long time patron!

Because of their sushi presentation and solid service, I will leave 5 stars+!
For anyone looking for authentic and quality sushi look no further than
Delta. I have placed Akari in the favorite list.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
What AN EXPERIENCE!
By triplejjj031 of Vancouver (4 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, July 19, 2010 - 3:26pm [Dine in]

Second review. Akari is a solid regular on my list and the reason is clear. They have almost every Japanese items imaginable from Takoyaki to teriyaki to tempura and the rolls are always solid. I've enjoyed coming here for years with friends or with the gf. It has an excellent vibe at night and it's usually very clean and well managed.

Last night I had this strange craving for sushi, and decided to grab dinner of rolls and tempura to go before our outing. The tempura was made to order, so it took a few minutes and they were hot, crisp, and tasted like a good crispy tempura should. Didn't get any of the rice dishes this time, but I probably should have.

What I was impressed about though is the service. We sat by the bar and the chef created these rolls that weren't even on the menu. Every imaginable creations were sampled that night and we were the lucky couple who got to actually TASTE and try them out! The rolls were the Alaskan crab rolls and a mash of the Dragon and Rainbow rolls...melt in your mouth creations. It was complemented well with the house seaweed salad. They asked for feedback on these new dishes and the wait staff continuously refilled our tea. TALK ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

The hall was pretty busy that night too. Only about 3 or 4 tables were empty and still they gave us the full attention throughout the night. Or maybe it was just the night that we went but this DEFINITELY the most MEMORABLE experience and tasty experience at a restaurant in awhile.

Don't miss this place. The deal is even better during lunch.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great experience.
By triplejjj031 of Vancouver (4 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, March 27, 2010 - 9:59pm [Dine in]

Last weekend, while out with some friends, I ended up eating lunch at Akari. We decided to eat here since some people I knew were going off about how good this place was. So I thought we should check it out. And I got to say, I am really glad we decided to eat here, and not at White spot. The food and service was excellent. Our meal consisted of:
Gyoza and deluxe sashimi to start, then two special rolls: Crispy roll and the Rock n roll, and also a chicken teriyaki with rice and miso soups.
The two special rolls we ordered (Crispy and the Rock n Roll) were amazing. So different from anything I have ever tried. The sashimi was nice and fresh. Also you could tell the chicken teriyaki was cooked over a flame, which was pleasant surprise. The decor of the restaurant matched very well with the whole atmosphere, which was unexpected with the restaurants location and all.
This meal was awesome, definitely whenever I am in that area again, I will head straight for this restaurant.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Akari is tops for the money
By Soya of Delta (4 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, November 4, 2007 - 9:34am [Dine in]

The second best sushi I have ever had (first best being Tojos's) As Tojos is considerably more expensive, Akari is tops for the money. My wife and I have been eating at Akari since it first opened and have always been very happy with the food, service and the attitude of the owners and the staff.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Even if I was in Japan, I would still go to Akari
By chowguru of Vancouver (downtown) (3 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 1, 2010 - 2:58pm [Dine in]

I agree with Teej that some of their decor isn't the best however I disagree with monmon that their service is slow.

But why do I give it five stars? Because they have served fantastic Japanese cuisine time and time again. I hesitate to use the word 'authentic' too often, but I can say that Akari is easily one of the top authentic Japanese restaurants in the Lower Mainland. Service has always been personable from the floor staff, to the chefs to the management.I was sitting at the sushi bar, so I engaged three of the chefs behind the bar about what I ought not to miss on the menu, and they served up a great meal which included fresh oysters, bincho, tai, ikura, ika and ebi- all freshly prepared, sliced in the traditional way and generously portioned. Everything was beautifully presented and the rice was seasoned just right. I can tell that the chef and the owner did take the time to pick the little details. The bonus was that it only cost me $25, what would easily cost me $50 for this level of quality.

The seared scallops on greens, though was easily the highlight. The citrus chili vinaigrette paired nicely with the rich sake scallops. It was absolutely stellar.

In summary, Akari is a hidden gem in Delta. A must go if you're in the area.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Quality Japanese in Delta- Who Knew?
By markader of Kitsilano (3 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, September 12, 2008 - 11:24am [Dine in]

Overall this place was a winner with me when I went a years ago. I've been a regular here, even though I live in the Kits area.

A friend and I stopped by here after a few recommendations from a neighbor. To my surprise, the menu was filled with interesting items. We tried a few of their specialty rolls, including the tropical, house roll, rock and roll, tempura, spicy delight to name a few. I highly recommend the rock and roll (funny name but well worth it)!

The quality and freshness of the seafood is always top notch and the food presentation was creative and colorful.

This is definitely not the typical budget sushi. Food quality and service is reflected in their price. However, I'm surprised to hear the price issue in the below reviewers as most of their items are under $10. Dinner for us with a large sake usually comes to about $50 for two people- which is quite reasonable (in my opinion).

Service and my experience has always been great- feels somewhat like a family, as I have seen the same servers for years. Management always seems to be on the floor making sure their clients are happy.

Our waitress last Friday was especially memorable (of course I forgot her name). Although it was a busy 7pm Friday night, she was very patient and helpful with the menu and provided a cheerful and prompt service. She was also sweet enough to help us find a cab!

If the manager is reading this, I really hope he opens up another business in the Kits area as I think Akari defines quality at a solid price.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My only choice for Sushi in Delta
By Saxster of Delta (2 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, May 3, 2012 - 11:03am [Dine in]

I am a frequent customer of Akari in Delta. I have tried other Sushi places in the area, and none hold a candle to the quality of the food at Akari. No, it is not the cheapest place. No, it isn't the fanciest decor, and the service is - regular. They are VERY friendly, though.

Quality of food is the #1 importance to me and Akari delivers that, no question. Remember if you are in there and it sems a bit slow even though the restaurant is not very full, they do a brisk take-out business as well, and the kitchen is probably swamped.

I can honestly say I have never had a bad experience at Akari. A little slow sometims, but the quality is well worth the wait.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best Quality Food
By dotori4000 of Burnaby Canada (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, March 5, 2013 - 6:44pm [Dine in]

It's really hard to find good quality Japanese restaurants in the lower mainland. My experience at Akari Japanese restaurant was outstanding. I've been to Akari several times with my family and friends this year. I am very picky with Japanese food and the quality really really matters to me. I love all kinds of Japanese food but fresh sashimi is my favourite at all times. Akari had very fresh, chewy, and yummy sashimi. We ordered sashimi salad and grilled black cod with vegetables for appetizers, and some of the special rolls. The food was fresh, very tasty and the decoration was beautiful! Some of the special rolls can be a bit pricy but they are so worth it. I really enjoyed their rolls. They offer many different kinds of rolls and all are very very unique. You can choose either white rice or black rice. I personally really liked the ones with black rice. They looked yummy, tasted incredible, fresh, satisfying and very filling. The service was great too! Thinking of Akari's food makes me want to eat there again right now lol. I highly recommend Akari Japanese restaurant to anyone who love Japanese cousin! :)

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Waste of time
By Brian Smith of Delta BC (1 Review)
Submitted Friday, January 11, 2013 - 10:38pm [Dine in]

Arrived at 6:30pm, waitress took order at 6:45pm, I asked for the location of our drinks at 7pm, food arrived in stages starting at 7:15pm. I finished eating before my daughter got hers, and her order was a simple box. Food was OK, prices are quite expensive in comparison to most other sushi joints, service is absolutely horrible. We have been here maybe three times in the past year and have found the service to be bad, this last experience was the last straw. If you look around and watch the waitresses, confusion is their specialty. We watched two other tables just give up and leave. This was a Thursday night and it was maybe three-quarters full and numerous waitresses were working. They had better streamline this act or that space they occupy will become a dollar store by next year. My sushi dollar will be spent elsewhere though.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
So tasty
By marc_drescher9@hotmail.com of delta (1 Review)
Submitted Friday, November 16, 2012 - 2:51pm [Dine in]

Let me start by saying WOW!! That was my first impression when walking through the doors of Akari. They did a nice job of décor inside and your always greeted with (what I think is a friendly “hello” in Japanese). I have been going to Akari for many years now, because I am simply addicted to the amazing flavours of their UNIQUE sushi. I have eaten in most every sushi restaurant in Surrey and Delta and numerous ones in Vancouver. That said, Akari by a land slide is my favourite! These guys make sushi rolls such as the Kamikaze roll and the Hot Night roll which you can’t find done in that style anywhere else. I've been told its all in the special sauces and fresh fish that the Head chef at Akari guards under lock and key. I'm not sure what's in some of these decadent sauces, but to say it they are intoxicatingly addictive would be an understatement. They have a lunch special which includes one of these specialty rolls I have mentioned, a choice of Chicken Kuskiage (my favourite), Agedashi Tofu, Gyoza, Tempura, and a few other choices. It also includes miso soup and salad for only 12.95 and it goes right up until 3pm! .. sorry if I sound excited while writing this, but Im getting hungry just thinking about it. The service is prompt and friendly and everything seems to come out in a timely fashion. The service was outstanding and when I asked about menu items they all have good recommendations and never stop smiling. The only thing I would recommend Akari to change is their washrooms; they are dated and seem out of place. Why do such a good job renovating the entire restaurant and choose it ignore the washrooms? Anyway, aside from this small flaw, I must urge you try the Akari Experience! Its amazing and I HIGHLY recommend this sushi restaurant.

ENJOY!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
EXTREME Dissappointment!!!!
By neekatam of Richmond , BC (1 Review)
Submitted Saturday, May 22, 2010 - 2:19pm [Dine in]

A friend and I were in Delta and decided to pop in to Akari for a quick bite. We figured we go in and check out the menu first and noticed they had a large selection from reasonable to overly priced dishes, but at the same time we were greeted very pleasantly, so we decided to stay. Both my friend and I have been servers at a Japanese restaurant in the past, therefore we are understanding and compassionate with what they have to go through, but this day, our tolerance was wearing short.

At first, when we were waiting to be seated, we noticed only one other table with a couple seated, so it wasn't too busy yet and we figured the food shouldn't take too long. After we were seated at the first table by the sushi bar in the main aisle, we waited at least five minutes for a server to come by to ask us......If we would like something to drink (ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! standards at a Japanese restaurant is, you seat a customer, you bring tea to welcome them to your establishment...no questions asked). After we received our tea, we placed our order and waited for our food. The food came quite quickly, but our problems are just about to begin.

After 1/2hr there were a couple more tables seated, but not to the point where the restaurant was super busy, so we figured before it gets too busy, we will ask for the bill and possibly more tea. Well, that sure didn't happen quickly! My friend and I tried to flag a server from all directions, but no luck, we gestured to the sushi chef (who was staring right at us) for one of the servers, but he just continued to stare at us. Where we were seated, the servers section is right in their path of the main entrance, so for them not to see me calling them while looking in our direction is REDICULOUS. What frustrated me even more was even when they walked by and I said "Excuse me", they never even acknowledge our existence, they just ended up going to the back to gab away with each other. So now by this point, I am beyond angry and finally she comes and asks us if we would like anything else (when we already have our wallets in our hands). She brings us the bill and while we figure out the bill, she comes back within minutes and asks if it's alright to take the money. Unbelievable!!!

Lets just say, both of us will never return and we will spread word to all the people we know to AVOID this place at all mean. My review may be harsh, but only to receive immediate service when it comes to is just pathetic.

NEVER AGAIN

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I have to chime in as well - this is my favourite Japanese restaurant in the area
By Teej of North Delta, B.C. (1 Review)
Submitted Thursday, December 31, 2009 - 5:37pm [Dine in]

The food really is incredible, and sitting in there feels like sitting in a restaurant in Japan. And yes, I've been to Japan, lol. It's a bit larger than what you see in Tokyo, but space is a lot cheaper here than there I suppose. But they flat out nailed the ambiance, seriously.

The only thing negative I could say it I find it a bit pricy unless you stick with the specials. I like to live a little and eat things out of the ordinary, and once my husband and I literally spent $70 between just the two of us. And neither of us is particularly heavy. But - that was probably our own fault - it's still cheaper than The Keg. And that $70 was the best Japanese meal I've had in years.

They do wonderful sushi, but they're not limited to just that. The udons, dons, tempura, you name it from the kitchen, is all just amazing as well.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 6 of 6 Images Found