Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

Coquitlam Restaurant Reviews
Chada Thai Fine Cuisine2991 Lougheed Hwy, #107, Coquitlam
Cramped is right!
By Food-Goddess of Coquitlam (96 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, February 23, 2011 - 11:36pm [Dine in]

I bought the Groupon a little while ago, so we finally decided to go and try this place. The decor was quite unique, with golden statues and all. It was a tiny little place with lots of tables, especially the area just across the kitchen, you could barely squeeze yourself in between the tables to get to the seat if you're sitting against the wall.
There were only two servers there. One was very attentive and would come by and check once in a while, to see if the food was ok, or if our water needed to be refilled. The other one, on the other hand, was standing around most of the night, and we had to prompt her a few times to refill out water.
We ordered the chicken satay appy, pad thai and the seafood plate. The satay came almost right away. The chicken was deepfried, which was a first for us for satays. It was alright, a little bit dry though, but the peanut sauce was good.
The we ordered medium spiciness for both the pad thai and the seafood plate.The pad thai was alright, nothing to boast about. I've definitely had better pad thai's elsewhere. The seafood plate was not spicy at all, more on the sweet side. Most of the seafood was overcooked, especially the squid pieces, they were all quite tough and chewy. The jumbo prawns were good though. Would like it more if there was more sauce on the plate.
The prices were reasonable even without the coupon, but the food really wasn't all that. I might come back to try their curries and their desserts, we were just too full this time.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Go Go Pizza and Pasta House501 North Rd, #E, Coquitlam
Best pizza in the world
By Drewlou of Vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 11:46pm [Take-out]

I have never been disappointed by this place. They are always so friendly and have our pizza ready for us. It is truly the most amazing pizza I've ever had. I would take a plane to have it. A must try for everyone.I live downtown Vancouver and drive all the way to coquitlam to get it. Keep up the amazing work and service!!! I only gave them 3 stars for service because I've only ever had take out so it is difficult to gauge service without the whole dining experience.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Chada Thai Fine Cuisine2991 Lougheed Hwy, #107, Coquitlam
Charming, but cramped
By kewpiebaby of Vancouver (200 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 11:48pm [Dine in]

I’ve been eying Chada Thai ever since the chef was featured on Anna & Kristina’s Grocery Bag. My husband and I love Thai food so we were really excited to use a Groupon Deal here. I made a reservation a few days in advance for a Sunday seating at 5:30pm and the restaurant manager, Janewit was very friendly, reminding me to bring the voucher when I arrived. Located in Pinetree Village across from Coquitlam Centre, it’s very easy to get to, has tons of parking, but it’s a very tiny restaurant.

Great decor, cozy, warm and a cute little Thai place. Because of the Groupon (I think) the restaurant was packed (on a Sunday!) when we arrived with 2 or 3 tables empty. Being able to hear and almost touch the surrounding tables at times felt a bit too cozy and cramped, but nothing new to us, having eaten at tighter quarters in restaurants in New York. The place could probably seat around 25 people or so, but anymore than that would feel like a fire hazard. The kitchen is basically in the centre corner of the room (covered by walls,phew!), but it’s lovely to be able to smell all the Thai aromas as soon as you enter the restaurant.

We ordered a few dishes to share: the Pad Thai - Pan-fried rice noodles in tamarind sauce, with chicken and prawns, egg, tofu, green onions, and bean sprouts, topped with ground peanuts, the Beef Mus-sa-Mun Curry - Pan-seared with potatoes, onions, carrots and peanuts, served with sautéed vegetables, and the Pork Garlic Pepper Sauce - sautéed with cauliflower, carrots, onions, and steamed broccoli with black sweet sauce. Everything was brought out quite fast, so that was a bit of a surprise, but thankfully it was “smoking” hot. I think we would be safe to order medium spice next time because the mild was too mild for our tastes and the dishes we tried needed more of a spice kick.

The Pad Thai was really good, very saucy and had large prawns, which I really enjoyed. The Pork Garlic Pepper Sauce was quite yummy and smelled really good. Great flavours. The only downside was the pork was slightly overcooked and dry. The Beef Curry was quite delicious and was an okay sized portion. My hubby also tried their Chada Thai Tea - A special blend of flavourful cinnamon, clove, star anise, fresh lemon, with a touch of honey. It was a tad bit bitter for my tastes, but he enjoyed it.

Overall a yummy Thai place, BUT I think a bit too pricey for Coquitlam. I understand the exotic flavours and quality of really good Thai food, but I can’t really justify $22 for a beef curry entree. And the tables for 2 are pretty small, so the waitress really should have better technique of “plopping” down the plates before walking away. One of our long rectangular dishes barely fit on the table; when she first set it down, it nearly fell off the edge. My husband and I had to rearrange the other dishes on the table so everything would fit. Crazy. But I really liked it that rice wasn’t an extra charge and came standard with their curry dishes.
Service was pretty nonexistent on this particular Sunday night, but Janewit was quick to apologize and was only able to refill our water glasses at the end of the meal. =(

I think we’d come back to try the lunch special, but a regular dinner might be a bit too much for our wallets. =(

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Fulin Hot Pot Restaurant3025 Lougheed Hwy, #780, Coquitlam
EXPENSIVE for young kids - and
By mugenman of Coquitlam, BC (3 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 9:15pm [Dine in]

When we went the last time, my son (3 years old) was not charged for his meal. This time, my son (still only 3 years old) was charged for his meal despite our protests and even showing the owner his Care Card to verify his age. When we got home, we checked the online ordering pages, which says that kids under 4 eat free. Thus, we were improperly charged $10.98 for our 3 year old son, who ate only one bowlful of food. Thus, be careful if you have young children as you may be improperly charged so the owner can make a few extra bucks.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
New China Kitchen100 Schoolhouse Street, #112, Coquitlam
Did not enjoy the food
By COMPANI of V5A1S6 (21 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 18, 2011 - 1:55pm [Take-out]

We ordered two combo's from this place, must say it wasn't very good. The rice was the worst rice I have ever eaten. The sweet and sour pork tasted old and stale. Just bad all around. We will never order from here again, just really did not enjoy the food.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
My Greek Taverna946 Brunette Avenue, Coquitlam
Very enjoyable
By COMPANI of V5A1S6 (21 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 18, 2011 - 12:12pm [Dine in]

We brought my mother-in-law to this restaurant because we wanted to show off this place...after searching for soooo long to find a good greek restaurant we finally found one. Every time we have been to this place the service has been awesome. They're quick, very friendly and our food has never taken very long. Even though every single time we've gone there it's been super packed and busy. In relation to other Greek restaurants we've been to, this place is priced well and the portion sizes are huge. I can never finish my plate.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Nando's Chicken3000 Lougheed Hwy, 204, Coquitlam
Best Chicken in the Tri-Cities!!!
By canucks2011 of Tri-Cities, British Columbia (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, February 16, 2011 - 3:00pm [Dine in]

Went to Nando's Coquitlam with the family on the weekend, got to say it comes as advertised. They got by far the best chicken around and a good amount of options for sides. The food was outstanding, along with the service and the atmosphere. We could not finish our entire meal and I had to get the rest packed to go. The chicken was cooked to perfection, the salad was nice and green and the rice was fantastic. When they talk about their food being spicy, they sure do mean it! I ordered hot and was it ever spicy, definitely recommend Lemon & Herb or Medium for your first time.

The service was unbelievable, you would think it would be like fast food but it’s not. You order at the counter with their very friendly staff. I was very surprised at how great their servers were. After placing our order we were asked to take a seat and they would bring the food out to us. We had a server come up and check up on us. Not something I would expect from a restaurant that is suppose to be casual dine.

The ambiance & atmosphere was great. Its decor is very nice and it has a sitting area for people waiting for take out or waiting for friends to arrive. They also have a patio outside which wasn't set up because of the poor weather conditions. They got two TV’s and play some decent background music.
I would recommend this place to anyone who loves chicken. As they say it is very addictive and we will for sure go back there. The service, food, price and atmosphere were great.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Zhou's Chinese Restaurant1930 Como Lake Ave, Coquitlam
Great westernized Chinese food with lots of variety
By noidy of Coquitlam (13 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, February 14, 2011 - 10:20pm [Delivery]

We've tried several local (Westernized) Chinese restaurants and find ourselves going back and ordering from this one repeatedly. We've probably done so over a dozen times and have found the food and service to be very good and consistent. There's always lots of left-overs which we can then have for lunch.

Portion sizes are very good, vegetables are tender-crisp, fried items are fresh tasting, orders are correct (no surprises or substitutions) and delivery is very fast and free over $20. If you have the brochure, you'll see that there are free items for purchases over $20, $30, $40 and $50 ranging from wonton soup/egg rolls, chicken chow mein, vegetable festival and ginger beef. You don't have to cut out the "Red Hot Coupon", but just tell them you have one when you order. The people on the phone and the delivery drivers are pleasant. There's also a discount for pick-up orders which we haven't experienced yet.

Some favorites: honey garlic boneless pork -- it's not on the menu, but you can ask for it. Singapore style fried vermicelli, breaded lemon chicken (very good lemon sauce), ma po minced beef and bean curd, minced pork and and egg plant hot pot and any meat with gai lan (Chinese broccoli). Dishes that are marked as "hot" have some kick, but I wouldn't say that they are chili hot (more like mild or when you add chili flakes to dishes).

It's the best Chinese take-out in the Tri-city area given the variety of dishes, food quality, value and service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Crepe Delicious2929 Barnet Highway, #1205, Coquitlam
Best Gealto and Crepes Ever!
By wutfood of Coquitlam, B.C. (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, February 14, 2011 - 7:16pm [Take-out]

The first time I went was on the grand opening, and even with an enormous lineup, the quality of service and food were amazing. I've been to many crepe places and many gelato places, but this one tops them all! The crepes were very skillfully made. They were nice and fluffy and hot, but I didn't burn my mouth on it. Combining the crepe with gelato made it even better. I had the raspberry gealto, and wasn't expecting much, but was very surprised. Some people might think the gelato is a bit pricey for the amount you get, but its so worth it!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Matoi Sushi3025 Lougheed Hwy, Coquitlam
Best sushi restaurant in Coquitlam, HANDS DOWN!
By ChivalryX of Burnaby (60 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 10, 2011 - 1:17pm [Dine in]

Being the big Sushi lover, I decided to give Matoi Sushi a try, given the rave reviews on Dinehere.ca.

When we arrived, we were amused that it was located in the exact same place as 2 other Japanese places had been. i.e. yet another restaurant take over.

The place was pretty quiet at 6pm on a weekday evening, with just one other couple there. We were cheerily greeted in the traditional Japanese manner by all the staff when we walked in the door, and given a nice table by the windows. It was quite obvious from the moment we walked in that it was an authentic Japanese run restaurant! (which is rare in Coquitlam)

The place has been reno'd since it's previous incarnation, and has a larger kitchen/sushi bar for the cooks, but less seating. Small tables are all out front, and there are a couple larger party rooms hidden in the back. Everything was very neat and tidy and spotlessly clean.

We were pleasantly surprised that they had a daily special menu with fresh items imported directly from Japan. Another rarity to see in any Vancouver Japanese places.

We ordered a couple Saba Nigiri, a Chirashi Don, a California Combo, and gave one of their specials a try, the Mirugai Ponzu for an appetizer. The Mirugai (geoduck) was AMAZING! Mixed with some seaweed, cucumbers and a salty/sour sauce it was absolutely delicious and the mirugai was the freshest I've ever had. The Chirashi Don had a wide selection of sashimi, with some less often seen items like salmon belly, and stewed gourd. Everything was delicious and very very fresh. Portion sizes were good, and the sushi was an appropriate size (i.e. fits in your mouth in one bite).

The service was impeccable, our tea was refilled constantly and the waitresses were very attentive and polite.

At the end of the meal we were given a packet of chocolate Pocky sticks, imported from Japan. This was a bit of a treat, as I hadn't eaten Pocky since I was quite little.

Price wise, the prices are in the mid range. Neither high nor low, but for the quality and freshness of the food, it's an outstanding value. Between the 2 of us, we spent around $35.

Overall, an absolutely wonderful experience and we'll definitely be returning again. Highly recommended!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Togo Sushi2929 Barnet Highway, #1208, Coquitlam
Great little Sushi place
By vanangel of poco (1 Review)
Submitted Wednesday, February 9, 2011 - 5:37pm [Take-out]

Me and my husband always go to Togo Sushi. We tend to sick with the same order, I usually get the avocado roll and mango roll and DH usually gets the California Combo. We are always happy with our order. The Miso Soup is great, they don't put seaweed bits in it (which we like). Also they're always quick, never usually have to wait more than 5 minutes for our order.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Papa John's Pizza555 North Rd, #2A, Coquitlam
Delicious!
By brittanytodorov of Vancouver, BC. (3 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, February 8, 2011 - 12:33pm [Take-out]

This pizza was absolutely delicious. The crust tastes buttery and is nice and crisp. The sauce and the toppings were fresh and cooked to perfection. They have some really good specials on now too, so I got a medium pepperoni pizza for $8.

Plus, I find that this pizza is easier to digest than Domino's.

Will definitely order again! Yum!!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Nando's Chicken3000 Lougheed Hwy, 204, Coquitlam
Expected much better value and service.
By Stylish of burnaby and vancouver (1 Review)
Submitted Monday, February 7, 2011 - 11:32am [Take-out]

It seemed like there was no effort to have better service provided from the time we called to place an order. When we arrived to pick up our order, there was no acknowledgement of our arrival. The person who was attending, a middle aged lady in the front did not seem too concerned that we were waiting to be attended. It seemed there was also other staff available behind the counter at the kitchen area who didn't bother to acknowledge either. Were were in a hurry and Instead we ended up waiting a good 5 mins to pay and pick up the order.

Once we brought the food home, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, not to mention the serving. It was definitely no what we expected.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
Fulin Hot Pot Restaurant3025 Lougheed Hwy, #780, Coquitlam
Bad experience
By Frankmag of Po Co (1 Review)
Submitted Sunday, February 6, 2011 - 9:42am [Dine in]

We had our dinner at this restaurant. And when we came in, a waitress led us to a regular 4 person table. Since we have a baby and the hot pot was pretty close around, we asked to switch to anther bigger table for baby's safety, and then they refused. (just said "no"directly no sorry or other polite manner) At 8:00pm the store was so empty, only two table were filled. I couldnt find a reason why not. Finally, those waitresses agreed to ask their boss, and the boss finally said yes with a serious face. After that, the dining was unhappy, the food was salty and no waitress added water for us and even no glass for my older daughter. The pot was almost dry and no people came to refill the soup. They just ignor everything unless you wave to them. I would definitely not go to that restaurant again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
I Love Sushi228 Schoolhouse St, #3, Coquitlam
Pretty Good
By kewpiebaby of Vancouver (200 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 3, 2011 - 5:24pm [Dine in]

A nice change from all the surrounding sushi places in the area. We enjoyed a few of their chef's special rolls such as the Energy Roll that has salmon, tuna, crab, cream cheese, avocado, & masago, the RJ Roll that has prawn tempura, yam topped w/chopped scallop, masago, the Spicy Mom Roll has prawn tempura, yam topped w/ Spicy Salmon & Tuna, and finally the Honey Roll-california roll w/ baked chopped scallop on top. All tasted great and great portions. Each roll was around $7-$8 but we were pretty happy with the choices & the prices. I wouldn't say they were the best sushi place out there, but the rolls are unique, and nicely made. The service is very friendly & efficient. This would be a great place to come before or after the movies next door at Silvercity.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My Greek Taverna946 Brunette Avenue, Coquitlam
Dark, but delicious
By kewpiebaby of Vancouver (200 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 3, 2011 - 10:25am [Dine in]

Been here twice for Greek food and it's always busy and packed. Expect a bit of a wait for your table, for your order to be taken and for the food to finally get there. The first time we came for a group party and while the food and portions were quite good, the service was sloppy and slow. Guess they weren't ready that night for such a big group. Our second visit was with family and food was still delicious and big portions. Service was still meh. A great neighborhood place with reasonable prices, but sometimes poor attitude from the servers and I didn't really like the uber dark lighting.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Matoi Sushi3025 Lougheed Hwy, Coquitlam
Improved over last visit
By Starturtle of Port Coquitlam (2 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, February 3, 2011 - 9:25am [Dine in]

My family and I have returned to this restaurant a couple of times since our initial visit and we noticed that they have made a few adjustments since my initial review on Dine Here (which gets replaced by this review).

First regarding the food; we noticed that they have adjusted the size of the maki sushi rolls making them smaller and more bite sized which is a pleasant surprise. We still find that the California roll filling still oddly salty but still palatable. I adore their Dynamite with the Yam tempura over the top.

I still believe the hot food including Donburis and Udon are solid examples of how they should be prepared but I think these dishes are easier to prepare than good sushi.

They also introduced a new one-sheet menu with some more authentic and traditional Japanese menu items. I’m a little more main stream so I steered clear of these items but my wife, who spent 15 years in Japan, was intrigued by this menu including something called Oden which is a soup. She ordered it and was impressed with how it tasted.

Service is friendly all around. We noted on our last visit that one of the waitresses was friendlier than the other but I did not notice it this time around. Our cups were always topped up with tea and they were quite attentive.

I noticed that they no longer offer the frozen grape at the end which was a nice touch and instead have introduced the traditional after dinner chocolate. I’m sure this is a more popular choice with most Canadians but I must say I was a little disappointed to see the grapes go.

I really like the ambience of this restaurant as it’s clean and stylish. Some may not like the lower lighting and the hard floors creating a colder feel to the restaurant but I quite partial to it. One addition I did not like was that they added several televisions mounted around the restaurant. I think that this makes the restaurant less elegant and creates more of a pub environment. However, I’m sure that it makes it more of a popular destination when hockey is being broadcasted which is likely what they are going after.

Overall, nice improvements with good service a pleasant atmosphere with food that is above average. They actually seem to care about making improvements so continue to provide feedback to them and post comments/reviews.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Sushi Mori2565 Barnet Hwy, #26, Coquitlam
Great Ambiance, Go straight for the Sashimis
By dieuparmi of Coquitlam (9 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, February 2, 2011 - 4:14am [Dine in]

Ambiance is fantastic, great place to take a date. The fish for sashimi/nigiris/rolls are really fresh they are the gem of the restaurant. Avoid the teriyakis and boring noodles. Avoid the bento crap, waste of money.
Bathrooms could be cleaner. Nice place for a drink and some sashimi. Service was fantastic, free appies from our server :D
TV's ... really?
Otherwise solid place to go

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Hon's Wun Tun House3025 Lougheed Hwy, #310, Coquitlam
Food is still decent, value is not.
By k-dawg73 of Burnaby (67 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 29, 2011 - 8:53pm [Dine in]

We went here today, after not eating at Hon's for about a year. We were seated very quickly and water and tea were brought to our table. We went there on a Saturday at noon time and the restaurant, which was normally very busy in the past, was pretty empty. Not sure if this was a good sign.

We ordered one of the set combo menu's for one, 6 potstickers and an assorted beef with noodles in soup. The price used to be just under $7, but now it's nearly $9. Also ordered, a dish of pan fried flat rice noodles with beef and a plate of bbq pork on rice. Noodle dish was $8.50 and the rice dish was $7.95. The potstickers were pretty standard, quite greasy though. The beef in noodle soup was very good. Lots of tender soy sauce stewed beef flank/brisket type of meat and tripe in a dark tasty broth. The good thing is that they didn't serve any weird liver/spleen type of meat anymore like they used too. I like tripe and other weird cuts of beef, but draw the line at liver/spleen. Yuck. The rice noodles were good, as was the bbq pork on rice, but how the hell can you screw that one up?!! The bad thing was that the portion sizes were tiny, compared to the price. You used to be able to count on Hon's for providing large portions for cheap prices. The rice noodle and rice dish was about 25% smaller in size and the price increased by about 30%. To me, that is not good value.

Service was quick and efficient, nothing outstanding. You order your food and they plop it on the table. Ambiance? What ambiance? The restaurant is clean, but utilitarian and they have those plastic plates, spoons and chopsticks.

Lunch for 2 adults and 2 children came out to $31 after tax and tip. We were full, but a year ago, the same meal would have cost about $5 - $6 cheaper, HST notwithstanding. The kicker was after I had paid, I wanted to get a chinese donut (yuo tuo) at the take out counter. They used to have great yuo tuo, about 14 inches long, crispy, yet chewy for only 80 cents for 1 pair. I asked for one order, expecting 1 pair of donut. What I got for $1.20 was a single donut, not a pair, about 8 inches long, very dark, dry, and overcooked. Not good.

I'm not sure what happened to this place. It's been declining in value, quality and quantity for the past several years now. I knew they had some financial problems a few years ago with rumors of insolvency and bankruptcy and unpaid wages to workers. Maybe they got out of trouble, but with the way things seem to be going now, they probably won't be in business for very much longer. And that is a shame for a what used to be a Vancouver tradition.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Insadong Korean Restaurant403 North Road, #301, Coquitlam
Pretty Good Korean Food
By gymnasium of South Surrey (5 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 29, 2011 - 2:51pm [Dine in]

We ordered one of the barbeque sets. It was too expensive. I've eaten lots of bbq in Korea where beef is more expensive than Canada so for the price I was expecting more meat. Everything was mediocre except somehow the denjeong jigae stood out as outstanding. And those unique little pajeons were pretty good, too. It seemed like we were annoying the servers to get, well, some service! I think if we went back we would just order off the regular menu and stay away from the sets.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance