Login or Register
Do a search below using the city or postal code search box if your city is not listed above.

3.5
  • Food4
  • Service3.5
  • Value4
  • Ambiance3
  • Reviews33

Cockney Kings Fish & Chips

6574 Hastings Street
Burnaby, BC V5B1S2
Tel: (604) 291-1323

Reviews

Displaying 1 - 20 of 33 Reviews FoundSort: Useful | Helpful | Reviews | Date
Fish-O-Licious!
By chasiubow of North Van (675 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, April 16, 2007 - 9:28pm [Dine in]

I was craving some fish and chips while in Burnaby, and I remembered that CK was nearby. When I arrived I discovered it was AYCE night! I instantly regretted my big lunch (you really have to prepare for AYCE).

The server was very friendly and we were immediately served cold beverages (bottomless and included in the $8.95 meal deal). After a short wait, the fish and chips arrived piping hot. The big fish pieces were lightly battered and juicy, and the fresh-cut chips were hot and tasty, not greasy. Mrs. C and I drizzled on some malt vinegar and tartar sauce then inhaled the savoury delights.

After my second serving I was super-full, but I don't think they made a profit off me :). Although I was a little preoccupied with feasting I did take the time to notice the restaurant was tidy and the w/c was clean.

The only downside: No coleslaw. I don't think I had room anyway...

Recommended!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Melt in you mouth goodness
By hydeeho of Burnaby (183 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 9:01pm [Dine in]

Craving some ayce fish and chips thought we would try the Burnaby location instead of our usual NW spot. The service was below par as we felt as if we were being ignored. The fish was lightly battered and melted in my mouth. The perfect storm of fish and chips, fresh fish, fresh oil, deep fry cook in a good mood and happy to be working. Both fish and chips came out hot and fresh. The whole experience was very positive and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is craving some excellent fish and chips.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

If only I loved fish and chips
By Kujibo of West Vancouver (127 Reviews)
Submitted Sunday, August 5, 2007 - 11:54pm [Dine in]

OK if I really loved fish and chips, I'd give this place a 4 or 5 star rating. I don't mind fish and chips, but I'm not sure I could love the best fish and chips as much as I love other foods. So I can only give 3 stars here. But if you love fish and chips, this is the place for you!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Great fish and chips in the area
By CaptainNemo of Vancouver (97 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, February 5, 2010 - 11:39am [Dine in]

I found this place online, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Food was really good and price was very reasonable.

The ambiance was like just another diner. However, the service was a little rusty. I'm not too sure if I had a new waitress on my first visit, but she forgot my dinner buns for my meal. I had to ask for it. She took my soft drink to refill and never came back with it until I asked. Then, when my fish came, she told me it was cod, when I ordered halibut. She said she would double check. She came back and told me it was halibut, but it tasted like cod.

Overall, I really like this place. There isn't very many fish and chips places in the area. I found that the people there were quite nice, despite the fact that they were rusty.

I would definatly go back!!!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good fish and chips
By cyberspace of vancouver (80 Reviews)
Submitted Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 5:08am [Dine in]

Went to Cockney's for some fish and chips. A friend said that this was a good place and we tried the all you can eat fish and chips. The fish was good and service was also not bad. She did not make us feel like we were freeloaders. One of myguest had 5 pieces of fish which she did not mind bring to him. We also got our drinks and refill was promt. I would go back.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
If you like fish and chips, you'll love cockney kings
By A Fatty of North Burnaby, BC (75 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, April 15, 2010 - 12:24am [Dine in]

The only place around in North Burnaby that offers all you can eat fish and chips. The chips could be improved on, but the fish is delicious. I've been for both lunch and dinner, and both times I've had a positive experience there. Also, if you want cheap fries, you can order it separate and take out. The large windows can also allow you to keep an eye out for your vehicle.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance

<More reviews below advertisement>

A great find!
By Trevor of Vancouver (60 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, March 2, 2009 - 1:52am [Dine in]

Was wanting to have good fish 'n chips, but the crappy weather forced us to look for somewhere to sit indoors to enjoy our fish. Heard the positive reviews about this place, decided to try it out with some friends and we were so glad we did.

Food: Tried a bunch of items and nothing disappointed. ALL tasted very good. It's fried food so there's a bit of grease, but nothing like other places I've tried. We tried the halibut & chips, onion rings, calamari and seafood dinner platter. The food was cooked perfectly, nothing dry, chewy or over-battered. Onion rings were awesome-- could've eaten a whole order just by myself. Coleslaw was decent, but small portion. Only slight complaints: the fries were a bit burnt & the dinner rolls and tartar sauce were boring. But this isn't enough to stop me from returning.

Service: Excellent. Greeted and orders taken promptly. Server was friendly and efficient. Checked on us multiple times to make sure we had what we needed. Food was served quickly, but we were never rushed.

Ambiance: Clean, bright interior with simple tables and wooden chairs. Not cramped and not noisy. The paper placemats were interesting to read.

Value: The portions were generous and reasonably-priced. Fish pieces were big and not all batter, like most other places give you. Bottomless pop for $2 was a huge plus.

Best fish 'n chips joint I've tried to date. Recommended.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great Fish!!
By Balmy of Burnaby (51 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, May 8, 2009 - 3:49pm [Dine in]

My last couple of visits here have been a really good experience. Overall, the food is reasonable priced especially for their all you can eat special.

Food is tasty! I have tried different items over the years. Onion rings are amazing. One of the better places I have tried. Seafood chowder is good. However, it does not always get served hot. It was lukewarm the last time I ordered it. Best bet is the fish and chips! Can't go wrong. Freshness varies, but still a great value!! The size of the fish does vary, but it doesn't matter when you are having the all you can eat special. Quite often I get old fries that have been sitting around for a while when the restaurant isn't busy.

Service is great. Servers are quick to help and give suggestions. Ambiance is okay. The place is a bit old fashion in my opinion, but it's the food that counts!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My go-to place for Fish & Chip cravings
By pookiebear of UBC (46 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, July 16, 2009 - 10:07am [Dine in]

This is my favourite place for fish and chips. On Mon-Weds, they have all you can eat for 9.50, and includes a pop, a super deal. Fish is always served piping hot and fresh. The fish batter is not too thick and has a great taste to it. Their onion rings are also delicious. The fries are only so so, but I am there for their fish.

Service is a bit slow, especially on all you can eat nights, but I understand that they are busy. The servers are nice and polite though.The restaurant itself looks like an old dining room, and seats only up to 30 and 40 people. It looks reasonably clean. But most fish and chip restaurants I've been to all look the same.

Highly recommended if you are craving for Fish and Chips!

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Excellent Fish&Chips
By Valdemar of Burnaby, BC (38 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 18, 2009 - 3:10pm [Dine in]

I went to this place after reading these positive reviews and I was not disappointed.

Food: I haven't had Fish&Chips this good for some time. The portions are MASSIVE, with each piece looking to be about 10-12 inches long. Quality and quantity. Just the right amount of grease, batter, and juice in the fish and the fries were also tasty. Much better than you'd get at other restaurants in the GVRD.

Service: The food took less than 5 minutes to arrive, and was prepared right after our order. The restaurant was fairly full, but we were taken care of and did not have to wait long for anything. I haven't had that kind of service from more expensive restaurants.

Value: The price for a massive F&C platter is under $10. Since the food tastes good, the value is outstanding.

Ambiance: the only 'failing' is that Cockney Kings is a greasy spoon in terms of appearance. There are the usual English trinkets on the walls, but it is certainly not the place for a fancy date. What do you expect for a casual F&C place? The cockney slang table mats were good for a chuckle, though.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Best in Burnaby
By dal of van (35 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 18, 2009 - 7:39pm [Dine in]

I'm a huge fish and chip fan, and I found the fish/chips to be better than average, but not anything to rave about. The pieces of fish are generous, the batter was light and almost fluffy (which I didn't like, I like it crisp and a little crunchy). I didn't go for the AYCE, though the regular prices are pretty reasonable. The fries are bland, and no amount of their tartar sauce (too mild tasting for me) could liven it up. If I'm ever in the hood, I would drop by... mostly for their beer/wine price.. and service.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Fish tacos a surprise delight.
By aj67 of Burnaby (28 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, January 19, 2013 - 9:13am [Dine in]

Last night we went to Cockney Kings.
I finally decided to try their fish tacos, although
I was a bit nervous, it being a british fish shop.

I was delightfully surprised at how amazing their were

3 very good size tacos for a great price
Amazing taste
and their what-what sauce is soooo good!

I will be getting these again for sure.

I have to add, the service there is outstanding as usual.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Dine-in is best!
By rp07 of Burnaby (28 Reviews)
Submitted Monday, August 18, 2008 - 10:12am [Dine in]

My family has enjoyed Cockney Kings over the past few decades, the ambiance has remained the same, the food and portions have slightly changed over time, but that's to be expected when an establishment grows out of popularity.

My advice is to eat-in and not take-out, the portion size of the oysters are a disaster, and the chips are extremely greasy! I've become more aware of the food served these days, and prefer less oils in my food, but it is "fish and chips" afterall!

I believe it's time to make the restaurant a little livelier - more natural light is required for a more open dining experience, and cleaning-up the dirty dishes requires more attention.

All-in-all I'd have to say that it's good food, and better known for All-you-can-eat...

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good Price for Good Food
By xantidote of Burnaby (23 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 30, 2009 - 10:58pm [Dine in]

The first time I came to Cockney's I was really disapointed. The fish was soggy and drenched in oil. However on another occasion I had received some take out shrimp and it was excellent and I decided to give it another shot. Boy I was glad, the halibut was crispy and well done and the service was much better. Though I don't suggest getting the seafood chowder. I suppose I had just gone on a bad day my first time but I will take the chances and for sure will go again.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Great fish and chips
By foodnme of Vancouver, BC (13 Reviews)
Submitted Friday, January 2, 2009 - 3:53pm [Dine in]

My other half has been craving fish and chips, so based on all the great reviews, we decided to try Cockney's.

When we first walked in, we were a little hesitant. It was half full, and the remaining open tables had dirty dishes on them and obviously, staff was too busy to clean them up. We sat down in the middle of the restaurant and pushed the dishes to the side.
Waiting about 3 minutes, and still no waiter/waitress to clean up the dishes/bring our utensils/take our order. We said we'd give it 3 more minutes max before walking out, when eventually someone came.

We had all you can eat fish and chips, and I was surprised as to how good they were. The fish was not overly drenched in oil as some other all you can eat places, and the fries were perfectly crispy and hot. I ended up eating all my chips before my fish...
Each time my other half ordered more fish, it would come in less than a minute and would come out fresh and steaming hot. It was crispy, yet not overly drenched in batter and oil. Tartar sauce was tartar sauce.

Most places you leave feeling full and heavy and tired after...after leaving here, we left feeling really full and not heavy at all, which was surprising. I can't eat more than 2 pieces, but we'll definitely go back since the other half has fallen in love with the fish and the price here. You can't go wrong for great all you can eat fish and chips under $10.00.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Solid place
By LilianT of Burmaby (12 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, August 17, 2010 - 5:40am [Dine in]

The fish fried to perfection, crispy outside and hot flaky inside. coleslaw is also terrific, their home made tarter sauce is a to die for. the portions are quite big so therefore the price is good. the only drawback is you don't want to eat too much deep fried food these days for the obvious health concern, besides that, I am very happy with everything this fish & chip place can offer.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Finally, my craving has been satisfied
By sakuchan of E. Vancouver (12 Reviews)
Submitted Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 9:58pm [Dine in]

The place and menu are very homely. You can start with a chowder soup before digging into the fish and chips. Every fish and chips serve nearly the same quality food, so any favourable extinction sets each restaurant apart.

Service was excellent here. The waitress regularly checked up on us and water was refilled without being asked.

I ordered the halibut and found the batter pleasingly light. A friend ordered the seafood platter-which had onion rings and all sorts of fried seafood completing the plate, which was fried using the same batter.

In terms of value, the appetizers prove to be worth getting. In fact, if you care not for "chips," you should order the chicken finger appetizer (comes with onion rings) and the fish separately. Otherwise, the fish n chips dinner only comes with one fish, and won't be enough on its own. I would definitely go back to try AYCE.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
Good mushy peas!
By dorkasaurus of Okanagan (12 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, April 26, 2007 - 4:23pm [Dine in]

I admit I'm no connossieur of fish & chips, but I look forward to hitting up Cockney Kings when I can. It's inexpensive and very tasty. Either eating in or out, the staff is friendly and quick! Several weekdays they have an all-you-can-eat cod and chips special for under ten dollars.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance
Excellent Fish and Chips, Don't need to go to Steveston
By Kam of vancouver (11 Reviews)
Submitted Thursday, April 9, 2009 - 11:20pm [Dine in]

I went to eat fish and chips for all you can eat for less then $10 what a price includes pop, and the service is outstanding do not need to ask if we wanted more fish and chips they came around and asked. I would recommed this to anyone very good, if you want a cheap meal and cravings fish and chips come here.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Value
  • Ambiance
My 5 year old loves it!
By woaters of East Vancouver (11 Reviews)
Submitted Tuesday, May 6, 2008 - 7:53pm [Dine in]

I am always happy when I find a place my son and I can both enjoy. Lucky for me, he loves fish and the halibut and chips are yummy.
Very good deal too with the all you can eat. I love the newspaper doggy bags!
A great place for the whole family. Friendly service too. The day we went was so busy which is always a good sign.

  • Food
  • Service
  • Ambiance

Images

Displaying 1 - 2 of 2 Images Found