The staff the food... everything! ! We decided to eat here on Easter Sunday following a friend's recommendation and I can honestly say it was the best choice we made all weekend! !! The restaurant itself is very cute! And the menu for easter was delicious. Is particularly like to thank the front of house lady. When I made the booking she asked for food allergies which in itself is rare! When I told her I had a gluten allergy I thought nothing of it.
When we started deciding on courses she asked who had the allergy and took my order first to confirm it, it was so refreshing to see someone take it so seriously. Thank you
The atmosphere in the restaurant is lovely and we could have chatted all night. The staff are very nice, we got talking to the hostess and a waitress about holidays we've recently been on and shared good tips.
All in all the food was wonderful the staff were lovely and it was just such a lovely way to finish off Easter Sunday.
This place has become a complete disaster of what it was with the previous owners. I was a regular customer of the place before the ownership switched. I still gave it few tries after the switch, but tonight was just intolerable. On a sat night we went around 830and were seated, ordered drinks and appetizers. The drinks and food came before 910 and around 930 we decided we want to order more and the server tells us that the kitchen closed at 9 and we can't order. We were not notified at all about the kitchen's last call or closing time at all. At this point, we were frustrated and asked to speak with the owner and she came after 5 mins and said they were "out of food". I have never been said that in a restaurant ever before. I told her we were not told at all that the kitchen closed at 9, and she just apologized and left. I would never go to this place again. The food quality and taste is definitely different than the old owners but I still decided to give it a few tries before judging the new owners . The owners can't modify their food at all, i asked them to make the quesadillas spicy and well done to which the server replied,"the chef won't make any changes to the recipe and we can bring u the hot sauce on side." They need to go get a lesson in customer service before owning a restaurant. Very frustrating and disappointing, totally ruined our night. Never going back again.
Cleary don't go there and expect to have a late night dinner on the weekends especially.
Nice little place, fun dancing if your into that they have a kinda crowded little dance area. Crowd was fun to watch though. Main reason I went was to have some food and watch soccer on the massive screen. At 8pm they didn't have there signature short ribs, supposedly the were frozen still, so had chicken wings three different flavours they were not very good, the chicken just didn't taste very good, it had a weird flavour to it. The major concern about this place is the service it was the worst I have had in a long time, it took 20 minutes to get a drink. my drink was fine, but my friends was served wrong they ordered 2 shots of rum with a lime over ice, they received the two shots plus soda water no ice -so after a 20 minute wait to receive the drink wrong on top was pretty bad then the waitress came back with the same tall glass that she had dumped and poured in the two shots back into the tall glass, seemed kinda weird. service was consistent for the few hours we were there.
Before a hockey game I have caught myself here a few times in the past year. Every time I order the Beef Wellington, OMG its really good. Tastes exactly how I expect....little expensive in my mind but it is a dish that needs time and care in the preparation. Good job Hy's. Service is also worth a note, our waiter's on all occasions were very professional, attentive but not interruptive.
My friends wanted to try this place as they had bought a groupon. The service was good and food was also very good. I had the steak. Dessert was also very good. It's worth the money they charge as most yaletown places have small portions. This place was not bad. Lots of people at the restaurant and our server was very good.
Every time I come in the servicers is beyond rude! Today I got lectured on the size of my dish. I have had this food many times and have never been lectured like I had today. The woman came up and watched me the whole time, Made me very uncomfortable. Then she stood right in front of me lecturing me about my dish size. Her stared at me with a very mean look on her face the whole time. I have ate there several times and this was the worst I have been treated there. I have experienced their rude personalities before. I was shocked to find they didn't water the sauces as bad as they usual do. I have been there when they watered them down with a pitcher before, which gave the sauces no flavor. Plus the rice is not fresh. I highly not recommend them due to their rude personalities. Plus you shouldn't get lectured for the price you pay. Pus I have a 2 year old and got charged $3 for the 5 noodles she ate. Their is another BBQ not to far from them and I will go there for now on. At least they give you fried wontons and extras with your meal. Again, do yourself a favor and never eat at Robson. Do if you want to be treated with disrespect. It has never been a pleasant visit every time I have gone. They hirer the rudest of rude. Why support a restaurant financially with people like them. I don't appreciate the lecture and the attitude!!!!!
Inconsistently good food, consistently bad service. I saw this place on Diners and Drive-ins, I really wanted to love this place, and at first I did. Problem is, after four times going to this place, the tea is usually served luke warm at best, the food is sometimes served at a temperature that seems to say- I have been sitting in the back on a shelf for 5 or more minutes, the restaurant is filthy, the décor is horrible, and my goodness the waitresses are so inattentive. The noodles are really good as is the gyoza, but they really need to clean this place up and hire some people who actually want to service not a bunch of people who stand around clueless. The service is a huge problem here, the food is great. I rated it solid but it would be outstanding if I actually received it hot!
I went looking for a place for a good cup of coffee and a fresh baked pastry, i found Michaels in south surrey..too bad I didn't look more before trying this place out. First i ordered a cup of medium coffee, came out to me room temperature, and without any cream or sugar on the side, had to ask for it after she dropped it and ran away. Not impressed, so when i went up and asked if i could just have a croissant with a piece of cheese in it or on the side i was told " we dont do that" im like really? you serve sandwiches here and i cant get a plain croissant that you use for said sandwiches?...after what seemed too long to come to the idea of plain from the server, i get one with ham and cheese inside...again, i said plain with cheese..not ham and cheese..good thing
it wasn't against my religion or im allergic to pork. So they pulled out the ham and gave it back to me.
I find this quite unacceptable in this day and age where most people are very conscious of what they eat, but whatever, ill never go back...but the real kicker is they charged me 9 dollars for a the croissant and cheese..9 flipping dollars, because they can only charge for the sandwiches on the menu...I paid and left, my 9 dollar croissant has tainted my appetite for ever dining at this place again.
Stop reading reviews and eat here! Seriously, its excellent. I recently discovered this gem, and I must say I was very impressed. Langley is over run with franchised dining spots like cactus club and milestones - all good, but all the same. Shiraz offered something equally great, but also fresh and unique. I love the menu, and the fact that there are no line cooks: just chefs who make everything in-house. I was there with a party of nearly 20, and the service was exceptional, friendly and surprisingly fast, a wonderful place, and I will absolutely be back when ever i'm in town.
A friend came here and posted it on FB so we decided to drop by this new place. As my wife and I both love ramen, we have gone to most of the popular ramen places in Vancouver and Richmond. Danbo is a small ramen shop on W 4th. A neat and cozy place with the ramen looking good and priced about average at about $9.50. You can customize the soup, noodles, toppings. This is Fukuoka style so the noodles are really thin. Unfortunately, the soup lacked the richness in flavour. The basic taste was there but it seemed really watered down and didn't have much umami to it. The amount of noodles also seemed small so you end up ordering the kaidama or an extra serving of noodles for an extra $2. That brings the price of the ramen to $11.50. I ordered the B set which comes with 3pc Gyoza and a bowl of rice for another $3.50. The gyoza was again cooked really well with a nice crisp bottom and juicy top but didn't taste very good. My wife had the Shio Tonkotsu $9.95. The soup was a little better but not much so. In the end, it looks good in appearance but for $15 for a ramen lunch, there are many better places in the city.
I go to Rustys pub about 3 to 4 times a month, every single time im there i am very happy with my experience. I love the food that they make, not the usual pub grub ( which i like) it is above and beyond some of the best food ive eaten in any restaurant in the fraser valley. I enjoy the different kinds of food they have on the menu, from a big burger to usual appies to things ive never seen before.
Rattlesnake bites ( jalepeno chicken bites..so tasty) and an Inside out dynamite roll salad. Again i was stuffed and still wanting more. I have brought all my friends to this hidden gem in cloverdale and all have said the same thing, Amazing, and surprised a pub can put out this kind of food. Keep it up guys, you will always have a customer in me.
This place is new to Kerrisdale replacing the long standing Avenue Grill. With not be as satisfied with the other Pho place in the area it was time to give Pho Triple 3 a try. We ordered the lg hot & sour prawn soup with egg noodles and the chicken teriyaki and wonton soup combo.
The hot & sour soup broth came in 1 container and the noodles in another. The broth was filled to the top which I like b/c the broth is my favourite part of the soup. There were ample amounts thin egg noodles in the other. Accompanying the broth was 6 good size prawns, cabbage, deep fried onion bits, basil, tomatoes and bean sprouts. The soup was really flavourful. The only thing that it didn't come with was additional bean sprouts, basil and hot/hoisin sauce. I would request that next time. The chicken teriyaki came in a good portion of crispy deep fried chicken, a broccoli, steamed bean sprouts and cabbage. The teriyaki sauce came in the side with sesame seeds in it. This dish was a hit with the chicken teriyaki consumers in our family.
I would return to this place and would be interested to see what their other dishes taste like.
No one was at the desk when we arrived, so we just sort of stood around until someone finally noticed us. We were waited on by three different servers, and while they were friendly enough, the service was average. For example, only one of us was offered fresh ground pepper, and she walked away before we could ask. The soup had a layer of grease floating on top, the steak was gristly, the sea bass had no flavour, and the chicken, which tasted wonderful going down was ghastly coming out the other end all night long. When the manager got back to me four days later, by email and not telephone, all he had to say was "thanks for the feedback." We should have turned around and walked out when we saw the mostly empty restaurant at 7:30pm on a Friday and the big screen TV (really? In a "fancy" restaurant?) showing the latest MMA bout.
Well, this one is a significant improvement over the one on West 10th. The West 10th Gold Train Express used to be fabulous. It has gone seriously downhill in every way, especially in the quality of the service of the staff. This one was much better - I ordered the same thing that I used to always order at the West 10th location. It was MUCH BETTER food, the service was GREAT, the atmosphere was SO MUCH NICER. I will definitely go back to this one again, and I will never, EVER go back to the one on West 10th.
I was an extremely loyal customer of this restaurant for a very long time (many years). It used to be GREAT - great food, great service, great value, eclectic décor.
But now, I refuse to even go back anymore. I am in mourning! This used to be my go-to place. Now, I am left with such a terrible taste in my mouth that I decided I just have to let it go. This is what happened. In the last 2 years this place has gone seriously downhill in every single way. I think there was a change of ownership (I'm not sure, but nothing else explains the depressing downturn that has taken place in this once-great place). This is what they did:
- changed and seriously LOWERED the quality of the food
- RAISED the prices (lower quality for more $)
- DRAMATICALLY reduced the quality of the service of the staff
- developed a SERIOUSLY BAD ATTITUDE towards long-time loyal customers like me
Here are just a few examples of the changes that they made:
(1) There used to be regular table service by regular servers. They eliminated this except for the very beginning step of ordering food and bringing the food to the table. After the food is brought to the table, they do not provide any further table service at all. The servers used to come by regularly to the table as a normal server does to ask if you need anything and also to refill the tea pot, refill your water glass, etc. --> now, every time I've been there in the last 2 years, after the server brought my food I was completely ignored from that moment on, and if I ever needed or wanted anything else at all (water, tea pot refill, order something else, order dessert, or get the bill) I had to literally get up and go to the front counter to ask for it.
(2) They used to bring the bill on a small plate complete with one slice of orange per person + one fortune cookie per person. They eliminated this. Every time I've been there in the last 2 years, they never once did this again. It was a nice touch. Believe it or not, it kind of made the meal, in the end. Now, not only do they no longer bring the little plate with the slice of orange, fortune cookie, and your bill........they refuse to bring the bill to the table at all anymore. You have to go up to the counter and ask for the bill.
(3) Good luck when you constantly DO have to go up to the counter every time anybody at your table needs anything at all --> the staff are sometimes not even there, they are in the back, and you have to actually have to call out to them loudly into the kitchen and ask one of them to please help you. I think this is totally unacceptable for a restaurant. You shouldn't have to call out to the staff in the kitchen when you want a refill of water, you want to order something else, or you want to pay your bill. Then again, if this is the kind of system they want, who am I to say they shouldn't have it? But seriously, they should probably put signs up saying they no longer provide full table service like they used to. It's not always the case that there is nobody at the counter when you need to go up there to ask for something, sometimes there actually is somebody around at the front counter to take your request when you are forced to get up from your table every time you want something....just not always...they're absent often enough that I sure remember having to do it often in the last 2 years of my continued loyalty.
(4) They used to be friendly staff for so many years! They most certainly are no longer friendly, and they don't even realize that they're unfriendly to extremely loyal customers who have been going there for years and years on end.
(5) The last straw for me was the last time I went there, about 1 or 2 months ago. After so many years of loyal devotion to this place, this last time I went for lunch there was an extremely loud child in the restaurant. This child was not a baby. This was an older child of about 12, 13 or 14 years old. The kid and his Mom were screaming at each other nonstop. They were so loud that it completely disrupted my meal. I was alone, but if I were with somebody else we couldn't have had a conversation - that's how loud it was. I was trying to read a book...I couldn't even read because the screaming was so distracting. The yelling went on and on and on...through the whole meal! I could tell that all of the customers were disturbed by the loud voices too. Finally half way through my meal I got up, went to the counter, and asked the so-called "server" if he could please ask these guests to be more quiet. Would you believe that this is what he said to me: "No! I'm not going to ask them to change their behavior, they have loud voices, they have every right to talk and eat just like everybody else." WOW! These were not just "loud voices". This was bloody screaming and yelling at each other, nonstop.
This "server" didn't even give a damn that I was an incredibly loyal customer for so many years....as long as I can remember. I have brought many many friends to this place. I had been frequenting it about once/week for several years in a row!
I was so shocked by his lack of helpfulness that I asked who he was. He said he was the owner.
Enough said -- right then and there, I knew that I would never, EVER give this owner my money again. This is an owner who does not care about his good customers.
Nobody should give their money to that kind of business owner.
This is a great little craft beer joint in the middle of nowhere (Ontario & 8th Ave) which gets packed on Friday evenings. There's usually a line up to fill your growlers or to get inside but I usually manage to find a seat. Noisier than hell when it gets packed but that's part of the fun I suppose. They serve a long list of their craft creations and have small snacks to eat, including the meat & pretzel plates and Charcuterie. Sometimes a band will play live and often, a food truck is parked right out front. I love the beer sampler.
Was so glad to see a ramen shop open in North Burnaby last year. Been here a few times now. The ambience is nice and place seems clean. But the most important thing is the food and it could be improved. This posting is not to warn consumers to stay away - it's to ask the owner/operator/chef to go see how ramen is supposed to look & taste and then improve yours. Your broth is bland. The noodles, ingredients and presentation is good but the bowl is missing Umami. Go see how they do it at Benkei, Santouka, or Kintaro.
Also I think the owner, Mr. Park (according to the business permit) is cheapening out on the stock - the tea had no taste at all. The Chasui meat had no taste.
The one positive is their rice "bombs" which are seaweed rice balls and they're unique and fairly tasty.
So Mr. Park...please improve - you have so much potential.
On Wednesday, March 9, 2016, my husband and I went to Osteria Napoli Ristorante (1600 Renfrew St., Vancouver) for dinner. It was our first time there and it was the Groupon that prompted us to give it a try. The Groupon worth $50 for anything on the menu. We arrived at 6:20pm. The waiter told suggested, politely, that instead of using our Groupon we might want to consider keeping it for another day of the week. Reason being, on Wednesday nights they offer your choice of any pasta dish (except seafood) for roughly half-price ($9.99) and deeply discounted house wines ($12 for a half-litre). We understood that conversation to mean… ”You should capitalize on our low Wednesday night prices by using cash and save your Groupon for a more expensive evening like a Thursday, Friday or Saturday. You’d get more bang for your buck then”. NOTE: Those are my words, not his, but that is how we understood the conversation.
Nonetheless, we decided to redeem the Groupon that night rather than risking holding onto it for a 2nd night when we it might turn out that we didn’t enjoy the food or service.
Here’s the key point, in our two conversations (on arrival and when placing our order) at NO TIME did he indicate that if we used the Groupon that we were not eligible for the special Wednesday prices and instead we would have to pay full price for the meal, i.e. - the pasta dishes became $17+ each instead of $9.99, and the wine became $18 instead of $12.
Our order was taken promptly and we received our appetizer in a reasonable amount of time. Once the appetizer was done, the main course never came. The tables around us were being served but not us. One table of 4 arrived after us, got through their entire meal, paid and left and we were still waiting for our meal. We had tickets for a play to attend at 8pm so at 7:25 we got up to leave and asked that our meal be boxed. We weren’t in a huff… we just had to go… and we didn’t think a pasta dish was going to take so long to prepare. Even if the food came out that minute we wouldn’t have had time to eat it and drive to the theatre. The person at the cash (the owner we believe?) was apologetic, as was the server. We were told: “We are so sorry, we told the kitchen about your order, we don’t know what happened with your meal but we are going to make it up to you, we will cancel your appetizer”.
The server said loudly: “I went to the kitchen 3 times asking where is the food for Table 33 !?!”
I think he said that more for “The Boss” to know where the fault lay and not so much for our benefit.
The Boss repeated 3 times… “Don’t worry, we’ll take care of you. Peter, (or whatever the waiter’s name was) take the appetizer off the bill.”
We waited for our boxed meal to come out of the kitchen and eventually it came, but with a bill with two extra surprises on it:
1) All the dishes and wine were all at full price… about $69 instead of $49.
2) The appetizer had not been cancelled and we were charged the full $17. The explanation was that because we used a Groupon they would not cancel the appetizer. They would have cancelled the appetizer if we were “Cash customers” but not for “Groupon” customers.
Wow! We are business people and we know about margins, profit, etc., and we understand that their profit on a Groupon meal is less than normal. Still, the whole point of issuing a Groupon is to attract new customers, impress them with your product & services, and expand your user-base and future business volume. Instead, we were treated like 2nd class citizens… it even gave me a taste of unwarranted discrimination… For them, Yes, but for you, No!
The whole experience at that restaurant was a disaster and left a very bad taste in our mouths. By the time we got home from the play it was 10:30pm we went to bed and did not eat the pasta. When we re-heated it the next day, the food was quite good. But it won’t matter, we would never go back to this place and we will advise our circle of friends never to go as well. Too bad, as it is right in the vicinity of our theatre house/stage which we frequent about 15 times per year!
A Groupon should be a marketing tool to get new customers to try your restaurant. In this instance, it was clearly treated as a nuisance by the merchant and we the users were not treated as “real” customers.
I would appreciate it if Groupon could acknowledge my complaint and pass it on to the restaurant owner or manager who signed on to your program.
PS – To think, all the waiter had to say was, simply, “You can use your Groupon for anything listed on our food & beverage menu. However, please be aware that if you apply it to our pasta and house wine specials you are not eligible for the Wednesday night pricing and would need to pay the regular price.”
That is clear… and even justifiable… but it needs to be said!
new owners! the place is clean and still has the Classic Diner Feel
Low prices good food Truckers Breakfast still only $5.75
a local legend is regaining its place as one of the great greasy spoons in the lower mainland!
Even the Frieghtliner burger is back!
and the coffee is Organic / fair trade medium roast from South America and bottomless as allways
My husband and I contemplated eating-in, but our son decided that he wanted to get take away. It had been a long day at work, so as long as I didn't have to cook I was fine. Plus, there was a wine bottle that had been eyeing me for a while..figured now would be a great time to open it.
The delivery took longer than expected, I had almost finished my glass when the doorbell rang. It had nearly been an hour, and starving would not even close to describe how desperate I was for food. The food was okay though, albeit a bit cold. The tandoori chicken, which is usually my favourite new dish, was a little spicy and lacking elsewhere. The rice order we made came a little unnecessary as the garlic naan garnered all the attention. It was delicious and fell short for the three of us. My son ordered the vindaloo at normal spice and found it to be very good. A perfect combination of spice and meat. For the price, I think it was a good take, although I would rather eat it hot and not have to re-heat.
|1.||Stepho's Greek Taverna|
|3.||Anton's Pasta Bar|
|8.||Phnom Penh Restaurant|
|10.||Kobe Japanese Steak House|
|12.||Gotham Steakhouse & Cocktail Bar|
|19.||Les Faux Bourgeois Bistro|
|2.||Steveston Pizza Co.|
|3.||Sushi Shelter 101|
|4.||Seasons in the Park|
|6.||Talay Thai Restaurant|
|7.||Diva at The Met|
|8.||La Charcuterie Delicatessen|
|11.||Thomas Haas Chocolates & Patisserie|
|12.||Guu with Garlic|
|13.||Firehall Bistro, The|
|15.||La Grotta Del Formaggio|
|16.||Salade de Fruits Cafe|
|18.||Pink Peppercorn Seafood House|
|20.||Blue Water Cafe + Raw Bar|